This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov for the production version.
29.217(1)(1)Issuance. A nonresident crossbow hunting license shall be issued subject to s. 29.024 by the department to any nonresident applying for this license.
29.217(2) (2) Authorization. The nonresident crossbow hunting license authorizes the hunting of all game, except bear, elk, wild turkey, and fur-bearing animals, during the open season for the hunting of that game with a crossbow.
29.217 History History: 2013 a. 61; 2015 a. 89; 2015 a. 222; 2017 a. 59.
29.219 29.219 Resident fishing licenses.
29.219(1)(1)Fishing license requirement; exceptions.
29.219(1)(a) (a) Requirement. Except as specifically provided otherwise by another section of this chapter, no resident may fish in the waters of this state unless the person has a valid resident fishing license or unless the person has a valid approval which authorizes fishing or entitles the holder to the rights and privileges of a fishing license.
29.219(1)(b) (b) Exception; residents under 16 years of age and certain senior citizens.
29.219(1)(b)1.1. No fishing license is required for any resident under the age of 16 years to fish for fish subject to all other provisions of law.
29.219(1)(b)2. 2. No fishing license is required for any resident born before January 1, 1927, to fish subject to all other provisions of law.
29.219(1)(c) (c) Exception; residents using nets for nongame fish. No fishing license is required for any resident to set, place or use any landing net, dip net, minnow seine or minnow dip net in order to fish for fish other than game fish.
29.219(1)(d) (d) Exception; fishing in private ponds. No fishing license is required for a resident to fish in a pond that is a self-contained body of water and that is located entirely on private property owned by a person who gives permission to the resident to fish in the pond.
29.219(2) (2) Annual fishing license.
29.219(2)(a)(a) The department shall issue a resident annual fishing license, subject to s. 29.024, to any resident who applies for this license.
29.219(2)(b) (b) A resident annual fishing license issued to any resident who is 16 or 17 years of age shall be issued at the reduced fee under s. 29.563 (3) (a) 4.
29.219(2)(c) (c) A resident annual fishing license issued to any resident who is a member of a Wisconsin veterans home under s. 45.50 shall be issued at no charge.
29.219(2)(d) (d) A resident annual fishing license issued to any resident who holds a one-day fishing license under sub. (2m) that is valid during the same year for which the resident applies for a resident annual fishing license shall be issued at the reduced fee under s. 29.563 (3r).
29.219(2m) (2m) One-day fishing license. The department shall issue a resident one-day fishing license, subject to s. 29.024, to any resident who applies for this license.
29.219(3) (3) Two-day sports fishing license.
29.219(3)(a) (a) Issuance. The department shall issue a resident 2-day sports fishing license, subject to s. 29.024, to any resident who applies for this license.
29.219(3)(b) (b) Authorization. Unless otherwise specifically prohibited, a resident 2-day sports fishing license only authorizes fishing in outlying trout and salmon waters, as defined in s. 29.2285 (2) (a).
29.219(3)(c) (c) Use of fees. The department shall deposit receipts from the sale of resident 2-day sports fishing licenses under this subsection in the conservation fund. The department shall credit 50 percent of these receipts to the appropriation under s. 20.370 (1) (ku).
29.219(3m) (3m) Two-day inland lake trout fishing license.
29.219(3m)(a) (a) Issuance. The department shall issue a 2-day inland lake trout fishing license, subject to s. 29.024, to any resident who applies for this license.
29.219(3m)(b) (b) Authorization. Unless otherwise specifically prohibited, a 2-day inland lake trout fishing license only authorizes fishing for lake trout in inland lakes.
29.219(3m)(c) (c) Use of fees. The department shall deposit receipts from the sale of 2-day inland lake trout fishing licenses under this subsection in the conservation fund. The department shall credit 50 percent of these receipts to the appropriation account under s. 20.370 (1) (kv).
29.219(4) (4) Husband and wife resident licenses. A combined husband and wife resident fishing license shall be issued subject to s. 29.024 by the department to residents applying for this license. This license confers upon both husband and wife the privileges of resident fishing licenses.
29.228 29.228 Nonresident fishing licenses.
29.228(1)(1)Fishing license requirement; exceptions.
29.228(1)(a) (a) Requirement. Except as otherwise specifically provided under this chapter, no nonresident may fish in the waters of this state unless the person has a nonresident fishing license.
29.228(1)(b) (b) Exception; nonresidents under 16 years of age. No fishing license is required for a nonresident under the age of 16 years to fish with a hook and line or a rod and reel for fish of any variety, subject to all other conditions, limitations and restrictions prescribed in this chapter.
29.228(1)(c) (c) Exception; nonresident obtaining bait. No separate or other fishing license is required for a nonresident who is issued a valid nonresident fishing license to take minnows for bait or smelt for food under the same conditions and rules governing residents but minnows or smelt taken by a nonresident may not be sold, traded or bartered in any manner.
29.228(1)(d) (d) Exception; fishing in private ponds. No fishing license is required for a nonresident to fish in a pond that is a self-contained body of water and that is located entirely on private property owned by a person who gives permission to the nonresident to fish in the pond.
29.228(2) (2) Annual fishing license.
29.228(2)(a)(a) The department shall issue a nonresident annual fishing license, subject to s. 29.024, to any nonresident who applies for this license.
29.228(2)(b) (b) A nonresident annual fishing license issued to any nonresident who holds a one-day fishing license under sub. (4m) that is valid during the same year for which the nonresident applies for a nonresident annual fishing license shall be issued at the reduced fee under s. 29.563 (3r).
29.228(3) (3) Fifteen-day license. The department shall issue a nonresident 15-day fishing license, subject to s. 29.024, to any nonresident who applies for this license.
29.228(4) (4) Four-day fishing license. The department shall issue a nonresident 4-day fishing license, subject to s. 29.024, to any nonresident who applies for this license.
29.228(4m) (4m) One-day fishing license. The department shall issue a nonresident one-day fishing license, subject to s. 29.024, to any nonresident who applies for this license.
29.228(5) (5) Annual family fishing license. The department shall issue a nonresident annual family fishing license, subject to s. 29.024, to any nonresident who applies for this license. This license entitles the husband, wife and any minor children to fish under this license.
29.228(6) (6) Fifteen-day family fishing license. The department shall issue a nonresident 15-day family fishing license, subject to s. 29.024, to any nonresident who applies for this license. This license entitles the husband, wife and any minor children to fish under this license.
29.228(7) (7) Two-day sports fishing license.
29.228(7)(a) (a) Issuance. The department shall issue a nonresident 2-day sports fishing license, subject to s. 29.024, to any nonresident who applies for this license.
29.228(7)(b) (b) Authorization. Unless otherwise specifically prohibited, a nonresident 2-day sports fishing license only authorizes fishing in outlying trout and salmon waters, as defined in s. 29.2285 (2) (a).
29.228(7)(c) (c) Use of fees. The department shall deposit receipts from the sale of nonresident 2-day sports fishing licenses under this subsection in the conservation fund. The department shall credit 50 percent of these receipts to the appropriation under s. 20.370 (1) (ku).
29.2285 29.2285 Fishing stamps and tags.
29.2285(1)(1)Inland waters trout stamps.
29.2285(1)(a)(a) Definition. In this subsection, “inland trout waters" means inland waters but this term excludes all of the following:
29.2285(1)(a)1. 1. Any harbor on Lake Michigan or Lake Superior.
29.2285(1)(a)2. 2. Any river or stream tributary of Lake Michigan or Green Bay, except the Kewaunee River, from its mouth upstream to the first dam or lake.
29.2285(1)(a)3. 3. Any other river or stream tributary of Lake Michigan or Green Bay that is designated by the department.
29.2285(1)(b) (b) Requirement. Except as provided in par. (d), no person may fish for trout in inland trout waters unless he or she is issued a conservation patron license, unless he or she is issued a 2-day inland lake trout fishing license, or unless he or she is issued an inland waters trout stamp which is attached to or imprinted on the person's fishing license or sports license in the manner required by the rule promulgated under s. 29.024 (5) (a) 3.
29.2285(1)(c) (c) Issuance. The department shall issue an inland waters trout stamp subject to s. 29.024 to each person holding or applying for a fishing license, other than a two-day inland lake trout fishing license, or holding or applying for a sports license if the person intends to use the license for trout fishing in inland trout waters of the state.
29.2285(1)(d) (d) Exemption. Any person who is exempt from the requirement to have a fishing license or who is not required to pay a fee for a fishing license is exempt from the requirements under par. (b).
29.2285(1)(e) (e) Use of moneys from fees. The department shall expend the receipts from the sale under this subsection of inland waters trout stamps on improving and maintaining trout habitat in inland trout waters, conducting trout surveys in inland trout waters and administering this subsection.
29.2285(2) (2) Great Lakes trout and salmon stamps.
29.2285(2)(a) (a) Definition. In this subsection, “outlying trout and salmon waters" means any outlying waters and this term includes all of the following:
29.2285(2)(a)1. 1. Any river or stream tributary of Lake Michigan or Green Bay from its mouth upstream to the first dam or lake.
29.2285(2)(a)2. 2. Any other river or stream tributary of Lake Michigan or Green Bay that is designated by the department.
29.2285(2)(b) (b) Requirement. No person may fish for trout or salmon in the outlying trout and salmon waters of the state unless the person is issued a resident or nonresident 2-day sports fishing license, unless the person is issued a conservation patron license or unless the person is issued a Great Lakes trout and salmon stamp which is attached to or imprinted on the person's fishing license or sports license in the manner required by the rule promulgated under s. 29.024 (5) (a) 3.
29.2285(2)(c) (c) Issuance. The department shall issue a Great Lakes trout and salmon stamp subject to s. 29.024 to any person holding or applying for a fishing license or a sports license if the person intends to use the license for trout or salmon fishing in the outlying trout and salmon waters of the state.
29.2285(2)(d) (d) Exemptions. This subsection does not apply to a person who is exempt from the payment or requirement for a fishing license.
29.2285(2)(e) (e) Use of fees. The department shall expend the receipts from the sale of Great Lakes trout and salmon stamps to supplement and enhance the existing trout and salmon rearing and stocking program for outlying waters and to administer this subsection.
29.2285(3) (3) Sturgeon hook and line tags.
29.2285(3)(a) (a) Requirement. No person may possess a lake sturgeon taken by hook and line from the waters of the state unless he or she is issued one or more sturgeon hook and line tags.
29.2285(3)(b) (b) Issuance. The department shall issue sturgeon hook and line tags to each person holding or applying for a fishing license or a sports license if the person intends to possess a lake sturgeon taken by hook and line in the waters of the state. Each sturgeon hook and line tag shall contain a unique number that is linked to the fishing license being issued.
29.2285(3)(c) (c) Tagging requirement. Any person having taken a lake sturgeon by means of a hook and line shall immediately validate the sturgeon hook and line tag issued to that person. No person may possess, control, store, or transport a lake sturgeon carcass unless a hook and line tag has been validated in the manner required by the department.
29.2285(3)(d) (d) License requirement. Any person fishing for lake sturgeon shall hold a license authorizing the fishing or shall be exempt from holding such a license under s. 29.219 (1) (b) 1. or 2. or (d) or 29.228 (1) (b) or (d).
29.2285(3)(e) (e) Use of moneys from fees. The department shall deposit the receipts from the sale of sturgeon hook and line tags issued under this subsection into the conservation fund and shall credit these receipts to the appropriation account under s. 20.370 (1) (ky).
29.2285 History History: 2005 a. 25 ss. 569, 570, 574 to 575; 2013 a. 20; 2015 a. 89; 2017 a. 59.
29.229 29.229 Fishing approvals issued by the Lac du Flambeau band.
29.229(1)(1)Definitions. In this section:
29.229(1)(a) (a) “Band" means the Lac du Flambeau band of Lake Superior Chippewa.
29.229(1)(b) (b) “Reservation" means the territory within the boundaries of the Lac du Flambeau reservation that were in existence on April 10, 1996.
29.229(2) (2) Authorization for issuance. The band may issue one or more types of fishing approvals that are equivalent to one or more of the following types of approvals by authorizing the same types of fishing by the same persons and in the same bodies of water:
29.229(2)(a) (a) Nonresident annual fishing licenses.
29.229(2)(b) (b) Nonresident 15-day fishing licenses.
29.229(2)(c) (c) Nonresident 4-day fishing licenses.
29.229(2)(d) (d) Nonresident annual family fishing licenses.
29.229(2)(e) (e) Nonresident 15-day family fishing licenses.
29.229(2)(f) (f) Nonresident 2-day sports fishing licenses.
29.229(2)(g) (g) Resident annual fishing licenses.
29.229(2)(h) (h) Resident 2-day sports fishing licenses.
29.229(2)(hm) (hm) Two-day inland lake trout fishing licenses.
29.229(2)(i) (i) Husband and wife fishing licenses.
29.229(2)(j) (j) Inland waters trout stamps.
29.229(2)(k) (k) Sturgeon hook and line tags.
29.229(3) (3) Requirements for issuance; fees; periods of validity.
Loading...
Loading...
2017-18 Wisconsin Statutes updated through 2019 Wis. Act 5 and through all Supreme Court and Controlled Substances Board Orders filed before and in effect on April 21, 2019. Published and certified under s. 35.18. Changes effective after June 1, 2019, are designated by NOTES. (Published 6-1-19)