This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see for the production version.
Picture of Senator Howard L. Marklein

Senator Howard L. Marklein

President Pro Tempore

Senate District 17

(R - Spring Green) Voting Address:
S11665 Soeldner Road
Spring Green, WI 53588


  • Born Madison, Wisconsin, October 3, 1954; married; 2 children, 3 stepchildren, 4 grandchildren.
  • Graduate River Valley High School (Spring Green), 1972; B.B.A. University of Wisconsin–Whitewater, 1976.
  • Certified public accountant; certified fraud examiner.
  • Member: St. John’s Catholic Church, Spring Green (finance committee member); Taliesin Preservation Inc. Board of Trustees (treasurer); National Rifle Association (member).
  • Former member: University of Wisconsin–Whitewater National Alumni Association (president); University of Wisconsin–Whitewater Foundation (board of directors president); Fort Health Care Board of Directors (chair, treasurer); Fort Atkinson Rotary Club (president); Fort Atkinson Chamber of Commerce (president); Whitewater Chamber of Commerce (president); Dodgeville Chamber of Commerce (vice president).
  • Recipient: WMC Working for Wisconsin Award 2016, 2014, 2012; MMAC Champion of Commerce Award 2016, 2014, 2012; Wisconsin Pork Association Distinguished Service Award 2013; Wisconsin Newspaper Association Badger Award 2013; Wisconsin Aquaculture Association Legislator of the Year 2013; Dairy Business Association Legislative Excellence Award 2016, 2012; Wisconsin Auto Collision Technicians Association Legislator of the Year 2016; Wisconsin Towns Association Friend of Towns 2016; Associated General Contractors Legislator of the Year 2016; Wisconsin Counties Association Outstanding Legislator 2016; Wisconsin Builders Association Friend of Housing 2016, 2015; Wisconsin Association of Local Health Departments and Boards & Wisconsin Public Health Association Friend of Public Health 2016.
  • Additional appointments, 2017: Mississippi River Parkway Commission.

Member of Transportation Projects Commission

2017 Authored Proposals

(first or second author, first sponsor)

2017 Co-authored Proposals

2017 Cosponsored Proposals

2017 Authored Amendments

2017 Votes