

2019 Senate Joint Resolution 18

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: celebrating the University of Wisconsin–Oshkosh men's basketball team winning the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division III National Championship.

Whereas, on March 16, 2019, the UW–Oshkosh Titans defeated the Swarthmore College Garnet; and

Whereas, the Titans won in convincing fashion, 96–82, to earn the program's first National Championship in its 121–year history; and

Whereas, the championship is the 47th overall for the UW–Oshkosh athletics department and the first since the Titan women's indoor track & field won the national championship in 2014; and

Whereas, the Titan's Jack Flynn was named the Most Outstanding Player at the Final Four and led five Titan starters in double figures with a career–high 33 points, shooting 13 of 18 from the field and 7 for 8 at the free throw line; and

Whereas, Connor Duax added 16 points for the Titans, who also received 14 apiece from Adam Fravert and Brett Wittchow and 10 from Ben Boots. Fravert, who joined Flynn on the five-member All-Tournament Team, led all players with 12 rebounds for his 15th career double-double; and

Whereas, Coach Matt Lewis, in his first year as head coach, became the first from UW–Oshkosh to receive the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Central Region Men's Coach of the Year; and

Whereas, senior guard Ben Boots was named to the D3Hoops.com All–American First Team and junior center Jack Flynn was named to the Fourth Team; and

Whereas, the UW–Oshkosh men's team finished a historic season reaching their second straight NCAA Final Four, which included a program–record 21 game winning streak, the school's first outright Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference title since 1978, and an overall record of 29–3; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin Legislature congratulate the University of Wisconsin–Oshkosh men's basketball team on their outstanding achievement and accomplishments.

Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly Senator Roger Roth President of the Senate

Jeffrey Renk Senate Chief Clerk