

## Senate

# **PUBLIC HEARING**

## **Committee on Education**

The committee will hold a public hearing on the following items at the time specified below:

Tuesday, November 19, 2019 10:00 AM 411 South

#### Senate Bill 414

Relating to: incorporating cursive writing into the state model English language arts standards and requiring cursive writing in elementary grades.

By Senators Olsen, Johnson, Nass, Carpenter, Jacque, Marklein, L. Taylor and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Thiesfeldt, Vruwink, Ballweg, Bowen, Brostoff, Gundrum, Haywood, James, Krug, Kuglitsch, Mursau, L. Myers, Ramthun, Sanfelippo, Skowronski, Tusler and Dittrich.

### Senate Bill 496

Relating to: requiring that student identification cards include contact information for suicide prevention hotlines.

By Senators Olsen, Bernier, Carpenter, L. Taylor and Schachtner; cosponsored by Representatives Stafsholt, B. Meyers, Ballweg, Cabrera, Doyle, Duchow, Edming, Felzkowski, James, Knodl, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Magnafici, Milroy, Mursau, Neubauer, Oldenburg, Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Pronschinske, Ramthun, Riemer, Rodriguez, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Schraa, Spiros, C. Taylor, Tittl, Tranel, Vining, Vruwink, Wichgers, Wittke and Zimmerman.

#### Senate Bill 498

Relating to: grants to support peer-to-peer suicide prevention programs in high schools, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.

By Senators Darling, Carpenter, Olsen, Nass, Schachtner, L. Taylor, Ringhand and Bernier; cosponsored by Representatives Duchow, Doyle, Stafsholt, Bowen, Schraa, Felzkowski, Jagler, James, Edming, Petersen, Oldenburg, Ramthun, Tranel, Tittl, Mursau, Milroy, Kurtz, Rohrkaste, VanderMeer, Sanfelippo, Shankland, Loudenbeck, Magnafici, Zimmerman, Kulp, Petryk, Spiros, Cabrera, Anderson, Kitchens, Riemer, Vining, Rodriguez, Ballweg, C. Taylor, Neubauer and Dittrich.

#### Senate Bill 527

Relating to: the seclusion and physical restraint of pupils.

By Senators Olsen, Johnson, Darling, Bewley, Cowles, Kooyenga, Larson,
Schachtner and L. Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Quinn, Considine, Dittrich,
Bowen, Cabrera, Crowley, Doyle, Edming, Felzkowski, Jagler, Kulp, Milroy, Novak,
Ohnstad, Ramthun, Rodriguez, Sargent, Spreitzer, Subeck, C. Taylor, Tittl, Vruwink,
Wittke and Zimmerman.

Senator Luther Olsen Chair