This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see for the production version.
Picture of Senator Kathleen Vinehout

Senator Kathleen Vinehout

Senate District 31 (D - Alma)

Senator Kathleen Vinehout's Home Page
District map based on 2011 Wisconsin Act 43
Subscribe to updates via Notify Subscribe to updates via Notify
2017 authored proposals feed Feed for Authored proposals feed
2017 all related items feed Feed for All related items feed
2017 author index
Historical information
Madison Office:
Room 108 South
State Capitol
PO Box 7882
Madison, WI 53707-7882
(608) 266-8546
(877) 763-6636
(608) 282-3571
Voting Address:
W1490 Cesler Valley Road
Alma, WI 54610

Linda Kleinschmidt
Beau Stafford
Jacob Wipperfurth


  • Born June 16, 1958; married; 1 child.
  • B.S. with honors in Education, Southern Illinois University, 1980; M.P.H. St. Louis University, 1982; Ph.D. St. Louis University, 1987; A.D. in Agriculture.
  • Organic farmer. Former dairy farmer, university professor, health care manager.
  • Member: Wisconsin Farmers Union; Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation (former board member, Buffalo County); Alma Chamber of Commerce; Democratic Party of Buffalo County (former chair); Andrew Blackfoot American Legion Auxiliary Post 129.
  • Former member: Buffalo County Agricultural Fair Association (board member); American Federation of Teachers (treasurer, Local 4100).
  • Recipient: Sierra Club Environmental Champion 2014; Wisconsin Public Health Association Friend of Public Health 2014; Wisconsin Farmers Union Friend of Farmers Union Award 2013; Wisconsin Congress of Parents and Teachers Joan Dykstra Friends of Children Award 2012; Wisconsin Aquaculture Association Friend of Wisconsin Aquaculture 2011; La Crosse Area Development Council Triangle of Achievement; AFSCME Council 40 Protector of Quality Services Award 2010; School Administrators Alliance Legislator of the Year 2010; Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians Friend of Family Medicine; Wisconsin Grocers Association Friend of Grocers 2010; Wisconsin Crop Production Association Outstanding Service to Agriculture Award; Wisconsin Association of County Homes Outstanding Legislative Service Award 2010; Wisconsin Troopers Association Legislator of the Year 2010; Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters Conservation Champion 2014, 2010, 2008; Wisconsin Association of PEG Channels Friend of Access 2008; Wisconsin Association of FFA Honorary State FFA Degree 2008; Pharmacy Society of Wisconsin Legislator of the Year 2008; Wisconsin Federation of Cooperatives Friend of Cooperatives 2008.
  • Mississippi River Regional Planning Commission, 2004–2011.
  • Elected to Senate since 2006. Leadership positions: Minority Caucus Vice Chair 2015, 2013, 2011; Majority Caucus Vice Chair 2009.

2017 Authored Proposals

(first or second author, first sponsor)

2017 Co-authored Proposals

2017 Cosponsored Proposals

2017 Authored Amendments

2017 Votes