
   

STATE OF WISCONSIN 
DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD 

 
IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE 

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD 
DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD : ADOPTING RULES 
      : (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 22-087) 

 
ORDER 

 
An order of the Dentistry Examining Board to amend DE 13.03 (1m), relating to 
controlled substances prescribing continuing education requirements. 

 
 

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 
ANALYSIS 

 

Statutes interpreted: ss. 440.035 (2) and 447.056, Stats. 
 

Statutory authority: ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 447.02 (1) (f), Stats. 
 
Explanation of agency authority: 

Section 15.08 (5) (b), Stats., provides that an examining board “[s]hall promulgate rules 
for its own guidance and for the guidance of the trade or profession to which it pertains, 

and define and enforce professional conduct and unethical practices not inconsistent with 
the law relating to the particular trade or profession.” 
 

Section 447.02 (1) (f), Stats., provides “[the examining board may promulgate rules] 
governing compliance with continuing education requirements under s. 447.056.” 

 
Related statute or rule: None 
 

Plain language analysis:   

The objective of this proposed rule is to extend the 2 hour-controlled substances 

prescribing continuing education requirement outlined in DE 13.03 (1m) that was 
previously only in effect for the 2019 and 2021 license renewal periods. The Board also 
removed the word “responsible” from the requirement, as all controlled substances 

prescribing should be done responsibly, so there is no need to specify. In addition, the 
Board removed the word “acute” from the requirement, because patients may also receive 

care for chronic pain as well as care for acute pain.  
 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: None. 

 
Summary of public comments received on statement of scope and a description of 

how and to what extent those comments and feedback were taken into account in 

drafting the proposed rule: N/A 



   

 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

 
Illinois: The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation is responsible 

for the licensure and regulation of Dentists in Illinois, with input from the Illinois Board 
of Dentistry. The Illinois Board is also responsible for the promulgation of rules to 
implement certain sections of the Illinois Dental Practice Act. This Act contains 

requirements for dental practice, including continuing education. Illinois does not require 
specific continuing education coursework on the topic of prescribing controlled 

substances for the treatment of dental pain or an equivalent topic [225 Illinois Complied 
Statutes ch. 25; Illinois Administrative Code Title 68, Chapter 8, Subchapter b, Part 1220, 
Section 1220.440]. 

 
Iowa: The Iowa Dentistry Board is responsible for the licensure and regulation of 

Dentists in Iowa. Listed in the Iowa Administrative Code are the requirements for dental 
practice, including continuing education. Iowa requires each licensed dentist who has 
prescribed opioids during a renewal period to complete at least 1 hour of continuing 

education on the topic of opioids, which can count toward the 30 required hours for that 
renewal period. This 1 hour of continuing education content needs to include “guidelines 

for prescribing opioids, including recommendations on limitations of dosages and the 
length of prescriptions, risk factors for abuse, and nonopioid and nonpharmacological 
therapy options.” [650 Iowa Administrative Code ch. 25]. 

 
Michigan: The Michigan Board of Dentistry is responsible for the licensure and 

regulation of Dentists in Michigan. Act 368 Article 15 of the Michigan Compiled Laws 
includes the regulations for dentistry in Michigan, among several other occupations. 
These regulations include requirements for continuing education. Michigan does not 

require specific continuing education coursework on the topic of prescribing controlled 
substances for the treatment of dental pain or an equivalent topic [Michigan Compiled 

Laws s. 333.166]. 
 
Minnesota: The Minnesota Board of Dentistry is responsible for the licensure and 

regulation of Dentists in Minnesota. Part 3100 of the Minnesota Administrative Code 
includes the regulations for dentistry in Minnesota, including the requirements for 

continuing education. Minnesota does not require specific continuing education 
coursework on the topic of prescribing controlled substances for the treatment of dental 
pain or an equivalent topic [Minnesota Administrative Rules part 3100.5100]. 

 
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:   

The Board reviewed Wisconsin Administrative Code chapter DE 13 to determine what 
changes were needed to update the controlled substances prescribing continuing 
education requirement. 

 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact report: 



   

The proposed rule was posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on 
economic impact, including how the proposed rules may affect businesses, local 

government units, and individuals. No comments were received. 

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis is attached. 
 

Effect on small business: 

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in 
s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be 

contacted by email at Jennifer.Garrett@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 266-6795. 

Agency contact person: 
Nilajah Hardin, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and 

Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, 4822 Madison Yards Way, P.O. 
Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608-267-7139; email at 

DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. 
 

TEXT OF RULE 

 
SECTION 1 DE 13.03 (1m) is amended to read: 

 
DE 13.03 (1m) RESPONSIBLE PRESCRIBING PRESCRIBING CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES 

CONTINUING EDUCATION. The 30 credit hours of continuing education shall include 2 

hours in the topic of responsible prescribing of controlled substances for the treatment of 
acute dental pain. This subsection applies to the bienniums ending in 2019 and 2021. 

 
SECTION 2 EFFECTIVE DATE.  The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on 
October 1, 2023. 

 (END OF TEXT OF RULE) 
 


