This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov for the production version.
  Date of enactment: August 6, 2015
2015 Senate Bill 40   Date of publication*: August 7, 2015
* Section 991.11, Wisconsin Statutes: Effective date of acts. "Every act and every portion of an act enacted by the legislature over the governor's partial veto which does not expressly prescribe the time when it takes effect shall take effect on the day after its date of publication."
2015 WISCONSIN ACT 59
An Act to renumber 71.935 (4); to amend 71.935 (1) (a); and to create 71.935 (4) (b) of the statutes; relating to: setoffs against tax refunds for debts related to providing ambulance services.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:
59,1 Section 1. 71.935 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
71.935 (1) (a) "Debt" means a parking citation of at least $20 that is unpaid and for which there has been no court appearance by the date specified in the citation or, if no date is specified, that is unpaid for at least 28 days; an unpaid fine, fee, restitution or forfeiture of at least $20; and any other debt that is at least $20, including debt related to property taxes, if the debt has been reduced to a judgment or the municipality or county to which the debt is owed has provided the debtor reasonable notice and an opportunity to be heard with regard to the debt. For purposes of this subsection, a debt owed to an ambulance service provider operating pursuant to a contract with a municipality or county under s. 59.54 (1), 60.565, 61.64, or 62.133, is considered a debt owed to the municipality or county, if the debt relates to providing ambulance services to individuals in that municipality or county as a result of responding to requests that originate from a government-operated 911 call center.
59,2 Section 2. 71.935 (4) of the statutes is renumbered 71.935 (4) (a).
59,3 Section 3. 71.935 (4) (b) of the statutes is created to read:
71.935 (4) (b) Within 30 days after the end of each calendar quarter, each municipality and county that has received amounts from the department during that calendar quarter for debts owed to an ambulance service provider operating pursuant to a contract under s. 59.54 (1), 60.565, 61.64, or 62.133 shall pay the amounts to the ambulance service provider.
Loading...
Loading...