This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov for the production version.
48.685 (6) (a) The department shall require any person who applies for issuance, continuation, or renewal of a license to operate an entity, the department in a county having a population of 500,000 or more, a county department, or an agency contracted with under s. 48.651 (2) shall require any day child care provider who applies for initial certification under s. 48.651 or for renewal of that certification, a county department or a child welfare agency shall require any person who applies for issuance or renewal of a license to operate a foster home or treatment foster home under s. 48.62, and a school board shall require any person who proposes to contract with the school board under s. 120.13 (14) or to renew a contract under that subsection, to complete a background information form that is provided by the department.
185,72 Section 72. 48.685 (6) (a) of the statutes, as affected by 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, section 1080d, and 2009 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is repealed and recreated to read:
48.685 (6) (a) The department shall require any person who applies for issuance, continuation, or renewal of a license to operate an entity, the department in a county having a population of 500,000 or more, a county department, or an agency contracted with under s. 48.651 (2) shall require any child care provider who applies for initial certification under s. 48.651 or for renewal of that certification, a county department or a child welfare agency shall require any person who applies for issuance or renewal of a license to operate a foster home under s. 48.62, and a school board shall require any person who proposes to contract with the school board under s. 120.13 (14) or to renew a contract under that subsection, to complete a background information form that is provided by the department.
185,73 Section 73. 48.685 (6) (b) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:
48.685 (6) (b) 1. For caregivers who are licensed by the department, for persons under 18 years of age, but not under 12 years of age, who are caregivers of a day child care center that is licensed under s. 48.65 or established or contracted for under s. 120.13 (14) or of a day child care provider that is certified under s. 48.651, for persons who are nonclient residents of an entity that is licensed by the department, and for other persons specified by the department by rule, the entity shall send the background information form to the department.
185,74 Section 74. 48.69 of the statutes is amended to read:
48.69 Probationary licenses. Except as provided under s. 48.715 (6) and (7), if any child welfare agency, shelter care facility, group home, or day child care center that has not been previously issued a license under s. 48.66 (1) (a) applies for a license, meets the minimum requirements for a license established under s. 48.67, and pays the applicable fee referred to in s. 48.68 (1), the department shall issue a probationary license to that child welfare agency, shelter care facility, group home, or day child care center. A probationary license is valid for up to 6 months after the date of issuance unless renewed under this section or suspended or revoked under s. 48.715. Before a probationary license expires, the department shall inspect the child welfare agency, shelter care facility, group home, or day child care center holding the probationary license and, except as provided under s. 48.715 (6) and (7), if the child welfare agency, shelter care facility, group home, or day child care center meets the minimum requirements for a license established under s. 48.67, the department shall issue a license under s. 48.66 (1) (a). A probationary license issued under this section may be renewed for one 6-month period.
185,75 Section 75. 48.715 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
48.715 (1) In this section, "licensee" means a person who holds a license under s. 48.66 (1) (a) or a probationary license under s. 48.69 to operate a child welfare agency, shelter care facility, group home, or day child care center.
185,76 Section 76. 48.715 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
48.715 (2) (a) That a person stop operating a child welfare agency, shelter care facility, group home, or day child care center if the child welfare agency, shelter care facility, group home, or day child care center is without a license in violation of s. 48.66 (1) (a) or a probationary license in violation of s. 48.69.
185,77 Section 77. 48.715 (4) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:
48.715 (4) (c) The licensee or a person under the supervision of the licensee has committed an action or has created a condition relating to the operation or maintenance of the child welfare agency, shelter care facility, group home, or day child care center that directly threatens the health, safety, or welfare of any child under the care of the licensee.
185,78 Section 78. 48.715 (6) of the statutes is amended to read:
48.715 (6) The department shall deny, suspend, restrict, refuse to renew, or otherwise withhold a license under s. 48.66 (1) (a) or a probationary license under s. 48.69 to operate a child welfare agency, group home, shelter care facility, or day child care center, and the department of corrections shall deny, suspend, restrict, refuse to renew, or otherwise withhold a license under s. 48.66 (1) (b) to operate a secured residential care center for children and youth, for failure of the applicant or licensee to pay court-ordered payments of child or family support, maintenance, birth expenses, medical expenses, or other expenses related to the support of a child or former spouse or for failure of the applicant or licensee to comply, after appropriate notice, with a subpoena or warrant issued by the department or a county child support agency under s. 59.53 (5) and related to paternity or child support proceedings, as provided in a memorandum of understanding entered into under s. 49.857. Notwithstanding s. 48.72, an action taken under this subsection is subject to review only as provided in the memorandum of understanding entered into under s. 49.857 and not as provided in s. 48.72.
185,79 Section 79. 48.715 (7) of the statutes is amended to read:
48.715 (7) The department shall deny an application for the issuance or continuation of a license under s. 48.66 (1) (a) or a probationary license under s. 48.69 to operate a child welfare agency, group home, shelter care facility, or day child care center, or revoke such a license already issued, if the department of revenue certifies under s. 73.0301 that the applicant or licensee is liable for delinquent taxes. An action taken under this subsection is subject to review only as provided under s. 73.0301 (5) and not as provided in s. 48.72.
185,80 Section 80. 48.73 of the statutes is amended to read:
48.73 Inspection of licensees. The department may visit and inspect each child welfare agency, foster home, treatment foster home, group home, and day child care center licensed by it, and for such purpose shall be given unrestricted access to the premises described in the license.
185,81 Section 81. 48.73 of the statutes, as affected by 2009 Wisconsin Acts 28 and .... (this act), is repealed and recreated to read:
48.73 Inspection of licensees. The department may visit and inspect each child welfare agency, foster home, group home, and child care center licensed by the department, and for that purpose shall be given unrestricted access to the premises described in the license.
185,82 Section 82. 48.735 of the statutes is amended to read:
48.735 Immunization requirements; day child care centers. The department, after notice to a day child care center licensee, may suspend, revoke, or refuse to continue a day child care center license in any case in which the department finds that there has been a substantial failure to comply with the requirements of s. 252.04.
185,83 Section 83. 48.737 of the statutes is amended to read:
48.737 Lead screening, inspection and reduction requirements; day child care centers. The department, after notice to a day child care provider certified under s. 48.651, or a day child care center that holds a license under s. 48.65 or a probationary license under s. 48.69, may suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew or continue a license or certification in any case in which the department finds that there has been a substantial failure to comply with any rule promulgated under s. 254.162, 254.168, or 254.172.
185,84 Section 84 . 48.78 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
48.78 (1) In this section, unless otherwise qualified, "agency" means the department, a county department, a licensed child welfare agency, or a licensed day child care center.
185,85 Section 85. 48.78 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
48.78 (2) (a) No agency may make available for inspection or disclose the contents of any record kept or information received about an individual who is or was in its care or legal custody, except as provided under s. 48.371, 48.38 (5) (b) or (d) or (5m) (d), 48.432, 48.433, 48.48 (17) (bm), 48.57 (2m), 48.93, 48.981 (7), 938.51, or 938.78 or by order of the court.
185,86 Section 86. 48.981 (1) (d) of the statutes is renumbered 48.02 (12g).
185,87 Section 87 . 48.981 (2) (a) 18. of the statutes is amended to read:
48.981 (2) (a) 18. A child-care child care worker in a day child care center, group home, as described in s. 48.625 (1m), or residential care center for children and youth.
185,88 Section 88 . 48.981 (2) (a) 19. of the statutes is amended to read:
48.981 (2) (a) 19. A day child care provider.
185,89 Section 89 . 48.982 (1) (c) of the statutes is repealed.
185,90 Section 90 . 48.983 (1) (g) of the statutes is repealed.
185,91 Section 91 . 49.136 (1) (d) of the statutes is renumbered 49.136 (1) (ad) and amended to read:
49.136 (1) (ad) "Day Child care center" means a facility operated by a child care provider that provides care and supervision for 4 or more children under 7 years of age for less than 24 hours a day.
185,92 Section 92. 49.136 (1) (e) of the statutes is renumbered 49.136 (1) (am) and amended to read:
49.136 (1) (am) "Day Child care program" means a program established and provided by a school board under s. 120.13 (14) or purchased by a school board from a provider licensed under s. 48.65, which combines care for a child who resides with a student parent who is a parent of that child with parenting education and experience for that student parent.
185,93 Section 93. 49.136 (1) (j) of the statutes is amended to read:
49.136 (1) (j) "Family day child care center" means a day child care center that provides care and supervision for not less than 4 nor more than 8 children.
185,94 Section 94. 49.136 (1) (k) of the statutes is amended to read:
49.136 (1) (k) "Group day child care center" means a day child care center that provides care and supervision for 9 or more children.
185,95 Section 95. 49.136 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
49.136 (2) (b) If the department awards grants under this section, the department shall attempt to award the grants to head start agencies designated under 42 USC 9836, employers that provide or wish to provide child care services for their employees, family day child care centers, group day child care centers and day child care programs for the children of student parents, organizations that provide child care for sick children, and child care providers that employ participants or former participants in a Wisconsin Works employment position under s. 49.147 (3) to (5).
185,96 Section 96. 49.137 (1) (a) of the statutes is renumbered 49.137 (1) (am).
185,97 Section 97. 49.137 (1) (b) of the statutes is renumbered 49.137 (1) (ab) and amended to read:
49.137 (1) (ab) "Day Child care center" has the meaning given in s. 49.136 (1) (d) (ad).
185,98 Section 98. 49.137 (1) (d) of the statutes is renumbered 49.137 (1) (bd) and amended to read:
49.137 (1) (bd) "Family day child care center" has the meaning given in s. 49.136 (1) (j).
185,99 Section 99. 49.137 (1) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:
49.137 (1) (e) "Group day child care center" has the meaning given in s. 49.136 (1) (k).
185,100 Section 100. 49.155 (1) (am) of the statutes is amended to read:
49.155 (1) (am) "Level I certified family day child care provider" means a day child care provider certified under s. 48.651 (1) (a).
185,101 Section 101. 49.155 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
49.155 (1) (b) "Level II certified family day child care provider" means a day child care provider certified under s. 48.651 (1) (b).
185,102 Section 102. 49.155 (1d) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
49.155 (1d) (a) The department shall promulgate rules establishing standards for the certification of child care providers under s. 48.651. The department shall consult with the child abuse and neglect prevention board before promulgating those rules. In establishing the requirements for certification under this paragraph of a child care provider, the department shall include a requirement that all providers and all employees and volunteers of a provider who provide care and supervision for children receive, before the date on which the provider is certified or the employment or volunteer work commences, whichever is applicable, training in the most current medically accepted methods of preventing sudden infant death syndrome, if the provider, employee, or volunteer provides care and supervision for children under one year of age, and the training relating to shaken baby syndrome and impacted babies required under s. 253.15 (4) (b) or (c), if the provider, employee, or volunteer provides care and supervision for children under 5 years of age. In establishing the requirements for certification as a Level II certified family day child care provider, the department may not include any other requirement for training for providers.
185,103 Section 103. 49.155 (1d) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
49.155 (1d) (b) The department shall promulgate rules to establish quality of care standards for child care providers that are higher than the quality of care standards required for licensure under s. 48.65 or for certification under s. 48.651. The standards established by rules promulgated under this paragraph shall consist of the standards provided for the accreditation of day child care centers by the national association for the education of young children National Association for the Education of Young Children or any other comparable standards that the department may establish, including standards regarding the turnover of child care provider staff and the training and benefits provided for child care provider staff.
185,104 Section 104. 49.155 (1g) (bc) of the statutes, as affected by 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, is amended to read:
49.155 (1g) (bc) Grants under s. 49.134 (2) for child day care resource and referral services, in the amount of at least $1,298,600 per fiscal year.
185,105 Section 105. 49.155 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:
49.155 (4) Choice of provider. An eligible individual shall choose whether the child care will be provided by a day child care center licensed under s. 48.65, a Level I certified family day child care provider, a Level II certified family day child care provider , or a day child care program provided or contracted for by a school board under s. 120.13 (14).
185,106 Section 106. 49.155 (6) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
49.155 (6) (b) Subject to review and approval by the department, each county shall set a maximum reimbursement rate for Level I certified family day child care providers for services provided to eligible individuals under this section. The maximum rate set under this paragraph may not exceed 75% of the rate established under par. (a).
185,107 Section 107. 49.155 (6) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:
49.155 (6) (c) Subject to review and approval by the department, each county shall set a maximum reimbursement rate for Level II certified family day child care providers for services provided to eligible individuals under this section. The maximum rate set under this paragraph may not exceed 50% of the rate established under par. (a).
185,108 Section 108. 49.155 (6) (cm) of the statutes is amended to read:
49.155 (6) (cm) The department shall modify child care provider reimbursement rates established under pars. (a) to (c) so that reimbursement rates are lower for providers of after-school day child care.
185,109 Section 109. 49.826 (2) (a) 1. of the statutes, as created by 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, is amended to read:
49.826 (2) (a) 1. Certify day child care providers under s. 48.651.
185,110 Section 110. 66.1017 (title) of the statutes is amended to read:
66.1017 (title) Family day child care homes.
185,111 Section 111. 66.1017 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
66.1017 (1) (a) "Family day child care home" means a dwelling licensed as a day child care center by the department of children and families under s. 48.65 where care is provided for not more than 8 children.
185,112 Section 112. 66.1017 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
66.1017 (2) No municipality may prevent a family day child care home from being located in a zoned district in which a single-family residence is a permitted use. No municipality may establish standards or requirements for family day child care homes that are different from the licensing standards established under s. 48.65. This subsection does not prevent a municipality from applying to a family day child care home the zoning regulations applicable to other dwellings in the zoning district in which it is located.
185,113 Section 113. 71.07 (2dd) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:
71.07 (2dd) (a) 1. "Day care center benefits" means benefits provided at a day child care facility that is licensed under s. 48.65 or 48.69 and that for compensation provides care for at least 6 children or benefits provided at a facility for persons who are physically or mentally incapable of caring for themselves.
185,114 Section 114. 71.28 (1dd) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:
71.28 (1dd) (a) 1. "Day care center benefits" means benefits provided at a day child care facility that is licensed under s. 48.65 or 48.69 and that for compensation provides care for at least 6 children or benefits provided at a facility for persons who are physically or mentally incapable of caring for themselves.
185,115 Section 115. 71.47 (1dd) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:
71.47 (1dd) (a) 1. "Day care center benefits" means benefits provided at a day child care facility that is licensed under s. 48.65 or 48.69 and that for compensation provides care for at least 6 children or benefits provided at a facility for persons who are physically incapable of caring for themselves.
185,116 Section 116. 73.0301 (1) (d) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:
73.0301 (1) (d) 2. A license issued by the department of children and families under s. 48.66 (1) (a) to a child welfare agency, group home, shelter care facility, or day child care center, as required by s. 48.60, 48.625, 48.65, or 938.22 (7).
185,117 Section 117. 77.54 (20n) (b) of the statutes, as created by 2009 Wisconsin Act 2, is amended to read:
77.54 (20n) (b) The sales price from the sale of and the storage, use, or other consumption of food and food ingredients, except soft drinks, sold by hospitals, sanatoriums, nursing homes, retirement homes, community-based residential facilities, as defined in s. 50.01 (1g), or day child care centers registered licensed under ch. 48, including prepared food that is sold to the elderly or handicapped by persons providing mobile meals on wheels. In this paragraph, "retirement home" means a nonprofit residential facility where 3 or more unrelated adults or their spouses have their principal residence and where support services, including meals from a common kitchen, are available to residents.
Loading...
Loading...