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STATE OF WISCONSIN 

VETERINARY EXAMINING BOARD  

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE 

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : VETERINARY EXAMINING BOARD 

VETERINARY EXAMINING BOARD : ADOPTING RULES 

      : (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE14-064) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

PROPOSED ORDER 

 

An order of the Veterinary Examining Board to repeal VE 2.01 (2) and 3.03; to repeal 

and recreate VE 3.02 and 8.02, relating to entrance to examinations. 

 

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ANALYSIS 

Statutes interpreted: 

 

Section 440.071, Stats. 

 

Statutory authority: 

 

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., and 2013 Wisconsin Act 114. 

 

Explanation of agency authority: 

 

Pursuant to ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., the Veterinary Examining Board is 

generally empowered by the legislature to promulgate rules that will provide guidance 

within the profession and interpret the statutes it administers. 2013 Wisconsin Act 114 

requires the Department of Safety and Professional Services and its attached boards to 

allow candidates for licensure to take their examination for a credential before 

completing their post-secondary education.  This statutory change prompted the 

Veterinary Examining Board to exercise its rule-making authority to amend pertinent 

sections of Wis. Admin. Code specifically, ss. VE 2.01, VE 3.03, and VE 8.03 in order to 

give guidance within the profession related to entrance to examinations. 

 

Related statute or rule: 

 

None. 

 

Plain language analysis: 

 

Before 2013 Wisconsin Act 114, applicants for veterinary credentials were required to 

either have graduated from a school of veterinary medicine or expected to graduate no 

later than 10 months after the last date of an applicable testing period before being 

allowed to sit for the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE).  Act 
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114 removed both requirements to sit for the NAVLE. Now Wisconsin law no longer 

prohibits applicants for veterinary licensure in Wisconsin from taking the NAVLE before 

completing their post-secondary education.  However, applicants must continue to 

comply with the National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners’ requirements before 

taking the NAVLE which may require that applicants who take the NAVLE graduate 

within a certain time period. 

 

SECTION 1. repeals the requirement to have graduated or expect to graduate from a 

veterinary college within 10 months of the last applicable testing period before taking the 

NAVLE. 

 

SECTION 2. creartes a list of  the requirement for a veterinary license by examination. 

 

SECTION 3. repeals the process for veterinary licensure appliants to take the 

examination on state laws and rules. 

 

SECTION 4. creates a list of the requirements for applicants for veterinary technician 

certification. 

 

SECTION 5.repeals the application process for applying for veterinary technician 

certification. 

 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: 

 

None. 

 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

 

Illinois: Illinois has a rule similar to the current Wisconsin rule whereby applicants must 

have graduated or be enrolled in an approved veterinary program and certify that the 

applicant will graduate from that program. “If certification of graduation is not received 

within 90 days after the scheduled graduation date, the results of the examination shall be 

void.” 68 Ill Admin. Code 1500.10. 

 

Iowa: Iowa requires applicants for veterinary licensure to meet the guidelines established 

by the National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (NBVME).  The applicant sends 

proof of completion of the NBVME application process and the administrative fee to the 

Iowa Board of Veterinary Medicine. Iowa Admin. Code R 811-6.1. 

 

Michigan: Michigan requires applicants to graduate from veterinary college before 

becoming licensed. Mich. Admin. Code R. 338.4902. 

 

Minnesota: Minnesota requires a diploma, or a certificate from a college of veterinary 

medicine in which the applicant is enrolled certifying that the applicant will graduate at 

the completion of the current academic year. Minn. Stat. §156.02. 
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Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

 

No factual data or analytical methodologies were used in drafting the proposed rule due 

to the proposed rule being prompted by recent legislation.  

 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact analysis: 

 

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in 

s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be 

contacted by email at Tom.Engels@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 266-8608. 

 

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis are attached. 

 

Effect on small business: 

 

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in 

s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be 

contacted by email at Tom.Engels@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 266-8608. 

 

Agency contact person: 

 

Shawn Leatherwood, Administrative Rule Coordinator, Department of Safety and 

Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, 1400 East Washington Avenue, 

Room 151, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608-261-4438; email 

at Shancethea.Leatherwood@wisconsin.gov. 

 

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

 

Comments may be submitted to Shawn Leatherwood, Administrative Rule Coordinator 

Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, 1400 

East Washington Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, WI 53708-8935, or by 

email to Shancethea.Leathrewood@wisconsin.gov. Comments must be received on or 

before January 28, 2015 to be included in the record of rule-making proceedings. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

TEXT OF RULE 

 

SECTION 1. VE 2.01 (2) is repealed. 

 

SECTION 2. VE 3.02 is repealed and recreated to read: 

 

VE 3.02 Qualifications for licensure by examinations. The board may issue a license 

to practice veterinary medicine to an applicant who satisfies all of the following:  
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(1) Submits an application form provided by the board which includes the applicant’s 

notarized signature. 

 

 Note: Applications are available upon request to the board office located at 1400 

 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, WI 53708 or at the website at 

 www.dsps.wi.gov. 

 

(2) Pays the fee required under s. 440.05 (1), Stats. 

 

(3) Prior to November 1, 2000, passes the national board examination and clinical 

competency test.  On or after November 1, 2000, passes the north American veterinary 

licensing examination. 

 

(4) Successfully completes an examination on state laws and rules related to the practice 

of veterinary medicine. 

 

(5) Provides a certificate of graduation from a board approved veterinary college which 

shall be signed and sealed by the dean of the school and submitted directly to the board 

by the school. Applicants who graduated from a veterinary college which is not a board 

approved veterinary college shall provide a certificate of graduation which is signed and 

sealed by the dean of the school and submitted directly to the board by the school, and 

evidence of successful completion of either the educational commission for foreign 

veterinary graduates certification program or the Program for the Assessment of 

Veterinary Education Equivalence offered by the American Association of Veterinary 

State Boards (AAVSB) which shall be submitted directly to the board by the AVMA or 

the AAVSB. 

 

(6) Provides verification of licensure records and status which has been sent directly to 

the board by every state or country in which the applicant has ever held a license or 

certificate to practice veterinary medicine. 

 

(7) Does not have a conviction record or pending criminal charge relating to an offense 

the circumstances of which substantially relate to the practice of veterinary medicine.  An 

applicant who has a conviction record or pending criminal charge shall request 

appropriate authorities to provide information about the record or charge directly to the 

board in sufficient specificity to enable the board to make a determination whether the 

record or charge substantially relates to the practice of veterinary medicine. 

 

(8) All supporting documents shall be provided in English. 

    

SECTION 3. VE 3.03 is repealed. 

 

SECTION 4. VE 8.02 is repealed and recreated to read: 

 

VE 8.02 Qualifications for certification. The board may issue a certificate to practice as 

a veterinary technician to an applicant who does all of the following: 
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(1) Submits an application form provided by the board which includes the applicant’s 

notarized signature. 

 

 Note: Applications are available upon request to the board office located at 1400 

 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, WI 53708 or at the website at 

 www.dsps.wi.gov. 

 

(2) Meets the age and training requirements of s. 453.06 (3), Stats. 

 

(3) Pays the fees required under s. 440.05 (1), Stats. 

 

(4) Has passed an examination consisting of a national written examination and the 

examination on state laws and rules shall be submitted directly to the board by the 

department’s office of examinations or the interstate reporting services. 

 

(5) Has successfully completed an examination on state laws and rules related to the 

practice of veterinary technology. 

 

(6) Provides verification of licensure records and status which has been sent directly to 

the board by every state or country in which the applicant has ever held a license or 

certificate to practice veterinary technology. 

 

(7) Does not have a conviction record or pending criminal charge relating to an offense 

the circumstances of which substantially relate to the practice of veterinary technology.  

An applicant who has a conviction record or pending criminal charge shall request 

appropriate authorities to provide information about the record or charge directly to the 

board in sufficient specificity to enable the board to make a determination.  

 

(8)All supporting documents shall be provided in English. 

 

SECTION 5. VE 8.03 is repealed. 

 

SECTION 6.  EFFECTIVE DATE.  The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first 

day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, 

pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

 

This proposed Order of the Veterinary Examining Board is approved for submisssoin to 

the Governor and Legilsature. 

 

Dated _________________  Agency __________________________________ 

       Chairperson 

       Veterinary Examining Board 

 


