This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov for the production version.
16,3407d Section 3407d. 341.16 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
341.16 (1) (b) Upon satisfactory proof of the loss or destruction of a special plate issued under s. 341.14 (6m) (a) or, (6r) (b), or (6w) or a special personalized plate issued under s. 341.145 (1) (b) or, (c), or (f) and upon payment of a fee of $5 for each plate or, if the plate is for a special group specified under s. 341.14 (6r) (f) 35. to 47. or 53., $6 for each plate, the department shall issue a replacement.
16,3407e Section 3407e. 341.25 (title) of the statutes is amended to read:
341.25 (title) Annual and biennial registration fees; biennial motorcycle fees.
16,3407h Section 3407h. 341.25 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
341.25 (1) (b) For each motorcycle or moped with a curb weight of 1,499 pounds or less, except a specially designed vehicle under s. 341.067, which is designed for the transportation of persons rather than property, and for each low-speed vehicle, a biennial fee of $23.
16,3407p Section 3407p. 341.297 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
341.297 (1) A motorcycle or, moped, or low-speed vehicle, as specified in s. 341.25 (1) (b).
16,3407r Section 3407r. 341.31 (1) (b) 5. of the statutes is amended to read:
341.31 (1) (b) 5. The vehicle is a motorcycle which or low-speed vehicle that has been transferred or leased to the applicant and for which a current registration plates plate had been issued to the previous owner; or
16,3407v Section 3407v. 341.31 (4) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:
341.31 (4) (c) A person retaining a set of plates plate removed from a motorcycle or low-speed vehicle may receive credit for the unused portion of the registration fee paid when registering a replacement motorcycle vehicle of the same type.
16,3407w Section 3407w. 341.65 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
341.65 (2) (b) Any municipal or university police officer, sheriff's deputy, county traffic patrolman, state traffic officer, state forest ranger or conservation warden who discovers any unregistered motor vehicle located upon any highway may cause the motor vehicle to be immobilized with an immobilization device or removed to a suitable place of impoundment. Upon immobilization or removal of the motor vehicle, the officer, state forest ranger or conservation warden shall notify the sheriff or chief of police of the location of the immobilized or impounded motor vehicle and the reason for the immobilization or impoundment.
16,3408g Section 3408g. 342.14 (1r) of the statutes is amended to read:
342.14 (1r) Upon filing an application under sub. (1) or (3) before December 1, 1999, an environmental impact fee of $5, by the person filing the application. Upon filing an application under sub. (1) or (3) on or after December 1, 1999, an environmental impact fee of $6, by the person filing the application. All moneys collected under this subsection shall be credited to the environmental fund for environmental management. This subsection does not apply after June 30, 2001 December 31, 2003.
16,3408r Section 3408r. 342.14 (1r) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is amended to read:
342.14 (1r) Upon filing an application under sub. (1) or (3), an environmental impact fee of $6 $9, by the person filing the application. All moneys collected under this subsection shall be credited to the environmental fund for environmental management. This subsection does not apply after December 31, 2003.
16,3408t Section 3408t. 342.15 (4) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
342.15 (4) (a) If the vehicle being transferred is a motorcycle or low-speed vehicle or an automobile registered under s. 341.27 or a motor home or a motor truck, dual purpose motor home, or dual purpose farm truck which has a gross weight of not more than 8,000 pounds or a farm truck which has a gross weight of not more than 12,000 pounds, the owner shall remove the registration plate or plates and retain and preserve them the plate or plates for use on any other vehicle of the same type and gross weight which may subsequently be registered in his or her name.
16,3408v Section 3408v. 342.34 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:
342.34 (1) (c) If the vehicle is a motorcycle or low-speed vehicle or an automobile registered under s. 341.27 or a motor home or a motor truck, dual purpose motor home, or dual purpose farm truck which has a gross weight of not more than 8,000 pounds or a farm truck which has a gross weight of not more than 12,000 pounds, the owner shall remove the registration plate or plates and retain and preserve them the plate or plates for use on any other vehicle of the same type which may subsequently be registered in his or her name. If the vehicle is not a motorcycle or low-speed vehicle or an automobile registered under s. 341.27, or a motor home or a motor truck, dual purpose motor home, or dual purpose farm truck which has a gross weight of not more than 8,000 pounds or a farm truck which has a gross weight of not more than 12,000 pounds, he or she shall remove and destroy the plate or plates.
16,3408w Section 3408w. 342.40 (3) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
342.40 (3) (a) Any municipal or university police officer, police officer appointed under s. 16.84 (2), sheriff's deputy, county traffic patrolman, state traffic officer, state forest ranger or conservation warden who discovers any motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, or mobile home on any public highway or private or public property which has been abandoned shall cause the vehicle to be removed to a suitable place of impoundment. Upon removal of the vehicle the officer, state forest ranger or conservation warden shall notify the sheriff or chief of police of the abandonment and of the location of the impounded vehicle.
16,3408y Section 3408y. 343.08 (1) (a) and (2) (a) of the statutes are amended to read:
343.08 (1) (a) The department must be satisfied that it is necessary for the applicant to operate an automobile, farm truck, dual purpose farm truck, low-speed vehicle, Type 1 motorcycle powered with an engine of not more than 125 cubic centimeters displacement, Type 2 motorcycle, moped or motor bicycle owned and registered by the applicant's parent or guardian or a farm truck leased to the applicant's parent or guardian.
(2) (a) A restricted license issued pursuant to this section is valid only until the licensee secures an operator's license issued pursuant to s. 343.03 or reaches 18 years of age and, except as provided in par. (b), entitles the licensee to operate an automobile, farm truck, dual purpose farm truck, low-speed vehicle, Type 1 motorcycle powered with an engine of not more than 125 cubic centimeters displacement, Type 2 motorcycle, moped or motor bicycle owned and registered by the licensee's parent or guardian or a farm truck leased to the licensee's parent or guardian or any combination of these vehicles, depending on the restrictions placed by the department on the particular license.
16,3409f Section 3409f. 343.10 (5) (a) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:
343.10 (5) (a) 3. If the applicant has 2 or more prior convictions, suspensions or revocations, as counted under s. 343.307 (1), the occupational license of the applicant shall restrict the applicant's operation under the occupational license to vehicles that are equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device if the court has ordered under s. 346.65 (6) (a) 1. that a motor vehicle owned by the person 343.301 (1) that each motor vehicle for which the person's name appears on the vehicle's certificate of title or registration be equipped with an ignition interlock device or has ordered under s. 346.65 (6) (a) 1. that the motor vehicle owned by the person and used in the violation or improper refusal be equipped with an ignition interlock device. A person to whom a restriction under this subdivision applies violates that restriction if he or she requests or permits another to blow into an ignition interlock device or to start a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device for the purpose of providing the person an operable motor vehicle without the necessity of first submitting a sample of his or her breath to analysis by the ignition interlock device. If the occupational license restricts the applicant's operation to a vehicle that is equipped with an ignition interlock device, the applicant shall be liable for the reasonable costs of equipping the vehicle with the ignition interlock device.
16,3409g Section 3409g. 343.10 (5) (a) 3. of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is amended to read:
343.10 (5) (a) 3. If the applicant has 2 or more prior convictions, suspensions, or revocations, as counted under s. 343.307 (1), the occupational license of the applicant shall restrict the applicant's operation under the occupational license to vehicles that are equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device if the court has ordered under s. 343.301 (1) that each motor vehicle for which the person's name appears on the vehicle's certificate of title or registration be equipped with an ignition interlock device or has ordered under s. 346.65 (6) (a) 1., 1999 stats., that the motor vehicle owned by the person and used in the violation or improper refusal be equipped with an ignition interlock device. A person to whom a restriction under this subdivision applies violates that restriction if he or she requests or permits another to blow into an ignition interlock device or to start a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device for the purpose of providing the person an operable motor vehicle without the necessity of first submitting a sample of his or her breath to analysis by the ignition interlock device. If the occupational license restricts the applicant's operation to a vehicle that is equipped with an ignition interlock device, the applicant shall be liable for the reasonable costs of equipping the vehicle with the ignition interlock device.
16,3409n Section 3409n. 343.135 (2) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:
343.135 (2) (a) 1. Motor bicycles or mopeds; or.
16,3409r Section 3409r. 343.135 (2) (a) 1m. of the statutes is created to read:
343.135 (2) (a) 1m. Low-speed vehicles.
16,3410 Section 3410. 343.24 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.24 (2) (a) For each file search, $3 $5.
16,3410k Section 3410k. 343.24 (2) (a) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is amended to read:
343.24 (2) (a) For each file search, $5 $5.20.
16,3411 Section 3411. 343.24 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.24 (2) (b) For each computerized search, $3 $5.
16,3411k Section 3411k. 343.24 (2) (b) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is amended to read:
343.24 (2) (b) For each computerized search, $5 $5.20.
16,3412 Section 3412. 343.24 (2) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.24 (2) (c) For each search requested by telephone, $4 $6, or an established monthly service rate determined by the department.
16,3412k Section 3412k. 343.24 (2) (c) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is amended to read:
343.24 (2) (c) For each search requested by telephone, $6 $6.20, or an established monthly service rate determined by the department.
16,3413 Section 3413. 343.24 (2m) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.24 (2m) If the department, in maintaining a computerized operating record system, makes copies of its operating record file database, or a portion thereof, on computer tape or other electronic media, copies of the tape or media may be furnished to any person on request. The department may also furnish to any person upon request records on computer tape or other electronic media that contain information from files of uniform traffic citations or motor vehicle accidents and that were produced for or developed by the department for purposes related to maintenance of the operating record file database. The department shall charge a fee of $3 $5 for each file of vehicle operators' records contained in the tape or media. The department shall charge a fee of not more than $3 $5 for each file of uniform traffic citations or motor vehicle accidents contained in the tape or media. Nothing in this subsection requires the department to produce records of particular files or data in a particular format except as those records or data are made by the department for its purposes.
16,3413k Section 3413k. 343.24 (2m) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is amended to read:
343.24 (2m) If the department, in maintaining a computerized operating record system, makes copies of its operating record file database, or a portion thereof, on computer tape or other electronic media, copies of the tape or media may be furnished to any person on request. The department may also furnish to any person upon request records on computer tape or other electronic media that contain information from files of uniform traffic citations or motor vehicle accidents and that were produced for or developed by the department for purposes related to maintenance of the operating record file database. The department shall charge a fee of $5 $5.20 for each file of vehicle operators' records contained in the tape or media. The department shall charge a fee of not more than $5 $5.20 for each file of uniform traffic citations or motor vehicle accidents contained in the tape or media. Nothing in this subsection requires the department to produce records of particular files or data in a particular format except as those records or data are made by the department for its purposes.
16,3414 Section 3414. 343.245 (3m) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.245 (3m) (b) The department shall establish and collect reasonable fees from employers in the program sufficient to defray the costs of instituting and maintaining the program, including the registration and withdrawal of employees. The fee for each notification by the department to an employer under par. (a) shall be $3 $5.
16,3414k Section 3414k. 343.245 (3m) (b) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is amended to read:
343.245 (3m) (b) The department shall establish and collect reasonable fees from employers in the program sufficient to defray the costs of instituting and maintaining the program, including the registration and withdrawal of employees. The fee for each notification by the department to an employer under par. (a) shall be $5 $5.20.
16,3415m Section 3415m. 343.30 (1q) (b) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:
343.30 (1q) (b) 3. Except as provided in subd. 4m., if the number of convictions under ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person's lifetime, plus the total number of other convictions, suspensions, and revocations counted under s. 343.307 (1) within a 10-year period, equals 2, the court shall revoke the person's operating privilege for not less than one year nor more than 18 months. After the first 60 days of the revocation period or, if the total number of convictions, suspensions, and revocations counted under this subdivision within any 5-year period equals 2 or more, after one year of the revocation period has elapsed, the person is eligible for an occupational license under s. 343.10 if he or she has completed the assessment and is complying with the driver safety plan ordered under par. (c).
16,3416m Section 3416m. 343.30 (1q) (b) 4. of the statutes is amended to read:
343.30 (1q) (b) 4. Except as provided in subd. 4m., if the number of convictions under ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person's lifetime, plus the total number of other convictions, suspensions, and revocations counted under s. 343.307 (1), equals 3 or more, the court shall revoke the person's operating privilege for not less than 2 years nor more than 3 years. After the first 90 days of the revocation period or, if the total number of convictions, suspensions, and revocations counted under this subdivision within any 5-year period equals 2 or more, after one year of the revocation period has elapsed, the person is eligible for an occupational license under s. 343.10 if he or she has completed the assessment and is complying with the driver safety plan ordered under par. (c).
16,3417m Section 3417m. 343.301 of the statutes is created to read:
343.301 Installation of ignition interlock device or immobilization of a motor vehicle. (1) Ignition interlock. (a) If a person improperly refuses to take a test under s. 343.305 or violates s. 346.63 (1) or (2), 940.09 (1), or 940.25, and the person has a total of 2 or more convictions, suspensions, or revocations, counted under s. 343.307 (1) within any 5-year period, the court shall order that the person's operating privilege for the operation of "Class D" vehicles be restricted to operating vehicles that are equipped with an ignition interlock device and shall order that each motor vehicle for which the person's name appears on the vehicle's certificate of title or registration be equipped with an ignition interlock device. If equipping each motor vehicle with an ignition interlock device under this paragraph would cause an undue financial hardship, the court may order that one or more motor vehicles subject to this paragraph not be equipped with an ignition interlock device. This paragraph does not apply if the court enters an order under sub. (2) (a) or, if the person has 2 or more prior convictions, suspensions, or revocations for purposes of this paragraph, to the motor vehicle owned by the person and used in the violation or refusal if the court orders the vehicle to be seized and forfeited under s. 346.65 (6).
(b) The court shall order the operating privilege restriction and the installation of an ignition interlock device under par. (a) for a period of not less than one year nor more than the maximum operating privilege revocation period permitted for the refusal or violation, beginning one year after the operating privilege revocation period begins.
(c) If the court enters an order under par. (a), the person shall be liable for the reasonable cost of equipping and maintaining any ignition interlock device installed on his or her motor vehicle.
(d) A person to whom an order under par. (a) applies violates that order if he or she requests or permits another to blow into an ignition interlock device or to start a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device for the purpose of providing the person an operable motor vehicle without the necessity of first submitting a sample of his or her breath to analysis by the ignition interlock device.
(2) Immobilization. (a) If a person improperly refuses to take a test under s. 343.305 or violates s. 346.63 (1) or (2), 940.09 (1), or 940.25, and the person has a total of 2 or more convictions, suspensions, or revocations counted under s. 343.307 (1) within any 5-year period, the court shall order that each motor vehicle for which the person's name appears on the vehicle's certificate of title or registration be immobilized. If immobilizing each motor vehicle under this paragraph would cause undue hardship to any person, except the person to whom the order applies, who is completely dependent on a motor vehicle subject to immobilization for the necessities of life, including a family member or any person who holds legal title to a motor vehicle with the person to whom the order applies, the court may order that one or more motor vehicles subject to this paragraph not be immobilized. This paragraph does not apply if the court enters an order under sub. (1) (a) or, if the person has 2 or more prior convictions, suspensions, or revocations for purposes of this paragraph, to the motor vehicle owned by the person and used in the violation or refusal if the court orders the vehicle to be seized and forfeited under s. 346.65 (6).
(b) The court shall order the immobilization under par. (a) for a period of not less than one year nor more than the maximum operating privilege revocation period permitted for the refusal or violation, beginning on the first day of the operating privilege revocation period.
(c) If the court orders that the person's motor vehicle be immobilized, the person shall be liable for the reasonable cost of equipping and maintaining any immobilization device installed on his or her motor vehicle.
(d) The court shall notify the department, in a form and manner prescribed by the department, that an order to immobilize a motor vehicle has been entered. The registration records of the department shall reflect that the order has been entered against the motor vehicle and remains unexecuted. Any law enforcement officer may execute that order based on the information provided by the department. The law enforcement agency shall notify the department when an order has been executed under this paragraph and the department shall amend its vehicle registration records to reflect that notification.
(e) Within 10 days after immobilizing a motor vehicle under par. (d), the law enforcement agency that immobilized the vehicle shall provide notice of the immobilization to all lienholders of record. The notice shall set forth the year, make, model, and vehicle identification number of the motor vehicle, where the motor vehicle is located and the reason for the immobilization.
16,3418m Section 3418m. 343.301 (1) (a) of the statutes, as created by 2001 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is renumbered 343.301 (1) (a) 2. and amended to read:
343.301 (1) (a) 2. If a person improperly refuses to take a test under s. 343.305 or violates s. 346.63 (1) or (2), 940.09 (1), or 940.25, and the person has a total of 2 or more convictions, suspensions, or revocations, counted under s. 343.307 (1) within any 5-year period, the court shall order that the person's operating privilege for the operation of "Class D" vehicles be restricted to operating vehicles that are equipped with an ignition interlock device and shall order that each motor vehicle for which the person's name appears on the vehicle's certificate of title or registration be equipped with an ignition interlock device. If equipping each motor vehicle with an ignition interlock device under this paragraph subdivision would cause an undue financial hardship, the court may order that one or more motor vehicles subject to this paragraph subdivision not be equipped with an ignition interlock device. This paragraph subdivision does not apply if the court enters an order under sub. (2) (a) 2. or, if the person has 2 or more prior convictions, suspensions, or revocations for purposes of this paragraph subdivision, to the motor vehicle owned by the person and used in the violation or refusal if the court orders the vehicle to be seized and forfeited under s. 346.65 (6).
16,3419m Section 3419m. 343.301 (1) (a) 1. of the statutes is created to read:
343.301 (1) (a) 1. Except as provided in subd. 2., if a person improperly refuses to take a test under s. 343.305 or violates s. 346.63 (1) or (2), 940.09 (1), or 940.25, and the person has a total of one or more prior convictions, suspensions, or revocations, counting convictions under ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person's lifetime and other convictions, suspensions, and revocations counted under s. 343.307 (1), the court may order that the person's operating privilege for the operation of "Class D" vehicles be restricted to operating "Class D" vehicles that are equipped with an ignition interlock device.
16,3420m Section 3420m. 343.301 (1) (b) of the statutes, as created by 2001 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is renumbered 343.301 (1) (b) 2. and amended to read:
343.301 (1) (b) 2. The court shall order the operating privilege restriction and the installation of an ignition interlock device under par. (a) 2. for a period of not less than one year nor more than the maximum operating privilege revocation period permitted for the refusal or violation, beginning on the first day of the operating privilege revocation period.
16,3420n Section 3420n. 343.301 (1) (b) 1. of the statutes is created to read:
343.301 (1) (b) 1. The court may restrict the operating privilege restriction under par. (a) 1. for a period of not less than one year nor more than the maximum operating privilege revocation period permitted for the refusal or violation.
16,3420p Section 3420p. 343.301 (2) (a) of the statutes, as created by 2001 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is renumbered 343.301 (2) (a) 2. and amended to read:
343.301 (2) (a) 2. If a person improperly refuses to take a test under s. 343.305 or violates s. 346.63 (1) or (2), 940.09 (1), or 940.25, and the person has a total of 2 or more convictions, suspensions, or revocations counted under s. 343.307 (1) within any 5-year period, the court shall order that each motor vehicle for which the person's name appears on the vehicle's certificate of title or registration be immobilized. If immobilizing each motor vehicle under this paragraph subdivision would cause undue hardship to any person, except the person to whom the order applies, who is completely dependent on a motor vehicle subject to immobilization for the necessities of life, including a family member or any person who holds legal title to a motor vehicle with the person to whom the order applies, the court may order that one or more motor vehicles subject to this paragraph subdivision not be immobilized. This paragraph subdivision does not apply if the court enters an order under sub. (1) (a) 1. or, if the person has 2 or more prior convictions, suspensions, or revocations for purposes of this paragraph subdivision, to the motor vehicle owned by the person and used in the violation or refusal if the court orders the vehicle to be seized and forfeited under s. 346.65 (6).
16,3420r Section 3420r. 343.301 (2) (a) 1. of the statutes is created to read:
343.301 (2) (a) 1. Except as provided in subd. 2., if a person improperly refuses to take a test under s. 343.305 or violates s. 346.63 (1) or (2), 940.09 (1), or 940.25, and the person has a total of one or more prior convictions, suspensions, or revocations, counting convictions under ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person's lifetime and other convictions, suspensions, and revocations counted under s. 343.307 (1), the court may order that the motor vehicle used during the refusal or violation and owned by the person be immobilized.
16,3420s Section 3420s. 343.301 (2) (b) of the statutes, as created by 2001 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is renumbered 343.301 (2) (b) 2. and amended to read:
343.301 (2) (b) 2. The court shall order the immobilization under par. (a) 2. for a period of not less than one year nor more than the maximum operating privilege revocation period permitted for the refusal or violation, beginning on the first day of the operating privilege revocation period.
16,3420t Section 3420t. 343.301 (2) (b) 1. of the statutes is created to read:
343.301 (2) (b) 1. The court may order the immobilization under par. (a) 1. for a period of not less than one year nor more than the maximum operating privilege revocation period permitted for the refusal or violation.
16,3421m Section 3421m. 343.305 (10) (b) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:
343.305 (10) (b) 3. Except as provided in subd. 4m., if the number of convictions under ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person's lifetime, plus the total number of other convictions, suspensions, and revocations counted under s. 343.307 (2) within a 10-year period, equals 2, the court shall revoke the person's operating privilege for 2 years. After the first 90 days of the revocation period or, if the total number of convictions, suspensions, and revocations counted under this subdivision within any 5-year period equals 2 or more, after one year of the revocation period has elapsed, the person is eligible for an occupational license under s. 343.10 if he or she has completed the assessment and is complying with the driver safety plan.
16,3422m Section 3422m. 343.305 (10) (b) 4. of the statutes is amended to read:
343.305 (10) (b) 4. Except as provided in subd. 4m., if the number of convictions under ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person's lifetime, plus the total number of other convictions, suspensions, and revocations counted under s. 343.307 (2) within a 10-year period, equals 3 or more, the court shall revoke the person's operating privilege for 3 years. After the first 90 days of the revocation period or, if the total number of convictions, suspensions, and revocations counted under this subdivision within any 5-year period equals 2 or more, after one year of the revocation period has elapsed, the person is eligible for an occupational license under s. 343.10 if he or she has completed the assessment and is complying with the driver safety plan.
Loading...
Loading...