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Police and Fire Protection Fee Common Question

State of Wisconsin

Department of Revenue

This is a proposed guidance document. The document has been submitted to the
Legislative Reference Bureau for publication in the Administrative Register for public
comment as provided by sec. 227.112(1), Wis. Stats.

Also see the Department of Revenue's Police and Fire Protection fee web page and the   Public
Service Commission's FAQs.

1. What is the police and fire protection fee?

2. What was the effective date of the fee?

3. Who is the fee imposed on?

4. How are the fees imposed on voice communications connections with assigned telephone
numbers?

5. How are the fees imposed on prepaid wireless telecommunications transactions?

6. What is a "retail transaction?"

7. What is a "prepaid wireless communications plan?"

8. Do I need to register with the Department of Revenue to collect and remit the fees and how do
I register?

9. How will the fees be reported?

10. Can I pro-rate for partial months of service for the 75 cent fee?

11. Can I file an extension to file my return?

12. Is the fee subject to Wisconsin sales tax?

13. Are nonprofit organizations and governmental units exempt from the fee?

14. Must the fee be separately stated on an invoice to my customer? What if I sell prepaid cards
through a vending machine?

15. Can I take any deductions on my return?

1. What is the police and fire protection fee?

https://revenue2016-auth-prod.wi.gov/pages/home.aspx
https://revenue2016-auth-prod.wi.gov/pages/home.aspx
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/227/II/112/1
https://revenue2016-auth-prod.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/pfprofee.aspx
https://revenue2016-auth-prod.wi.gov/Documents/PoliceFireProtectionFAQs.pdf
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The police and fire protection fee is imposed on two types of transactions:

A fee of $0.38 on each retail transaction for prepaid wireless telecommunications plans;
and

A monthly fee of $0.75 on each voice communications connection with an assigned
telephone number (including landline, cellular line, and a communication service
provided via a VoIP connection). If a communications provider provides multiple
connections to a subscriber, the fee will be $0.75 for each of the first 10 connections and
one additional fee of $0.75 for each 10 additional connections per billed account (i.e.,
$0.075 fee for each connection over 10).

2. What was the effective date of the fee?
The police and fire protection fee became effective September 1, 2009.

3. Who is the fee imposed on?
Communications providers and other retailers who sell prepaid wireless telecommunications
plans, such as a $15 card for a prepaid wireless account, are subject to the fee on each retail
transaction for prepaid wireless telecommunications plans.

IMPORTANT: A retailer who sells phone cards for prepaid wireless
telecommunications plans is required to register to collect and remit the police
and fire protection fee, even if the retailer is not the provider of the
telecommunications service.

Communications providers are required to impose a monthly fee of $0.75 on each
communications service connection with an assigned telephone number, including a
communication service provided via a Voice over Internet Protocol connection.

4. How are the fees imposed on voice communications connections with assigned
telephone numbers?
Communications providers are required to impose a monthly fee of $0.75 on each
communications service connection with an assigned telephone number, including a
communication service provided via a Voice over Internet Protocol connection.

If multiple communications service connections are provided to a subscriber, the
communications provider shall impose a separate fee of $0.75 on each of the first 10
connections and a $0.75 fee for each 10 additional connections (i.e., a separate fee of $0.075
for each additional connection) per billed account.

Therefore, lines 1 through 10 of an account will each be billed a $0.75 police and fire
protection fee. Lines 11 and on would be billed at $0.075 each. (This is 1/10th of the $0.75
charge.) For example:

10 lines = $7.50 police and fire protection fee

11 lines = $7.50 + $0.075 = $7.58 police and fire protection fee

12 lines = $7.50 + $0.150 = $7.65 police and fire protection fee

21 lines = $7.50 + $0.825 = $8.33 police and fire protection fee

30 lines = $7.50 + $1.500 = $9.00 police and fire protection fee

5. How are the fees imposed on prepaid wireless telecommunications transactions?
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Communications providers and other retailers who sell prepaid wireless telecommunications
plans, such as a $15 card for a prepaid wireless account, are subject to the $0.38 fee on each
retail transaction for prepaid wireless telecommunications plans.

6. What is a "retail transaction?"
A "retail transaction" includes the sale of a prepaid wireless telecommunications plan or
service by a seller for any purpose other than resale.

Examples of retail transactions that are subject to the $0.38 fee include:

The sale of a wireless handset that is activated for use with a prepaid plan.
The sale of additional prepaid minutes, a dollar amount, or days of use for an existing
wireless account that declines with usage, regardless of whether it is purchased at a
retailer's physical location, via the Internet, or via the telephone (e.g., a 200 minute card
that extends the amount of use of a prepaid account).

Examples of transactions that are not subject to the $0.38 fee include:

Sales of handset accessories, such as batteries, chargers, phone covers, etc.
Sales of ringtones.
Sales of prepaid minutes by a communications provider to a retailer for resale.
Sales of prepaid long-distance phone cards.

7. What is a "prepaid wireless communications plan?"
"Prepaid wireless communications plan" means a plan for a wireless communications service
that provides the right to utilize wireless voice service, is paid for prior to use, and is sold in
predetermined dollar amounts whereby a number of units declines with use of a known
amount.

8. Do I need to register with the Department of Revenue to collect and remit the fees
and how do I register?
Every communications provider and retailer required to impose the police and fire protection
fee must register with the Department of Revenue to report and remit the fees.

The provider or retailer must be registered in order to report and remit the fees. Police and
fire protection fees must be reported and remitted using My Tax Account.

Use the Department of Revenue's online Business Tax Registration to register.

Use My Tax Account Login to login to report and remit the fees.

9. How will the fees be reported?
The fees are reported to the Department of Revenue on an electronic return on a monthly
basis through the Department of Revenue's My Tax Account. Returns are due and payable on
the last day of the month following the month in which the fees were collected.

Using My Tax Account

Use My Tax Account Login to login to report and remit the fees.

A worksheet ( Form PFP-100, Wisconsin Police and Fire Protection Fee Worksheet), is
available for your own use. Do not mail Form PFP-100 to the Department of Revenue.

10. Can I pro-rate for partial months of service for the 75 cent fee?

https://revenue2016-auth-prod.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/ise-pfprofeea.aspx
https://revenue2016-auth-prod.wi.gov/Pages/Businesses/New-Business-home.aspx
https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/mta/
https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/mta/
https://revenue2016-auth-prod.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/mta-using-mta.aspx
https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/mta/
https://revenue2016-auth-prod.wi.gov/DORForms/pfp-100.pdf
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If you are not able to compute partial-month fees for the sale of voice communications
connections, you must collect and remit the fee for the entire month. If you are able to
compute partial-month fees for the sale of voice communications connections, you may do so.
The partial months should be included on Lines 1 and 4 of your return.

Example: Customer A had service for fifteen days of a 30-day month, and Customer B had
service for ten days of the month. Customer A was charged the police and fire protection fee
for one-half (0.5) of the month, and Customer B was charged the police and fire protection fee
for one-third (0.33) of the month. On Line 1, you should include 0.5 for Customer A and 0.33
for Customer B.

11. Can I file an extension to file my return?
The department may, for good cause, extend the time for making any return or remitting any
amount for the police and fire protection fee. You may request a one-month extension to file
your return. The extension must be requested prior to the due date of your return. For
example, the return for the period of October 2019 is due on November 30, 2019. An
extension to file the return for the October 2019 period must be requested prior to November
30, 2019.

To request an extension, please submit your request by email to
DORBusinessTax@wisconsin.gov. Include your legal name, Wisconsin tax account number or
last four digits of your federal employer identification number, and mailing address on file with
the department.

12. Is the fee subject to Wisconsin sales tax?
The fee is exempt from Wisconsin sales and use taxes, as provided in sec. 77.54(55), Wis.
Stats.

13. Are nonprofit organizations and governmental units exempt from the fee?
Nonprofit organizations and state and local governmental units are subject to the fee on their
purchases of applicable telecommunications services.

Federal governmental units and federally recognized American Indian Tribes and bands are not
subject to the police and fire protection fee.

14. Must the fee be separately stated on an invoice to my customer? What if I sell
prepaid cards through a vending machine?
A communications provider or a retailer may state the amount of the fee separately on a bill
for the retail transaction, and if a communications provider or retailer does so, the
communications provider or retailer must identify the fee as "police and fire protection fee."

When a communications provider or retailer does not state the amount of the fee separately
on a bill, invoice, sales receipt, or other document associated with the prepaid wireless retail
transaction, but establishes to the satisfaction of the Public Service Commission and the
Department of Revenue that the customer is aware that the fee is included in the total sales
price of the prepaid wireless retail transaction, the sales price shall be the amount received
exclusive of the fee.

https://revenue2016-auth-prod.wi.gov/Pages/ContactUs/dorhelp.aspx?subject=dorbusinesstax
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Example: A 50-minute card for a prepaid wireless account is sold in a vending machine for
$20.00. A sign is conspicuously posted on the vending machine that the "Price Includes the
Police and Fire Protection Fee." The sales price of the card is $19.62, the amount paid by the
customer less the fee ($20.00 - $0.38 = $19.62).

15. Can I take any deductions on my return?
Uncollectible amounts and other deductions may be deducted from the total police and fire
protection fee that is due. You will have an opportunity to enter uncollectible amounts and
other deductions when filing your electronic return. Note: If you complete the Wisconsin
Police and Fire Protection Fee Worksheet ( Form PFP-100), these deductions are made on
line 11.

A deduction may be claimed for the following uncollectible amounts, customer returns, and
misidentified accounts:

Uncollectible Amounts: You may claim a deduction for an uncollected fee if all of the
following are met:

1. You previously reported and remitted the fee to the Department of Revenue.
2. You wrote off the fee as uncollectible in your books and records.
3. The unpaid fee is eligible to be deducted as a bad debt for federal income tax purposes,

regardless of whether you are required to file a federal income tax return.

You must claim the deduction in the period in which (1) you wrote off the unpaid fee as
uncollectible in your books and records, and (2) the amount is eligible to be deducted as a bad
debt for federal income tax purposes.

If you later collect, in whole or in part, any bad debt for which a deduction was claimed, you
must include the amount collected in the return filed for the period in which the amount is
collected. The fee must be remitted with that return.

Customer Returns: You may claim a deduction for a fee that was included in a previously
filed return, but was refunded to the purchaser in cash or in credit. The deduction must be
claimed on the return for the period in which the refund of the fee was paid.

Misidentified Account: You may claim a deduction for a fee if both of the following are met:

You collected the fee from a federal or tribal government account because the purchaser
did not identify itself as such.
You included the fee in a previously filed return but have refunded the fee to the
purchaser.

You must claim the deduction on the return for the period in which you refunded the fee, and
you must keep a record of why the account was misidentified, how you became aware of the
account's proper identification, and any actions taken as a result.

Applicable Laws and Rules

This document provides statements or interpretations of the following laws and regulations in effect
as of December 6, 2019: Sections 77.54 and 196.025, Wis. Stats., and secs. PSC 172.02, 172.03,
172.04, 172.05, 172.06, 172.07, 172.09, Wis. Adm. Code.

https://revenue2016-auth-prod.wi.gov/DORForms/pfp-100.pdf
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Laws enacted and in effect after December 6, 2019, new administrative rules, and court decisions
may change the interpretations in this document. Guidance issued prior to December 6, 2019, that
is contrary to the information in this document is superseded by this document, pursuant to sec.
73.16(2)(a), Wis. Stats.

FOR QUESTIONS OR COMMENTS CONTACT:

MS 5-77
WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Customer Service Bureau
PO Box 8949
Madison, WI 53708-8949
Phone: (608) 266-2776
Fax: (608) 327-0232
Email additional questions to DORBusinessTax@wisconsin.gov

Guidance Document Certification: https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Certification-Statement.aspx
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