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STATE OF WISCONSIN 
PODIATRY AFFILIATED CREDENTIALING BOARD 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : ORDER OF THE 

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : PODIATRY AFFILIATED  
PODIATRY AFFILIATED   : CREDENTIALING BOARD 
CREDENTIALING BOARD   : ADOPTING RULES 

      :       (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 21-034) 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

ORDER 
 
An order of the Podiatry Affiliated Credentialing Board to amend Pod 1.03 and to create 

Pod 1.095; relating to reciprocal credentials for service members, former service 
members, and their spouses. 

 
Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

ANALYSIS 

Statutes interpreted: 

Section 440.09, Stats. 
 
Statutory authority:  

Sections 15.085 (5) (b) and 440.09 (5), Stats. 
 

Explanation of agency authority: 

Section 15.085 (5) (b), Stats., provides an affiliated credentialing board “[s]hall 
promulgate rules for its own guidance and for the guidance of the trade or profession to 

which it pertains. . .”   

Section 440.09 (5), Stats., provides that “[t]he department or credentialing board, as 

appropriate, may promulgate rules necessary to implement this section.” 

Related statute or rule: 

Section 440.09, Stats., specifies the requirements for issuing reciprocal credentials to 

service members, former service members, and the spouses of service members and 
former service members. 

Section Pod 1.03 contains general provisions for podiatric medicine and surgery 
licensure.  

Plain language analysis: 

The proposed rule creates a provision to implement s. 440.09, Stats., as created by 2019 
Wisconsin Act 143. Section 440.09, Stats., specifies the requirements for issuing 

reciprocal credentials to service members, former service members, and the spouses of 
service members and former service members. 
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Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: 

None. 

 
Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

Illinois:   

The Illinois Statutes provide for the expedited licensure of service members and their 
spouses (20 ILCS 5/5-715). “Service member” includes a person whose active duty 

service concluded within the 2 years preceding application for licensure. A license issued 
to a service member or the spouse of a service member may be renewed. 

Iowa: 

Rules of the Professional Licensure Division of the Iowa Department of Public Health 
provide for the expedited reciprocal licensure of a veteran or a spouse of an active duty 

service member (645 IAC 645.20.3). A reciprocal license issued to a veteran or a spouse 
of an active duty service member may be renewed. 

Michigan: 

The Michigan Statutes provide for temporary licensure of the spouse of an active duty 
service member (MCL 339.213). A temporary license is valid for 6 months and may be 

renewed for one additional 6-month term if it is determined the licensee continues to 
meet the requirements for temporary licensure and needs additional time to fulfill the 

requirements for initial licensure. 

Minnesota: 

The Minnesota Statutes provide for temporary licensure of an individual who is an active 

duty military member, the spouse of an active duty military member, or a veteran who 
has left service in the 2 years preceding the date of license application (2019 Minnesota 

Statutes, Section 197.4552). A temporary license allows a qualified individual to perform 
regulated professional services for a limited length of time as determined by the 
applicable licensing board. During the temporary license period, the individual must 

complete the full application procedure as required by applicable law. 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

The proposed rules were developed by reviewing the provisions of s. 440.09, Stats., as 
created by 2019 Wisconsin Act 143, and obtaining input and feedback from the Podiatry 
Affiliated Credentialing Board. 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact analysis: 

The proposed rules were posted for a period of 14 days for public comment on the 
economic impact of the proposed rules, including how the proposed rules may affect 
businesses, local government units, and individuals. No comments were received. 

Effect on small business: 
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These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in 
s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be 

contacted by email at Daniel.Hereth@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 267-2435. 
 

Agency contact person: 

Nilajah Hardin, Attorney, Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of 
Policy Development, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708-8366; telephone 608-

266-0955; email at DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

TEXT OF RULE 

SECTION  1.     Pod 1.03 (intro.) is amended to read: 

Pod 1.03 Licensure requirements. Except as provided in s. Pod 1.095, Every every 

person applying for a license to practice podiatric medicine and surgery shall submit all 
of the following: 

 
SECTION  2. Pod 1.095 is created to read: 

 Pod 1.095 Reciprocal credentials for service members, former service 

members, and their spouses.  Notwithstanding s. Pod 1.03, A reciprocal license to 
practice podiatric medicine and surgery shall be granted to a service member, former 

service member, or the spouse of a service member or former service member who the 
board determines meets all of the requirements under s. 440.09 (2), Stats. Subject to s. 
440.09 (2m), Stats., the board may request verification necessary to make a determination 

under this section. 

Note: Forms to apply for a reciprocal credential are available from the department 

of safety and professional services’ website at www.dsps.wi.gov. 

SECTION  3. EFFECTIVE DATE.  The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the 
first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, 

pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 
 

Dated _________________             __________________________________ 
                                                                                       Chairperson 
     Podiatry Affiliated Credentialing Board 
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