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n Wisconsin, a crime is any conduct prohibited by state law that is punishable by
a fine, a term of imprisonment, or both.! Crimes are classified as either felonies or
misdemeanors, with the former generally considered more severe than the latter.
This report offers an introduction to identifying and classifying misdemeanors followed

by a complete list of all statutory misdemeanors.

Felony or misdemeanor

Although both felonies and misdemeanors are punishable by fine or imprisonment in
Wisconsin, they are distinguished by the term and place of imprisonment. If a crime is
punishable by confinement in a state prison, it is a felony; all other crimes are misde-
meanors. Sentences of more than one year are served in a state prison and are therefore
felonies. Sentences of less than one year are served in a county jail and are therefore
misdemeanors. Sentences of exactly one year are misdemeanors if the sentence is to be
served in a county jail. If the place of imprisonment for a one-year sentence is not speci-

fied, the crime is a felony.?

(lasses and penalties

Misdemeanor offenses that are located in the Criminal Code, Wis. Stat. chs. 939 to 951,
are categorized into three classes. Each class has a maximum fine and term of imprison-
ment specified under Wis. Stat. § 939.51 (3) (a) to (c):

Misdemeanor class penalties in the Wisconsin Criminal Code

Class Maximum fine Maximum imprisonment
A $10,000 9 months
B $1,000 90 days
C $500 30 days

Misdemeanor offenses outside the Criminal Code generally do not have an assigned
class but may have a specified fine and term of imprisonment. For offenses for which no
penalty is provided, Wis. Stat. § 939.61 (2) prescribes a fine of no more than $500, a term
of imprisonment of no more than 30 days, or both. Additionally, special circumstances
may warrant increased penalties. For example, Wis. Stat. § 939.632 (2) increases the pen-

alties for certain violent misdemeanors committed in a school zone.

1. See Wis. Stat. § 939.12.
2. State ex rel. McDonald v. Douglas Cnty. Cir. Ct., 100 Wis. 2d 569, 302 N.W.2d 462 (1981).



List of misdemeanors

The table below comprises all misdemeanors in the 2021-22 Wisconsin Statutes, including
every criminal offense that is explicitly labeled a misdemeanor or lists penalties descriptive
of a misdemeanor. Some penalties apply only to a single statute section or subunit, while

others apply to a range of statute sections. The table is presented in ascending statutory

order and includes the penalty or class associated with each misdemeanor.
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
11.1401 (1) (¢) Various campaign financing violations max. $1,000, 6 months

12.03 and 12.60 (1)

G

12.05 and 12.60 (1)

S

12.07 and 12.60 (1)

e

12.08 and 12.60 (1)
(b)

12.13 (2) (b) 8., (3)
(b), (¢), (d), (g), (i),
(n) to (x), (ze), (zm),

and (zn) and 12.60
(1) (b)

12.13 (5) and 12.60
1) (bm

13.26 and 13.27
13.69 (3)

16.009 (5) (b)

16.845 (1)
16.846 (1) (a)

19.24

19.50 and 19.58 (4)

19.58 (1) (a)

Electioneering on election day by certain
persons at certain locations

False representations affecting elections

Election restrictions on employers

Causing another to support a candidate by
threatening to deny government benefits

Certain acts of election fraud

Unauthorized release of records or investigatory
information relating to elections

Contempt of the legislature

Falsified statements on a lobbying expense
statement

Discriminating against any person cooperating
with the Board on Aging and Long-Term Care

Use of state facilities without a permit

Violations of Department of Administration
rules relating to the use, care, and preservation
of property under department control

Refusal by a public officer to deliver to a
successor money and other property belonging
to the office

Unauthorized release of investigation or
prosecution records

Intentional violations of the code of ethics for
public officials and employees
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max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $200, 1 year
max. $1,000, 1 year

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $100, 30 days

max. $100, 30 days

max. $100, 6 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

$100-$5,000, max. 1
year


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/11.1401(1)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.03
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.60(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.60(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.05
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.60(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.60(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.07
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.60(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.60(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.08
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.60(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.60(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.13(2)(b)8.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.13(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.13(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.13(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.13(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.60(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.60(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.13(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.60(1)(bm)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.60(1)(bm)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/13.26
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/13.27
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/13.69(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/16.009(5)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/16.845(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/16.846(1)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/19.24
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/19.50
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/19.58(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/19.58(1)(a)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

20.906 (3) Improper use of a receipts form issued by or for  unclassified
a state agency collecting or receiving money for ~ misdemeanor
the state

23.095 (3) (d) 2. Intentional damage or attempt to damage an max. $10,000, 9 months
archaeological feature or natural resource

23.22 (8) (b) Intentional violations of Department of Natural ~ $1,000-$5,000, 6-9
Resources rules controlling invasive species months

23.22 (8) () Repeat violations of Department of Natural $700-$2,000, 6-9
Resources rules relating to the control of months
invasive species

23.24 (6) (b) Violations relating to aquatic plant management $700-$2,000, 6-9
(2nd offense in 5 years) months

23.33 (13) (b) 2. Intoxicated operation of an all-terrain vehicle or  $300-$1,100, 5 days-6
utility terrain vehicle (2nd offense in 5 years) months

23.33 (13) (b) 3. Intoxicated operation of an all-terrain vehicle or ~ $600-$2,000, 30 days-1
utility terrain vehicle (3rd+ offenses in 5 years) ~ year

23.33 (13) (c) Intoxicated operation of an all-terrain vehicle or ~ $300-$2,000, 30 days-1

23.335(23) (c) 2.

23.335(23) (c) 3.

23.335 (23) (d)

26.14 (5)
26.14 (6)
26.14 (7)

26.19 (1)

26.20 (9) (b)

26.985 (2)

26.985 (3)

29.088 (2)

29.314 (7) (a)

utility terrain vehicle causing injury

Intoxicated operation of an oft-road motorcycle
(2nd offense in 5 years)

Intoxicated operation of an oft-road motorcycle
(3rd+ offenses in 5 years)

Intoxicated operation of an off-road motorcycle
and causing injury

Failure to totally extinguish a fire (2nd+ offenses)
Causing a forest fire

Setting a fire upon marsh or other land to drive
out game birds or animals

Destruction of forest protection equipment or
notices

Willful violations by a corporation relating to
fire protection devices

Violations relating to the protection of forest
lands and productivity (2nd or 3rd offense in 5
years)

Violations relating to the protection of forest
lands and productivity (4th+ offenses in 3 years)

Taking, capturing, or killing wild animals with
the aid of any explosive or poison gas

Shining deer, elk, or bear while hunting or
possessing weapons

year

$300-$1,100, 5 days—6
months

$600-$2,000, 30 days-1
year

$300-5$2,000, 30 days-1
year

max. $500, 30 days
max. $1,000, 90 days

max. $1,000, 90 days

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $1,000

max. $100, 6 months

max. $2,000, 9 months

max. $300, 30 days

$1,000-$2,000, max. 6
months
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/20.906(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/23.095(3)(d)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/23.22(8)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/23.22(8)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/23.24(6)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/23.33(13)(b)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/23.33(13)(b)3.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/23.33(13)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/23.335(23)(c)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/23.335(23)(c)3.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/23.335(23)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/26.14(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/26.14(6)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/26.14(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/26.19(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/26.20(9)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/26.985(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/26.985(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.088(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.314(7)(a)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
29.331 (5) (b) Tampering with lawfully placed animal traps $300-$1,000, max. 90
days
29.341 (2) Failure to follow lawful procedures and duties max. $5,000, 9 months
following an accidental shooting while hunting  (negligent) or 1 year
(intentional)
29.501 (10) Violations relating to fur dealers max. $1,000, 9 months
29.601 (1) (b Use of explosives or stupefactives in state waters max. $500, 90 days
29.601 (3) (c) 2. Throwing or depositing deleterious substances ~ max. $200, 90 days
in state waters
29.604 (5) (a) 1. Intentionally taking, transporting, possessing, $2,000-$5,000, max. 9
processing, or selling within the state an months
endangered or threatened wild animal
29.604 (5) (a) 2. Intentional violations relating to endangered max. $1,000, 9 months
and threatened plant species
29.967 (1) (b) Violations relating to a suspended or revoked $500-$1,000
Department of Natural Resources approval
(2nd+ offenses in 5 years)
29.967 (3) Obtaining a Department of Natural Resources ~ max. $200, 90 days
approval during a period of time when that
approval is revoked
29.971 (1) (b) Violations relating to taking, transporting, $1,000-$5,000, max. 30
acquiring, selling, purchasing, or possessing fish ~ days
29.971 (1m) (b) Violations relating to possession of clams max. $5,000, 30 days
29.971 (5) Violations relating to the sale of wild animals $1,000-$2,000, max. 6
months
29.971 (5g) Violations relating to serving game to guests max. $500, 90 days
of restaurants, clubs, hotels, boarding houses,
taverns, or camps
29.971 (5m) Illegally taking or possessing lake sturgeon $1,500, max. 90 days
29.971 (7) Hunting with the aid of an aircraft max. $1,000 (1st
offense) or $2,000, 90
days (2nd+ offenses)
29.971 (11) Deer hunting violations $1,000-$2,000, max. 6
months
29.971 (11g) (a) Elk hunting violations $1,000-$15,000, max.

29.971 (11m) (a)

Bear hunting violations
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6 months (1st offense);
max. $20,000, 1 year
(2nd+ offenses)

$1,000-$2,000, max. 6
months (1st offense);
max. $10,000, 9 months
(2nd+ offenses)


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.331(5)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.341(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.501(10)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.601(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.601(3)(c)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.604(5)(a)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.604(5)(a)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.967(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.967(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(1m)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(5g)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(5m)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(11)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(11g)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(11m)(a)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
29.971 (11p) (a) Entering the den of a hibernating black bear and max. $10,000, 9 months

29.971 (11r) (am) 1.

29.971 (11r) (am) 2.

29.974 (1)

29.974 (2) (b)

30.12 (5)

30.80 (2)

30.80 (2g) (a)

30.80 (2g) (b

30.80 (6) (a) 2.

30.80 (6) (a) 3.

30.80 (6) (a) 4.

30.80 (6) (a) 5.

30.80 (6) (b)

31.34 (4
32.29

34.11

36.11 (1) (a)

harming the bear

Interfering with lawful hunting, fishing, or
trapping (2nd offense in 5 years)

Interfering with lawful hunting, fishing, or
trapping (3rd+ offenses in 5 years)

Determination by a court following a conviction
for a violation relating to wild animals and
plants that the guilty person has a prior
conviction within a period of 5 years

Determination by a court following a conviction
for a violation relating to wild animals and
plants that the guilty person has 3 prior
convictions within a period of 3 years

Unlawful structures and deposits in navigable
waters

Reckless or negligent operation of a boat
endangering life or property

Failure to render aid in a boat accident (if the
accident did not involve death or injury to a
person)

Failure to render aid in a boat accident (if the
accident involved injury to a person but the
person did not suffer great bodily harm)

Intoxicated boating (2nd offense in 5 years)
Intoxicated boating (3rd offense in 5 years)
Intoxicated boating (4th offense in 5 years)
Intoxicated boating (5th+ offenses in 5 years)
Intoxicated boating causing an injury

Violations of water flow and dam regulations

False statements by an employee of a
governmental entity with condemnation
power to an owner of property concerning the
condemnation of such property

Violations relating to public deposits

Violations of rules promulgated by the Board of
Regents of the University of Wisconsin System
to protect the lives, health, and safety of persons
or property under its jurisdiction
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max. $1,000, 90 days

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $100, 6 months

max. $2,000, 9 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $200, 6 months

$300-$1,000, max. 6
months

max. $10,000, 9 months

$300-$1,000, 5 days-6
months

$600-$2,000, 30 days- 1
year

$600-5$2,000, 60 days-1
year

$600-$2,000, 6
months-1 year

$300-$2,000, 30 days-1
year

$50-$1,000
$50-$1,000, max. 1 year

max. $500, 6 months

max. $500, 90 days


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(11p)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(11r)(am)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(11r)(am)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.974(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.974(2)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/30.12(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/30.80(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/30.80(2g)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/30.80(2g)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/30.80(6)(a)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/30.80(6)(a)3.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/30.80(6)(a)4.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/30.80(6)(a)5.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/30.80(6)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/31.34(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/32.29
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/34.11
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/36.11(1)(a)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

36.35 (3) Entering campus property without permission max. $500, 6 months
following prior misconduct

42.05 (3) Unlawful auto racing without a properly max. $200, 6 months
equipped muftler

42.07 (2 Ticket scalping for entry to an event under the ~ $10-$100, max. 60 days
auspices of the state fair park

44.47 (7) (a) 2. Tampering with archaeological objects or $1,000-$5,000
data belonging to the state or intentionally
interfering with related work

45.03 (16) (b) False statements with the intent to secure max. $500, 6 months
veterans benefits

45.06 (2) Withholding from a veteran any discharge max. $100, 6 months
paper, citation, warrant, medal, badge, or
evidence that the veteran is entitled to certain
rights

46.10 (14) (e) 4. Denial of employment, discharge, or discipline max. $500
of an employee by an employer based on an
assignment of certain social services benefits

46.90 (6) (d) Requesting or obtaining confidential max. $500, 1 year
information relating to the elder abuse reporting
system under false pretenses

46.90 (9) (d Discriminating against any person for reporting max. $10,000, 6 months
in good faith under the elder abuse reporting
system

46.90 (9) (e) Failure to report under the elder abuse reporting max. $500, 6 months
system

47.02 (7) (c) Violations relating to vocational rehabilitation max. $500, 6 months

47.03 (3) (d) Advertising, selling, or distributing a product max. $10,000, 9 months
as being blind-made when less than 75% of
the labor involved in creating the product was
performed by visually impaired persons

48.025 (6) (b) Intentionally obtaining, using, or disclosing max. $1,000, 90 days
confidential information relating to a
declaration of paternal interest in matters
affecting children

48.42 (5) False statements in the course of a proceeding max. $10,000, 9 months
for the termination of parental rights with an
intent to prevent a person from receiving notice
of such proceeding

48.658 (3) (a) Transporting a child to or from a child care max. $1,000, 1 year

48.60 and 48.76

provider in a child care vehicle in which a child
safety alarm has not been installed or is not in
good working order

Violations relating to child welfare agency
licensing
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max. $500, 1 year


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/36.35(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/42.05(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/42.07(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/44.47(7)(a)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/45.03(16)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/45.06(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/46.10(14)(e)4.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/46.90(6)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/46.90(9)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/46.90(9)(e)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/47.02(7)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/47.03(3)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.025(6)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.42(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.658(3)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.60
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.76

Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

48.62 and 48.76

48.625 and 48.76

48.63 and 48.76

48.65 and 48.76
48.825 (5)
48.979 (1m) (g)

48.981 (6)

48.981 (7) (f)

49.22 (4)

49.345 (14) (e) 4.

49.45 (4m) (e)

49.45 (6m) (g)

49.688 (9) (c)

49.79 (1t) (e)

49.83

49.853 (3) (¢)

Violations relating to foster home licensing
Violations relating to group home licensing

Violations relating to child placements in foster
homes or group homes

Violations relating to child care center licensing
Unlawful adoption advertising

Unlawful delegation of powers regarding care
and custody of child

Failure to report abused or neglected children or
abused unborn children

Confidentiality violations of records concerning
the reporting of abused or neglected children or
abused unborn children

Unlawful use or disclosure of information
obtained by the state location service assisting in
locating parents

Denial of employment, discharge, or discipline
of an employee by an employer based on an
assignment of certain public assistance benefits

Unlawful disclosure or retention of information
relating to the financial record matching
program by a financial institution

Refusal by an intermediate care facility or skilled
nursing facility to recover costs reimbursable

for persons eligible for certain Medicare benefits
or to obtain Medicare certification required by
federal law

Violations of Department of Health Services
rules relating to prohibitions on Medical
Assistance fraud

Unlawful disclosure or retention of information
relating to applicants for or recipients of food
stamp program benefits by a financial institution
participating in the financial record matching
program

Using or disclosing information concerning
applicants to various public assistance
programs for purposes not connected with the
administration of the programs

Disclosure or retention of information unrelated
to matching records by a financial institution
participating in the financial institution
matching option.

max. $500, 1 year
max. $500, 1 year

max. $500, 1 year

max. $500, 1 year
max. $10,000, 9 months
max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

$25-$500, max. 1 year

max. $500

$50-$1,000, 10 days-1

year

$10/day-$100/day

max. $10,000, 1 year

$50-$1,000, 10 days-1
year

$25-$500, 10 days-1
year

$25-$500, 10 days-1
year
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.62
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.76
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.625
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.76
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.63
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.981(6)
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/49.345(14)(e)4.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/49.45(4m)(e)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/49.45(6m)(g)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/49.688(9)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/49.79(1t)(e)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/49.83
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/49.853(3)(c)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
49.853 (4) (d) Unlawful request of information by a financial ~ $25-$500, 10 days-1
institution participating in the state matching year
option to the Department of Health Services
50.03 (1) Unlicensed operation of a community-based max. $500/day, 6
residential facility or nursing home months (1st offense);
$5,000/day, 1 year (2nd+
offenses)
50.032 (6) Uncertified operation of an adult family home = max. $500, 1 year
50.033 (6) Unlicensed operation of an adult family home max. $500, 1 year
50.07 (2) Violations relating to uniform licensure max. $1,000, 6 months
50.49 (8) Unlicensed operation of a home health agency ~ max. $100 (1st offense);
$200 (2nd+ offenses)
50.55 (2) Actions intended to interfere with a Department max. $1,000, 6 months
of Health Services investigation of licensure
violations by a rural medical center
51.30 (10) (a) Intentionally unlawful violations relating to max. $25,000, 9 months
mental health records (if not for pecuniary gain)
51.61 (5) (d) Intentional retaliation or discrimination against max. $1,000, 6 months
a mental health patient for contacting or
providing information to a state protection and
advocacy agency
51.61 (7m) Intentionally depriving a mental health patient  max. $1,000, 6 months
of the ability to seek redress for an alleged
violation of rights
54.62 (8) Willful or inexcusable failure by a guardian to max. $250, 10 days
file a guardian’s account as required by law or
ordered by a court
55.043 (9m) (d) Retaliating or discriminating against a person max. $10,000, 6 months
for reporting an adult at risk in good faith
55.043 (9m) (e) Failure to report an adult at risk max. $500, 6 months
59.39 Violations relating to a coroner or medical max. $50
examiner performing funeral services upon the
body whose death is required to be investigated
by such office
59.66 (2) (c) Violations relating to unclaimed funds in a $50-$200, 30 days-6
county’s public treasury months
59.74 (2) (e) 1. Unlawful tampering with a landmark, max. $1,000, 1 year
monument of survey, corner post of government
survey, survey made by the county surveyor, or
survey of public record
62.23 (8) Unlawful structure max. $500
63.17 Various county civil service system violations $50-$1,000, 30 days-1
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

63.20 Violation of a subpoena issued by a board of city unclassified
service commissioners misdemeanor

63.52 (1) Various first class city civil service system $50-$1,000, max. 6

66.0413 (1) (br) 2.

66.0417 (5) (a)

66.0417 (5) (b)

66.0425 (9)

66.0615 (1m) (f) 5.

66.1207 (1) (a)

69.24 (2)

70.40 (2)

70.42 (2)

70.421 (2)

70.47 (18) (b)

71.65 (6)

71.66 (1) (e)

violations

Renting, leasing, or occupying a building which
has been condemned for human habitation,
occupancy, or use

Violations relating to local enforcement of
certain food and health regulations

Obstructing a local inspector enforcing food
and health regulation

Violations relating to an obstruction or
excavation beyond a lot line or within a highway

Failure to register with the Department of
Revenue for the room tax

False representations to secure or assist in
securing financial assistance for subsidized
housing accommodations (if the financial
assistance is more than $1,000 but less than
$2,500)

Violations relating to the collection of vital
statistics or documents

Willful failure or refusal by any person on
whom an occupational iron ore concentrate tax
is imposed to furnish a true list or statement of
all iron ore concentrates received or handled

Failure or refusal by an operator of a coal dock
to furnish a true list or statement of all coal
received or handled

Failure or refusal by an operator of a refinery to
furnish a true list or statement of all crude oil
and petroleum products refined

Intentional tampering with a public notice

of a local board of review meeting before the
expiration of the time for which the notice was
posted

Willfully providing false information to the
Department of Revenue by a construction
contractor employer to evade income and
franchise tax withholding requirements

Willfully supplying an employer with false
information regarding a withholding exemption
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months

$5-$50, max. 30

days for each week of
violation

max. $10,000, 1 year
max. $5,000, 1 year
$25-$500, 10 days-6
months

unclassified
misdemeanor

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $1,000, 90 days

max. $1,000

max. $1,000

max. $1,000

max. $200, 6 months

$25,000

max. $200


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/63.20
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/66.0615(1m)(f)5.
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/71.66(1)(e)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

71.83 (2) (a) 1. Income and franchise tax violations: failure max. $10,000, 9 months
or refusal to make, render, sign, or verify a
tax return on time; failure or refusal to make
deposits of withheld taxes; false or fraudulent
employer statements or deposit reports

71.83 (2) (a) 2. Willfully making or subscribing false documents max. $10,000, 9 months
relating to income and franchise taxes

71.83 (2) (a) 3. Divulging or circulating confidential $100-$500, 1-6 months
information derived from income and franchise
tax documents

71.83 (2) (a) 3m. Unlawful browsing of another’s confidential $100-$500, 1-6 months
information derived from income and franchise
tax documents

71.83 (2) (a) 4. Coercing an employee to prepay taxes $25-$200

71.83 (2) (a) 5. Supplying an employer with a false income and  max. $500, 6 months
franchise tax withholding agreement

71.83 (2) (a) 6. Failure to file a surety bond with the $300-$5,000
Department of Revenue by a construction
contractor

71.91 (8) (e) Using information provided to a financial $25-$500, 10 days-1
institution in the financial record matching year
program for purposes other than administration
of the program

75.375 Waste on lands subject to a tax certificate max. $500, 90 days

77.27 Intentionally falsifying value on a return for the  max. $1,000, 1 year
real estate transfer fee

77.52 (12) Operating as a seller without a permit unclassified

misdemeanor
77.52 (16) Sales tax evasion using a resale certificate unclassified
misdemeanor

77.52 (19) Failure to comply with rules relating to unclassified
permitting for persons temporarily engaged in ~ misdemeanor
selling

77.53 (8 Sales and use tax violations: failure to collect the unclassified
tax from a purchaser, give a purchaser a receipt, misdemeanor
or display the tax separately from the list price

77.60 (6) Failure to provide a required tax return or data  unclassified
to the Department of Revenue misdemeanor

77.60 (7) Sales and use tax evasion through false or unclassified
fraudulent reporting or failure to furnish a misdemeanor
report

77.60 (10) Assisting another in making any false or unclassified
fraudulent return or statement relating to the misdemeanor

sales and use tax
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

77.61 (5) (g) Various violations relating to administration of ~ $100-$500, 1-6 months
sales and use taxes

77.61 (6) (d) Inspection of a return or claim for sales and use ~ $100-$500, 1-6 months
taxes by an unauthorized person

77.61 (9) Failure to file, submit, prepare, or retain unclassified
sales and use tax documents required by the misdemeanor
Department of Revenue

77.982 (4 Failure to register with the Department of unclassified
Revenue for the local food and beverage tax misdemeanor

77.991 (4) Failure to register with the Department of unclassified
Revenue for the local rental car tax misdemeanor

77.9951 (3) Failure to register with the Department of unclassified
Revenue for the state rental vehicle fee misdemeanor

78.68 (6) Failure to furnish a return or data relating to max. $500, 30 days
vehicle or general aviation fuel taxes required by
the Department of Revenue

78.68 (7) Making a false or fraudulent return or failure to  max. $500, 30 days
furnish a return when due to evade vehicle or
general aviation fuel taxes

78.68 (8) Assisting another in evading vehicle or general ~ max. $500, 30 days
aviation fuel taxes

78.73 (1) Various violations relating to unlawful use or max. $500, 6 months
display of a license to sell vehicle or general
aviation fuel

78.73 (2) Selling vehicle or general aviation fuel without =~ max. $5,000, 1 year
alicense

78.73 (3) Attempting to assign a license to sell vehicle or ~ max. $25, 10 days
general aviation fuel or failure to display such
license conspicuously at a place of business

78.73 (4) Failure to make a report or payment relatingto ~ max. $5,000, 1 year
vehicle or general aviation fuel taxes

83.027 (12) Driving a vehicle into or from a controlled- max. $100, 30 days
access county highway (if not through an
opening provided for that purpose)

84.25 (12) Driving a vehicle into or from a controlled- max. $100, 30 days
access state highway (if not through an opening
provided for that purpose)

86.01 Unlawfully leaving materials in a highway $10-$100

86.021 (2) Highway damage by cultivation or a machine $10-$50, 10-30 days

86.022 Obstructing a highway with an embankment or ~ $10-$100
a ditch

86.025 Camping on highways or adjacent lands max. $10, 30 days
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
86.03 (6) Violations relating to trees or shrubs adjacent to  $25 per damaged tree or
a highway shrub
86.03 (7) Cutting of veterans memorial trees $10-$200, max. 30 days
86.06 (2) Unlawfully traveling beyond or tampering with ~ $10-$100, 10-60 days
a highway barrier
86.07 (1) Drawing, painting, printing, or pasting upona  $10-$200, max. 30 days
culvert, bridge, or guard rail
86.07 (2) Unlawfully disturbing or making an alteration $50-$500, max. 6
to a highway months
86.17 (2) Interference with the free use of water running  unclassified
across highways misdemeanor
86.19 (3) Unlawfully erecting a sign on a public highway ~ $10-$100 (1st offense);
$10-$500 (2nd+
offenses)
86.191 (5) Violations of highway advertisement $25-$100, max. 30 days
prohibitions
86.192 (2) Tampering with a sign, guide board, mile post, ~ $25, max. 30 days (Ist
signal, or marker offense); $100, max. 60
days (2nd+ offenses)
87.17 Tampering with flood control improvements or ~ max. $1,000, max. 1 year
personnel
87.30 (2) (a) Placing or maintaining a building within a max. $50
floodplain in violation of a zoning ordinance
88.82 (6) Tampering with a drain constructed by a max. $100
drainage district
88.91 (2) Placing an obstruction in a lawfully constructed max. $100
drainage ditch
89.05 (3) Practicing veterinary medicine without a max. $1,000 (1st
license offense); $3,000 (2nd
offense in 3 years)
89.079 (4) (b Violation of temporary restraining order or $25-$5,000, max. 1 year
injunction
93.12 (6) Operating a laboratory without a certificate of ~ $100-$1,000
approval
93.21 (1) Failure by a manufacturer of dairy productsto ~ max. $200, 6 months
furnish required information to the person from
whom milk is purchased or received
93.21 (2) (a) Obstructing an officer performing inspection max. $1,000, 6 months
duties
93.21 (4) Various violations for failing to obey orders max. $5,000, 1 year

relating to agriculture, trade, and consumer
protection
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
93.21 (6) (a) Fraudulent use of official seals of the max. $10,000, 1 year
Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection

93.23 (8) Violations relating to local fairs max. $200, 6 months

93.35 (15) (a) Unlawful weather modification max. $1,000, 6 months

94.46 (4) (b) Various violations relating to seeds max. $500, 6 months

94.64 (12) (a) Willful violations of fertilizer regulations $250-$5,000, max. 1
year

94.65 (11) (b Soil and plant additive violations max. $5,000, 1 year

94.71 (1) (a) 2. Pesticide violations by a commercial applicator,  max. $5,000, 1 year

dealer, or distributor

94.71 (1) (a) 2. Pesticide violations by a private applicator max. $1,000, 30 days

94.72 (14) (a) 2. Commercial animal feed violations max. $1,000, 30
days; $5,000, 1 year
(if manufacturer or
distributor)

94.77 (1) Various plant industry violations max. $1,000 (1st
offense); $500-$5,000,
max. 6 months (2nd+
offenses)

95.21 (10) (b) Refusal by an animal owner to comply withan ~ $100-$1,000, max. 60

order or quarantine days

95.68 (9) Conducting animal market business after $500-$1,000, max. 6

revocation of a license months

95.69 (9) Conducting animal dealer business after $500-$1,000, max. 6

revocation of a license months

95.71 (9) Conducting animal trucking business after $500-$1,000, max. 6

revocation of a license months

95.99 (1) Various animal health violations max. $1,000 (1st
offense); $500-$1,000,
max. 6 months (2nd+
offenses)

96.17 (3) Intentional violation of a Department of max. $10,000, 9 months

Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection
marketing order or agreement

97.12 (2) (d) 1. Violations relating to food regulation max. $10,000, 1 year

enforcement

97.12 (4 Interfering with or giving false information toa  max. $5,000, 1 year

food inspector

97.18 (6) Violations of oleomargarine regulations $100-$500, max. 3
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months (1st offense);
$500-$1,000, 6
months-1 year (2nd+
offenses)
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
97.42 (8) Interfering with inspection of animals, poultry,  max. $5,000, 1 year
and carcasses
97.627 (1) Causing fire by tobacco smoking $50-$250, 10 days-6
months
97.638 (1) Failure by hotel to post rates $50-$100
97.638 (2) (d) Failure by hotel to post notice of fee for use of $50-$100
telephone
97.65 (5) (a) Violation of order prohibiting sale or movement max. $10,000, 1 year
of food
97.65 (5) (b) Threatening or providing false information max. $5,000, 1 year
to a Department of Agriculture, Trade, and
Consumer Protection inspector
97.72 (1) Various food regulation violations $100-$1,000, max. 6
months (1st offense);
$500-$5,000, 30 days-1
year (2nd+ offenses)
98.26 (1) Various violations relating to weights and max. $10,000, 9 months
measures
99.07 (2) Various violations relating to public warehouses ~ $200-$1,000, max. 6
months
100.07 (5) Milk payment violations max. $200, 6 months

100.15 and 100.26 (3)

100.18 (9) and 100.26

(5)

100.182 and 100.26
)

100.19 and 100.26 (3)

100.195 (5m) (e)
100.20 and 100.26 (3)

100.2095 (6) (d)
100.235 (11) (b)
100.26 (1)

100.335 (4) (b)

100.37 (8)
100.38 (7)

Use of trading stamps

Deceptive advertising

Fraudulent drug advertising

Wasteful distribution methods and practices
Unfair billing for consumer goods or services

Violations relating to methods of competition
and trade practices

Violations relating to labeling and materials of
bedding

Unfair trade practices in procurement of
vegetable crops

Various marketing or trade practice violations

Manufacturing or selling a child’s container
containing bisphenol A or failing to label a
child’s container as not containing bisphenol A

Violations of the hazardous substances act

Selling adulterated or misbranded antifreeze
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$25-$5,000, max. 1 year

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

$25-$5,000, max. 1 year
$25-$5,000, max. 1 year

$25-$5,000, max. 1 year

max. $10,000, 9 months

$100-$10,000, max. 1
year

max. $200, 6 months

max. $5,000, 1 year

max. $5,000, 1 year
$50-$500
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/97.65(5)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/97.65(5)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/97.72(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/98.26(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/99.07(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.07(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.15
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.26(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.18(9)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.26(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.26(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.182
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.26(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.26(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.19
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.26(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.195(5m)(e)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.20
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.26(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.2095(6)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.235(11)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.26(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.335(4)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.37(8)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.38(7)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
100.383 (5) Selling antifreeze without a bittering agent max. $1,500, 90 days
100.48 (4) (a) Tampering with an hour meter attached to farm  max. $5,000, 1 year
equipment
100.48 (4) (c) Tampering with an hour meter attached to a max. $5,000, 1 year
snowmobile, all- terrain vehicle, utility terrain
vehicle, or boat
100.70 (2) Using a title or misrepresenting oneself as max. $1,000
having an environmental, occupational health,
or safety credential without having the proper
credential
101.13 (7) Use of an accessibility symbol in violation of $50
standards
101.14 (4) (e) Failure to install required fire detection, $100-$500

101.149 (8) (c) 1.

101.16 (5) (am)

101.16 (5) (cm)

101.16 (5) (cn)

101.9209 (5) (b)

101.937 (5) (b)

101.94 (8) (b)

101.951 (8)

101.953 and 101.965

1)
101.954 and 101.965

prevention, or suppression devices

Tampering with an installed carbon monoxide
detector

Unlawful filling, evacuating, or use of containers
for liquefied petroleum gas; various violations
relating to a failure to provide the Department
of Safety and Professional Services with
liquefied petroleum gas information

Intentional violation of licensing and financial
responsibility requirements by a retail supplier
of liquefied petroleum gas

Intentional violation of licensing and financial
responsibility requirements by a retail supplier
of liquefied petroleum gas who only fills
Department of Transportation cylinders and
containers

Intent to defraud during a transfer of interest in
a manufactured home

Rule violations relating to water and sewer
service to manufactured home communities

Violations by a corporation that threaten the
health or safety of a purchaser of manufactured
homes and mobile homes

Violations relating to manufactured home
dealers

Violations relating to warranty and disclosure
for manufactured homes

Violations relating to the sale or lease of used
manufactured homes

max. $10,000, 9 months

$25-$2,000, 30 days—6
months

$500-$1,000, 30 days-6
months (1st offense);
$2,000-$5,000 (2nd+
offenses)

$200-$400, 30 days-6
months (1st offense);
$800-$2,000 (2nd+
offenses)

max. $1,000, 30 days

$25-$5,000, max. 1 year

max. $10,000, 9 months

$25-$100

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $1,000, 6 months
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.383(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.48(4)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.48(4)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.70(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.13(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.14(4)(e)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.149(8)(c)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.16(5)(am)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.16(5)(cm)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.16(5)(cn)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.9209(5)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.937(5)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.94(8)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.951(8)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.953
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.965(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.965(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.954
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.965

Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

101.955 and 101.965

1)

101.988 (3)

102.17 (3)

102.835 (18)

102.88 (1)

102.88 (2)

103.13 (8)

103.15 (2) or (3) and

103.20

103.16

103.165 (4)

103.17 and 103.20

103.18 and 103.20

103.29 (1)

103.34 (12) (a)

103.37 (4

103.43 (2)
103.45

103.545 (5)
103.61

103.75 (2)

Violations relating to jurisdiction and
venue over out-of-state manufacturers of
manufactured homes

Violations relating to elevators, escalators, and
other conveyances

Willfully failing to testify or produce documents
as required for a worker’s compensation hearing

Discrimination by an employer against an
employee whose earnings have been subject
to a levy for delinquent uninsured employer
payments

2nd worker’s compensation-related offense in 5
years

3rd or subsequent worker’s compensation—
related offense in 3 years

Violations by an employer relating to records
open to an employee

Requiring an HIV test for employment

Failure by an employer to provide seats for
employees

Violations relating to an employee’s cash bonds
held in a trust

Failure by a manufacturing employer to
mutually forfeit

Threatening to reduce wages or discharge
employees to influence their votes

Violations relating to employment of minors in
street trades

Repeat offenses relating to traveling sales crews

Requiring an employee to pay for a medical
examination as a condition of employment

Fraudulent advertising for labor
Unlawful payments of wages with time checks
Recruiting strikebreakers

Contempt for violation of a restraining order or
injunction issued by a court

False evidence of age to obtain an age certificate
or altering an age certificate
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max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $1,500, 30 days

$25-$100, max. 30 days

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $2,000, 90 days
max. $10,000, 9 months
$10-$100

max. $100

$10-$30

amount of the bond,
10-60 days

max. $100

max. $100
$250-$5,000, max. 30

days

$250-$5,000, max. 30
days

max. $100

max. $2,000, 1 year
$10-$100

max. $2,000, 1 year
max. $25, 10 days

max. $100, 3 months


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.955
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.965(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.965(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.988(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/102.17(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/102.835(18)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/102.88(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/102.88(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.13(8)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.15(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.15(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.20
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.16
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.165(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.17
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.20
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.18
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.20
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.29(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.34(12)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.37(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.43(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.45
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.545(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.61
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.75(2)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

103.82 (1) (a) Repeat offenses of employing a minor for $250-$5,000, max. 30
certain jobs days

103.86 (1) Failure by an employer to make required max. $200
payments to employee welfare funds

103.87 Disciplining an employee for testifying in max. $200
a proceeding pertaining to a crime of the
Children’s Code or Juvenile Justice Code

104.10 Employer intimidation of a witness in a $25
minimum wage investigation or proceeding

107.02 Violation of mining statement requirements min. $100, max. 3

months

107.15 (6) (a) Violations of reporting requirements for max. $50,000
mineral exploration

107.15 (6) (c) Violations of confidentiality requirements for $50-$50,000, 1-6
mineral exploration months

108.16 (8) (m) 3. False statements relating to determining the A
assignment of unemployment insurance
contribution rates

108.223 (5) Unlawful use of debtor information $50-$1,000, 10 days-1

year

108.225 (18) Discriminating terms and conditions of max. $10,000, 9 months
employment against an employee whose
earnings have been subject to a levy for
delinquent unemployment insurance
contributions

108.24 (1) (b) 1. False statements to obtain unemployment max. $10,000, 9 months
insurance benefit payments

108.24 (2) False statements or other information required ~ $100-$500, max. 90
by the Department of Workforce Development  days
for unemployment insurance

108.24 (2m) Misclassifying an employee by a construction $1,000 per violation,
contractor to evade unemployment insurance max. $25,000
payments

108.24 (3) (a) Violations relating to acts against an employee ~ $100-$1,000, max. 90
or former employee concerning unemployment  days
insurance

108.24 (4) Unlawful disclosure or inspection of $25-$500, max. 1 year
unemployment insurance documents

109.11 (3 Failure by an employer to pay wages due max. $500, 90 days

111.14 Interfering with the Employment Relations max. $500, 1 year
Commission

111.62 Strikes, work stoppages, slowdowns, and unclassified
lockouts by employees of a public utility misdemeanor
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.82(1)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.86(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.87
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/104.10
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/107.02
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/107.15(6)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/107.15(6)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/108.16(8)(m)3.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/108.223(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/108.225(18)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/108.24(1)(b)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/108.24(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/108.24(2m)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/108.24(3)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/108.24(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/109.11(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/111.14
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/111.62

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
111.70 (7m) (c) 2. Striking following an injunction against a strike ~ $10
114.09 (2) (a) 2. Intoxicated operation of an aircraft (if the $350-$1,100, 5 days-6
number of prior convictions of causing injury months
from intoxicated operation of a vehicle plus
the total number of other suspensions and
revocations equals 2)
114.09 (2) (a) 3. Intoxicated operation of an aircraft (if the $600-$2,000, 30 days-1
number of prior convictions of causing injury year
from intoxicated operation of a vehicle plus
the total number of other suspensions and
revocations equals 3)
114.09 (2) (a) 4. Intoxicated operation of an aircraft (if the $600-$2,000, 60 days-1
number of prior convictions of causing injury year
from intoxicated operation of a vehicle plus
the total number of other suspensions and
revocations equals 4)
114.09 (2) (c) 2. 2 or more reckless flying convictions within 4 $50-$500, max. 1 year
years
114.103 (3) Failure by private security personnel to report to max. $500, 30 days
a law enforcement authority
114.27 Various violations relating to aeronautics and max. $500, 90 days
astronautics
115.31 (7 Failure by a school administrator to report max. $1,000, 6 months
various crimes or acts committed by an
employee of an educational agency to the state
superintendent of public instruction
118.03 (4) Unlawful textbook pricing $25-$100

118.15(5) (a) 1. a.

118.15 (5) (a) 1. b.

118.20 (5)

120.13 (35) (b) 1.

125.04 (13)

125.07 (1) (b) 2. b.

125.07 (1) (b) 2. c.

125.07 (1) (b) 2. d.

Compulsory school attendance violation (1st
offense)

Compulsory school attendance violation (2nd+
offenses)

Discrimination against applicants for teaching
or administrative positions

Unlawful presence in school buildings that
provokes a breach of peace

Selling or manufacturing alcoholic beverages
without a required license or permit

Facilitating underage drinking (2nd offense in
30 months)

Facilitating underage drinking (3rd offense in 30
months)

Facilitating underage drinking (4th+ offenses in
30 months)
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max. $500, 30 days

max. $1,000, 90 days

$25-$50, 5-30 days

max. $10,000, 90 days

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $500, 30 days

max. $1,000, 90 days

max. $10,000, 9 months


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/111.70(7m)(c)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/114.09(2)(a)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/114.09(2)(a)3.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/114.09(2)(a)4.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/114.09(2)(c)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/114.103(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/114.27
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/115.31(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/118.03(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/118.15(5)(a)1.a.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/118.15(5)(a)1.b.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/118.20(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/120.13(35)(b)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.04(13)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.07(1)(b)2.b.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.07(1)(b)2.c.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.07(1)(b)2.d.

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
125.07 (2) (b) Selling alcohol to an intoxicated person $100-$500, max. 60

125.085 (3) (a) 1.

125.105 (2) (a)

125.11 (1)

125.28 (5) (d) 1.

125.315 (2)

125.33 (7) (d)

125.33 (9)

125.54 (7) (c) 1.
125.545 (7) (a)

125.545 (7) (b)

125.65 (9)

125.66 (1)

125.66 (4)

125.67

125.68 (8) (a)

125.68 (9) (g)

125.69 (4) (d)

125.69 (6) (b)

Falsification of proof of age to show that an
underage person has attained the legal drinking
age

Impersonating an inspector of the Department
of Revenue or Department of Justice with the
intent to mislead

Various violations relating to alcoholic
beverages

Violations relating to fermented malt beverage
wholesalers’ permits

Evading provisions of law by giving away
fermented malt beverages

Violations by fermented malt beverage retail
licensees relating to retail purchase credit

Campuses purchasing fermented malt beverages
from anybody other than a licensed wholesaler

Violations of wholesaler requirements

Distributing wine directly to a retailer rather
than a wholesaler by a winery

Preferential treatment to a Wisconsin winery or
discrimination against an out-of-state winery by
a cooperative wholesaler

Violations relating to permits for wholesale
sales for future delivery to solicit orders of
intoxicating liquor

Selling intoxicating liquor without a required
license or permit

Selling of intoxicating liquor by a Class A liquor
licensee to a Class B liquor licensee for resale

Evading provisions of law by giving away
intoxicating liquor

Selling diluted intoxicating liquor as undiluted
intoxicating liquor

Intoxicating liquor violations relating to labels,
contents, and packaging

Violations by intoxicating liquor retail licensees
relating to retail purchase credit

Campuses purchasing intoxicating liquor from
anybody other than a licensed wholesaler (if the
total volume of liquor in 1 month is more than
12 liters)

days
$300-$1,250, 10-30
days

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $1,000, 90 days

max. $10,000

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $1,000

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000

max. $10,000

max. $10,000

$100-$500, 30 days-6
months

max. $10,000, 9 months
max. $100

max. $10,000, 9 months
$150-$500, 60 days-6

months

$500-$1,000, 3
months-1 year

max. $1,000

$1,000-$10,000
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.07(2)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.085(3)(a)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.105(2)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.11(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.28(5)(d)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.315(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.33(7)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.33(9)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.54(7)(c)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.545(7)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.545(7)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.65(9)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.66(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.66(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.67
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.68(8)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.68(9)(g)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.69(4)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.69(6)(b)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
125.69 (6) () Purchasing of intoxicating liquor by a Class B max. $100

liquor licensee from a Class A liquor licensee for

resale
126.87 (2) (b) Various violations relating to agricultural max. $10,000, 1 year

132.01 and 132.03

132.02 and 132.03

132.032

132.07

132.13 (3)

132.16 (7)

133.04 (2)

133.05 (3)
134.01

134.02 (1)
134.03

134.04 (2)

134.05 (4)

134.06
134.10 (1)

134.11 (1)

134.15 (1)
134.17 (1)

producer security
Violations relating to labeling marks

Violations relating to duplication or
reproduction of labeling marks

Fraudulent labeling mark filing

Willfully and unlawfully converting a labeling
mark to one€’s own use

Possession of unlabeled convict-made products
for the purpose of sale

Unlawful use of registered organizations’
insignia or names

Unauthorized wearing of certain badges

Unlawful use of gaseous compounds in
containers

Use of a labeling mark without authority

Price discrimination with the intent to destroy
competition

Unfair trade practices through secret rebates

Willfully or maliciously causing injury to the
reputation or trade of a business

Blacklisting and coercion of employees
Preventing pursuit of work

Sale of certain merchandise by employers to
employees

Bribery of an agent or employee with intent to
influence business action

Bonus to chauffeurs for purchases

Invading a right to choose an insurance agent or
insurer by persons engaged in financing

Invading a right to choose an insurance agent or
insurer by persons engaged in selling property

Issuing and using counterfeit money

Unlawful use of a corporate name with the
intent to obtain credit

20  LRB REPORTS, vol. 7, no. 3

max. $10,000, 6 months

max. $10,000, 6 months

max. $10,000, 6 months
max. $10,000, 6 months

$100-$500, max. 90
days

max. $100, 60 days

max. $20, 30 days

max. $1,000, 1 year

max. $100, 3 months

max. $25,000, 1 year

max. $25,000, 1 year

max. $500, 1 year

$100-$500
max. $100, 6 months

$100-$500 (1st offense);
$500-$1,000 (2nd+
offenses)

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $25

$50-$200, max. 6
months

$50-$200, max. 6
months

max. $100, 6 months

max. $1,000, 1 year


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.69(6)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/126.87(2)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.01
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.03
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.02
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.03
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.032
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.07
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.13(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.16(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.17
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.18(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.19
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/133.04(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/133.05(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.01
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.02(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.03
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.04(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.05(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.06
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.10(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.11(1)
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
134.19 Fraud on exemption laws $10-$50
134.21 Unauthorized presentation of dramatic plays $5-$100, max. 60 days

134.25 (1) (a) and
134.32

134.26 (1) and 134.32

134.27 (1) and 134.32

134.28 and 134.32

134.30 and 134.32

134.31 and 134.32

134.33 (8)
134.35 (2)

134.36

134.37

134.39

134.405 (5) (ad)

134.405 (5) (ah)

134.41 (1)

134.45 (3) (a)

134.50 (3)

134.50 (4)

134.52 (4
134.53 (4)

Misbranding of gold articles

Misbranding of sterling silver articles

Misbranding of coin silver articles

Misbranding of base silver articles

Misbranding of gold-plated articles

Misbranding of silver-plated articles

Unlawful platinum stamping

Violation of endorsed time of filing on telegrams

Unlawfully divulging a telegraph message or
giving preference in the transmission of such
messages

Unlawfully divulging a telegraph message or
forging the name of the intended receiver

Fraudulent knowledge of a telegraph dispatch or
injury or interference with wires

Violations relating to the purchase and sale of
certain scrap material (1st offense)

Violations relating to the purchase and sale of
certain scrap material (2nd offense)

Poles and wires on private property without the
owner’s consent

Entering into a contract to restrict days for
exhibiting motion picture films

Violations relating to poultry dealing

Giving a false name or address to a poultry
dealer by any person selling poultry

Unlawful shipment of chickens

Transporting cattle without documents
containing required information

Misdemeanors in the 2021-22 Wisconsin Statutes

$25-$500, max. 3
months

$25-$500, max. 3
months

$25-$500, max. 3
months

$25-$500, max. 3
months

$25-$500, max. 3
months

$25-$500, max. 3
months

max. $1,000, 6 months

unclassified
misdemeanor

max. $500, 1 year

max. $500, 1 year

max. $1,000, 1 year

max. $1,000, 90 days

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $25

$25-$300 (1st offense);
$300-$500 (2nd+
offenses)

$10-$100 (1st offense);
$25-$500, max. 90 days
(2nd+ offenses)

30 days-1 year

$10-$50, 10-30 days

max. $500, 3 months
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

134.57 Failure by an employer or its employed detective  $100-$500, 3 months-1
to submit facts of a case relating to settlement year
with an employee

134.60 Unlawful cutting or transportation of evergreen  $10-$100
trees
134.60 Unauthorized signing, lending, transferring, $100-$500

use, or soliciting of a consent form or certified
copy relating to cutting or transportation of
evergreen trees

134.65 (5) Violations relating to cigarette and tobacco $25-$100 (1st offense);
products retailer licenses $25-$300, max. 60 days
(2nd+ offenses)
134.69 Peddling finger alphabet cards $25-$100, max. 90 days
134.715 (3) Selling certain merchandise without proof of max. $500, 30 days

ownership at a flea market

134.97 (4) (b) Possession of a record that was disposed of by max. $1,000, 90 days
a financial institution, medical business, or tax
preparation business

138.05 and 138.06 (2) Violations relating to the maximum lending $25-$500, max. 6
rate, prepayment, and disclosure months

138.051 and 138.06  Violations relating to residential mortgage loans ~ $25-$500, max. 6

(2) months

138.052 and 138.06 ~ Violations relating to residential mortgage loans  $25-$500, max. 6

2) months

138.09 (10) Violations relating to licensed lenders max. $500, 6 months

138.10 (14) Receiving interest or charges greater than max. $500, 1 year
permitted by a pawnbroker

138.12 (3) (a) Engaging in the business of financing insurance  max. $200
premiums without a license

138.14 (15) (a) Violations relating to payday loans max. $500, 6 months

138.20 (2) Discrimination in granting credit or loans max. $1,000

139.03 (5) (c) Entering the state in unlawful possession of $25-$500, max. 90 days
intoxicating liquor or wine (1st offense); $100-

$500, max. 6 months
(2nd+ offenses)

139.05 (7) (d) Shipping into the state or knowingly receiving unclassified
fermented malt beverages from a brewer misdemeanor
without a valid license

139.05 (7) (f Shipping into the state, receiving, or selling unclassified
within the state fermented malt beverages misdemeanor
produced in a state with laws discriminating
against any production ingredient
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

139.25 (6) Failure to furnish data or returns relating to max. $500, 30 days
beverage taxes to the Department of Revenue

139.25 (7) Evading beverage taxes through fraudulent max. $500, 30 days
reporting

139.25 (8) Assisting another in evading beverage taxes max. $500, 30 days
through fraudulent reporting

139.25 (10) Various violations relating to beverage taxes $50-$500, 10-90 days

139.44 (2) Assisting another in evading cigarette taxes max. $10,000, 9 months
through fraudulent reporting

139.44 (3) Failure to keep required records relating to $100-$500, max. 6
cigarette and tobacco taxes months

139.44 (4) Refusal by a cigarette or tobacco retailer to max. $500, 90 days
permit a state inspector to examine records

139.44 (5) Various violations relating to cigarette and $100-$1,000, 10-90
tobacco taxes days

139.44 (6) Various violations of Department of Revenue $100-$500, max. 6
rules relating to cigarette and tobacco taxes months

139.44 (8) (a) Unlawful possession of cigarettes (if the number max. $200, 6 months
of cigarettes does not exceed 6,000)

139.44 (8) (b) Unlawful possession of cigarettes (if the number max. $1,000, 1 year
of cigarettes exceeds 6,000 but does not exceed
36,000)

139.85 (1) Violations relating to tobacco tax records or max. $10,000, 9 months
returns

140.02 (1) (k Violations relating to actions of a notary public ~ max. $10,000, 9 months
(1st offense)

145.12 (1) Acting as a plumber or automatic fire sprinkler ~ $100-$500, 30 days
contractor without a license

145.12 (2) Various violations relating to plumbing, fire max. $500, 3 months
protection, or swimming pools

145.12 (3) Falsely representing an apprentice to be a max. $25, 30 days
journeyman by a master plumber

145.26 (6) Violations relating to public swimming pool $100-$5,000
plan reviews

146.085 (2) Charging an admission fee to use a toilet $10-$50

146.60 (9) (ag) Failure to provide notice of a release of $100-$25,000, max. 1
genetically engineered organisms into the year
environment (1st offense)

146.60 (9) (am) Failure to provide notice of a release of max. $50,000, 9 months

genetically engineered organisms into the
environment (2nd+ offenses)
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

146.60 (9) (b) Confidentiality violation relating to records for ~ $50-$50,000, 1-6
notices of a release of genetically engineered months
organisms into the environment

146.84 (2) (a) Violations relating to patient health care records max. $25,000, 9 months

153.45 (5) and 153.78

@

153.50 and 153.78 (1)

153.75 (1) (a) and
153.78 (1)
154.15 (1)

154.29 (1)

154.29 (3)

154.30 (10)

155.80 (1)

155.80 (2)

155.80 (3)

155.80 (4)

155.80 (5)

157.70 (10) (e)

165.55 (13)

Unlawful release of certain health care
information by the Department of Health
Services

Patient confidentiality violations relating to
health care information

Violations of Department of Health Services
rules relating to certain health care information

Intentionally tampering with a declaration to
physicians without the consent of the declarant

Willfully tampering with the do-not-resuscitate
bracelet of another person without that person’s
consent

Intimidating another into signing a do-not-
resuscitate order

Intentionally tampering with an authorization
for final disposition of another without the
declarant’s consent

Intimidating another into executing a power of
attorney for health care instrument

Intentionally tampering with a power of
attorney for health care instrument

Falsifying a power of attorney for health care
instrument

Intentionally withholding knowledge of the
revocation of a power of attorney for health care
or of the falsification of a power of attorney for
health care instrument

Attempting to act as a health care agent based
on a false power of attorney for health care

Making a public easement in a cemetery

Various violations relating to the disposition of
human remains

Disturbing a burial site for commercial gain not
related to use of the land where a burial site is
located

Neglect by an officer to comply with certain
arson investigation requirements
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max. $15,000, 1 year

max. $15,000, 1 year

max. $15,000, 1 year

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

max. $1,000, 9 months

max. $1,000, 9 months

max. $1,000, 9 months

max. $3,000, 1 year

max. $5,000, 90 days
(1st offense); $10,000, 9
months (2nd+ offenses)

max. 2x value gained or
lost, 1 year

$25-$200
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
165.77 (5) Intentionally disseminating a biological max. $500, 30 days
specimen in an unauthorized manner
167.07 (5) Violations relating to the manufacture, storage,  $5-$25 (1st offense);
or distribution of matches min. $25 (2nd+
offenses)
167.10 (9) (a) Violation of a court order enjoining the sale, max. $10,000, 9 months
use, storage, or handling of fireworks
167.151 Unlawful operation of corn shredders $25-$100
167.18 Failure to cover or secure threshing machine $2-$50
joints
167.20 (2) Failure to provide stairway guards $25-$100, 30 days-6
months
167.25 (1) Discarding or abandoning a refrigerator without max. $50, 30 days
its door removed
167.26 (6) Leaving unguarded ice holes max. $100, 6 months
167.27 (7) Violations relating to capping and filling wells or $10-$200, max. 6
similar structures months
167.30 (1) Use of firearms near a public park, square, or $1-$25, max. 60 days
enclosure
167.31 (3) () Unlawful transport of a firearm, bow, or max. $1,000, 90 days
crossbow on an aircraft
168.12 (6) (f Signing or verifying a fraudulent claim for max. $500, 30 days
aviation fuel allowance
168.12 (6) (g) Assisting another in making a fraudulent claim  max. $500, 30 days
for aviation fuel allowance
169.45 (2) (b) Unlawfully selling or purchasing a live wild $100-$2,000, max. 6
animal months
169.45 (2) (d) Unlawfully taking bear or deer from the wild $1,000-$2,000, max. 6
months
169.45 (2) (e) Unlawfully taking a harmful wild animal from  $500-$5,000, max. 6
the wild months
169.45 (2) (g) Obtaining a license relating to captive wildlife max. $200, 90 days
during a period of revocation
169.45 (5) (a) Repeat violations relating to captive wildlife max. $100, 6 months
within a period of 5 years
169.45 (8) (a) 2. Engaging in activity authorized by a captive $500-$1,000
wildlife license during a period of revocation or
suspension
172.015 Permitting livestock on highways max. $200
173.41 (15) (a) Operating an animal shelter or dog dealer max. $10,000, 9 months

without a license
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

174.15 Violations relating to dogs max. $500, 60 days

175.05 (2) (b) Willfully entering upon certain posted premises max. $50, 30 days
without permission

175.05 (5) Going upon closed or restricted highways max. $50, 10 days

175.09 (3) Failure to use standard time in a place of $25-$500, 10-30 days
business

175.10 (2) Sale of certain merchandise to employees by $100-$500, 30-90 days
state agencies or any political subdivision
thereof

175.15 (2 Attending an endurance contest lasting more $5-$25, max. 10 days
than 16 hours in any 24 hour period over a
period of more than 6 days in 1 month

175.15 (3) Operating an endurance contest lasting more $100-$500, 10 days-1
than 16 hours in any 24 hour period over a year
period of more than 6 days in 1 month

175.20 (3) Operating an amusement place without a max. $10,000, 9 months
required license

175.25 (5) Violations relating to the storage of junk $10-$50, max. 30 days
automobiles

175.32 (5) Failure to report a threat to the health or safety ~ max. $1,000, 6 months

175.35 (3) (a) and
(b) 1.

175.37 (2)
175.44 (3) (b)

175.44 (4) (c)

175.60 (17) (ag)

175.60 (17) (ar)

175.60 (17) (b)
175.60 (17) (e)

177.1204 (1) (c)

of a student or school employee or the public

Intentional violations relating to waiting periods
for the purchase of handguns

Failure to provide to the buyer of a firearm a
written warning before transferring the firearm

Intentional failure to report noncompliant use
of force by a law enforcement officer

Intentional failure to intervene or report an
intervention to prevent or stop another law
enforcement officer from noncompliant use of
force

Violations relating to the maintenance, use and
publication of records relating to licenses to
carry a concealed weapon

Use of excessive force by a law enforcement
officer based solely on an individual’s status as a
licensee to carry a concealed weapon

Carrying a concealed weapon in certain places

Failure to relinquish or deliver a revoked or
suspended license to carry a concealed weapon

Filing a false or fraudulent report relating to
unclaimed property

26  LRB REPORTS, vol. 7, no. 3

$500-$10,000, max. 9
months
max. $500, 30 days

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

$1,000-$25,000, max. 6
months
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
182.0175 (3r) Damage to transmission facilities max. $500, 30 days
185.94 (2) Improper use of the term “cooperative” max. $100
186.03 (4) Improper use of the term “credit union” max. $5,000
191.13 (6) Falsely representing a temporary railroad to be ~ max. $500, 6 months
something other than a temporary railroad
192.292 Trains obstructing highways max. $500, 15 days
192.327 (8) Violation by a railroad company to comply with  max. $500
an order from the Office of the Commissioner
of Railroads relating to transport of railroad
workers by motor vehicle
193.105 (2) Misuse of the term “cooperative” max. $250
193.311 (6) () Agricultural product and commodity marketing max. $1,000, 6 months
contract interference
195.286 (6) Interference with advance warning signs for max. $25
railroad highway crossings
196.171 (3) Obstructing an officer performing inspections max. $25
duties for meters, pipes, fittings, wires, and
works
196.525 (3) Unlawful loans to officers or directors of a max. $10,000
public utility and loans to and investments in
securities of holding companies
196.60 (1) (b) Discrimination in services or charges by an $50-$2,500
officer of a public utility
196.604 Unlawful rebates, concessions, and $50-$5,000
discriminations from a public utility service
196.65 (1) Violations by an officer of a public utility $100-$2,500
relating to information and records
196.65 (1) Violations by an agent of a public utility relating  $100-$5,000
to information and records
196.65 (1) Violations by an employee of a public utility $100-$1,000
relating to information and records
196.65 (3) (b) Violations by telecommunications workers $100-$25,000
relating to information and records
196.65 (3) (¢) Violations relating to information and records ~ $500-$25,000
under the direction of a telecommunications
provider
196.67 (3) Failure by a public utility to place warning signs ~ $50-$5,000
near certain overhead electrical supply lines
196.69 (1) Interference with Public Service Commission max. $5,000, 30 days

equipment
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

199.105 (3) Interfering with the utility service of another max. $1,000, 6 months
who contributes to the Citizens Utility Board

199.14 (3) Corrupt practices and conflicts of interest with ~ max. $1,000, 6 months
the Citizen Utility Board

200.35 (6) (b) Failure to comply with a requirement by the $100
Metropolitan Sewerage District Commission to
remove obstructions

202.06 (6) (c) 2. Violating a restraining order or injunction $25-$5,000, max. 1 year

213.15 Offering for sale nonstandard hose couplings, $100-$500
fittings, or apparatus fittings for fire hoses

215.11 (7) Failure to furnish a surety bond $10

215.21 (23) False statement in a loan application max. $1,000, 6 months

215.26 (6) Acting on behalf of any unauthorized savings $100-$500
and loan association

216.03 Business with or for an unauthorized investment $100-$1,000, 3
association months-1 year

217.16 Various violations relating to a seller of checks ~ max. $500, 6 months

218.0147 (3) Unlawful sale of a motor vehicle to a minor max. $200, 6 months

218.02 (10) Violations relating to adjustment service max. $500, 90 days
companies

218.04 (12) Violations relating to collection agencies max. $1,000, 6 months

218.05 (15) Violations relating to community currency max. $2,000, 9 months
exchanges

218.11 (5m) Violations relating to recreational vehicle $25-$100
dealers

218.205 (1) Conducting the business of a motor vehicle $500-$5,000, max. 60
salvage dealer without a license days

218.23 (3) (a) Violations relating to the sale of a vehicle to $25-$200, max. 60 days
motor vehicle salvage dealers and maintenance
of records

218.23 (3) (b) Violation relating to junking or wrecking a max. $250 (1st offense);
motor vehicle $750 (2nd offense);

$1,500 (3rd+ offenses)

218.24 (4) Failure to lawfully display a salvage dealer $25-$200, max. 60 days
license number on trucks and truck-tractors

218.305 Auctioning motor vehicles at wholesale without ~ $25-$200, max. 60 days
alicense

218.33 (3) Violations relating to conducting the business of $25-$200, max. 60 days
a motor vehicle auction dealer

218.43 Violations relating to moped dealers $25-$100
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

218.53 Violations relating to motor vehicle salvage $1,000-$10,000, max.
pools and buyer identification 90 days

220.06 (3) (b) Redisclosure of information in examination $100-$1,000, max. 6
reports possessed by a bank months

221.0525 Failure to certify transferred stock max. $100

221.0610 (5) (c)

223.08

224.03

224.06 (7)

224.07

224.80 (1)

230.43 (3)

231.02 (6) (a)

236.31 (1)
236.32

236.33

236.35 (2)

241.025

250.04 (7

250.045 (5) (a)

250.045 (5) (b)

252.06 (4) (b) 2.

False entries in the minute book for meetings of
the board of directors of a bank

Unlawful use of the word “trust”

Unlawful banking without a charter

Violations relating to fidelity bonds for bank
officers and employees

Violation of requirements to clear checks at par

Various violations relating to mortgage bankers,
loan originators, and mortgage brokers

Obstruction or falsifications of civil service
examinations

Conflicts of interest for members of the
Wisconsin Health and Educational Facilities
Authority

Transfer of lots without a recorded plat
Disturbing or not placing monuments

Unlawfully dividing land into small parcels in
cities of the first class

Sale of lands abutting on a private way outside
the corporate limits of a municipality

Contracts for employment

Violations of Department of Health Services
rules governing the duties of local health officers

Violations relating to pharmaceutical drugs and
order authority of the Department of Health
Services

Obstructing a Department of Health Services
employee in performing duties relating to
pharmaceutical drugs

Unauthorized entrance into isolation or
quarantine premises

$100-$500, 30 days—6
months

$300-$1,000, 60 days-1
year

$300-5$1,000, 60 days-1
year

$100

unclassified
misdemeanor

max. $25,000, 9 months

$50-$1,000, max. 1 year

$50-$1,000, max. 30
days

max. $500, 6 months
max. $250, 1 year
$100-$500, max. 6
months

max. $200, 30 days
unclassified
misdemeanor

$10-$100

max. $10,000, 1 year

max. $5,000, 1 year

max. $10,000, 9 months
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
252.15 (9) Unlawful disclosure of the results of an HIV test max. $50,000, 9 months
causing bodily or psychological harm
252.25 Various violations relating to communicable max. $500, 30 days
diseases
254.30 (2) (b) Various violations relating to toxic substances $100-$5,000
and environmental health
254.59 (2) Maintaining certain human health hazards max. $300, 90 days
254.59 (4) Refusal to allow a local health officer to enter $10-$100
into and examine a place to ascertain health
conditions
254.59 (5) Maintaining certain human health hazards max. $300, 90 days
254.92 (2m) (b) Purchasing tobacco products for a minor (2nd  max. $500, 30 days
offense in 30 months)
254.92 (2m) (c) Purchasing tobacco products for a minor (3rd max. $1,000, 90 days
offense in 30 months)
254.92 (2m) (d) Purchasing tobacco products for a minor (4th+  max. $10,000, 9 months
offenses in 30 months)
255.04 (10) (a) Unlawful use of information from cancer max. $15,000, 1 year
reporting
256.30 (7) Refusal or delay of emergency service max. $1,000
256.35 (10) (a) Unlawfully dialing “911” $100-$600, max. 90
days
256.35 (10) (b) Unlawful use of information from emergency max. $10,000
medical services
280.97 Various violations relating to pure drinking $10-$100, max. 30 days
water
283.91 (3) Various violations relating to pollution $10-$25,000, max. 6
discharge months (1st offense);
$10-$50,000, 1 year
(2nd+ offenses)
283.91 (4) False statements in pollution discharge $10-$10,000, max. 6
elimination documents months
285.87 (2) (a) Various violations relating to air pollution max. $25,000, 6 months
291.97 (2) (a) False statements or tampering with hazardous $100-$25,000, max. 1
waste management documents year
293.87 (2) False statements in a metallic mining $1,000-$5,000
application
295.37 (1) False statements in an application relating to oil ~ $1,000-$5,000
and gas
295.79 (3) False statements in a mining permit application ~ $1,000-$5,000
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
299.53 (4) (c) 2. False statements in a use oil fuel notification max. $25,000, 1 year
299.62 (3) (b) 2nd violation relating to unlawful transport $10,000-$25,000, max.
of oil or hazardous material in bulk on certain 6 months
waterways
299.83 (10) False statements relating to the Green Tier $10-$10,000, max. 6
Program months
299.85 (10) False statements relating to the Environmental ~ $10-$10,000, max. 6

301.12 (14) (e) 4.

301.45 (6) (a) 2.

301.45 (6) (ag) 2.

301.45 (6) (am)

301.47 (3) (b)
301.475 (2) (a)

302.07

302.375 (1m)

302.375(2)
302.375 (3) (a)

321.62 (5) (d)

321.62 (11) (¢)

321.62 (12) (c) 2.

321.62 (14) (e)

321.62 (15) (¢)

322.048

Compliance Audit Program

Using an assignment of child support to
discriminate against an employee

Failure to provide information for sex offender
registration

Unlawful establishment or change of residence
by a sex offender

Failure to keep confidential information relating
to sex offender registration

Sex offender name changes

Sex offender on school premises without
providing notice

Failure to obey commands to maintain order in
a prison

Selling or giving a prisoner liquor or dangerous
drugs

Use of intoxicating liquor by a prisoner

Allowing prisoners of different sexes to
participate together in treatment or activities

Making or using a false affidavit relating to
service members civil relief

Taking part in the eviction of family of a service
member during a period of state active duty

Causing a foreclosure, sale, or seizure of
property for any breach of terms occurring
within 90 days after a service member’s period
of active duty

Seizing or retaining personal property belonging
to a service member who lawfully terminates a
lease

Enforcing a lien for storage of household goods
or furniture of a service member during a
period of state active duty

Contempt before a military judge

months

max. $500

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $500, 30 days

max. $10,000, 9 months
max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $500, 1 year

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $500, 6 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

$100, max. 30 days
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

323.60 (11) (d) Releasing certain trade secrets relating to $100-$20,000, max. 1
hazardous substances entitled to protection year

341.45 (6) (a) False information in a form relating to the max. $500, 6 months
regulation of importation in vehicle tanks

341.45 (6) (b) Failure or refusal to make a report or payment max. $5,000, 1 year
relating to the regulation of importation in
vehicle tanks

341.60 Fraudulent application for a vehicle registration — max. $200, 6 months
or license

342.15 (5m) (b) Fraud relating to a transfer of interest in a max. $5,000
vehicle

342.15 (6) (b) Failure to apply for a new certificate of title max. $1,000, 30 days
immediately upon transfer of a vehicle with
intent to defraud

342.16 (4) (b) Transferring a motor vehicle without disclosing  max. $5,000

343.05 (5) (am) 1.

343.05 (5) (am) 2.

343.05 (5) (am) 3.

343.05 (5) (b) 1.

343.12 (9) (a)

343.12 (9) (b)

343.12 (9) (c)

343.14 (9)

343.16 (7) (a)

343.16 (7) (b)

343.19 (4)

certain information with intent to defraud

Unlawful motor vehicle operation or licensing
(1st offense)

Unlawful motor vehicle operation or licensing
(2nd offense in 3 years)

Unlawful motor vehicle operation or licensing
(3rd+ offenses in 3 years)

Operating a non-commercial motor vehicle
without a required license

Operating a school bus without authorization
(1st offense)

Operating a school bus without authorization
(2nd offense in 3 years)

Operating a school bus without authorization
(3rd+ offenses in 3 years)

Committing fraud in an application for a motor
vehicle license or identification card

Securing the services of another person to take
an examination for a vehicle license

Taking an examination for a vehicle license in
the place of another person

False statements relating to duplicate motor
vehicle licenses or identification cards
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$200-$600, max. 6
months

$300-$1,000, 5 days-6
months

$1,000-$2,000, 10
days-6 months

max. $300, 30 days (2nd
offense); $500, 6 months
(3rd+ offenses)

$200-$600, max. 6
months

$300-$1,000, 5 days—6
months

$1,000-$2,000, 10
days—6 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

$100-$200, max. 6
months

$100-$200, max. 6
months (1st offense);
$200-$500, max. 1 year
(2nd+ offenses)

max. $1,000, 6 months
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

343.245 (4) (b) Allowing certain unauthorized employees to $2,750-$25,000, max.
operate a commercial motor vehicle 90 days

343.28 (4) Failure to comply with requirements for max. $100, 6 months
courts to forward records of convictions to the
Department of Transportation

343.315 (1m) Employers allowing drivers to operate a max. $5,000, 90 days
commercial motor vehicle during a period of
disqualification

343.43 (3) (a) Unlawful use of a motor vehicle license (1st $200-$600, max. 6
offense) months

343.43 (3) (b) Unlawful use of a motor vehicle license (2nd $300-$1,000, 5 days-6
offense in 3 years) months

343.43 (3) (¢) Unlawful use of a motor vehicle license (3rd+ $1,000-$2,000, 10
offenses in 3 years) days—6 months

343.43 (3m) Violations relating to operating a “Class D” or max. $300, 30 days (2nd

343.44 (2) (ar) 2.

343.44 (2) (ar) 2m.

343.44 (2) (ar) 3.

343.44 (2) (ar) 4.

343.44 (2) (br)

344.48 (2)

345.37 (6)

346.17 (2t)

346.17 (5) (b)

“Class M” vehicle (2nd+ offenses in 3 years)

Operating a vehicle while operating privilege is
revoked or restricted (if the revocation did not
result from causing bodily har m)

Operating a vehicle while operating privilege is
revoked or restricted (2nd+ offenses)

Operating a vehicle while operating privilege

is revoked or restricted (if the operator causes
great bodily harm to another person and does
not know his or her operating privileges have

been revoked)

Operating a vehicle while operating privilege is
revoked or restricted (if the operator causes the
death of another person and does not know his
or her operating privileges have been revoked)

Operating a commercial vehicle while license is
disqualified

Forged proof relating to financial responsibility
of a vehicle

Failure to forward records of convictions to the
Department of Transportation

Knowingly resisting a traffic officer by failing to
stop a vehicle after receiving a visible or audible
signal to stop

Failing or refusing to comply with an order from
a traffic officer or disobeying the instructions of
a traffic sign where persons engaged in highway
construction or emergency response are present,
resulting in bodily harm to another person

offense); $500, 6 months
(3rd+ offenses)

max. $2,500, 1 year

max. $10,000, 1 year

$5,000-$7,500, max. 1
year

$7,500-$10,000, max.
1 year

max. $2,500, 1 year

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $100

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
346.22 (1) (b) 2. Failing to yield the right-of-way at an max. $10,000, 9 months

346.43 (1) (b) 3.b.

346.49 (1) (c) 2.

346.60 (3m) (a) 2.

346.65 (1) (b

346.65 (2) (am) 2.

346.65 (2) (am) 3.

346.65 (2) (f) 1.

346.65 (2j) (am) 2.

346.65 (2j) (am) 3.

intersection with a yield sign where persons
engaged in highway construction or emergency
response are present, resulting in bodily harm to
another person

Committing certain traffic violations while
operating a vehicle where persons are engaged
in highway maintenance or construction, utility
work, or emergency response, resulting in
bodily harm to another person

Committing certain traffic violations while
operating a vehicle where persons are engaged
in highway maintenance or construction, utility
work, or emergency response, resulting in
bodily harm to another person

Committing various speed violations while
operating a vehicle where persons are engaged
in highway maintenance or construction, utility
work, or emergency response, resulting in
bodily harm to another person

Two or more reckless driving convictions within
a 4-year period

Operating a vehicle under the influence of an
intoxicant or other drug (if the number of prior
convictions of causing injury from intoxicated
operation of a vehicle plus the total number of
other suspensions and revocations within 10
years equals 2)

Operating a vehicle under the influence of an
intoxicant or other drug (if the number of prior
convictions of causing injury from intoxicated
operation of a vehicle plus the total number of
other suspensions and revocations equals 3)

Operating a vehicle under the influence of an
intoxicant or other drug (if there was a minor
passenger in the motor vehicle at the time of the
violation)

Operating a vehicle with an alcohol
concentration of 0.04 or more but less than 0.08
(if the number of prior convictions of causing
injury from intoxicated operation of a vehicle
plus the total number of other suspensions and
revocations equals 2)

Operating a vehicle with an alcohol
concentration of 0.04 or more but less than 0.08
(if the number of prior convictions of causing
injury from intoxicated operation of a vehicle
plus the total number of other suspensions and
revocations equals 3 or more)
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max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

$50-$500, max. 1 year

$350-$1,100, 5 days—6
months

$600-$2,000, 45 days-1
year

$350-$1,100, 5 days—6
months

$300-$1,000, 5 days—6
months

$600-$2,000, 45 days-1
year
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
346.65 (2q) Operation of a vehicle by a person who hasnot ~ $400
attained the legal drinking age with an alcohol
concentration of more than 0.0 but less than
0.08 (if accompanied by a minor under 16 years
of age)
346.65 (3) Causing bodily harm to another by the negligent $300-$2,000, 30 days-1
operation of a vehicle year
346.65 (3m) Causing injury to another by operating a $300-$2,000, 30 days-1
vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant year
or other drug (if the driver has a prohibited
alcohol concentration under 0.08 or detectable
controlled substance in his or her blood)
346.65 (4) Employment of drunken operators $50-$500, max. 6
months
346.65 (5m) (b) Negligent operation of a vehicle where max. $10,000, 9 months
persons are engaged in highway maintenance
or construction, utility work, or emergency
response, resulting in bodily harm to another
person
346.74 (5) (a) Failure to fulfill a required duty upon striking $300-$1,000, max. 6
a person or an occupied vehicle (if the accident ~ months
did not involve death or injury to a person)
346.74 (5) (b) Failure to fulfill a required duty upon striking max. $10,000, 9 months
a person or an occupied vehicle (if the accident
involved injury but not great bodily harm)
347.50 (1m) Operating a vehicle equipped with a transmitter max. $10,000, 1 year
emitting a signal to activate an emergency
preemption device
347.50 (1s) Tampering with an ignition interlock device or ~ $150-$600, max. 6
immobilization device months (1st offense);
$300-$1,000, max. 6
months (2nd+ offenses)
347.50 (2) Tampering with an odometer or airbag max. $5,000, 1 year
349.25 (1 Operating a vehicle for hayrack, sleigh, boxsled, max. $100, 30 days
or bobsled rides without a license
350.11 (3) (a) 2. Intoxicated snowmobiling (2nd offense in 5 $300-$1,000, 5 days—6
years) months
350.11 (3) (a) 3. Intoxicated snowmobiling (3rd+ offenses in 5 $600-$2,000, 30 days-1
years) year
350.11 (3) (b) Causing injury to another by intoxicated $300-$2,000, 30 days-1
snowmobiling; refusal to stop for a law year
enforcement officer
351.08 Operation of a motor vehicle by a habitual max. $5,000, 180 days

traffic offender or repeat habitual traffic offender
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
425.401 (1) Various violations relating to consumer max. $2,000
transactions
425.401 (2) Intentional violation of requirements to notify ~ max. $500
law enforcement about repossessing certain
motor vehicle collateral or goods
440.03 (14) (f) Violations relating to practicing certain max. $200, 6 months
therapies
440.032 (9) Violations relating to sign language interpreting max. $200, 6 months
440.21 (4) (b Violating a temporary restraining order or $25-$5,000, max. 1 year
injunction issued by a court relating to engaging
in a practice without a credential required by
the Department of Safety and Professional
Services
440.26 (8) Acting as a private detective, investigator, or $100-$500, 3-6 months
private security person without a license or
permit
440.311 (2) Using the title “behavior analyst” without a max. $250, 3 months
license
440.495 Violating Department of Safety and Professional max. $1,000
Services rules relating to transportation network
companies
440.52 (8) (i) Various violations relating to soliciting students  max. $500, 3 months
for courses
440.52 (13) (b) Intentional issuance or manufacturing of a false A
academic credential
440.86 (1) Various violations relating to crematory max. $1,000, 6 months
authorities
440.95 (1 Knowing failure by a cemetery authority to be max. $100
licensed
440.95 (2) Failure by a cemetery salesperson to register $25-$200, max. 6
with the Department of Safety and Professional ~ months
Services
440.95 (3) Violations relating to cemetery authoritiesand  max. $5,000, 6 months
cemetery salespersons (1st offense); $10,000, 9
months (2nd+ offenses)
440.95 (4) Violations relating to cemetery preneed sellers ~ max. $5,000, 90 days
(1st offense); $10,000, 9
months (2nd+ offenses)
440.981 (2) Using the title “licensed midwife” without a max. $250, 3 months
license
440. 9965 Violations by an athlete agent intending to max. $10,000, 9 months

induce a student athlete to enter into an agency
contract
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

441.13 (1) Various violations relating to nursing regulation max. $250, 1 year

442.11 Violations relating to practicing as a certified max. $500, 1 year
public accountant without the required
credentials

443.18 (1) (a) Violations relating to practicing as an architect ~ $100-$500, max. 3
or engineer without the required credentials months

443.18 (3) Various violations relating to architects, max. $500, 3 months
engineers, designers, and surveyors

444.16 Various violations relating to the regulation of ~ unclassified
unarmed combat sports misdemeanor

445.15 (1) Various violations relating to funeral directors max. $5,000, 30 days-3

months

445.15 (1m) Requirements by a funeral director or operator ~ max. $5,000
for a client who enters into a burial agreement
to purchase a life insurance policy used to
fund the agreement from a specified insurance
intermediary

446.07 Various violations relating to the practice of max. $10,000, 9 months
chiropractic

447.09 Various violations relating to the practice of max. $1,000, 1 year
dentistry

448.09 (1 Billing a patient for a test performed by the state max. $250
laboratory of hygiene by a Medical Examining
Board licensee

448.09 (1) Various violations by any person relating to the =~ max. $10,000, 9 months
Medical Examining Board

448.09 (1m Various violations by a physician relating to the = max. $25,000, 9 months
Medical Examining Board

448.59 Various violations relating to the Physical max. $10,000, 9 months
Therapy Examining Board

448.69 (1) (a) Various violations relating to the Podiatry max. $10,000, 9 months
Affiliated Credentialing Board

448.69 (1) (b) Billing a patient for a test performed by the state max. $250
laboratory of hygiene by a Podiatry Affiliated
Credentialing Board licensee

448.94 Various violations relating to the Dietitians max. $1,000, 6 months
Affiliated Credentialing Board

448.959 Various violations relating to the Athletic max. $10,000, 9 months
Trainers Affiliated Credentialing Board

448.9695 (1) Various violations relating to the Occupational ~ max. $10,000, 9 months
Therapists Affiliated Credentialing Board

448.979 Various violations relating to the Physician max. $10,000, 9 months

Assistant Affiliated Credentialing Board
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
449.11 Various violations relating to the Optometry $50-$200, max. 3
Examining Board months (1st offense);
$200-$500, 3-6 months
(2nd+ offenses)
450.11 (9) (a) Violations relating to prescription drugs and max. $500, 6 months
devices
450.155 (2) (b) Exhibition, display, or advertisement of certain ~ max. $10,000, 9 months
vending machines by use of material harmful to
minors
450.16 (3) Sale of contraceptives in a public school max. $10,000, 9 months
450.18 Various violations relating to the Pharmacy $50-$100, 30-90 days
Examining Board
451.16 Various violations relating to acupuncture $100-$1,000, max. 90
days
452.137 (5) (b) Various violations relating to out-of-state max. $5,000 or 1 percent
brokers and salespersons of purchase price or
lease/rental value
452.17 (1) Acting as a broker or salesperson without a max. $1,000, 6 months
license
452.17 (3) Various violations relating to real estate practice max. $1,000, 6 months
454.16 Various violations relating to the Cosmetology ~ $100-$5,000, 10-90
Examining Board days
454.295 Various violations relating to barbering $100-$5,000, 10-90
days
455.11 Various violations relating to the Psychology max. $200, 6 months
Examining Board
456.09 (2) Violations relating to nursing home max. $1,000, 1 year
administration
458.30 Various violations relating to the Real Estate max. $1,000, 6 months
Appraisers Board
458.45 Various violations relating to real estate max. $10,000
appraisal management companies
460.15 Various violations relating to massage therapy max. $1,000, 90 days
and bodywork therapy
463.18 Violation of laws relating to body art max. $500, 30 days
466.09 Various violations relating to naturopathic max. $10,000, 9 months
medicine
470.09 (2) Various violations relating to the Examining max. $10,000
Board of Professional Geologists, Hydrologists,
and Soil Scientists
480.26 (1) Various violations relating to the Auctioneer max. $1,000, 6 months

Board
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Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

562.025 and 562.13
(2) (¢)

562.05 (1) and 562.13

&

562.06 (5) and 562.13

=

562.11 (1) and 562.13

=

562.13 (2)

563.73 (1)

563.73 (2)

563.99 (1)

565.02 (2m) and
565.50 (1)

565.05 and 565.50 (1)

565.10 (3m) and
565.50 (1)

565.17 and 565.50 (1)

565.25 (3m) and
565.50 (1)

565.32 (1), (2) (b), or
(3) and 565.50 (1)
565.50 (3)

610.70 (7) (a)

647.07

708.03

756.255

757.22 (5)

757.295 (4)
757.30 (1)

Conflicts of interest relating to racing and pari-
mutuel wagering

Engaging in racing or pari-mutuel wagering
activities without a license

Accepting a wager or making a payout on a
wager to a minor

Violations relating to certain racing or pari-
mutuel wagering activities

False statements in an application for a license
relating to racing and pari-mutuel wagering

Violations relating to restrictions on the conduct
of bingo

Various violations relating to bingo and raffle
control

Various violations relating to raffles

False statements in applications for positions
administering state lottery operations

Conflicts of interest for employees
administering the state lottery

False statements by retailers applying for a state
lottery retail contract

Violations relating to limitations on state lottery
ticket and share sales and purchases

False statements in proposing to contract for a
major procurement for the state lottery

Violations relating to advertising and ticket and
share contents for the state lottery

Possessing an altered or forged lottery ticket
with intent to defraud

Willfully obtaining information about an
individual from an insurer under false pretenses

Various violations relating to continuing care
contracts

Designation of an attorney by a lender for a
mortgagor

Use of jury duty service by an employer for a
discriminatory action

Judge acting as an attorney or attorney having
office in the same room with a judge

Barratry

Practicing law without a license

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $5,000, 90 days

max. $1,000, 30 days
max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $25,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $100

max. $200

max. $100

max. $500, 6 months

$50-$500, max. 1 year
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
757.45 Sharing of compensation by attorneys max. $500, 6 months
765.30 (1) Marriage outside the state to circumvent laws max. $10,000, 9 months
765.30 (2) False statements in applying for a marriage max. $10,000, 9 months
license
765.30 (3) Unlawful solemnization of marriage $100-$500, max. 6
months
765.30 (4) Unlawful solemnization of marriage by the $10-$200, max. 3
parties to the marriage months
765.30 (5) Various violations relating to marriage $10-$50
767.75 (6) (c) Use of a child or family support assignment max. $500
by an employer to discriminate against an
employee or applicant
768.07 Various violations relating to the abolishment max. $10,000, 9 months
of actions for breach of promise, alienation of
affection, or criminal conversation
778.16 Neglect by a treasurer of a municipality to $50-$300, 3-6 months
perform forfeiture collection duties
778.30 (4) Use by an employer of an order assigning max. $500
an employee’s income to pay forfeitures to
discriminate against the employee
779.02 (7) Wrongful use of materials by a contractor max. $300, 3 months
779.42 Obtaining a mechanic’s services by max. $200, 6 months
misrepresentation of interest in personal
property
779.49 (2) Unlawful sale, disposal, or mortgage of a dam max. $10, 60 days
(animal)
782.38 Reimprisonment max. $1,000, 6 months
782.39 Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of max. $1,000, 6 months
habeas corpus
784.10 Failure to deliver books or papers unclassified
misdemeanor
784.13 Usurping, intruding into, or unlawfully holding  max. $2,000
any office, franchise, or privilege
785.04 (2) () Contempt of court in a nonsummary procedure  max. $5,000, 1 year
785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure max. $500, 30 days

800.095 (1) (¢) 11.

800.12 (3)

Use by an employer of an assignment for failure

to pay a monetary judgment to discriminate
against the employee

Contempt of court including misconduct in the

presence of the court or the refusal of a witness
to appear
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

813.12 (8) (a) Violation of a temporary domestic abuse max. $10,000, 9 months
restraining order or injunction

813.122 (11) Violation of a temporary child abuse restraining max. $1,000, 9 months
order or injunction

813.123 (10) Violation of a temporary restraining order or max. $1,000, 9 months
injunction for individuals at risk

813.125 (7) Violation of a temporary harassment restraining max. $10,000, 9 months
order or injunction

813.128 (4) Violation of a condition of a foreign protection =~ max. $1,000, 9 months

813.1283 (11m)

813.1285 (8)
823.12

846.40 (10) (d) 1.
846.45 (6) (e)

856.05 (3)
885.11 (3)

939.32 (1) (bm)
939.615 (7) (b) 1.
940.19 (1)
940.195 (1)
940.22 (3) (d)

940.22 (4) (d)

940.225 (3m)

940.285 (2) (b) 4.

940.285 (2) (b) 5.

940.291 (1)

940.291 (2)

order

Intentional violation of a Canadian domestic
violation protection order

Violation of court order to surrender a firearm

Violation of various injunctions relating to
nuisances

Fraud relating to foreclosure reconveyances

Violations relating to foreclosure consultants

Failure to deliver a will or suppression of a will

Inexcusable failure by a witness to attend a court
of record

Attempt to commit a Class I felony

Violation of a condition of lifetime supervision
Battery

Battery to an unborn child

Failure by a therapist to report sexual
exploitation by another therapist

Failure to maintain confidentiality of reports
and records relating to sexual exploitation by a
therapist

4th degree sexual assault

Subjecting an individual at risk to abuse under
circumstances causing bodily harm

Subjecting an individual at risk to abuse under
circumstances not causing bodily harm

Failure by a law enforcement officer to render
first aid

Law enforcement officer permitting another to
fail to render first aid

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

$200-$1,000, 3-6
months

max. $50,000, 1 year

$25-$10,000, max. 1
year

max. $500, 1 year

max. $200
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Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

940.295 (3) (b) 4.

940.295 (3) (b) 5.

940.315 (1)

940.34 (1) (a)

940.34 (1) (b)

940.34 (1) (¢)

940.42

940.44
941.01 (1)

941.10 (1)
941.12 (2)
941.12 (3)
941.13

941.20 (1)

941.23 (2)
941.231

941.235 (1)

941.237 (2)

941.26 (2) (c)
941.26 (4) (b)

941.26 (4) (j)
941.26 (4) (L)
941.299 (3) (a)
941.315 (2)
941.316 (2)

Reckless abuse or neglect of patients or residents
at community residential facilities under
circumstances causing bodily harm

Reckless abuse or neglect of patients or residents
at community residential facilities under
circumstances not causing bodily harm

Violations relating to use of global positioning
systems

Failure to summon law enforcement for a victim
of a crime causing bodily harm

Failure by a private detective to notify law
enforcement of a crime

Failure by a private security person to notify law
enforcement of a crime

Intimidation of witnesses
Intimidation of victims

Negligent operation of a vehicle endangering
another’s safety

Negligent handling of burning material
Interfering with fire fighting

Interfering with accessibility to a fire hydrant
Intentionally giving a false alarm

Endangering safety by use of a dangerous
weapon

Unqualified carrying of a concealed weapon
Carrying a concealed knife

Unqualified carrying of a firearm in a public
building

Carrying a handgun where alcoholic beverages
may be sold and consumed

Possession of a bomb

Intentional use of pepper spray to cause bodily
harm

Selling pepper spray without adequate labeling
Possession of pepper spray by a felon
Directing a laser pointer at law enforcement
Possession or inhalation of nitrous oxide

Possession or abuse of hazardous substances
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

941.36 (1) Fraudulent tapping of electric wires, gas, water, C
meters, or pipes

941.37 (2) Obstructing emergency or rescue personnel A

941.38 (3) Violation of a court order to refrain from A
contacting a criminal gang member

941.39 (2) Violation of a court order prohibiting contact A
with victims

941.40 (1) Disturbing telecommunications or electricity B
lines by affecting a structure

941.40 (2) Intentional disturbance of telecommunications B
or electricity lines

941.40 (3) Intentionally causing an electrical connection A
with telecommunications or electricity lines

942.01 (1) Defamation A

942.03 Giving false information for publication A

942.05 Opening letters A

942.06 (3) Use of polygraphs and similar tests B

942.07 (4 Use of genetic tests B

942.08 (2) Invasion of privacy A

942.09 (3m) (a) Posting or publishing certain depictions of A
persons

942.09 (4) (b) Soliciting an intimate or private representation A
of a child if the person soliciting the representa-
tion is aged 18 or older but under age 21 and the
child is less than 3 years younger in age

942.09 (5) (a) Capturing a representation of a nude personina A
locker room

942.10 Use of a drone with the intent to photograph, A
record, or observe an individual where the
individual has a reasonable expectation of
privacy

943.01 (1) Damage to physical property

943.014 (2) Demolition of a historic building without
authorization

943.017 (1) Graffiti A

943.07 (3) Throwing or shooting at railroads B

943.07 (4) Depositing dangerous debris on a railroad track B

943.11 Entry into a locked vehicle A

943.125 (1) Entry into a locked coin box A
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
943.125 (2) Possession of a device intended for breaking A
into a coin box
943.14 (2) Criminal trespass to dwellings A
943.145 (2) Criminal trespass to a medical facility B
943.15 (1) Entry onto a construction site or into a locked A
building, dwelling, or room
943.20 (3) (a) Theft (if the value of the property does not A
exceed $2,500)
943.204 (3) (a) Theft of fewer than 10 pieces of mail A
943.207 (3m) (a) Unlawful transfer of recorded sounds (if A
involving fewer than 1,000 recordings that do
not exceed $2,500 in value)
943.208 (2) (a) Recording a performance without the consent A
of the performance owner (if involving fewer
than 1,000 sound recordings or 100 audiovisual
recordings during a 180-day period and the
value of the recordings does not exceed $2,500)
943.209 (2) (a) Failure to disclose the manufacturer of A
a recording (if involving fewer than 100
recordings during a 180-day period and the
value of the recordings does not exceed $2,500)
943.21 (3) (am) 1. Fraud on a hotel or restaurant keeper, A
recreational attraction, taxicab operator, or gas
station (if the value of the service is $2,500 or
less)
943.215 (1) Absconding without paying rent A
943.23 (3m) Operating a vehicle without the owner’s consent A
for less than 24 hours
943.23 (4m) Riding as a passenger in a vehicle operated A
without the owner’s consent
943.23 (5) Removal of minor parts of a vehicle without the A
owner’s consent
943.24 (1) Issuing worthless checks for $2,500 or less A
943.26 (1) Removing or damaging encumbered real A
property
943.34 (1) (a) Receiving stolen property (if the value of the A
property does not exceed $2,500)
943.37 Alteration of property identification marks A
943.38 (3 Forgery; falsely making or altering objectsand A
certain writings or documents
943.392 Fraudulent data alteration A
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

943.395 (2) (a) Fraudulent insurance and employee benefit A
program claims (if the value of the claim does
not exceed $2,500)

943.41 (8) (a) Making false statements to procure a financial A
transaction card; theft by taking a card or
signing another’s card

943.41 (8) (c) Fraudulent use of a financial transaction card A
(if the value of the money, goods, services, or
property does not exceed $2,500)

943.45 (3) (a) Theft of telecommunications service (1st C
offense)

943.45 (3) (b) Theft of telecommunications service (2nd+ B
offenses)

943.45 (3) (c Theft of telecommunications service (for direct A
or indirect commercial advantage or private
financial gain)

943.455 (4) (b) Theft of commercial mobile service (2nd+ B
offenses)

943.455 (4) (c) Theft of commercial mobile service (for direct A
or indirect commercial advantage or private
financial gain)

943.46 (4) (a) Theft of cable television service (1st offense) C

943.46 (4) (b Theft of cable television service (2nd+ offenses)

943.46 (4) (c) Theft of cable television service (for direct A
or indirect commercial advantage or private
financial gain)

943.47 (3) (b) Theft of satellite cable programming (2nd+ B
offenses)

943.47 (3) (c) Theft of satellite cable programming (for direct A
or indirect commercial advantage or private
financial gain)

943.49 (2) (b) 1. Use of a recording device in a movie theater A
without written consent

943.50 (4) (a Retail theft (if the value of the merchandise does A
not exceed $500)

943.61 (5) (a) Theft of library material (if the value of the A
library materials does not exceed $2,500)

943.62 (4) (a) Unlawful receipt of payments to obtain a loan A
for another (if the value of the payment does not
exceed $2,500)

943.70 (2) (b) 1. Computer crimes; offenses against computer A

data and programs
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

943.70 (3) (b) 1. Computer crimes; offenses against computers, A
computer equipment, or supplies
943.74 (3) (a) Theft of farm-raised fish A
943.75 (2) Unauthorized release of animals C (1st offense); A (2nd
offense)
943.76 (3) (a) Infecting livestock with a contagious disease A

through reckless conduct

943.76 (3) (b) Infecting wild deer with a contagious disease A
through reckless conduct

943.81 and 943.91 (1) Theft from a financial institution (if the value of A
the money, funds, credits, assets, securities, or
property does not exceed $500)

943.82 (1) and 943.91 Fraud against a financial institution (if the value A
1) of the money, funds, credits, assets, securities, or
property does not exceed $500)

943.83 and 943.91 (1) Loan fraud (if the value of the loan does not A
exceed $500)

943.84 and 943.91 (1) Transfer of encumbered property (if the value of A
the property does not exceed $500)

943.895 (3) (a) Money laundering (if the total value of the A
proceeds in the transaction does not exceed
$2,500)
944.15 (2) Public fornication A
944.17 (2) Public sexual gratification A
944.20 (1) Public lewd or lascivious behavior A
944.21 (5) (b) Obscene material or performance (if the person A
has 1 prior obscenity conviction)
944.23 Making lewd, obscene, or indecent drawingsin ~ C
public
944.25 (2) Sending obscene or sexually explicit electronic A
messages
944.30 Prostitution A
944.31 (1) Patronizing prostitutes (1st or 2nd offense) A
944.33 (1) Pandering A
944.36 Solicitation of drinks by an entertainer or B

employee of a licensee, permittee, or bartender
of a retail alcohol beverage establishment

945.02 Gambling
945.04 (1m) Permitting premises to be used for commercial A
gambling
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

945.07 (1) Gambling by participants in a contest A

945.08 (2) Agreeing to being bribed as a participant in a A
contest

946.06 (1) Improper use of the flag A

946.16 Judicial officer collecting claims

946.17 Corrupt means to influence legislation; A
disclosure of interest

946.32 (2) False swearing A

946.40 (1) Refusing to aid an officer C

946.41 (1) Resisting or obstructing an officer A

946.42 (2) Escape from custody A

946.425 (1m) (a) Failure to report to jail (for a person who A
receives a stay of execution of imprisonment of
less than 10 days)

946.425 (1r) (a) Failure to report to jail (for a person who is A
subject to a confinement order as the result of a
conviction for a misdemeanor)

946.45 (1) Negligently allowing escape B

946.46 Encouraging a violation of probation, extended A
supervision, or parole

946.49 (1) (a) Bail jumping (if the offense with which the A
person is charged is a misdemeanor)

946.495 Violation of a nonsecure custody order

946.50 (6) Absconding (if the person was adjudicated A
delinquent for committing a misdemeanor if
committed by an adult)

946.52 Failure to submit required biological specimen A

946.67 (1) Compounding crime

946.70 (1) (a) Impersonating a peace officer with intent to A
mislead others

946.70 (1) (b Impersonating a fire fighter with intent to A
mislead others

946.70 (1) (¢) Impersonating an emergency medical services A
practitioner with intent to mislead others

946.70 (1) (d Impersonating an emergency medical responder A
with intent to mislead others

946.71 (2) Unlawful use of a license for carrying concealed A
weapons

946.72 (2) Tampering with public notices B
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
946.73 Violation of laws governing state fair park C
or any state or county charitable, curative,
reformatory, or penal institution while within
the same grounds
946.74 (1) Aiding escape from mental institutions A
946.75 Denial of right of counsel A
946.78 (2) False statements regarding military service A
946.90 (2) False statements in Wisconsin Works A
application
946.92 (3) (a) 1. Food stamp program fraud (if the value of the B
benefits does not exceed $100)
946.93 (2) False statements in application for public A
assistance
946.93 (3) (e) 2. Various public assistance fraud offenses (if the B
value of the payment or benefit is more than
$300 but does not exceed $1,000)
946.93 (3) (e) 3. Various public assistance fraud offenses (if the A
value of the payment or benefit is more than
$1,000 but does not exceed $2,000)
946.93 (4) Obtaining public assistance through a third C
party
947.01 (1) Disorderly conduct B
947.011 (3) (a) Disrupting a funeral or memorial service A
947.012 (1) Unlawful use of a telephone B
947.0125 (2) Unlawful use of computerized communication B
systems
947.013 (1r) Harassment accompanied by a credible threat A
that places the victim in reasonable fear of death
or great bodily harm
947.02 Vagrancy
947.04 (1) Drinking in common carriers
947.06 (3) Intentional failure or refusal to withdraw from
an unlawful assembly which the person knows
has been ordered to disperse
947.07 (2) Causing violence or a breach of peace by A
damaging or destroying a U.S. flag
947.20 Violation of right to work laws
947.21 Violation of labor peace agreements prohibition A
948.09 Sexual intercourse with a child aged 16 or older,

if defendant is aged 19 or older when violation
occurs

48  LRB REPORTS, vol. 7, no. 3


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.73
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.74(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.75
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.78(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.90(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.92(3)(a)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.93(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.93(3)(e)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.93(3)(e)3.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.93(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/947.01(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/947.011(3)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/947.012(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/947.0125(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/947.013(1r)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/947.02
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/947.04(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/947.06(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/947/07/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/947.20
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/947.21
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/948/09

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

948.093 Sexual contact with a child aged 15 or sexual A
intercourse with a child aged 15 or older if
defendant is under age 19 when violation occurs

948.10 (1) (b Exposing genitals or pubic area to a child, or A
causing a child to expose genitals or pubic
area, for purposes of sexual arousal or sexual
gratification (when the actor is a child)

948.11 (2) (b) Intent to expose a child to harmful material

948.21 (3) (f) Neglecting a child, if natural and probable A
consequences would be harmful although no
harm occurred

948.22 (3) Intentional failure to provide spousal, A
grandchild, or child support (for less than 120
consecutive days)

948.23 (3) (c) 1. Failure to report the disappearance of a child A
(when no bodily harm occurs to the child)

948.25 (1) Unauthorized interstate placement of a child A

948.40 (4) Contributing to the delinquency of a child A

948.45 (1) Contributing to truancy C

948.50 (3) Strip search of a pupil by a school employee B

948.51 (3) (a) Hazing (if the act results in or is likely to result A
in bodily harm to another)

948.53 (2) (b) 1. Child left unattended in a child care vehicle A
(when no bodily harm occurs to the child)

948.55 (2) Leaving or storing a loaded firearm within A
the reach or easy access of a child (if the child
discharges the firearm causing bodily harm or
death)

948.55 (3) Leaving or storing a loaded firearm within C
the reach or easy access of a child (if the child
possesses or exhibits the firearm in a public
place)

948.60 (2) (a) Possession of a dangerous weapon by a person A
under 18

948.61 (2) (a) Possession of a dangerous weapon other thana A
firearm on school premises

948.62 (1) (a) Intentionally receiving stolen property from A
a child (if the value of the property does not
exceed $500)

948.63 Receiving property from a child A

949.165 (14) Violations relating to payment to and max. $500, 30 days

establishment of escrow accounts
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

949.17 (2) Misrepresentation associated with the crime max. $500, 6 months
victim compensation program

949.37 (2) Misrepresentation associated with awards max. $500, 6 months

951.02 and 951.18 (1)

951.025 and 951.18
1)

951.03 and 951.18 (1)

951.04 and 951.18 (1)

951.05 and 951.18 (1)

951.06 and 951.18 (1)

951.07 and 951.18 (1)

951.08 (2m) and
951.18 (2)

951.08 (3) and 951.18
(2)

951.09 and 951.18 (1)

951.095 and 951.18
(2m)

951.097 (1) (b) 1. or
(2) (a) and 951.18 (2s)

951.097 (1) (b) 2.,

(2) (b), or (3) (a) and
951.18 (2s)

951.10 and 951.18 (1)

951.11 and 951.18 (1)

951.13 and 951.18 (1)

951.14 and 951.18 (1)

951.15 and 951.18 (1)

961.41 (3g) (b

for sexual assault forensic examination
compensation

Mistreating animals

Killing an animal by means of decompression

Dognapping and catnapping

Leading an animal upon a highway from a
motor vehicle

Transportation of animals in a cruel manner

Exposing a domestic animal to poisonous or
controlled substances

Using certain devices on animals to ready them
for an exhibition, competition, rodeo, circus, or
other performance

Owning an animal within 5 years of conviction
for instigating fights between animals

Spectating a cockfight, dog fight, bullfight, or
other fight between animals

Shooting at caged or staked animals

Harassment of police and fire animals (when no
injury is a consequence)

Reckless harassment of service dogs

Intentional harassment of service dogs or
recklessly injuring a service dog

Unlawful sale of baby rabbits, chicks, and other
fowl

Artificially coloring animals

Failure to provide proper food and drink to
confined animals

Failure to provide proper shelter to confined
animals

Abandoning animals

Possession of a controlled substance not
included in schedule I or II that is a narcotic
drug
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

961.41 (3g) (c) Possession of cocaine and cocaine base (1st max. $5,000, 1 year
offense)

961.41 (3¢g) (d Possession of certain hallucinogenic and max. $5,000, 1 year
stimulant drugs (1st offense)

961.41 (3g) (e) Possession of tetrahydrocannabinols (1st max. $1,000, 6 months
offense)

961.41 (3g) (em) Possession of synthetic cannabinoids (1st max. $1,000, 6 months
offense)

961.41 (4) (bm) Manufacture, delivery, distribution, or max. $500, 6 months

961.435 and 961.38

)

961.573 (1)
961.574 (1)
961.575 (1)
961.576

961.69 (2)
961.69 (3)
961.69 (4)
968.075 (5) (a) 2.

968.255 (4)

968.26 (4) (d)
968.34 (3)

968.49

973.05 (5) (g

973.07

976.03 (11)

979.01 (2)
979.10 (4)

dispensation of imitation controlled substances

Use or prescription by a practitioner of a
controlled substance in schedule I, I, III, or IV

Possession of drug paraphernalia

Manufacture or delivery of drug paraphernalia
Delivery of drug paraphernalia to a minor
Advertisement of drug paraphernalia

Use of a masking agent

Manufacture or delivery of a masking agent
Advertisement of a masking agent

Contact with an alleged victim immediately
following an arrest for a domestic abuse incident

Intentional violation of strip search
requirements

Violation of a secrecy order

Unlawful use of a pen register or trap and trace
device

Failure to attend as a grand juror after being
lawfully summoned without a sufficient excuse

Use by an employer of an assignment for

an employee’s failure to pay certain fines,
surcharges, costs, or fees to discriminate against
the employee

Failure to pay a fine, fees, surcharges, or costs or
to comply with certain community service work

Officer delivering a person in custody to an
extradition agent of another state

Violations relating to reporting deaths

Unlawful cremation without a permit

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days
max. $1,000, 90 days
max. $10,000, 9 months
max. $500, 30 days
max. $500, 30 days
max. $1,000, 90 days
max. $500, 30 days
max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $1,000, 90 days

max. $10,000, 9 months
max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $40

max. $500

max. 6 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $1,000, 90 days
max. $10,000, 9 months
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

985.03 (2) Causing a legal notice to be published in an max. $100
ineligible newspaper or failure to cause such
legal notice in any eligible newspaper

995.67 (2) (b) Disclosure by a domestic abuse services max. $500, 30 days
organization of the location of certain people
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