Senate

PUBLIC HEARING

Committee on Natural Resources and Energy

The committee will hold a public hearing on the following items at the time specified below:

Wednesday, February 5, 2020 10:05 AM 411 South

The Public Hearing will begin upon the conclusion of the Executive Session

Senate Bill 501

Relating to: the presumption of riparian rights on navigable waterways.

By Senators Testin, Tiffany, Bewley, Craig, Olsen, Stroebel and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Stafsholt, Felzkowski, Dittrich, Edming, Krug, Kuglitsch, Magnafici, Mursau, Quinn, Sanfelippo, Tauchen and Wichgers.

Senate Bill 715

Relating to: grants and funding for water stewardship certification, a grazing coordinator position, producer-led watershed protection grants, lake protection, soil and water conservation, and crop insurance premium rebates for cover crops; granting rule-making authority; and making an appropriation.

By Senators Cowles, Jacque, Petrowski, Feyen, Olsen, Wanggaard, Wirch and Smith; cosponsored by Representatives Tranel, Kurtz, Tauchen, Krug, Summerfield, Novak, Kitchens, Felzkowski, Shankland, Pope, Hebl, Kulp, Gruszynski, VanderMeer, Anderson, Zimmerman, Considine, Neubauer, Oldenburg, Sargent, Mursau, Ballweg, Doyle, Magnafici, Kolste, Petryk, Plumer, Swearingen, Vining, Stubbs, Subeck, Milroy, Katsma, C. Taylor, Quinn, Spreitzer, Sinicki, Emerson, Zamarripa, Ohnstad, Cabrera, Billings, Born and Spiros.

Senate Bill 718

Relating to: creating a pilot grant program for farmers to reduce nitrate loading, funding research for nitrate loading reduction methods, extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.

By Senators Cowles and Petrowski; cosponsored by Representatives Kitchens, Shankland, Tranel, Krug, Summerfield, Novak, Kurtz, Pope, Hebl, Felzkowski, Anderson, Ballweg, Billings, Cabrera, Considine, Dittrich, Doyle, Edming, Emerson, Gruszynski, Horlacher, Kolste, Kulp, Loudenbeck, Magnafici, Milroy, Mursau, Neubauer, Ohnstad, Oldenburg, Petryk, Plumer, Quinn, Sinicki, Skowronski, Sortwell, Spreitzer, Steffen, Stubbs, Subeck, Swearingen, C. Taylor, Tusler, Vining, Vruwink, Zamarripa, Zimmerman, Born and Spiros.

Senate Bill 722

Relating to: supporting the Center for Watershed Science and Education, creating a hydrogeologist position, funding research on phosphorus recovery and reuse, creating grant programs for counties to test wells and provide public education, granting rulemaking authority, and making an appropriation.

By Senators Testin and Olsen; cosponsored by Representatives Shankland, Krug, Felzkowski, Pope, Hebl, Kitchens, Kurtz, Novak, Summerfield, Anderson, Ballweg, Billings, Cabrera, Considine, Edming, Gruszynski, Horlacher, Kolste, Kulp, B. Meyers, Milroy, Mursau, Neubauer, Ohnstad, Plumer, Sinicki, Skowronski, Spreitzer, Stubbs, Subeck, Swearingen, Tauchen, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tranel, Tusler, Vining, Vruwink, Zamarripa, Allen and Spiros.

Senate Bill 723

Relating to: county conservation staffing and making an appropriation.

By Senators Testin, Jacque, Olsen, Petrowski and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Novak, Brooks, Felzkowski, Hebl, Kitchens, Krug, Kurtz, Pope, Shankland, Summerfield, Tranel, Anderson, Ballweg, Billings, Cabrera, Considine, Edming, Emerson, Gruszynski, Knodl, Kulp, Magnafici, Milroy, Mursau, Neubauer, Ohnstad, Oldenburg, Petryk, Plumer, Sargent, Sinicki, Spreitzer, Steffen, Subeck, Swearingen, Tauchen, C. Taylor, Tittl, Tusler, Vining, Vruwink, Zamarripa, Zimmerman, Born and Spiros.

Senate Bill 724

Relating to: the well compensation grant program and making an appropriation. By Senator Testin; cosponsored by Representatives Shankland, Krug, Felzkowski, Pope, Hebl, Kitchens, Kurtz, Novak, Summerfield, Anderson, Ballweg, Billings, Cabrera, Considine, Edming, Gruszynski, Horlacher, Kolste, Kulp, B. Meyers, Milroy, Mursau, Neubauer, Ohnstad, Plumer, Sinicki, Skowronski, Spreitzer, Stubbs, Subeck, Swearingen, Tauchen, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tranel, Tusler, Vining, Vruwink, Zamarripa and Spiros.

> Senator Robert Cowles Chair