

Wisconsin State Officers, January 2019

Lauren Jackson

legislative analyst



© 2018 Wisconsin Legislative Reference Bureau One East Main Street, Suite 200, Madison, Wisconsin 53703 http://legis.wisconsin.gov/lrb • 608-504-5801

This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. To view a copy of this license, visit http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/ or send a letter to Creative Commons, PO Box 1866, Mountain View, CA 94042, USA.

Wisconsin State Officers

This report lists constitutional officers, members of the U.S. Congress, supreme court justices, and members of the Wisconsin Legislature, as of January 7, 2019.

Constitutional officers

Governor	Tony Evers	Democrat
Lieutenant Governor	Mandela Barnes	Democrat
Secretary of State	Douglas J. La Follette	Democrat
State Treasurer	Sarah Godlewski	Democrat
Attorney General	Josh Kaul	Democrat
Superintendent of Public Instruction	Vacant	Nonpartisan

The terms of all partisan constitutional officers expire January 3, 2023.

Supreme court justices

	Term expires July 31
Patience Drake Roggensack, Chief Justice	2023
Shirley S. Abrahamson	2019
Ann Walsh Bradley	2025
Annette K. Ziegler	2027
Rebecca Grassl Bradley	2026
Daniel Kelly	2020
Rebecca Frank Dallet	2028

Wisconsin supreme court justices are nonpartisan and listed in order of seniority.

U.S. senators

		Term expires
Ron Johnson	Republican	January 2023
Tammy Baldwin	Democrat	January 2025

The term of the Superintendent of Public Instruction expires July 5, 2021.

Members of the U.S. house of representatives

Congressional distric	t	
1	Bryan Steil	Republican
2	Mark Pocan	Democrat
3	Ron Kind	Democrat
4	Gwendolynne S. Moore	Democrat
5	F. James Sensenbrenner, Jr.,	Republican
6	Glenn Grothman	Republican
7	Sean P. Duffy	Republican
8	Mike Gallagher	Republican

The terms of all U.S. House members expire January 2021.

State senate officers

President	Roger Roth	Republican
President Pro Tempore	Howard Marklein	Republican
Majority Leader	Scott L. Fitzgerald	Republican
Assistant Majority Leader	Dan Feyen	Republican
Majority Caucus Chair	Van H. Wanggaard	Republican
Majority Caucus Vice Chair	Patrick Testin	Republican
Minority Leader	Jennifer Shilling	Democrat
Assistant Minority Leader	Janet Bewley	Democrat
Minority Caucus Chair	Mark Miller	Democrat
Minority Caucus Vice Chair	Janis Ringhand	Democrat

Senators by district

Senate district		
1	André Jacque	Republican
2	Robert L. Cowles	Republican
3	Tim Carpenter	Democrat
4	Lena C. Taylor	Democrat
5	Dale Kooyenga	Republican
6	LaTonya Johnson	Democrat
7	Chris Larson	Democrat
8	Alberta Darling	Republican

Senators by district, continued

Senate district		
9	Devin LeMahieu	Republican
10	Patty Schachtner	Democrat
11	Stephen L. Nass	Republican
12	Tom Tiffany	Republican
13	Scott L. Fitzgerald	Republican
14	Luther S. Olsen	Republican
15	Janis Ringhand	Democrat
16	Mark Miller	Democrat
17	Howard Marklein	Republican
18	Dan Feyen	Republican
19	Roger Roth	Republican
20	Duey Stroebel	Republican
21	Van H. Wanggaard	Republican
22	Robert W. Wirch	Democrat
23	Kathy Bernier	Republican
24	Patrick Testin	Republican
25	Janet Bewley	Democrat
26	Fred Risser	Democrat
27	Jon B. Erpenbach	Democrat
28	David Craig	Republican
29	Jerry Petrowski	Republican
30	Dave Hansen	Democrat
31	Jeff Smith	Democrat
32	Jennifer Shilling	Democrat
33	Chris Kapenga	Republican

The 2019 Wisconsin State Senate is comprised of 19 Republicans and 14 Democrats.

The terms of senators in even-numbered districts expire January 4, 2021.

The terms of senators in odd-numbered districts expire January 3, 2023.

State assembly officers

Robin J. Vos	Republican
Tyler August	Republican
Jim Steineke	Republican
Mary J. Felzkowski	Republican
Dan Knodl	Republican
Romaine Robert Quinn	Republican
Jessie Rodriguez	Republican
Samantha Kerkman	Republican
Gordon Hintz	Democrat
Dianne Hesselbein	Democrat
Mark Spreitzer	Democrat
Steve Doyle	Democrat
Beth Meyers	Democrat
Christine Sinicki	Democrat
	Tyler August Jim Steineke Mary J. Felzkowski Dan Knodl Romaine Robert Quinn Jessie Rodriguez Samantha Kerkman Gordon Hintz Dianne Hesselbein Mark Spreitzer Steve Doyle Beth Meyers

Representatives by district

Assembly district		
1	Joel C. Kitchens	Republican
2	Shae Sortwell	Republican
3	Ron Tusler	Republican
4	David Steffen	Republican
5	Jim Steineke	Republican
6	Gary Tauchen	Republican
7	Daniel Riemer	Democrat
8	JoCasta Zamarripa	Democrat
9	Marisabel Cabrera	Democrat
10	David Bowen	Democrat
11	Jason M. Fields	Democrat
12	LaKeshia N. Myers	Democrat
13	Rob Hutton	Republican
14	Robyn Vining	Democrat
15	Joe Sanfelippo	Republican
16	Kalan Haywood	Democrat

Representatives by district, continued

Assembly distric	ct	
17	David Crowley	Democrat
18	Evan Goyke	Democrat
19	Jonathan Brostoff	Democrat
20	Christine Sinicki	Democrat
21	Jessie Rodriguez	Republican
22	Janel Brandtjen	Republican
23	Jim Ott	Republican
24	Dan Knodl	Republican
25	Paul Tittl	Republican
26	Terry Katsma	Republican
27	Tyler Vorpagel	Republican
28	Gae Magnafici	Republican
29	Rob Stafsholt	Republican
30	Shannon Zimmerman	Republican
31	Amy Loudenbeck	Republican
32	Tyler August	Republican
33	Cody J. Horlacher	Republican
34	Rob Swearingen	Republican
35	Mary J. Felzkowski	Republican
36	Jeffrey L. Mursau	Republican
37	John Jagler	Republican
38	Barbara Dittrich	Republican
39	Mark L. Born	Republican
40	Kevin David Petersen	Republican
41	Joan Ballweg	Republican
42	Jon Plumer	Republican
43	Don Vruwink	Democrat
44	Debra Kolste	Democrat
45	Mark Spreitzer	Democrat
46	Gary Alan Hebl	Democrat
47	Jimmy Anderson	Democrat
48	Melissa Sargent	Democrat
49	Travis Tranel	Republican

Representatives by district, continued

Assembly distric	t	
50	Tony Kurtz	Republican
51	Todd Novak	Republican
52	Jeremy Thiesfeldt	Republican
53	Michael Schraa	Republican
54	Gordon Hintz	Democrat
55	Mike Rohrkaste	Republican
56	Dave Murphy	Republican
57	Amanda Stuck	Democrat
58	Rick Gundrum	Republican
59	Timothy S. Ramthun	Republican
60	Robert Brooks	Republican
61	Samantha Kerkman	Republican
62	Robert Wittke	Republican
63	Robin J. Vos	Republican
64	Peter W. Barca	Democrat
65	Tod Ohnstad	Democrat
66	Greta Neubauer	Democrat
67	Rob Summerfield	Republican
68	Jesse James	Republican
69	Bob Kulp	Republican
70	Nancy Lynn VanderMeer	Republican
71	Katrina Shankland	Democrat
72	Scott S. Krug	Republican
73	Nick Milroy	Democrat
74	Beth Meyers	Democrat
75	Romaine Robert Quinn	Republican
76	Chris Taylor	Democrat
77	Shelia Stubbs	Democrat
78	Lisa Subeck	Democrat
79	Dianne Hesselbein	Democrat
80	Sondy Pope	Democrat
81	Dave Considine	Democrat
82	Ken Skowronski	Republican

Representatives by district, continued

Assembly district		
83	Chuck Wichgers	Republican
84	Mike Kuglitsch	Republican
85	Patrick Snyder	Republican
86	John Spiros	Republican
87	James W. Edming	Republican
88	John J. Macco	Republican
89	John Nygren	Republican
90	Staush Gruszynski	Democrat
91	Jodi Emerson	Democrat
92	Treig E. Pronschinske	Republican
93	Warren Petryk	Republican
94	Steve Doyle	Democrat
95	Jill Billings	Democrat
96	Loren Oldenburg	Republican
97	Scott Allen	Republican
98	Adam Neylon	Republican
99	Cindi S. Duchow	Republican

The 2019 Wisconsin State Assembly is comprised of 63 Republicans and 36 Democrats.

The terms of all representatives to assembly districts expire January 4, 2021.