

Senate

PUBLIC HEARING

Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety

The committee will hold a public hearing on the following items at the time specified below:

Wednesday, January 22, 2020 11:00 AM 411 South

Senate Bill 211

Relating to: self-defense for victims of sex trafficking.

By Senators Bernier, Johnson, Carpenter, Jacque, Kooyenga, Ringhand, Risser, Smith and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Bowen, Ramthun, Haywood, Brostoff, Crowley, Dittrich, Emerson, Fields, Horlacher, Kulp, Sinicki, Snyder, Sortwell, Spreitzer, Stubbs, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Vining and Vruwink.

Senate Bill 326

Relating to: creating a sexual assault victim bill of rights.

By Senator Jacque; cosponsored by Representatives Brandtjen, Horlacher, Kulp, Pronschinske, Ramthun and Wichgers.

Senate Bill 363

Relating to: falsely reporting an emergency and providing a penalty.

By Senators Cowles, Wanggaard, Bewley, Jacque, Marklein, Nass, Olsen and L. Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Vorpagel, Duchow, Anderson, Brandtjen, Brostoff, Dittrich, Edming, Gundrum, James, Murphy, Novak, Plumer, Sinicki, Skowronski, Tittl, Vruwink, Thiesfeldt, Born and Wichgers.

Senate Bill 427

Relating to: increased penalties for crimes against elder persons; restraining orders for elder persons; freezing assets of a defendant charged with financial exploitation of an elder person; sexual assault of an elder person; physical abuse of an elder person; and providing a penalty.

By Senators Testin, Carpenter, Bernier, Nass, Olsen, Petrowski and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Macco, Wittke, Ballweg, Bowen, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Edming, Gundrum, Horlacher, James, Krug, Kulp, Magnafici, Mursau, Novak, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Quinn, Ramthun, Rohrkaste, Steffen, Summerfield, Tittl, Tranel and Skowronski.

Senate Bill 551

Relating to: a statewide urban search and rescue task force and making an appropriation.

By Senators Roth, Wanggaard, Feyen, Shilling, Cowles, Bewley, Carpenter, Jacque and Testin; cosponsored by Representatives Rohrkaste, Kolste, Edming, James, Milroy, Loudenbeck, Kitchens, Billings, Stuck, Subeck, Tusler, Petersen, Gruszynski, Dittrich, Anderson, Vruwink, Spreitzer, Sortwell, Considine, Ohnstad and Felzkowski.

Senate Bill 565

Relating to: transport for emergency detention.

By Senators Petrowski, Bewley, Testin, Bernier, Cowles, Marklein, Olsen, Schachtner, Smith and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Born, James, Allen, Anderson, Brooks, Doyle, Edming, Emerson, Felzkowski, Jagler, Katsma, Knodl, Kulp, Loudenbeck, Magnafici, Milroy, Mursau, Novak, Petryk, Plumer, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Skowronski, Snyder, Spiros, Spreitzer, Stafsholt, Steffen, Subeck, Summerfield, Tittl, Tusler, VanderMeer, Wichgers, Zimmerman and Krug.

Senate Bill 592

Relating to: providing medication and a valid prescription to a prisoner upon release.

By Senators Darling, Feyen, Olsen and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Brooks, Schraa, Ballweg, Born, Bowen, Emerson, Krug, Kulp, Magnafici, L. Myers, Nygren, Plumer, Quinn, Ramthun, Rohrkaste, Spiros, Tusler and Zimmerman.

01/22/2020: The location was changed to 411 South.

Senator Van Wanggaard Chair