# STATE OF WISCONSIN

# Senate Journal

# One-Hundred and Fourth Regular Session

## WEDNESDAY, January 9, 2019

The Chief Clerk made the following entries under the above date.

## REPORT OF COMMITTEES

The committee on Senate Organization reported:

Pursuant to Senate Rule 20 (1)(c), the attached list shall be the standing committees of the Senate for the 2019-20 Legislative Session:

Number of members on each committee are listed in parenthesis. 9 member committees will have 5 majority party members and 4 minority party members. 7 member committees will have 4 majority party members and 3 minority party members. 5 member committees will have 3 majority party members and 2 minority party members.

#### Committee on:

Agriculture, Revenue and Financial Institutions (9)

Economic Development, Commerce and Trade (5)

Education (9)

Elections, Ethics and Rural Issues (5)

Government Operations, Technology and Consumer Protection (5)

Health and Human Services (5)

Insurance, Financial Services, Government Oversight and Courts (5)

Judiciary and Public Safety (5)

Labor and Regulatory Reform (5)

Local Government, Small Business, Tourism and Workforce Development (5)

Natural Resources and Energy (5)

**Public Benefits, Licensing and State-Federal Relations** (5)

Sporting Heritage, Mining and Forestry (5)

Transportation, Veterans, and Military Affairs (5)

Universities, Technical Colleges, Children and Families (7)

**Utilities and Housing (5)** 

Ayes: 5 – Senators Fitzgerald, Roth, Feyen, Shilling, and

Noes: 0 - None.

Sincerely,

SCOTT FITZGERALD

Chairperson

The committee on **Senate Organization** reported:

Pursuant to Senate Rule 97, the attached lists shall be the seating chart and room assignments of the Senate for the 2019-2020 Legislative Session.

-	
<u>Senator</u>	Room Number
Kathy Bernier	319 South
Janet Bewley	126 South
Tim Carpenter	109 South
Robert Cowles	118 South
David Craig	104 South
Alberta Darling	317 East
Jon B. Erpenbach	415 South
Daniel Feyen	306 South
Scott L. Fitzgerald	211 South
Dave Hansen	323 South
André Jacque	7 South
LaTonya Johnson	19 South
Chris Kapenga	15 South
Dale Kooyenga	310 South
Chris Larson	20 South
Devin LeMahieu	409 South
Howard Marklein	8 South
Mark Miller	106 South
Stephen Nass	10 South
Luther Olsen	122 South
Jerry Petrowski	123 South
Janis Ringhand	108 South
Fred A. Risser	130 South
Roger Roth	220 South
Patty Schachtner	3 South
Jennifer Shilling	206 South
Jeff Smith	22 South
Duey Stroebel	18 South
Lena C. Taylor	5 South
Patrick Testin	131 South
Tom Tiffany	316 South
Van H. Wanggaard	313 South
Robert Wirch	127 South

The Senate Session Chamber seating arrangement is listed from facing out from the President's chair, going left to right, starting with the inner ring:

Senators Smith, Schachtner, Hansen, Wirch, Carpenter, Ringhand, Taylor, Erpenbach, Risser, Miller, Larson and Johnson.

Outer Ring:

Senators Roth, Kooyenga, Jacque, Craig, Bernier, Testin, Nass, Olsen, Wanggaard, Cowles, LeMahieu, Darling, Feyen, Fitzgerald, Shilling, Bewley, Marklein, Stroebel, Tiffany, Kapenga and Petrowski.

Ayes: 5 – Senators Fitzgerald, Roth, Feyen, Shilling and Bewley.

Noes: 0 - None.

Sincerely,
SCOTT FITZGERALD
Chairperson

## **PETITIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS**

# State of Wisconsin Office of the Senate Majority Leader

January 8, 2019

The Honorable the Senate:

Pursuant to Senate Rule 20 (2)(a), I am making the following appointments:

### **Senate Standing Committees:**

To the committee on **Agriculture, Revenue and Financial Institutions**: Senators Marklein (Chair), Petrowski (Vice-Chair), Testin, Jacque, Bernier, Smith, Ringhand, Risser and Larson

To the committee on **Economic Development, Commerce and Trade**: Senators Feyen (Chair), Testin (Vice-Chair), Petrowski, Ringhand and Carpenter

To the committee on **Education**: Senator Olsen (Chair), Darling (Vice-Chair), Nass, Kooyenga, Bernier, Larson, Bewley, Johnson and Schachtner

To the committee on **Eections**, **Ethics and Rural Issues**: Senators Bernier (Chair), Tiffany (Vice-Chair), Kooyenga, Miller and Smith

To the committee on **Government Operations**, **Technology and Consumer Protection**: Senators Stroebel (Chair), Kapenga (Vice-Chair), Craig, Wirch and Smith

To the committee on **Health and Human Services**: Senators Testin (Chair), Kooyenga (Vice-Chair), Jacque, Erpenbach and Carpenter

To the committee on **Insurance, Financial Services, Government Oversight and Courts**: Senators Craig (Chair), Stroebel (Vice-Chair), Feyen, Risser and Taylor

To the committee on **Judiciary and Public Safety**: Senators Wanggaard (Chair), Jacque (Vice-Chair), Darling, Risser and Taylor

To the committee on **Labor and Regulatory Reform**: Senators Nass (Chair), Wanggaard (Vice-Chair), Kapenga, Wirch and Ringhand

To the committee on **Local Government, Small Business, Tourism and Workforce Development**: Senators Jacque (Chair), Bernier (Vice-Chair), Tiffany, Schachtner and Miller

To the committee on **Natural Resources and Energy**: Senators Cowles (Chair), Olsen (Vice-Chair), Marklein, Miller and Hansen

To the committee on **Public Benefits**, **Licensing and State-Federal Relations**: Senators Kapenga (Chair), Craig (Vice-Chair), LeMahieu, Johnson and Hansen

To the committee on **Sporting Heritage**, **Mining and Forestry**: Senators Tiffany (Chair), LeMahieu (Vice-Chair), Stroebel, Wirch and Smith

To the committee on **Transportation**, **Veterans and Military Affairs**: Senators Petrowski (Chair), Marklein (Vice-Chair), Cowles, Carpenter and Hansen

To the committee on **Universities Technical Colleges, Children and Families**: Senators Kooyenga (Chair), Nass
(Vice-Chair), Darling, Olsen, Bewley, Larson and
Schachtner

To the committee on **Utilities and Housing**: Senators LeMahieu (Chair), Feyen (Vice-Chair), Wanggaard, Taylor and Bewley

#### **Joint Committees:**

To the joint committee for review of **Administrative Rules**: Senators Nass (Co-Chair), Stroebel, Craig, Larson and Wirch

To the joint legislative **Audit** committee: Senators Cowles (Co-Chair), Darling (*ex-officio*), Kapenga, Bewley and Carpenter

To the joint review committee on **Criminal Penalties**: Senators Wanggaard (Co-Chair) and Taylor

To the joint committee on **Employment Relations** (*all ex-officio*): Senators Roth, Fitzgerald, Darling and Shilling

To the joint committee on **Finance**: Senators Darling (Co-Chair), Olsen (Vice-Chair), Tiffany, Marklein, Stroebel, LeMahieu, Erpenbach and Johnson

To the joint committee on **Information Policy and Technology**: Senators Jacque (Co-Chair), Testin, Kooyenga, Carpenter and Erpenbach

To the joint committee on **Legislative Organization** (*all ex-officio*): Senators Roth (Co-Chair), Fitzgerald, Feyen, Shilling and Bewley

To the **Joint Legislative Council**: Senators Roth (Co-Chair, *ex-officio*), Fitzgerald (*ex-officio*), Darling (*ex-officio*),

Marklein (ex-officio), Petrowski, Olsen, Jacque, Shilling (ex-officio), Erpenbach (ex-officio), Risser and Miller

To the joint survey committee on **Retirement Systems**: Senators Bernier (Co-Chair), LeMahieu and Erpenbach

To the joint survey committee on **Tax Exemptions**: Senators Kooyenga (Co-Chair), Tiffany and Larson

With regard to members of the minority party, appointments are based on nominations by the minority leader. The minority party Senator listed first for each committee shall be the ranking minority member.

Sincerely, SCOTT FITZGERALD Majority Leader