This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see for the production version.
Senate Journal
One-Hundred and Second Regular Session
2:15 P.M.   TUESDAY, February 3, 2015
The Senate met.
The Senate was called to order by Senate President Lazich.
Call of Roll
The roll was called, disclosing the presence of a quorum.
Pursuant to Senate Rule 15, the official attendance for session was:
Senators Bewley, Carpenter, Cowles, Erpenbach, Farrow, S. Fitzgerald, Gudex, Hansen, Harris Dodd, Harsdorf, Lasee, Lassa, Lazich, LeMahieu, Marklein, Miller, Moulton, Nass, Olsen, Petrowski, Ringhand, Risser, Roth, Shilling, L. Taylor, Tiffany, Vinehout, Vukmir, Wanggaard and Wirch - 30.
Absent with leave - Senators Darling and C. Larson - 2.
Vacancies - 20th Senate District - 1.
The Senate stood for a moment of silent meditation.
The Senate remained standing and Senator Ringhand led the Senate in the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
Leaves of Absence
Senator Fitzgerald, with unanimous consent, asked that Senator Darling be granted a leave of absence for today's session.
Senator Shilling, with unanimous consent, asked that Senator Larson be granted a leave of absence for today's session.
Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (6), the Chief Clerk makes the following entries under the above date.
Introduction, First Reading, and Reference of Proposals
Read and referred:
hist31937Senate Joint Resolution 8
Relating to: commending Andy Dean, Sara Dean, Troy Thomas, Dean Bogdonovich, and Bob Wilke for life-saving actions.
By Senator Moulton; cosponsored by Representatives Kulp and Bernier.
hist31978To committee on Senate Organization.
hist31970Senate Joint Resolution 9
Relating to: proclaiming May 15, 16, and 17, 2015, Syttende Mai Weekend.
By Senators Miller, Shilling, Harsdorf, Hansen, Vinehout, Erpenbach, Lassa, Risser, Wirch, Ringhand, Harris Dodd, Olsen, L. Taylor and Bewley; cosponsored by Representatives Hebl, Nerison, Allen, Brostoff, Danou, Hesselbein, Hintz, Horlacher, Jorgensen, Knudson, Milroy, Murtha, Ohnstad, Pope, Sargent, Sinicki, Subeck and Zamarripa.
hist31979To committee on Senate Organization.
hist31971Senate Joint Resolution 10
Relating to: proclaiming Friday, February 6, 2015, to be National Wear Red Day in recognition of heart disease awareness and prevention.
By Senators Darling, Shilling, Bewley, Cowles, Erpenbach, Gudex, Harris Dodd, Harsdorf, C. Larson, Lassa, Moulton, Nass, Olsen, Ringhand, L. Taylor, Vinehout and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Loudenbeck, Ballweg, Berceau, Bernier, Billings, E. Brooks, R. Brooks, Considine, Czaja, Goyke, Horlacher, Johnson, Kahl, Kerkman, Knodl, Kolste, Krug, Meyers, Mursau, Ohnstad, A. Ott, Petryk, Pope, Rodriguez, Sargent, Sinicki, Spreitzer, Subeck, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, VanderMeer, Wachs and Zamarripa.
hist31980To committee on Senate Organization.
hist31938Senate Bill 16
Relating to: taste samples of intoxicating liquor provided on certain retail licensed premises.
By Senators Moulton, L. Taylor, Erpenbach, Gudex and Vinehout; cosponsored by Representatives Kleefisch, Zamarripa, August, Allen, Ballweg, Brandtjen, Brostoff, Considine, Danou, Goyke, Kahl, Kitchens, Kooyenga, Kremer, Krug, Kuglitsch, Meyers, Milroy, Ohnstad, Sinicki, Spiros, Steffen, C. Taylor and Thiesfeldt.
hist31981To committee on Agriculture, Small Business, and Tourism.
Read first time and referred:
hist31939Senate Bill 17
Relating to: continuing education program sponsors for chiropractors, chiropractic technicians, and chiropractic radiological technicians.
By Senators Petrowski, Nass, Olsen, L. Taylor and Moulton; cosponsored by Representatives Kooyenga, Czaja, Spiros, Steffen, Allen, Ripp, Rohrkaste, Tittl, Gannon, A. Ott, Macco, Danou, Petryk, Kleefisch, Knodl, Kremer, E. Brooks, Doyle, C. Taylor, R. Brooks, Mursau, Kuglitsch, Nerison, Krug and Hutton.
hist31982To committee on Health and Human Services.
hist31972Senate Bill 18
Relating to: the manufacture, sale, and distribution of products containing microbeads and providing a penalty.
By Senators Wirch, L. Taylor, Carpenter, Erpenbach, Harris Dodd, Hansen, C. Larson, Lassa, Miller, Risser, Bewley, Vinehout, Shilling and Ringhand; cosponsored by Representatives Ohnstad, Barnes, Barca, Berceau, Brostoff, Considine, Danou, Doyle, Goyke, Hesselbein, Hintz, Johnson, Kolste, Meyers, Milroy, Mason, Pope, Sargent, Sinicki, Subeck, Spreitzer, Stuck, C. Taylor, Zamarripa, Hebl, Kessler, Wachs, Young, Billings, Zepnick, Shankland, Genrich, Jorgensen, Kahl, Bowen and Riemer.
hist31983To committee on Natural Resources and Energy.
hist32034Senate Bill 19
Relating to: designating a lay caregiver during a hospital admission.
By Senators Carpenter, Lassa, Wirch, L. Taylor, Harris Dodd and Hansen; cosponsored by Representatives Berceau, Sinicki, Milroy, Zamarripa, Subeck, Billings, Sargent, Kahl, Bowen and Meyers.
hist32041To committee on Health and Human Services.
hist32038Senate Bill 20
Relating to: transfer of certain fish and game approvals to persons with disabilities and the transfer of Class A bear licenses to persons awarded the Purple Heart or serving on active duty in the U.S. armed forces.
By Senator Roth; cosponsored by Representative Jacque.
hist32042To committee on Natural Resources and Energy.
hist32047Senate Bill 21
Relating to: state finances and appropriations, constituting the executive budget act of the 2015 legislature.
By joint committee on Finance
hist32048To joint committee on Finance.