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Introduction

Wisconsin law prohibits the operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of
an intoxicant. Though the general prohibition on operating while intoxicated (OWI) is
well known, the specific offenses and associated penalties are quite complex. This report
provides a general overview of Wisconsin’s OWI law and other laws pertaining to alcohol

and drugs and the operation of vehicles.

OWI and related offenses

owl

An OWI offense consists of operating or driving a motor vehicle under any of the follow-

ing circumstances:

« While under the influence of an intoxicant, a controlled substance, a controlled sub-
stance analog, or any combination thereof, or while under the influence of any other
drug or combination of intoxicant and drug to a degree that renders one incapable of

safely driving.!

« While having a detectable amount of a restricted controlled substance in one’s blood.?
Restricted controlled substances include Schedule I substances and their analogs, co-
caine and its metabolites, a heroin metabolite, methamphetamine, and delta-9-tetrahy-

drocannabinol.?

« While having a prohibited alcohol concentration.# Alcohol concentration is expressed
as the number of grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of a person’s blood or the number
of grams of alcohol per 210 liters of a person’s breath. The prohibited alcohol concentra-
tion is generally 0.08,° though a lower threshold is set for repeat offenders,® operators of

commercial motor vehicles,” and people under the legal drinking age.8

OWI causing injury, great bodily harm, or death

The offenses of OWI causing injury, OWI causing great bodily harm, and OWI causing
death consist of committing an OWT offense that causes injury, great bodily harm, or

death of another person.’

1. Section 346.63 (1) (a), Wisconsin Statutes.

2. Section 346.63 (1) (am), Wisconsin Statutes.

3. Section 340.01 (50m), Wisconsin Statutes.

4. Section 346.63 (1) (b), Wisconsin Statutes.

5. Section 340.01 (46m) (a), Wisconsin Statutes.

. Section 340.01 (46m) (c), Wisconsin Statutes.

. Section 346.63 (5) (a) and (7) (a), Wisconsin Statutes.
. Section 346.63 (2m), Wisconsin Statutes.

6
7
8
9. Sections 346.63 (2) (a), 940.09 (1), and 940.25 (1), Wisconsin Statutes.
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Chemical test refusal

The offense of chemical test refusal consists of refusing a law enforcement officer’s re-
quest to submit to chemical testing to determine the presence of alcohol, controlled sub-

stances and their analogs, or other drugs in one’s blood or breath.!

Penalties

The penalty for an OWT or related offense depends on the total number of offenses the
person has committed, as determined by counting the current offense together with cer-
tain prior offenses. Prior offenses that are counted include OWI, OWI causing injury,
OWTI causing great bodily harm, OWTI causing death, chemical test refusal, operating

an aircraft while intoxicated, and equivalent offenses committed in other jurisdictions.!!

owl

A first-offense OWT is a civil infraction punishable by a forfeiture. A second- or third-of-
fense OWT is a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine and a period of confinement. An OWI
that is a fourth or subsequent offense is a felony, punishable by a fine and a period of

confinement. The basic penalty structure:!2

Offense Monetary penalty Period of confinement

First $150 to $300 forfeiture None

Second $350 to $1,100 fine Five days to six months

Third $600 to $2,000 fine 45 days to one year

Fourth $600 to $10,000 fine 60 days to six years

Fifth or sixth $600 to $25,000 fine Six months to 10 years

Seventh, eighth, or ninth Up to $25,000 fine Three years to 12 years, six months
Tenth or subsequent Up to $50,000 fine Four years to 15 years

Under certain circumstances, different penalties apply.

If a person has committed only one prior offense, occurring more than 10 years prior,
and the offense is not an OWI causing great bodily harm or an OWI causing death, the
prior offense is not counted.!?

If a passenger under 16 years of age is in the vehicle at the time the offense is commit-

ted, a first-offense OWI is treated as a criminal offense instead of a civil infraction, and a

10. Section 343.305 (2), (3), and (9), Wisconsin Statutes.
11. Section 343.307, Wisconsin Statutes.

12. Section 346.65 (2) (am), Wisconsin Statutes.

13. Section 346.65 (2) (am) 2., Wisconsin Statutes.
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third-offense OWI is treated as a felony instead of a misdemeanor. In addition, for OWIs
that are second and subsequent offenses, the applicable fines and periods of confinement
are doubled.!*

If a person has a high alcohol concentration while committing a third-, fourth-,
fifth-, or sixth-offense OWI, fines are multiplied—doubled for an alcohol concentration
0f 0.17 to 0.199, tripled for an alcohol concentration of 0.20 to 0.249, and quadrupled for
an alcohol concentration of 0.25 or above.!>

Some counties offer reduced periods of confinement to OWI offenders who success-
fully complete a period of probation that includes alcohol and other drug abuse treat-
ment. In counties with this option, for a second-offense OWI, the maximum period of
confinement is reduced from six months to seven days; for a third-offense OWI, the min-
imum period of confinement is reduced from 45 days to 14 days; and for a fourth-offense

OWI, the minimum period of confinement is reduced from 60 days to 29 days.1¢

OWI causing injury, great bodily harm, or death

A first-offense OWI causing injury is a misdemeanor.’” An OWI causing injury that is a
second or subsequent offense, any OWI causing great bodily harm, and any OWI caus-
ing death is a felony.!8 All are punishable by a fine and period of confinement. The basic

penalty structure:

Offense Monetary penalty Period of confinement
OWI causing injury, first $300 to $2,000 fine 30 days to one year

OWI causing injury, second or subsequent Up to $10,000 fine Up to six years

OWI causing great bodily harm Up to $25,000 fine Up to 12 years, six months
OWI causing death, first Up to $100,000 fine Up to 25 years

OWI causing death, second or subsequent Up to $100,000 fine Up to 40 years

Under certain circumstances, different penalties apply to the offense of OWI causing
injury.

If a passenger under 16 years of age is in the vehicle at the time the offense is commit-
ted, the applicable fines and periods of confinement are doubled. If the offense is a first

offense, it is treated as a felony instead of a misdemeanor.!

14. Section 346.65
15. Section 346.65
16. Section 346.65 (2
17. Section 346.65 (3m), Wisconsin Statutes.

18. Sections 346.65 (3p), 940.09 (1c) (a) and (b), and 940.25 (1), Wisconsin Statutes.
19. Section 346.65 (3m) and (3p), Wisconsin Statutes.

2

) (f), Wisconsin Statutes.
2) (g), Wisconsin Statutes.
) (

bm) to (dm), Wisconsin Statutes.

—~ o~ o~ o~
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Some counties offer a reduced period of confinement to offenders who successfully
complete a period of probation that includes alcohol and other drug abuse treatment. In
counties with this option, the fine remains the same, but the minimum period of confine-
ment is reduced from 30 days to 15 days.2

If the injured person is an adult in the same vehicle as the person committing the
offense and if the offense is a first offense, the court may impose penalties that are less

than the minimum required penalties.?!

Chemical test refusal

There is no monetary penalty or period of confinement for a chemical test refusal; the

penalty is the revocation of the person’s operator’s license.

Impact on the operating privilege

License revocation

The Department of Transportation must revoke the operator’s license of a person con-
victed of an OWT or related offense. The length of the revocation depends upon the total

number of offenses the person has committed.

Offense Revocation period??
OWI, first Six to nine months
OWI, second One year to 18 months
OW]I, third or subsequent Two to three years
OWI causing injury One to two years

OWI causing great bodily harm Two years

OWI causing death Five years

Chemical test refusal, first One year

Chemical test refusal, second Two years

Chemical test refusal, third or subsequent Three years

Note: Permanent revocation is required 1) for a fourth or subsequent OWT or related offense under certain conditions and 2)
for a second or subsequent OWT or related offense if the person also has two or more convictions for certain crimes involving
the use of a motor vehicle.

If a passenger under 16 years of age is in the vehicle at the time the offense is commit-

ted, the minimum and maximum revocation periods are doubled.?

20. Section 346.65 (3r), Wisconsin Statutes.
21. Section 346.65 (3t), Wisconsin Statutes.
22. Sections 343.30 (1q) (b), 343.305 (10) (b), and 343.31 (1m) and (3) (c), (e), and (f), Wisconsin Statutes.
23. Sections 343.30 (1q) (b) 4m., 343.305 (10) (b) 4m., and 343.31 (3) (c), (e), and (f), Wisconsin Statutes.
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In addition, a person is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle
(CMV) for one year upon a conviction of any of these offenses if committed while en-
gaged in CMV-related activity. Upon conviction of a subsequent offense, the person is

disqualified from operating a CMV for life.2*

Occupational license

If a person’s operator’s license is revoked, the person may be eligible for an occupational
license. An occupational license allows for limited driving privileges, such as driving to
work or conducting homemaking activities, but may not be used for general recreational
purposes.?> The waiting period before a person is eligible for an occupational license de-

pends on the total number of offenses the person has committed.

Offense Waiting period?¢
OWI, first None
OWI, second or subsequent 45 days
OWI causing injury, first 60 days
OWI causing injury, second or subsequent One year
OWI causing great bodily harm, first 120 days
OWI causing great bodily harm, second or subsequent One year
OWI causing death, first 120 days
OWI causing death, second or subsequent One year
Chemical test refusal, first 30 days
Chemical test refusal, second 90 days*
Chemical test refusal, third or subsequent 120 days*

*For a chemical test refusal that is a second or subsequent offense, the waiting period is increased to one year if two or more
of the person’s counted offenses were committed within a five-year period.

Ignition interlock device restrictions

For certain OWT or related offenses, courts must impose ignition interlock device (IID)
restrictions.” An IID is a device, installed in a vehicle, into which the operator must
exhale prior to operation and at intervals while operating the vehicle. The device pre-
vents the vehicle from operating if an alcohol concentration above 0.02 is detected in the

exhaled breath.28 A person subject to IID restrictions must install an IID on each motor

24. Section 343.315 (2) (a) and (c), Wisconsin Statutes.

25. Section 343.10 (5), Wisconsin Statutes.

26. Sections 343.30 (1q) (b) 2. to 4., 343.305 (10) (b) 2. to 4., and 343.31 (3m) (a) and (b), Wisconsin Statutes.
27. Section 343.301 (1g) (a), Wisconsin Statutes.

28. Section 340.01 (46m) (c), Wisconsin Statutes.
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vehicle titled or registered to the person. The person is also prohibited from operating
any vehicle that is not equipped with an IID.?°

Courts must impose these IID restrictions for a person convicted of an OWTI or re-
lated offense that is a second or subsequent offense, a person convicted of a first-offense
OWTI or related offense with an alcohol concentration of 0.15 or higher, and a person who
refuses to submit to chemical testing.?® The restrictions must apply for at least one year
but otherwise may not apply for more than the maximum license revocation period for
the offense.’!

No person may tamper with or circumvent the operation of an IID, fail to have an IID
installed as ordered by the court, or violate a court order imposing IID restrictions.?2 Vi-
olation of this provision is punishable by a fine of $150 to $600, a period of confinement
of up to six months, or both. The fine increases to $300 to $1,000 for a second violation

within a five-year period.??

Alcohol assessment and driver safety plan

Courts must order a person convicted of an OWI or related offense to submit to an as-
sessment by an approved public treatment facility for examination of the person’s use of
alcohol or controlled substances or their analogs and development of a driver safety plan
for the person.?* The driver safety plan contains requirements with which the person
must comply.?> Standards for assessment procedures and driver safety plans are estab-
lished by the Department of Health Services.3

A person convicted of an OWI or related offense that is a second or subsequent of-
fense is ineligible for an occupational license and ineligible to reinstate a revoked license

until he or she has completed an alcohol assessment.>”

Fees and surcharges

In addition to the specified penalty, a person convicted of an OWI or related offense must
pay several fees and surcharges. The following are the fees and surcharges that may be

required, if applicable to the offense committed:

29. Section 343.301
30. Section 343.301
31. Section 343.301
32. Section 347.413 (1), Wisconsin Statutes.

33, Section 347.50 (1s), Wisconsin Statutes.

34. Sections 343.30 (1q) (c) 1. and 343.305 (10) (c) 1., Wisconsin Statutes.

35. Sections 343.30 (1q) (d) 1. and 343.305 (10) (d), Wisconsin Statutes.

36. Sections 343.30 (1q) (c) 2. and 343.305 (10) (c) 2., Wisconsin Statutes; DHS 62.07 (5), Wisconsin Administrative Code.
37. Sections 343.10 (2) (e), 343.30 (1q) (b) 3. and 4., 343.305 (10) (b) 3. and 4., and 343.38 (1) (d) 2., Wisconsin Statutes.

1g) (am) 1., Wisconsin Statutes.
1g) (a), Wisconsin Statutes.

2m) (a), Wisconsin Statutes.

—~ o~ o~ o~
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Fee or surcharge type

Amount

Crime laboratories and drug law enforcement surcharge

Jail surcharge?®

$13.00

$10.00 (minimum)

License reinstatement fee $140.00

Ignition interlock surcharge! $50.00

Driver improvement surcharge*? $435.00

Safe ride program surcharge $50.00

Penalty surcharge* $39.00 (minimum)
Criminal court fee* $163.00

Circuit court fees $25.00

Court support services surcharge?’ $68.00

Justice information system surcharge?s $21.50

Crime victim and witness assistance surcharge $67.00/$92.00
DNA surcharge® $200.00/$250.00

Other alcohol and drug offenses

There are other statutory provisions related to alcohol and drugs and the operation of
vehicles that are not counted as prior offenses when determining the penalty for an OWI

or related offense.

Recreational vehicles

There is a prohibition on the intoxicated operation of an all-terrain or utility terrain vehi-

cle,’! off-highway motorcycle,52 motorboat,>? or snowmobile> that mirrors the motor ve-

38. Section 165.755 (1) (a), Wisconsin Statutes.

39. Section 302.46 (1) (a), Wisconsin Statutes. The surcharge is the greater of $10 or 1 percent of the penalty imposed.
40. Section 343.21 (1) (jr), Wisconsin Statutes. This fee is in addition to the standard reinstatement fees.

4

—_

. Section 343.301 (5), Wisconsin Statutes. The surcharge is imposed if a court orders IID restrictions.
42. Section 346.655 (1), Wisconsin Statutes.

43. Section 346.657 (1), Wisconsin Statutes.

44. Section 757.05 (1) (a), Wisconsin Statutes. The surcharge is 26 percent of the penalty imposed.

45. Section 814.60 (1), Wisconsin Statutes. This fee applies only to criminal cases.

46. Section 814.63 (1) (b), Wisconsin Statutes. This fee applies only to forfeiture actions in circuit court.
47. Section 814.85 (1)

48. Section 814.86 (1), Wisconsin Statutes. This surcharge applies only to forfeiture actions in circuit court.

(a), Wisconsin Statutes. This surcharge applies only to forfeiture actions in circuit court.

49. Section 973.045 (1), Wisconsin Statutes. The surcharge is $67 for a misdemeanor and $92 for a felony conviction.
50. Section 973.046 (1r), Wisconsin Statutes. The surcharge is $200 for a misdemeanor and $250 for a felony conviction.
51. Section 23.33 (4c), Wisconsin Statutes.

52. Section 23.335 (12), Wisconsin Statutes.

53. Section 30.681 (1), Wisconsin Statutes.

54, Section 350.101 (1), Wisconsin Statutes.

—
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hicle OWT prohibitions. Penalties escalate with repeat offenses but offenses are counted
separately for each vehicle type.5> Offenses involving recreational vehicles have no effect

on the motor vehicle operating privilege.

CMV operation

No person may operate a CMV or be on duty time with respect to a CMV with an alco-
hol concentration above 0.0 or within four hours of consuming alcohol.> Violations of
these prohibitions vary, depending on the alcohol concentration and the number of prior
offenses the person has committed, and include forfeitures or fines, periods of confine-

ment, being placed out of service, and being disqualified from CMV operation.>

Absolute sobriety

A person who has not reached the legal drinking age is prohibited from operating a
motor vehicle with an alcohol concentration above 0.0. The penalty for violation of this

prohibition is a forfeiture and suspension of the operating privilege.

Intoxicants in vehicles

Subject to exceptions, no person under the legal drinking age may possess or transport
alcohol in a motor vehicle.>® The penalty for violation of this prohibition is a forfeiture
and suspension of the operating privilege.®

No person may drink alcohol while in a motor vehicle on a public highway, and no
person may possess an open container of alcohol in a privately owned motor vehicle on
a public highway. Subject to exceptions, the owner or driver of a privately owned motor
vehicle on a public highway may not keep or allow to be kept an open alcoholic beverage
container in the passenger compartment of the vehicle.’! The penalty for violation of

these prohibitions is a forfeiture.® m

55. Sections 23.33 (13), 23.335 (23), 30.80 (6), and 350.11 (3), Wisconsin Statutes.
56. Section 346.63 (5) to (7), Wisconsin Statutes.

57. Sections 343.315 (2) (a) and (c) and 346.65 (2j) and (2u), Wisconsin Statutes.
58. Sections 346.63 (2m) and 346.65 (2q), Wisconsin Statutes.

59. Section 346.93 (1), Wisconsin Statutes.

60. Section 346.93 (2f) and (2g), Wisconsin Statutes.

61. Section 346.935, Wisconsin Statutes.

62. Section 346.95 (2m), Wisconsin Statutes.

—
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