STATE OF WISCONSIN Senate Journal

One-Hundred and Fourth Regular Session

THURSDAY, March 19, 2020

The Chief Clerk made the following entries under the above date.

INTRODUCTION, FIRST READING, AND REFERENCE OF PROPOSALS

Read first time and referred:

Senate Bill 893

Relating to: ranked-choice voting for local nonpartisan elections, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.

By Senators Smith and Miller; cosponsored by Representatives Subeck, Spreitzer, Emerson, C. Taylor, Zamarripa, Anderson and Brostoff.

To the committee on Elections, Ethics and Rural Issues.

Senate Bill 894

Relating to: imposing disclosure and billing requirements for certain health care providers, creating an arbitration process, and granting rule-making authority.

By Senators Smith and Larson; cosponsored by Representatives Kolste, Hebl, Zamarripa, Stubbs, Billings, Cabrera, Anderson, Sargent, Subeck, Brostoff, Bowen, Shankland, Neubauer, Sinicki, Considine, Ohnstad, Hintz and Vruwink.

To the committee on Insurance, Financial Services, Government Oversight and Courts.

Senate Bill 895

Relating to: licensing professional art therapists and granting rule-making authority.

By Senator Tiffany; cosponsored by Representatives Magnafici, Brostoff, Emerson, Felzkowski, Gundrum and Swearingen.

To the committee on Public Benefits, Licensing and State-Federal Relations.

Senate Bill 896

Relating to: funding for the municipal flood control program and making an appropriation.

By Senators Smith, Bewley, Carpenter, Miller, Erpenbach, Hansen and Larson; cosponsored by Representatives B. Meyers, Spreitzer, C. Taylor, Sinicki, Hebl, Sargent, Milroy, Zamarripa, Considine, Ohnstad, Billings, Shankland, Emerson, Neubauer, Doyle and Subeck.

To the committee on Natural Resources and Energy.

Senate Bill 897

Relating to: medically accurate information.

By Senators Erpenbach, Johnson, Wirch, Smith, Ringhand, L. Taylor, Larson, Shilling, Risser, Bewley and Miller; cosponsored by Representatives C. Taylor, Emerson, Neubauer, Spreitzer, Anderson, Sinicki, Hintz, Subeck, Considine, Ohnstad, Zamarripa and Crowley.

To the committee on Health and Human Services.

Senate Bill 898

Relating to: right to choose an abortion and elimination of certain abortion-related regulations.

By Senators Erpenbach, Johnson, Wirch, Smith, Ringhand, L. Taylor, Larson, Shilling, Risser, Bewley and Miller; cosponsored by Representatives C. Taylor, Emerson, Neubauer, Spreitzer, Anderson, Sinicki, Hintz, Subeck, Considine, Ohnstad, Zamarripa and Crowley.

To the committee on Health and Human Services.

Senate Bill 899

Relating to: aids for certain highways damaged by a disaster.

By Senators Bewley, Schachtner, Smith, Erpenbach, L. Taylor, Miller, Carpenter and Larson; cosponsored by Representatives B. Meyers, Zamarripa, Considine, C. Taylor, Spreitzer, Milroy, Sinicki, Sargent, Hebl, Billings, Ohnstad, Emerson, Doyle and Subeck.

To the committee on **Transportation**, **Veterans and Military Affairs**.

Senate Bill 900

Relating to: creating a flood mitigation program in the Department of Transportation, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.

By Senators Bewley, Smith, Schachtner, Erpenbach, Ringhand, Carpenter and Larson; cosponsored by Representatives Considine, B. Meyers, Milroy, C. Taylor, Zamarripa, Spreitzer, Hebl, Sargent, Sinicki, Shankland, Ohnstad, Billings, Neubauer, Gruszynski and Doyle.

To the committee on Natural Resources and Energy.

Senate Bill 901

Relating to: disaster assistance payments and making an appropriation.

By Senators Schachtner, Bewley, Carpenter, Erpenbach, Miller, Smith, L. Taylor, Ringhand and Larson; cosponsored by Representatives B. Meyers, Billings, Considine, Emerson, Hebl, Milroy, Neubauer, Ohnstad, Sargent, Shankland, Sinicki, Spreitzer, C. Taylor, Zamarripa, Doyle and Subeck.

To the committee on Transportation, Veterans and Military Affairs.

Senate Bill 902

Relating to: income tax deduction for flood insurance premiums.

By Senators Erpenbach, Schachtner, Smith, Bewley, Risser, L. Taylor and Larson; cosponsored by Representatives Considine, Pronschinske, B. Meyers, Spreitzer, Milroy, Sinicki, Sargent, Hebl, Gruszynski, Billings, Ohnstad, Emerson, Shankland, Doyle, Stubbs and Subeck.

To the committee on Agriculture, Revenue and Financial Institutions.

Senate Bill 903

Relating to: bonding for the soil and water resource management program and granting bonding authority.

By Senators Erpenbach, Smith, Schachtner, Bewley, L. Taylor, Miller, Risser, Carpenter, Ringhand and Larson; cosponsored by Representatives Considine, B. Meyers, Spreitzer, Milroy, Sargent, Hebl, Gruszynski, C. Taylor, Billings, Ohnstad, Shankland, Zamarripa and Doyle.

To the committee on Agriculture, Revenue and Financial Institutions.

PETITIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Shankland added as a coauthor of **Assembly Bill 816**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Shankland added as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 744**.

REFERRALS AND RECEIPT OF COMMITTEE REPORTS CONCERNING PROPOSED ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

Senate Clearinghouse Rule 19-090

Relating to closed areas and refuges. Submitted by the Department of Natural Resources. Report received from Agency, March 13, 2020. Referred to the committee on **Natural Resources and**

Energy, March 19, 2020.

ADVICE AND CONSENT OF THE SENATE

State of Wisconsin Office of the Governor

March 19, 2020

The Honorable, the Senate:

I am pleased to nominate and with the advice and consent of the Senate, do appoint TYLER HUEBNER, of Madison, as a Commissioner on the Public Service Commission, to serve for the term ending March 1, 2021.

Respectfully Submitted, TONY EVERS Governor

Read and referred to the committee on Utilities and Housing.

MESSAGES FROM THE ASSEMBLY CONSIDERED

Assembly Bill 422

Relating to: raising the legal age for sale, purchase, and possession of cigarettes and nicotine and tobacco products, providing a legal age for sale, purchase, and possession of vapor products, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Spiros, Crowley, Dittrich, L. Myers, Oldenburg, Rodriguez, Rohrkaste, Sargent, Vruwink, Bowen, Considine, Doyle, Emerson, Goyke, Haywood, James, Kolste, B. Meyers, Milroy, Mursau, Ohnstad, Pope, Sinicki, Spreitzer, Steffen, Stubbs, Subeck, C. Taylor, Wittke, Zamarripa and Fields; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Bewley, Darling, Olsen, Shilling, Johnson, Larson, Risser, Schachtner, L. Taylor, Wanggaard, Wirch and Cowles.

Read first time and referred to the committee on **Senate Organization**.