STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION AND LICENSING
IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING )
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE : NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING
DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION
AND LICENSING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority vested inthe Department of
Regulation and Licensing in ss. 227.11 (2), 440.03 (1), 440.03 (1m), 444.01, 444.02, 444.03,
444.035, 444.06, 444.095, 444.11, 44412, 444.13, 444.14, 444,15 and 444.18, Stats., and
interpreting 2009 Wisconsin Act 111, the Department of Regulation and Licensing will hold a
public hearing at the time and place indicated below to consider an emergency rule and a
proposed rule to create chs. RL 192 to 196, relating to the regulation of mixed martial arts
sporting events.

Hearing Date, Time and Location

Date: September 20, 2010

Time: 9:30 a.m.

Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue
(Enter at 55 North Dickinson Street)
Room 121A

Madison, Wisconsin
APPEARANCES AT THE HEARING:

Interested persons are invited to present information at the hearing. Persons appearing may
make an oral presentation but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in writing as
well. Facts, opinions and argument may also be submitted in writing without a personal
appearance by mail addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing, Division of Board
Services, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708. Written comments must be received by
September 27, 2010, to be included in the record of rule-making proceedings.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and Licensing.

ANALYSIS

Statutes interpreted:
2009 Wisconsin Act 111.

Statutory authority:
Sections 227.11 (2), 440.03 (1), 440.03 (1m), 444.01, 444.02, 444.03, 444.035, 444.06, 444.095,

44411, 44412, 444.13, 444,14, 444.15 and 444.18, Stats.
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Explanation of agency authority:

The Department of Regulation and Licensing has the authority under 2009 Wisconsin Act 111 to
promulgate rules to implement the requirements under ch. 444, Stats., relating to the regulation
of mixed martial arts sporting events.

Related statute or rule:
There are no other statutes or rules other than those listed above.
Plain language analysis:

This proposed rule-making order creates chs. RL 192 to 196 relating to the regulation of mixed
martial arts sporting events. The proposed rules contain definitions, applicationand permit
requirements, officials’ duties at events, conducting sporting events, fouls, equipment, medical
requirements, grounds for disciplinary action, and mandatory drug testing.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: None.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states:
llinois:

Statutes and rules for conducting mixed martial arts sporting events are found in the Illinois
Professional Boxing Act 225 ILCS 105 and the Illinois Administrative Code Title 68 Chapter
VIl Subchapter b Part 1371.
(see:http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=1322&ChapAct=225%26nbsp%3BIL
CS%26nbsp%3B105%2F&ChapterID=24&ChapterName=PROFESSIONS+AND+OCCUPATI
ONS &ActName=Professional+Boxing+Act%2E )
(see:http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/06801371sections.html )

lowa:

lowa does not require licensure for conducting mixed martial arts sporting events.

Michigan:

Statutes and rules for conducting mixed martial arts sporting events are found in the Michigan

Unarmed Combat Regulatory Act 2004 PA 403, MCL 338.3601 to MCL 338.3633 and the
Michigan Administrative Code R339.101 - R339.403.

(see:http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(1zvgaeyksalfhy45kmag4mour))/mileg.aspx?page=Chapter|
ndex )
(see:http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode=Single&Admin_Num=339001
01&Dpt=LG&RngHigh= )
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Licensure must be sought through the Department of Labor and Economic Growth, Bureau of
Commercial Services. The Unarmed Combat Commission assists the Director of the Department
of Labor and Economic Growth in regulating the sport.

Minnesota:

Statutes and rules for conducting mixed martial arts sporting events are found in the Minnesota
Statutes §341.21-8341.37 and the Minnesota Register at Minn. Reg. §.2202.0010-§2202.1200.
(see: https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=341) (see:
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=2202)

Licensure must be sought viathe Combative Sports Commission, which regulates the manner in
which mixed martial arts contests will be conducted.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:

A department-approved advisory panel met several times in 2010 to draft these proposed rules.
The advisory panel was comprised of Mixed Martial Arts combatants, judges, fight officials and
promoters, and a physician familiar with the injuries incurred in mixed martial arts contests.
Several department staff persons, including the State Boxing Commissioner, provided support
and expertise to the advisory panel. In addition to the advisory panel’s discussions, which
formed the basis for the public safety protections, the regulations of several other states were
reviewed. Provisions in force in some states were imported into the working draft, resulting in a
set of standards that incorporates the most effective rules from other jurisdictions to rules that are
unique to the regulation of mixed martial arts in Wisconsin.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in
preparation of economic impact report:

There will be an effect on small businesses that promote mixed martial arts events in Wisconsin
because previous to the legislation that was passed to regulate the sport, promoters did not need
to meet certain requirements or pay certain fees that they will be required to pay now that the
sport is regulated. Some of those fees and/or financial obligations that were outlined in 2009
Wisconsin Act 111 include: licensing fee, event fee, gate tax fee, bond requirements, and
payment for inspectors, officials, etc. Payment for inspectors and officials was something that
promoters paid for prior to the legislation being passed; however, we may require them to have
more officials than they previously had which could increase their cost. The costs associated
with regulating the sport are necessary to ensure the safety of the sport. Our fees are also in line
with other states that conduct mixed martial arts events.

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an economic impact report before
submitting the proposed rule-making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council. The

Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an “agency” in this section.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:
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The department finds that this rule will have an impact on the private sector as indicated above.
It is important to note that mixed martial arts events bring in significant revenue to cities that
conduct these events. The Ultimate Fighting Championship brand brings in millions of dollars in
revenue when they come to a given state to conduct one of their events. The revenue comes
from the patronization of hotels, restaurants, retail and other businesses.

Fiscal estimate:

The department will have a one-time cost of $3,440 which will come from IT programming,
form development and website updates. The department will have total on-going costs of
$245,440 (includes both mixed martial arts and boxing), which will consist of staff time for
licensing activities and attending events.

Effect on small business:

These proposed rules were reviewed by the department’s Small Business Review Advisory
Committee to determine if the rules will have a significant economic impact on a substantial
number of small businesses, as defined ins.227.114 (1), Stats. The rule may have some impact
as described above in the “Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small
business” section. The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by email
at hector.colon@wisconsin.gov, or by calling 608-266-8608.

Agency contact person:

Shawn Leatherwood, Department of Regulation and Licensing, Division of Board Services, 1400
East Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone
608-261-4438; email at shawn.leatherwood@wisconsin.gov.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission:

Comments may be submitted to Shawn Leatherwood, Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Division of Board Services, 1400 E. Washington Ave., Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708-8935, or by email shawn leatherwood@wisconsin.gov. Comments must be
received on or before September 27, 2010, to be included in the record of rule-making
proceedings.

TEXT OF RULE

SECTION 1. Chs. RL 192 to 196 are created to read:

CHAPTER RL 192

AUTHORITY AND DEFINITIONS
MIXED MARTIAL ARTS SPORTING EVENTS
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RL 192.01 Authority. The rules in chs. RL 192 to 196 are adopted under the authority
of ss.227.11 (2), 444.01, 444.02, 444.03, 444.04, 444.06, 444.09, 444.095, 444.10 to 444.15,
444.18 and 444.19, Stats.

RL 192.02 Definitions. As used in chs. RL 192 to 196:
(1) “Amateur” means an individual who participates in a mixed martial arts
contest who does not receive or has competed for any purse, article, or thing that exceeds $50.00

in value for participating in a contest.

(2) “Anabolic steroid” means any drug or hormonal substance as defined ins.
961.01 (2m) (a), Stats.

(3) “Cage” means a fenced enclosure in which some promotional organizations
hold mixed martial arts matches that meet the Association of Boxing Commissions’ uniform
rules of mixed martial arts.

(4) “Choke” means a submission technique that restricts blood flow in the carotid
arteries and results in a contestant either tapping-out or losing consciousness. A “choke”
includes the guillotine choke, rear-naked choke, leg triangle choke, and arm triangle choke.

(5) “Commissioner” means a person as defined in by s. 15.06, Stats., which
represents the department.

(6) “Compression lock” means a submission technique that causes severe pain by
pressing a muscle against a bone and results ina contestant either tapping-out or suffering an
injury. A “compression lock™ includes the Achilles lock, bicep slicer, and calf slicer.

(7) “Contest” means a group of bouts organized as a single event.

(8) “Contestant” means a person licensed by the department who competes in a
bout.

(9) “Controlled substance” means a substance as defined ins. 961.01 (4), Stats.

(10) “Corner” means a person licensed as a second who assists a contestant
during a bout by taking position in their corner between rounds. A “corner” is also known as a
second.

(11) “Department” means the department of regulation and licensing.

(12) “Drug” means a controlled substance as defined in ch. 961, Stats.

(13) “Grappling” means techniques of throwing, locking, holding, and wresting,
as opposed to kicking and punching an opposing contestant.
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(14) “Guard” means a basic position in which one contestant lies on his or her
back with his or her knees and legs open. If the opposing contestant is between his or her legs,
the opponent is in his or her “guard.” Depending upon the leg position of the contestant on his
or her back, the “guard” is referred to as being an open, closed, half, butterfly, spider, or rubber
band “guard.”

(15) “Joint lock” means a submission technique that hyper-extends or hyper-
rotates a joint in the body and results in a contestant either tapping-out or suffering an injury. A
“joint lock” includes the can opener, arm bar, kimura, Omoplata, Americana, and ankle lock.

(16) “Mixed martial arts” means the convergence of techniques from a variety of
combative sports disciplines including boxing, wrestling, judo, jujitsu and kickboxing. “Mixed
martial arts” techniques may be broken down into 2 categories: striking and grappling.

(17) “Mount” means a basic position in which a contestant gains top position and
controls his or her opponent by sitting on top of them in the full “mount” position, or from the
side of the opponent in the side “mount.”

(18) “Official” means a referee, judge, timekeeper, ringside physician, inspector
or department representative involved in conducting a professional or amateur mixed martial arts
event.

(19) “Promoter” means any person, club, corporation, or association, and in the
case of a corporate promoter includes any officer, director, employee, or stockholder, who
conducts, produces, arranges, or stages any mixed martial arts contest.

CHAPTER RL 193
LICENSE APPLICATIONS AND PERMITS

RL 193.01 Bond required for promoter and club license. Any promoter or club who
wishes to conduct a professional or amateur mixed martial arts contest shall post a surety bond or
letter of credit from a bank of not less than $25,000, as required by s. 444.035, Stats., with their
application for a promoter or club license. The purpose of the $25,000 surety bond is to insure
the payment of the participants involved in conducting a professional or amateur mixed martial
arts contest. The participants include, in order of priority, but are not limited to, the department,
contestants and officials.

RL 193.02 Promoter’s license. (1) APPLICATION. Any person, club, corporation or
association who wishes to conduct a mixed martial arts event in this state shall, before
conducting an event, submit an application for a promoter’s license on forms provided by the
department, together with the $500 fee, as specified ins. 444.03, Stats. A surety bond or letter of
credit from a bank of not less than $25,000 shall be submitted with the application.
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NOTE: Applications are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at: http://drl.wi.gov.

(2) ELIGIBILITY. (a) To be eligible for a promoter’s license an applicant shall:
1. Comply with the requirements ins. 444.03, Stats.

2. Comply with the requirements ins. 444.11, Stats.; submit a
copy of their articles of incorporation and proof that the secretary of state has filed their articles
pursuant to s. 180.0122, Stats.; identify all persons connected with or having a proprietary
interest in the professional club, corporation or association and the percentage of proprietary
interest.

3. Possess appropriate knowledge of the proper conduct of
competition involved in the sport of mixed martial arts.

4. Post a $25,000 bond made payable to the department, a copy of
the certificate verifying the approval and the filing of the bond with the department.

(b) The department shall issue a promoter’s license if it finds that the
applicant is not in default on any payments, obligations, or debts payable to the state of
Wisconsin.

(c) The department may deny a license to an applicant who has
committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, subject the applicant to discipline
under ch. RL 196.

RL 193.03 Manager’s license. (1) APPLICATION. A person shall, before acting as a
manager at any mixed martial arts event, submit an application on forms provided by the
department, together with the $10 fee as specified ins. 444.11, Stats.

NOTE: Applications are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at: http://drl.wi.gov.

(2) ELIGIBILITY. (a) To be eligible for a license as a manager an applicant
shall be at least 21 years of age.

(b) The department may deny a license to an applicant who has
committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, subject the applicant to discipline
under ch. RL 196.

RL 193.04 Matchmaker’s license. (1) APPLICATION. A person shall, before acting

as a matchmaker at any mixed martial arts event, submit an application on forms provided by the
department together with the $10 fee as specified ins. 444.11, Stats.
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NOTE: Applications are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at: http://drl.wi.gov.

(2) ELIGIBIILITY. (a) To be eligible for a license as a matchmaker an applicant
shall be at least 21 years of age.

(b) The department may deny a license to an applicant who has
committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, subject the applicant to discipline
under ch. RL 196.

RL 193.05 Contestant’s license. (1) APPLICATION. A person shall, before acting as
a professional or amateur mixed martial arts contestant at any event, submit an application on
forms provided by the department together with the $40 fee as specified ins. 444.03, Stats.

NOTE: Applications are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at: http://drl.wi.gov.

(2) ELIGIBILITY. (a) To be eligible for a license as a professional or amateur
mixed martial arts contestant, an applicant shall:

(a) Be at least 18 years of age.

(b) Provide results of a physical examination by a physician and
laboratory results conducted no more than 90 days before the date of the application in
accordance with ch. 448, Stats., affirming:

1. Negative HIV.

2. Negative hepatitis B surface antigen. If a contestant had a
failing hepatitis B antigen test, the contestant shall pass a hepatitis B “PCR” quantitative test.
The quantitative limit shall be within permissible limits according to the laboratory where the
test was administered. The commissioner, department representative, or ringside physician may
request that a contestant take an additional hepatitis B antigen test and provide the results within
2 weeks of a professional contest in which a contestant is scheduled to compete.

3. Negative hepatitis C antibody. If a contestant had a failing
hepatitis C antibody test, the contestant shall pass a hepatitis C “PCR” quantitative test. The
quantitative limit shall be within permissible limits according to the laboratory where the test
was administered. The commissioner, department representative, or ringside physician may
request that a contestant take an additional hepatitis C antibody test and provide the results
within 2 weeks of a professional contest in which a contestant is scheduled to compete.

4. Eye examination by a licensed physician.
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5. The department shall not issue a license or grant a renewal of a
license to an applicant if:

a. The applicant is found to be blind in one eye or whose
vision in one eye is so poor that an ophthalmologist, optometrist, or physician recommends that a
license not be granted.

b. The applicant has suffered any type of cerebral
hemorrhage.

6. An applicant 35 years of age and older is required to submit a
cat scan (CT) with contrast or MRI examination in addition to all other required medical
examinations.

7. An applicant 39 years of age and older is required to submit in
addition to all other required medical examinations:

a. MRI/MRA brain examination.

b. A stress echocardiogram examination with cardiology
clearance.

c. Metabolic blood profile.
d. Achest x-ray that has been given within 2 years.

(c) The department may deny a license to an applicant who has
committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, subject the applicant to discipline
under ch. RL 196.

RL 193.06 Judge’s license. (1) APPLICATION. A person shall, before acting as a
judge at any professional contest, submit an application on forms provided by the department
with the $15 fee as specified in s. 444.11, Stats.

NOTE: Applications are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at: http://drl.wi.gov.

(2) ELIGIBILITY. (a) To be eligible for a license as a judge an applicant shall
be at least 21 years of age.

(b) The department may deny a license to an applicant who has

committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, subject the applicant to discipline
under ch. RL 196.
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(c) The applicant shall obtain an annual examination with corrective
lenses. The results of the examination shall be on forms provided by the department.

(3) QUALIFICATIONS. In accordance with s. 444.095 (3), Stats., the
department shall determine whether a person possesses the knowledge and experience necessary
to hold a license as a judge by reviewing criteria from the following list:

(a) Certificate of completion of a judge’s training program from another
state, other regulating bodies such as the Association of Boxing Commission, and other
organizations that have a judge’s training program certified by the Association of Boxing
Commission.

(b) A resume with 3 professional references that can verify the number of
years of experience as an amateur or professional judge along with a log of experience.

(c) A validand current license as a judge from another state or
organization that regulates the sport of mixed martial arts.

(d) Obtain a passing grade on an examination administered by the
department designed to test the examinee’s knowledge of mixed martial arts and successful
completion of the trial judge program.

(e) The trial judge program administered and supervised by the
commissioner, inspector, or department representative shall consist of:

1. Observing mixed martial arts events.
2. Shadowing a licensed judge at mixed martial arts events.

3. Officiating, on a trial basis, as a judge during a mixed martial
arts event under the supervision of the commissioner, inspector, or department representative.

RL 193.07 Referee’slicense. (1) APPLICATION. A person shall, before acting as a
referee at any professional event, submit an application on forms provided by the department
together with the $15 fee as specified ins. 444.11, Stats.

NOTE: Applications are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at: http://drl.wi.gov.

(2) ELIGIBILITY. (a) To be eligible for a license as a referee an applicant shall
be at least 21 years of age.

(b) The department may deny a license to an applicant who has

committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, subject the applicant to discipline
under ch. RL 196.
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(c) An applicant shall provide the results of a physical examination
conducted by a licensed physician. The results of the examination shall be on forms provided by
the department.

NOTE: Forms are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing, Division
of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708, or from the department’s website at: http://drl.wi.gov.

(3) QUALIFICATIONS. In accordance with s. 444.095 (3), Stats., the
department shall determine whether a person possesses the knowledge and experience necessary
to hold a license as a referee by reviewing criteria from the following list:

(a) Certificate of completion of a referee training program from another
state, other regulating bodies such as the Association of Boxing Commission, and other
organizations that have a referee training program certified by the Association of Boxing
Commission.

(b) A resume with 3 professional references that can verify the number of
years of experience as an amateur or professional referee along with a log of experience.

(c) A validand current license as a referee from another state or another
organization that regulates the sport of mixed martial arts.

(d) Obtain a passing grade on an examination administered by the
department designed to test the examinee’s knowledge of mixed martial arts and successful
completion of the trial referee program.

(e) The trial referee program administered and supervised by the
commissioner, inspector, or department representative shall consist of:

1. Observing mixed martial arts events.
2. Shadowing a licensed referee at mixed martial arts events.

3. Officiating, on a trial basis, as a referee during a mixed martial
arts event under the supervision of the commissioner, inspector, or department representative.

RL 193.08 Ringside physician’s license. (1) APPLICATION. A person shall, before
acting as a ringside physician at any mixed martial arts event, submit an application on forms
provided by the department together with the $10 fee as specified in s. 444.11, Stats.

NOTE: Applications are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at: http://drl.wi.gov.
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(2) ELIGIBILILITY. (a) To be eligible for a license as a ringside physician an
applicant shall hold a credential to practice medicine in Wisconsin in accordance with ch. 448,
Stats.

(b) The department may deny a license to an applicant who has
committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, subject the applicant to discipline
under ch. RL 196.

RL 193.09 Second’s license. (1) APPLICATION. A person shall, before acting as a
second at any mixed martial arts event, submit an application on forms provided by the
department together with the $40 fee as specified ins. 444.11, Stats.

NOTE: Applications are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at: http://drl.wi.gov.

(2) ELIGIBILITY. (a) To be eligible for a license as a second an applicant shall
be at least 21 years of age.

(b) The department may deny a license to an applicant who has
committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, subject the applicant to discipline
under ch. RL 196.

RL 193.10 Trainer’s license. (1) APPLICATION. A person shall, before acting as a
trainer at any mixed martial arts events, submit an application on forms provided by the
department together with the $10 fee in accordance with s. 444.11, Stats.

NOTE: Applications are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at: http://drl.wi.gov.

(2) ELIGIBILITY. (a) To be eligible for a license as a trainer an applicant shall
be at least 21 years of age.

(b) The department may deny a license to an applicant who has
committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, subject the applicant to discipline
under ch. RL 196.

RL 193.11 Timekeeper’s license. (1) APPLICATION. A person shall, before acting as
a timekeeper at any mixed martial arts event, submit an application on forms provided by the
department together with the $10 fee as specified ins. 444.11, Stats.

NOTE: Applications are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at: http://drl.wi.gov.
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(2) ELIGIBILITY. (a) To be eligible for a license as a timekeeper an applicant
shall be at least 21 years of age.

(b) The department may deny a license to an applicant who has
committed any which would, if committed by a licensee, subject the applicant to discipline under
ch. RL 196.

RL 193.12 Term of license. A license as a promoter, manager, matchmaker, contestant,
judge, referee, ringside physician, second, trainer or timekeeper shall be valid for one year,
unless suspended or revoked for cause, and expire 12 months after its date of issuance.

RL 193.13 Renewal of license. A promoter, manager, matchmaker, contestant, judge,
referee, ringside physician, second, trainer or timekeeper who chooses to continue licensure after
the date of expiration of a license shall file an application for renewal. The criteria and
conditions for an original license apply equally to applications for renewal.

RL 193.14 Permits. (1) A licensed promoter or club who wishes to conduct a
professional or amateur mixed martial arts event shall, before conducting an event, obtain a
permit from the department. An application for a permit to conduct an event shall be submitted
to the department at least 30 calendar days before the proposed date of the event and no more an
60 calendar days before an event by a promoter or an authorized representative of a licensed
professional club, corporation or association on forms provided by the department and shall
include all of the following:

NOTE: Applications for permits are available from the Department of Regulation and
Licensing, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935,
Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at: http://drl.wi.gov.

(a) The name, address, phone number and license number of the promoter
or professional club, corporation or association.

(b) The name and license number of the matchmaker, the promoter, or
professional club, corporation or association’s plans to use for the event. If the matchmaker is
not licensed in Wisconsin, the event permit application shall include the proposed matchmaker’s
application for licensure along with all required documents.

(c) The proposed date, starting time, and location of the event as well as
all of the following information regarding the venue.

1. Name and address..
2. Seating capacity.

3. Afloor plan which indicates the dressing room locations and
fire exits.
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4. Name and telephone number of the primary contact person of
the proposed venue.

5. Evidence satisfactory to the department that the promoter or
professional club has entered into a valid agreement with the owner or manager of the venue
where the proposed mixed martial arts event will be conducted.

(d) Information regarding whether the proposed event will be all
professional, all amateur, or combined professional and amateur, the number of rounds for each
scheduled bout, and the proposed number of professional bouts and amateur bouts.

(e) A minimum number of 24 rounds and 8 bouts shall be scheduled. The
commissioner, inspector, or department representative may grant a waiver of rounds.

(f) All combined professional and amateur events shall start with the
amateur bouts. The intermixing of professional and amateur bouts is prohibited.

(g) Conducting mixed martial arts events in combination with other forms
of single combat sports such as kickboxing or jujitsu is prohibited, pursuant to s. 444.01 (1r),
Stats.

(h) The preliminary fight card for the event which shall include the
following:

1. The name and weight class of each of the proposed mixed
martial arts contestants in each bout.

2. The contestant’s Wisconsin license number.

3. The contestant’s Association of Boxing Commission’s mixed
martial arts national identification number.

4. The contestant’s contest history.

5. The names and Wisconsin license numbers of the contestant’s
seconds and manager.

6. Proposed purse.

(1) A detailed plan to provide medical personnel and equipment for the
event and for evacuating a seriously injured contestant to a hospital, including the name of the
promoter or professional club’s representative responsible for evacuating an injured contestant, a
detailed evacuation route, method of removal from the contest area, the means of transportation
to the hospital, and the name of the nearest hospital, pursuant to s. 444.095 (2) (c) and (d), Stats.
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(J) A detailed plan to furnish adequate police or private security forces for
the protection of the spectators.

(K) The date, time and location of the official weigh-in and physical
examination.

(L) Proof of having obtained the insurance required by s. 444.18, Stats.

(m) Proof of having obtained the bond required in s. 444.035, Stats., and
s. RL 193.01.

(n) The admission fee of all tickets and the proposed number of tickets,
including complimentary tickets.

(2) Upon receipt of an application for a permit to conduct a professional mixed
martial arts event, the department may deny the application if:

(a) The applicant does not provide all the required information.

(b) The department does not have the appropriate number of judges,
referee, inspector, or ringside physicians available on that date.

(c) One or more mixed martial arts contestant listed on the fight card is
not licensed or is ineligible to compete due to being under a suspension or revocation order
issued by the department or another licensing jurisdiction for one of the following reasons:

1. Arecent knock-out or series of consecutive losses.

2. Aninjury, a requirement for a medical procedure, or a
physician’s denial of certification.

3. Testing positive for a prohibited drug.

4. The use of false aliases, falsifying, or attempting to falsify
official identification cards or documents issued pursuant to ch. 444, Stats.

5. Unprofessional conduct or other inappropriate behavior
inconsistent with generally accepted methods of competition at mixed martial arts events.

6. The department may grant a permit for the event, but withhold
approval of one or more mixed martial arts contestants scheduled to compete in an event.

(3) The department may require an applicant to provide, prior to an event, a bond

or letter of credit from a bank in an amount equal to 5% of the estimated gross receipts from the
event pursuant to s. 444.035, Stats.
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(4) A permit issued under this section shall allow the permit holder to conduct
only the event named inthe permit. A permit is not transferable. The promoter or representative
of the professional club, corporation or association whose name appears on the permit shall be
present at the weigh-in and at the event until the conclusion of the final bout unless executed by
the department.

(5) The department shall establish all rules and requirements for conducting
mixed martial arts events, pursuant to s. 444.02 (1), Stats.

(6) The commissioner or department representative shall determine if the
contestants are evenly and fairly matched according to skill level, experience, and weight so as to
produce a fair and sportsmanlike contest.

RL 193.15 Permits, issuance and effect. (1) All promoters and professional clubs who
have obtained an event permit from the department shall submit no later than 4 business days
before the scheduled event, the following:

(a) All complete and signed bout agreements.

(b) The complete and executed contract or rental agreement between the
promoter or professional club and the venue.

(c) Complete license applications for all contestants, managers, judges,
referees, timekeepers and seconds.

(d) All required physical examination forms and laboratory reports from
contestants as stated in s. RL 193.05 (2) (b).

(e) The final fight card for the event listing the name, license number,
contest history, weight class, scheduled rounds and opponent of each contestant, and red/blue
corner designations.

(2) If the department denies an application for a permit or refuses to approve a
contestant whose name has been submitted to the department by the applicant, it shall provide
the applicant with an opportunity to appeal the decisionto the commissioner or department
representative. If the department does not approve a contestant to fight in an event, the
department shall provide the applicant with an opportunity to appeal the decision to the
commissioner or department representative. In either case, the department is not required to hold
the hearing before the date of submission.

(3) Issuance of a permit by the department authorizes a promoter or professional
club to conduct a mixed martial arts event under the control of the commissioner, inspectors,
department representatives, referees and ringside physicians assigned and listed in the permit.

(4) A promoter may substitute a mixed martial arts contestant listed on their
permit application after requesting a substitute. The request shall be submitted to the department
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no later than one business day preceding the date of the event. Exceptions may be allowed and
shall be determined by the department.

RL 193.16 Canceling an event. (1) At any time during an event, the assigned inspector
may cancel all or part of an event if:

(a) The commissioner or department representative reasonably believes
that the event is not being conducted according to chs. RL 192 to 196 and ch. 444, Stats, or the
conditions stated in the permit which authorizes the event; or

(b) The commissioner or department representative reasonably believes
that the event poses an unreasonable threat to the health or safety of contestants, spectators, or
officials.

(2) The department may cancel an event at any time for violation of chs. RL 192
to 196.

(3) A promoter or professional club may cancel an event by notifying the
department and those members of the media whom the promoter or professional club initially
notified about the event no later than 30 hours before it was scheduled to begin. Any
cancellation by a promoter shall result in an assessment of costs by the department pursuant to s.
444,035, Stats.

CHAPTER RL 194
OFFICIALS FOR MIXED MARTIAL ARTS SPORTING EVENTS

RL 194.01 Promoter duties. All promoters that have been issued a permit to conduct a
mixed martial arts event by the department shall comply with the following:

(1) Post a bond inthe amount of $25,000 to ensure payment of the expenses
incurred in conducting an event including, in order of priority, the department, contestants and
the officials pursuant to s. 444.035, Stats.

(2) Have a current license as a mixed martial arts promoter.

(3) Submit to the department the bout agreement executed between a promoter
and a contestant on a form provided by the department that includes the name and address of the
contestant. A bout agreement which provides that a contestant shall fight exclusively for one
promoter or at the option of the promoter is prohibited for amateur contestants.

NOTE: Forms are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing, Division
of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708, or from the department’s website at: http://drl.wi.gov.
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(4) Have submitted an application for an event that complies withs. RL 193.14
and ss. 444.02 (3), 444.035, 444.095 (2) (c) and (d), and 444.18, Stats.

(5) Submit all contestants’ names to Mixed Martial Arts LLC and the
commissioner or department representative for approval.

(6) Have a separate divider between the cage or fenced area and spectators. The
divider shall be approved by the inspector or department representative. If the divideris not a
solid barrier, then a uniformed officer.

(7) Issue tickets that comply with all ticket and tax rules as defined in s. 444.02
(3) (b) and (c), Stats., and have all of the following:

(a) Price and date of the event.

(b) Seat, row, and section number, if applicable.

(c) The word “complimentary” in a prominent manner for all tickets.

(d) Provide a certified invoice from the ticket printer which indicates the
total number of tickets printed in each price range, including the number of complimentary

tickets.

(8) Have obtained medical and life insurance for each contestant competing in
the event pursuant to s. 444.18, Stats.

(9) The amount of medical insurance shall not be less than $25,000 and shall be
paid to or for the use of a contestant that sustains an injury during a contest.

(10) The amount of life insurance shall not be less than $25,000 per contestant
and shall be paid to the contestant’s estate if he or she dies as a result of participating in the
event.

(11) Contestants may not waive the insurance coverage and are not responsible
for any deductible payments.

(12) A promoter shall submit to the department verification that medical and life
insurance have been obtained for each contestant no later than 4 days prior to the event.

(13) A promoter shall provide documentation verifying that all amateur
contestants scheduled on their fight card have obtained medical and life insurance and have
provided the documentation to the department before an amateur contestant shall be allowed to
compete inany contest pursuant to s. 444.095 (1), Stats.
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(14) Shall not begin conducting an event without the presence of one licensed
referee, at least 3 licensed judges, at least 2 licensed physicians, an ambulance, emergency
medical personnel, and security personnel present on site pursuant to s. 444.095 (2), Stats.

(15) Shall supply the contestant’s gloves. The gloves shall be new and approved
by the inspector, department representative or referee.

(16) Have disposable garbage bags in each dressing room and at ringside.

(17) Provide cleaning solution to be used for cleaning blood and debris in the
cage or fenced area. A solution of 10% bleach and 90% water is an acceptable solution.

(18) Shall provide police or private security forces for the protection of the
public, with at least one commissioned police officer on site during the event.

(19) Begin all events at the time designated on the event permit issued by the
department. Failure to begin an event at the designated time will result in disciplinary action by
the department.

(20) No promoter or contestant may exhibit any type of entrance theme that
includes music, video, or any type of physical display that contains any profanity or derogatory
ethic remarks. Failure to comply will subject the promoter or contestant to disciplinary action by
the department.

(21) No promoter shall allowa round card girl, round card model, or any of the
promoter’s agents to use any language, including profanity or derogatory ethnic remarks, or any
conduct or performance that the average person, applying contemporary community standards,
would find appeals to the prurient interest; describes or shows sexual conduct in a patently
offensive way; or lacks serious literary, artistic, political, educational or scientific value, in
accordance with s. 944.21 (2) (d), Stats. Any promoter violating this subsection will be subject
to disciplinary action up to and including being suspended for up to 6 months and be subject to
criminal prosecution inaccordance with s. 944.21 (3) (b) and (5), Stats.

(22) Submit a written report, verified by the promoter, to the department within 2
business days of conducting an event. Failure to timely file a complete and accurate report shall
result in disciplinary action by the department pursuant to s. 444.04, Stats., and may cause the
department to examine the books and records of the promoter as described ins. 444.15., Stats.
The report shall include the following:

(a) Number of tickets sold.
(b) Total amount of gross proceeds.

(c) All unsold tickets with the stubs attached.
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(23) Shall provide emergency medical personnel and equipment for the event and
for evacuating a seriously injured contestant to a hospital, including the name of the promoter or
designated representative responsible for evacuating an injured contestant, the method of
removal from the contest area, the means of transportation to the hospital, and the name of the
nearest hospital, pursuant to s. RL 193.14 (1) (i) and s. 444.095 (2) (c) and (d), Stats.

(24) Shall pay for pregnancy testing and drug testing of contestants.
(25) Shall compensate all officials and contestants.

(26) The commissioner, inspector, or department representative may request a
promoter place at least 2 video screens which meet the approval of the commissioner, inspector
or department representative which will allow patrons to view action inside the cage or fenced
area.

(27) Shall pay the gross receipttaxes as defined ins. 444.02 (3), Stats. The tax is
due and payable to the state within 2 business days of the event and shall be paid with a separate
check upon determination by the inspector of the gross admission receipts.

(28) Comply with all rules and regulations relating to promoting events.

RL 194.02 Inspectors’ duties at events. (1) Inspectors assigned to an event by the
department represent the department and are delegated the department’s authority to conduct the
event from the time of the weigh-in and pre-bout physical examination until 24 hours after the
completion of the last bout in the scheduled event or the final determination of all bouts pursuant
to s. 444.06, Stats.

(2) Additional inspectors may be assigned or designated by the department at any
one venue for any one event and shall be compensated by the promoter inaccordance with s.
444.06, Stats., including their actual and necessary travel expense.

(3) The inspector shall obtain from the promoter a box office statement, a ticket
manifest, or a certified invoice from the ticket printer and submit it to the commissioner. The
inspector shall have access to all books, records, and papers regarding the event.

RL 194.03 Judges’ duties at events. (1) A judge has the following duties and
responsibilities once assigned to an event:

(a) Shall render an independent decision at the end of each round of each
bout.

(b) Shall give their scorecard to the referee at the end of each round and at
the end of the final round of an amateur mixed martial arts event, who shall transfer them to the
inspector assigned to the event.
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(c) Shall use the 10-point must scoring system to determine the result of a
bout and their decision shall be final.

(2) The department shall assign the judges for an event. The department may not
assign a person to act as a judge if it has reasonable proof that the person is:

(a) Not competent to act as a judge.
(b) Has a conflict of interest.

(c) Has been subject to a disciplinary action by the department or another
jurisdiction that prohibits the person from acting as a judge.

(3) All judges are independent contractors and shall be assigned at the discretion
of the commissioner, inspector or department representative.

RL 194.04 Referees’ duties at events. (1) A referee has the following duties and
responsibilities once assigned to an event:

(a) Represent the department for the purpose of regulating mixed martial
arts contestants and others in the contest area, pursuant to chs. RL 192 to 196, the Association of
Boxing Commissions’ uniform rules of mixed martial arts, and ch. 444, Stats.

(b) Maintain, direct and control the bout at all stages.

(c) Before the bout, obtain the name of the chief second responsible for
the conduct of any assistant second.

(d) Prevent a weakened or outclassed mixed martial arts contestant from
receiving excessive punishment.

(e) Interpret the rules relevant to a bout, make a determination, and take
action upon any circumstance of a bout not covered by a rule.

(f) Caution, warn or disqualify a mixed martial arts contestant for
committing a foul.

(g) Act as the sole arbiter of the bout. The referee is the only official
authorized to stop a bout pursuant to s. 444.12, Stats.

(h) Conduct rule meetings with each contestant.
(i) Consult with the ringside physician as needed during an event.

(j) Issue cautions and deduct points for committed fouls.
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(K) Inspect the contest area before the beginning of any event.

(2) Attire for all mixed martial arts referees shall be dark trousers or coaching
pants with a black pull over shirt with a collar. The referee’s shoes shall be black and athletic so
that the referee is able to maintain good footing on the surface of the contest area. Referees for
title bouts may wear the assigned uniform of the championship body.

RL 194.05 Ringside physician’s duties at events. A ringside physician has the
following duties and responsibilities once assigned to an event:

(1) Be prepared to administer medical procedures to contestants.
(2) Attend the official weigh-on.

(3) Conduct the pre-bout physical examination, including examining each
contestant no earlier than 30 hours and no later than 2 hours before the event and certifying on
forms provided by the department as to the physical fitness of a contestant to compete in a
contest.

NOTE: Forms are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing, Division
of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708, or from the department’s website at: http://drl.wi.gov.

(4) Continuous observation at cage side of the physical condition of contestants
during bouts including being prepared to administer emergent medical procedures to contestants
that receive injuries during bouts.

(5) Conduct post-bout physical examinations, including recommending medical
suspensions when necessary.

(6) Attending injured contestants between bouts.
(7) Complete records and reports.

RL 194.06 Second’s duties at events. (1) Only 2 licensed seconds will be allowed to
assistany one contestant or be positioned in a designated area by a cage or fenced area during a
bout. For championship bouts there may be 3 licensed seconds allowed to assistany one
contestant subject to approval of the commissioner, inspector or department representative.

(2) Only one second may enter the contest area to tend to a contestant between
rounds. In case of an open cut, the ringside physician may also enter the cage or fenced area.
No person other than the contestants and referee shall enter the cage or fenced area during a bout.

(3) There shall be no profanity, insults or degrading language from anyone
working the corner.
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(4) If asecond leaves the designated area the contestant will be disqualified.

(5) Any person violating any rule while working the corner will be disqualified
for the remainder of the event and subject to disciplinary action.

RL 194.07 Timekeepers’ duties at events. A timekeeper has the following duties and
responsibilities once assigned to an event:

(1) Provide department approved sound devices.

(2) Provide 2 stopwatches that have been examined and approved by the
inspector or department representative.

(3) Give a 10 second warning before the beginning of each round to signal all
unauthorized persons to leave the contestant area before a bout begins.

(4) Give a 10-second warning before the end of a round to indicate that the end of
the round is approaching.

(5) Provide notice that a round has concluded.

(6) If about terminates before the scheduled limit of a round, inform the
inspector or department representative of the exact duration of the bout.

RL 194.08 Officials’ pay schedule. (1) The commissioner or department representative
shall appoint all licensed officials for all mixed martial arts events. Promoters shall compensate
all officials appointed by the commissioner, inspector, or department representative in
accordance with the following pay schedule:

(@) A minimum of 3 judges at a minimum of $100 each.

(b) A minimum of one referee at a minimum of $300 each.

(c) Up to 2 inspectors at a minimum of $250 each. Inspectors shall be
reimbursed for their actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties
pursuant to s. 444.06, Stats., including mileage fees and lodging at the state rate.

(d) A minimum of 2 physicians who shall be assigned as:

1. The primary physician at a minimum of $450 shall attend the
official weigh-in, conduct the pre-bout physical examination, and be in attendance at cage side

during each bout for the entire event, or

2. The secondary physician at a minimum of $250 shall be in
attendance during the entire event and conduct post-bout physical examinations.
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(e) A minimum of one timekeeper ata minimum of $75 each.
(2) An individual who participates in an event as more than one type of official,
alternating between individual professional bouts, shall be compensated at the rate of the highest
level at which the individual who officiated the event, pursuant to s. 444.06, Stats.

(3) The department reserves the right to require additional payments to assigned
officials based on the following factors:

(a) Number of professional bouts scheduled for the event.
(b) Type of venue, including the venue’s seating capacity.
(c) Live broadcast of the event.

(d) Inclusion of a title bout at the event.

(4) No later than 4 business days before the scheduled event, the department and
the promoter or professional club shall have agreed to the amount of compensation for the
officials assigned to the event. Failure to reach an agreement on the amount of compensation for
assigned officials by the deadline may result in the cancellation of the event.

CHAPTER RL 195
CONDUCTING MIXED MARTIAL ARTS SPORTING EVENTS

RL 195.01 General provisions. (1) Male and female contestants may not compete
against each other in a bout.

(2) Each contestant shall present a completed medical examination report form to
the ringside physician at the pre-bout examination.

(3) All professional and amateur events shall be conducted under the supervision
of the department.

(4) Only licensed participants shall be allowed in the contest area.

(5) Amateur contestants may not currently or have ever been a professional
fighter in any striking sport. This includes mixed martial arts, boxing, karate or any other form
of a striking sport. Any contestant found in violation will be subject to disciplinary action.

(6) Debut amateur contestants shall complete a department approved form
detailing the contestant’s experiences and training in mixed martial arts competitions. The
trainer of the debut contestants shall certify that the contestant is skilled enough to compete and
has never engaged in any type of professional mixed martial arts event.
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NOTE: Forms are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing, Division
of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708, or from the department’s website at: http://drl.wi.gov.

(7) Amateur mixed martial arts contestants shall be required to have a minimum
of 5 recorded amateur bouts prior to being permitted to compete as a professional mixed martial
arts contestant. The commissioner or a person designated by the department may waive this
requirement under certain circumstances.

RL 195.02 Weigh-in procedures and weight classes. (1) Mixed martial arts
contestants shall weigh in no more than 30 hours prior to the event start time in which they will
compete. The weigh-in shall be conducted under the supervision of an inspector or department
representative at a place designated by the promoter in an area with ample lighting to observe
contestants and conduct the weigh-in.

(2) All contestants shall weigh in. Contestants may wear a shirt, a pair of shorts
and socks at the weigh-in. Additional apparel or jewelry is prohibited.

(3) The scale shall be provided by the promoter and approved by the inspector or
department representative.

(4) The weight allowance is the difference in weight permitted between
contestants in 2 different weight classes.

(5) Contestants shall not be allowedto participate in a bout where the weigh-in
weight difference of opposing contestants exceeds the weight allowance shown in Table A.

(6) The commissioner shall have the sole discretion as to whether to cancel an
event if a contestant does not make weight.

(7) There may not be a difference of more than 3 pounds between weight classes
from straw weight up to and including the bantamweight class.

(8) There may not be a difference of more than 5 pounds between weight classes
from featherweight up to and including the welterweight class.

(9) There may not be a difference of more than 7 pounds between weight classes
from middleweight up to and including the heavyweight class.

NOTE: Examples of the difference between weight classes: A fighter weighing 134
pounds in the bantamweight class may not compete against an opponent who weighs more than
137 pounds in the featherweight class. A fighter weighing 184 pounds in the middleweight class
may not compete against an opponent who weighs more than 191 pounds in the light
heavyweight class.
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TABLE A

Weight class Weight Allowance | Glove size
Straw weight up to and including 115 Ibs | 3 Ibs 40z108 0z
Flyweight over 115 to 125 Ibs 3 lbs 40zto 8oz
Bantamweight over 125 to 135 Ibs 3 1bs 4 0zto8oz
Featherweight over 135 to 145 Ibs 5 Ibs 40zto 8oz
Lightweight over 145 to 155 Ibs 5 Ibs 40z1t0 80z
Welterweight over 155 to 170 Ibs 5 Ibs 4 0zto 8oz
Middleweight over 170 to 185 Ibs 7 lbs 4 0zto 8oz
Light Heavyweight | over 185 to 205 Ibs 7 lbs 4 0zto 8oz
Heavyweight over 205 to 265 Ibs 7 lbs 4 0z to 8 0z
Super Heavyweight | over 265 Ibs 40zto8oz

(10) Amateur contestants shall not weigh in earlier than 11:00 a.m. on the day of
the event in which they are scheduled to compete. Weight allowances shall not be granted for
amateurs. An amateur shall compete within their weight class.

(11) A contestant inthe welterweight class and lower shall not lose more than 2
pounds within 2 hours. A contestant above the welterweight class shall not lose more than 3
pounds within 2 hours.

(12) Weight allowances between weight classes do not apply to professional
mixed martial arts contestants in a title fight or amateur contest. They shall compete within their
weight class.

(13) The final agreement between a contestant and a promoter shall be provided
to the department no later than 4 business days before the official weigh-in.

(14) Contestants that fail to arrive at their report time for weigh-in will be subject
to disciplinary action of a suspension of up to 60 days and an assessment of costs and forfeitures
by the department.

(15) Contestants that fail to make their contracted weight within 2 hours of their
official weigh-in will be subject to disciplinary action of a suspension of up to 60 days, an
assessment of costs and forfeitures by the department, and any monetary penalties to the
opposing contestant that have been negotiated in contract.

RL 195.03 Judging and scoring. (1) All bouts will be scored by 3 judges.
(2) The ten-point must scoring system will be the standard system of scoring a
bout. The winner of the round will be awarded 10 points and the loser of the round will be

awarded 9 points or less, except for the rare occasion of an even round, which is scored 10 to 10.

(3) Judges shall judge mixed martial art techniques, including effective striking,
effective grappling, and control of the opponent, effective aggressiveness and defense.
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(4) Effective striking is judged by determining the total number of legal heavy
strikes landed.

(5) Effective grappling is judged by considering the amount of successful
executions of a legal takedown and reversal. Factors to consider are takedowns from the
standing position to a mount position, passing the guard to the mount position, and bottom
position fighters using an active threatening guard.

(6) Effective control is judged by determining who is dictating the pace, location
and position of the bout. Factors to be considered are:

(a) Countering a grappler’s attempt at a takedown by remaining standing
and legally striking.

(b) Taking down an opponent to force a ground fight.
(c) Creating threatening submission attempts.
(d) Passing the guard to achieve a mount.
(e) Creating striking opportunities.
(7) Effective aggressiveness means moving forward and landing legal strikes.

(8) Effective defense means avoiding being struck, take down or reversals while
countering with offensive strikes.

RL 195.04 Fouls. (1) The referee shall issue a warning. After the initial warning a
penalty will be issued. The penalty may be a deduction of points or disqualification depending
on the severity of the foul. Any points deducted for any foul shall be deducted in the round in
which the foul occurred.

(2) The referee, as soon as practical after the foul, shall call time and notify
which contestant is being penalized and the total points the contestant is being penalized.

(3) If abottom contestant commits a foul and in the referee’s judgment is not in
control, unless the top contestant is injured, the bout shall continue so as not to jeopardize the top
contestant’s superior positioning at the time.

(4) The referee shall verbally notify the bottom contestant of the foul.

(5) When the round is over, the referee shall notify the judges and the inspector
of the foul and the total point deduction.
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(6) Only the referee can assess a foul and any point deductions. Judges may not
deduct points for what they interpret is a foul.

(7) The referee shall check the fouled contestant’s condition to see if they can
still participate in the contest.

(8) Disqualification occurs when after any combination of 3 fouls or if the referee
determines the foul to be flagrant.

(9) If aninjury results that is severe enough to terminate the bout, the contestant
causing the injury loses by disqualification.

(10) If anintentional foul causes an injury and the bout is allowedto continue, a
mandatory 2 point penalty shall be assessed to the contestant committing the foul.

(11) If aninjury sustained by a contestant as a result of an intentional foul causes
the contestant to be unable to continue at a subsequent point, the injured contestant shall win by a
technical decision, if they are ahead on the score cards. If the injured contestant is even or
behind on the score card at the time of the stoppage, the bout shall be declared a technical draw.

(12) If about is stopped because of an unintentional foul, the referee shall
determine whether the contestant who has been fouled can continue or not. If the contestant’s
chance of winning has not been seriously jeopardized as a result of the foul, and if the foul did
not involve concussive impact to the head of the contestant who has been fouled, the referee may
order the bout continued after a recuperative interval of not more than 5 minutes. Immediately
after stopping the bout or at the end of the round, the referee shall immediately inform the
inspector or commissioner representative of their determination that the foul was accidental and
unintentional.

(13) If the referee determines either from their observation or that of the ringside
physician that the bout may not continue because of the injury from the unintentional foul, the
bout shall be declared a no contest if the foul occurred during the first 2 rounds of a non-
championship bout, or during the first 3 rounds of a championship bout.

(14) If an unintentional foul renders the contestant unable to continue the bout, or
an injury from an intentional foul later becomes aggravated by fair blows and the referee stops
the bout because of the injury, after the completion of the second round in a non-championship
bout or 3 round bout, or after the completion of the third round of a championship bout or 5
round bout, the outcome shall be determined by scoring the completed rounds and the partial
round at which the referee stopped the bout.

(15) A contestant may not be declaredthe winner of a bout on the basis of their
claim that the opponent fouled them unintentionally by hitting them inthe groin. If after a
recuperative interval of not more than 5 minutes a contestant is unwilling to continue because of
the claim of being hit in the groin, the bout will be declared a no contest if the second round has
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not been completed ina 3 round bout or the third round has not been completed ina 5 round
bout.

(16) Types of fouls ina mixed martial arts contest include:
(a) Butting with the head.
(b) Eye gouging of any kind.
(c) Biting.
(d) Hair pulling.
(e) Fishhooking.
(f) Groin attacks of any kind.

(g) Putting a finger into any orifice or into any cut or lacerationon an
opponent.

(h) Small joint manipulation.
(i) Striking to the spine or back of head.

(J) Striking downward using the point of the elbow. Arcing elbow strikes
are permitted.

(K) Throat strikes of any kind, including grabbing the trachea.

(L) Clawing, twisting or pinching the flesh.

(m) Grabbing the clavicle.

(n) Kicking the head of a grounded opponent.

(0) Kneeing the head of a grounded opponent.

(p) Stomping on a grounded opponent. A contestant is considered
grounded when their torso or 3 points of their body are touching the floor. A downed opponent
may kick up to all legal striking points of the body.

(q) Kicking to the kidney with the heel.

(r) Throwing an opponent out of the cage or fenced area.

(s) Holding the shorts or glove of an opponent.
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(t) Spitting on an opponent.

(u) Engaging in any unsportsmanlike conduct that causes an injury to an
opponent.

(v) Holding the ropes or cage.

(w) Using abusive language or illicit gestures in the cage or fenced area.
(x) Attacking an opponent on or during the break.

(y) Attacking an opponent who is under the care of the referee.

(2) Attacking an opponent after the bell has sounded to end the round.
(aa) Flagrantly disregarding the instructions of the referee.

(bb) Timidity, including avoiding contact with an opponent, intentionally
or consistently dropping the mouthpiece or faking an injury.

(cc) Interference from anyone working the corner or corner men leaving
their area.

(dd) Any act in the judgment of the referee that is detrimental and places
an opponent at a disadvantage.

(17) Illegal strikes to the back of the head, resulting in a foul, include strikes in
the nape of the neck area up until the top of the ears and strikes in the Mohawk area from the top
of the ears to the crown of the head, or the area where the head begins to curve in accordance
with the Association of Boxing Commission’s uniform rules of mixed martial arts.

(18) The following actions are additional fouls for amateur mixed martial arts
contestants:

(a) No elbow or forearm strikes to the head or body at any time.
(b) No knee strikes to the head at any time.

(c) Neck cranks or any hold that places a contestant’s neck in jeopardy
from a crank is illegal.

(d) No heel hooks.

(e) No toe holds.
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() Throws against a joint including all strikes to or around the knee joint.
RL 195.05 Mouthpiece. All contestants are required to wear a mouthpiece during
competition. The round may not begin without the mouthpiece. If the mouthpiece is dislodged
during competition, the referee will call time and have the mouthpiece replaced at the first
opportune moment, without interfering with the immediate action. The referee may deduct
points if itis judged the mouthpiece is being purposely spit out.

RL 195.06 Appearance and attire. (1) Male contestants shall wear a groin protector
which will protect them against injury from a foul blow.

(2) Female contestants may wear groin and breast protectors.

(3) Each contestant shall wear mixed martial arts shorts, biking shorts, or
kickboxing shorts. Shorts shall be approved by the inspector or department representative.

(4) No Gi are permitted. Shirts are permitted for female contestants.

(5) No shoes are permitted.

(6) No grappling shin guards are permitted.

(7) No body grease, gels, balms, oils or lotions shall be applied to the hair, face
or body. This includes the use of excessive amounts of water dumped on a contestant to make
him or her slippery.

(8) Vaseline may be applied to the facial area at cage side in the presence of an
inspector, referee, or a person designated by the department. Any contestant applying anything
other than Vaseline in an approved fashion prior to this could be penalized a point or
disqualified.

(9) Taping of hands, wrists, and ankles is permitted.

(10) Neoprene joint supports only. Metal supports are prohibited.

(11) Finger and toe nails shall be trimmed.

(12) The inspector or department representative shall determine whether head or
facial hair presents any hazard to the safety of the contestant or their opponent or will interfere

with the supervision and conduct of the event. Facial hair may not be braided.

(13) Contestants shall not wear any equipment that does not pass the inspector or
department representative’s approval.

(14) Amateur mixed martial arts contestants shall wear mixed martial arts shorts,
biker shorts, boxing or kicking shorts during competition that will be subject to the approval of a
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department representative. The shorts may not have pockets, buttons, zippers, grommets,
exposed Velcro, or metal of any kind.

(15) Amateur male contestants may not wear a shirt or Gi during competition
other than a close fitting rash guard. Any rash guard shall be approved by the department.
Amateur female contestants shall wear a body shirt.

(16) Amateur mixed martial arts contestants may not wear shoes or padding on
their feet during a contest. Ankle guards or knee wraps are optional, and they shall be approved
by the department.

RL 195.07 Gloves. (1) All mixed martial arts contestants shall wear grappling gloves
that weigh not less than 4 ounces and not more than 8 ounces. Amateur mixed martial arts
contestants shall wear gloves that weigh a minimum of 6 ounces and a maximum of 8 ounces.

(2) Gloves shall be new and supplied by the promoter. Contestants are not
permitted to supply their own gloves.

(3) Both contestants shall wear the same size gloves.

(4) Each contestant’s gloves shall be inspected and approved by the inspector,
referee, or department representative prior to starting the bout.

RL 195.08 Hand wraps. (1) All mixed martial arts contestants shall be required to
gauze and tape their hands prior to all contests.

(2) In all weight classes, the bandages on each contestant’s hands shall be
restricted to soft gauze cloth not more than 15 yards in length and 2 inches in width, held in place
by not more than 10 feet of surgeon’s tape, one inch in width for each hand.

(3) Surgeon’s adhesive tape shall be placed directly on each hand for protection
near the wrist. The tape may cross the back of the hand twice and may not extend to cover and
protect the knuckles when the hand is clenched to make a fist.

(4) The bandages shall be evenly distributed across the hand.

(5) Bandages and tape shall be placed on the contestant’s hands in the dressing
room in the presence of the inspector or department representative.

(6) The manager or chief second of the opponent may elect to be present when
hands are being wrapped.

(7) Under no circumstances are gloves to be placed on the hands of a contestant
until approved by the inspector or department representative.

(8) Substances other than tape and gauze, such as pre-wraps, are prohibited.
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RL 195.09 Requirements for caged or fencedarea. (1) All mixed martial arts contests
shall take place in a cage or fenced area that has been approved by the department and subject to
inspection prior to each event by the referee, inspector, or department representative.

(2) Mixed martial arts contests shall not be conducted ina ring in the state of
Wisconsin.

(3) The fighting area floor shall be no smaller than 18 feet by 18 feet and no
larger than 32 feet by 32 feet.

(4) The fighting area floor shall be padded in a manner as approved by the
department, with at least one inch layer of foam padding. Padding shall extend beyond the
fighting area and over the edge of the platform.

(5) The fighting area floor shall not be more than 4 feet above the floor of the
building and shall have 2 sets of suitable steps or ramp for use by the contestants.

(6) Posts shall be made of metal not more than 6 inches in diameter, extending
from the floor of the building to a minimum height of 58 inches above the fighting area floor and
shall be properly padded in a manner approved by the department.

(7) The fighting area shall be enclosed by a fence made of material that will not
allow a contestant to fall out or break through it onto the building floor or spectators, including
but not limited to a vinyl coated chain link fencing.

(8) All metal parts shall be covered and padded ina manner approved by the
department and shall not be abrasive to the contestants.

(9) The fighting area shall provide 2 separate entries onto the fighting area floor.

RL 195.10 Number and duration of rounds. (1) Professional bouts shall be 3 rounds
of 5 minutes each with a one minute rest period that includes a 10 second warning signal.

(2) Championship bouts shall be 5 rounds of 5 minutes each with a one minute
rest period that includes a 10 second warning signal.

(3) Amateur bouts shall be 3 rounds of 3 minutes each with a 60 second rest
period that includes a 10 second warning signal.

(4) A minimum number of 24 rounds and 8 bouts shall be scheduled. The
commissioner or department representative may grant a waiver of rounds.

RL 195.11 Medical requirements, physicals and examinations. (1) All mixed martial
arts contestants shall have had a complete physical examination conducted by a physician
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licensed in accordance with ch. 448, Stats., as required in s. RL 193.05 (2) (b), and shall produce
the results of the physical examination and laboratory results affirming:

(a) Negative HIV.

(b) Negative hepatitis B surface antigen. If a contestant had a failing
hepatitis B surface antigen test, the contestant shall pass a hepatitis B “PCR” quantitative test.
The quantitative limit shall be within permissible limits according to the laboratory where the
test was administered. The commissioner, department representative, or ringside physician may
request that a contestant take an additional hepatitis B surface antigen test and provide the results
within 2 weeks of an event in which a contestant is scheduled to compete.

(c) Negative hepatitis C antibody. If a contestant had a failing hepatitis C
antibody test, the contestant shall pass a hepatitis C “PCR” quantitative test. The quantitative
limit shall be within permissible limits according to the laboratory where the test was
administered. The commissioner, department representative, or ringside physician may request
that a contestant take an additional hepatitis C antibody test and provide the results within 2
weeks of an event in which a contestant is scheduled to compete.

(d) Eye examination by a licensed physician.

(2) The commissioner, department representative, or ringside physician may
order a CAT scan (CT) with contrast or MRI examination when a contestant:

(a) Has lost 3 bouts in a row by knock-out or technical knock-out.
(b) Has lost 6 bouts ina row.
(c) Has an extensive losing record.

(3) All contestants shall be examined at a pre-bout physical examination by the
ringside physician within 30 hours before each bout, and if requested by a contestant, referee, or
inspector, after a bout. After each pre-bout and post-bout examination of a contestant, the
ringside physician shall complete a report, on forms provided by the department, and submit the
completed reports to the inspector.

NOTE: Forms are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing, Division
of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708, or from the department’s website at: http://drl.wi.gov.

(4) The ringside physician shall review all documents provided by contestants
regarding medical examinations and laboratory results and examine each contestant as
appropriate in his or her judgment including heart rate, blood pressure, temperature, vision and
lungs. The ringside physician shall certify as fit those contestants whose physical condition
appears satisfactory for completion and shall disqualify others. The results of the examination
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shall be recorded on a form provided by the department and submitted by the ringside physician
to the inspector.

NOTE: Forms are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing, Division
of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708, or from the department’s website at: http://drl.wi.gov.

(5) A contestant who has been knocked out or injured in a bout which was
terminated by a referee shall undergo a thorough physical examination by a physician licensed in
accordance with ch. 448, Stats., and be certified fit to participate in a competitive mixed martial
arts contest. If a contestant has been knocked out or injured by a head blow, a medical
suspension is required under s. RL 196.92.

(6) Female contestants shall submit to a pregnancy test conducted under the
supervision of the inspector or ringside physician at their pre-bout physical examination,
pursuant to s. 444.095 (3) (b) 3., Stats.

RL 195.12 Types of bout results. A mixed martial arts contest may end under the
following results:

(1) Submission:

(a) Tap out iswhen a contestant physically uses their hands to indicate
that they no longer wish to continue.

(b) Verbal tap out is when a contestant verbally announces to the referee
that they do not wish to continue.

(2) Knock-out (“KO”) is a failure to rise from the floor.
(3) Technical knock-out (“TKO”) is any of the following:

a. The referee stops the bout because the contestant can no longer defend
themselves.

b. The ringside physician advises the referee to stop the bout.

c. Aninjury as a result of a legal maneuver is severe enough to terminate
the bout.

(4) Decision via scorecards:
a. Unanimous is when all 3 judges score the bout for the same contestant.

b. Split decisionis when 2 judges score the bout for one contestant and
one judge scores for the opponent.
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c. Majority decisionis when 2 judges score the bout for the same
contestant and one judge scores the bout a draw.

(5) Draws:
a. Unanimous iswhen all 3 judges score the bout a draw.
b. Majority is when 2 judges score the bout a draw.
c. Splitiswhen all 3 judges score a bout differently.

(6) Disqualification iswhen an injury sustained during competition as a result of
an intentional foul is severe enough to terminate the contest.

(7) Forfeit is when a contestant fails to begin competition or prematurely ends the
contest for reasons other than injury or indicating a tap out.

(8) Technical draw is when:

a. Aninjury sustained during competition as a result of an intentional foul
causes the injured contestant unable to continue and the injured contestant is even or behind on
the scorecards at the time of stoppage, or

b. The sufficient number of rounds have been completed with the results
of the scorecards being a draw.

(9) Technical decision iswhen a bout is prematurely stopped due to an injury and
a contestant is leading on the scorecards.

(10) No contest is when a contestant is prematurely stopped due to accidental
injury and a sufficient number of rounds have not been completed to render a decision via the
scorecards, or when a contestant tests positive for prohibited drug use and is disciplined under s.
RL 196.03.

RL 195.13 Rule meetings. All mixed martial arts contestants shall attend pre-bout
meetings with the referee to review rules, fouls, and regulations of the department pertaining to
mixed martial arts.

RL 195.14 Consumables. (1) Only water or an approved electrolyte-replacement drink
may be consumed during the bout. Electrolyte-replacement drinks include Gatorade, PowerAde,
Propel, and Smart Water. All consumables are subject to approval by the inspector or
representative of the department.

(2) Drinks shall be brought to cage side unopened, sealed, and only in a plastic
container. Unsealed drinks are not acceptable.
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(3) The inspector or department representative shall approve and sign off on any
drink.

(4) No stimulant drinks or drinks with caffeine, such as Red Bull and Rock Star,
are allowed.

(5) The department reserves the right to inspect, test, or remove any drink from
cage side. The department may test any contestant that an inspector or department representative
believesis in violation of this section.

(6) Any drink that is tested and found to have been adulterated in any manner
will result in the contestant being subject to disqualification and disciplinary action.

CHAPTER RL 196
DISCIPLINE
RL 196.01 Grounds for discipline. (1) The department may reprimand, deny, limit,
suspend, or revoke the credential of any promoter or professional club member, official, or

representative who:

(a) Violates any state statute or rule related to the sport of mixed martial
arts.

(b) Conducts an event or engages in conduct at an event in a manner that
would pose unreasonable risk of harm to spectators or participants.

(c) Interferes with an inspector, judge, referee, or ringside physician while
performing their official duties at an event.

(d) Misrepresents material facts related to an event including the identity
or record of a contestant.

(e) Associates or consorts with bookmakers or gamblers as defined in ch.
945, Stats., or has engaged in similar pursuits.

(f) Has been found guilty of any fraud or misrepresentation related to the
sport of mixed martial arts, or any crime as defined in chs. 939 to 948, Stats.

(g) Has violated any law related to fraud or misrepresentation related to
the sport of mixed martial arts, or any crime as defined by chs. 939 to 948, Stats.

(h) Does not meet the financial obligations required by these rules.
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(2) No person whose license has been suspended or revoked shall participate in
any mixed martial arts event including entering the dressing rooms or entering the contest area at
any event.

(3) The department may reprimand, deny, limit, suspend, or revoke the credential
of any mixed martial arts contestant if a contestant or an applicant:

(a) Violates any state statute or rule related to the sport of mixed martial
arts.

(b) Failsto comply with a directive of or interferes with an inspector,
referee, or ringside physician while performing their official duties at an event.

(c) Engages in conduct which would cause spectators, officials or
participants at an event an unreasonable risk of harm, including throwing a mouthpiece into the
audience during or after an event.

(d) Makes a materially false statement in an application or provides any
materially false information to the department, its representatives, or officials.

(e) Holds, or has held, a license to engage in the sport of mixed martial
arts in another jurisdiction which has been revoked, suspended or limited for reasons which are
substantially the same as the grounds for revocation, limitation, or suspension stated in this
section.

(f) Subject to chs. 939 to 948, Stats., has been convicted of a crime or
subject to an adverse action. The licensee shall send to the department within 30 days of the
judgment of conviction a copy of the complaint or other information which describes the nature
of the conviction. The applicant shall disclose the nature of any conviction or pending criminal
allegation while their application is under review.

(9) Is not capable of competing in a bout due to the use of alcohol or
drugs. The department may require a mixed martial arts contestant to submit to a drug test
pursuant to s. RL 196.03 and s. 444.095 (3) (c), Stats.

(h) The commissioner, inspector, or department representative may seek
an order to hold a contestant’s purse for failing a drug test that tests positive for alcohol, drugs,
controlled substances, anabolic steroids, or illegal enhancement substances in violation of these
rules and s. 444.095 (3) (c), Stats.

(i) Is not physically fit to engage in professional mixed martial arts
competition, or fails to perform to the best of their ability based on information contained ina
physical examination report or other reliable information.

() Participates in any mixed martial arts event not sanctioned and
approved by the department.
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(k) If licensed as a professional mixed arts contestant, in any jurisdiction,
competes in a mixed martial arts event as an amateur.

(L) Failsto appear or compete in a contest in which they signed a bout
agreement to appear. The contestant may provide a certificate from a physician, subject to the
approval of the commissioner, inspector, or department representative, verifying a physical
disability. The contestant who files a certificate from a physician stating they are unable to
fulfill a bout agreement because of physical disability, shall be given a medical suspension for a
term deemed appropriate by the department. The contestant shall submit a medical clearance
from a physician, subject to the approval of the commissioner, inspector or department
representative before having their medical suspension cleared and their license reinstated.

(m) Fails to appear for their report time for their official weigh-in or fails
to make their contracted weight within 2 hours of their official weigh-in time, and as a result
their scheduled bout is cancelled in accordance with s. RL 193.16.

(n) Verbally harassing or physically abusing any department
representative or official before, during or after an event regulated by the department.

(4) The department may deny the application, or reprimand, limit, suspend or
revoke the credential of any contestant, manager, second, corner, or trainer for acts enumerated
in sub. (3) (a) to (m).

RL 196.02 Medical suspensions and mandatory rest periods. (1) A 60 day
suspension for a knock-out.

(2) A 30 day suspension for a technical knock-out:

(a) Referee stoppage from submission or choke hold prior to verbal
commitment or tap out.

(b) Referee stoppage for strikes prior to verbal commitment or tap out.

(3) The ringside physician, after conducting the post-bout examination, shall
determine the time period for a medical suspension.

(4) A medical suspension shall not be cleared by the department until a contestant
complies with all post-bout examination medical requirements issued by the ringside physician.

(5) Without a release from the commissioner, inspector or department
representative, a professional mixed martial arts contestant may not compete until 7 days have
elapsed from their last bout. The 7 day period begins the day following the event in which they
competed.
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(6) Without a release from the commissioner, inspector or department
representative, an amateur mixed martial arts contestant may not compete until 45 days have
elapsed from their last bout. The 45 day period begins the day following the event in which they
competed.

(7) If acontestant is reported on “Mixed Martial Arts LLC,” “Fight fax,” or
“FCFighter’s” suspension lists, another jurisdiction, or any other suspension list recognized by
the department, the contestant will not be able to compete without a release from the
commissioner, inspector or department representative.

RL 196.03 Mandatory drug testing. (1) All mixed martial arts contestants are
prohibited from the personal use of drugs, including all anabolic steroids or controlled
substances, pursuant to s. 444.095 (3) (c), Stats., while participating in a bout, except when
prescribed, dispensed or administered by a licensed physician or dentist for a legitimate medical
condition.

(2) It shall be the contestant’s responsibility to provide written notice or a
prescriptionto the department before participating in any event. The written notice or
prescriptionshall contain the name of the substance, the quantity and dosage or the substance
prescribed, and the name, address and telephone number of the physician or dentist prescribing
the substance.

(3) All mixed martial arts contestants are prohibited from being under the
influence of alcohol while participating in a bout.

(4) The commissioner, inspector, department representative, or ringside physician
may require any mixed martial arts contestant to submit to a drug test including the testing of
urine, hair, or blood specimens.

(5) The inspector, department representative, or ringside physician may require a
contestant to submit to testing for the presence of alcohol, drugs, controlled substances, or
steroids at any time after the official weigh-in, on the day of the bout in which the contestant is
participating, or within 24 hours of competing in a bout based on reasonable cause or random
selection.

(6) Grounds for reasonable cause include:
(a) The commissioner, inspector, department representative, or ringside
physician observations of the contestant or based on information that a contestant is under the

influence of alcohol, drugs, controlled substances or steroids.

(b) The contestant has previously tested positive for drugs, controlled
substances or steroids.

(7) The random selection of contestants competing in a bout shall be conducted
by the inspector or department representative. The random selection may be witnessed by the
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contestant or their representative. The inspector or department representative shall determine the
number of random samples for each event. Both contestants competing in a selected bout shall
submit to a drug test.

(8) The collection of specimens from contestants for drug testing shall be taken in
the presence of the inspector, department representative, or ringside physician in a manner
prescribed by the official. Specimens may include urine, hair samples, or blood. Specimens
shall be tested at a facility acceptable to the department. Results of all drug tests shall be
submitted directly to the department.

(9) If laboratory testing of a contestant’s specimen test positive for any alcohol,
drug, controlled substance, anabolic steroids or illegal enhancement substances, the contestant
shall be disciplined. A contestant who is disciplinedand who was the winner of a contest shall
be disqualified and the decisionshall be changed to no contest. The results of a contest shall
remain unchanged if a contestant who is disciplined was the loser of the contest.

(10) If the laboratory test results prove to be negative or inconclusive, no action
shall be taken and all results of the contestant’s bout shall stand.

(11) Contestants who are prohibited, restrained, disqualified, or are otherwise
ineligible to compete in another state or jurisdiction due to a disciplinary action that involves the
use of drugs shall not compete in any department authorized event until such time as the period
of prohibition, restraint, disqualification, or ineligibility is completed or removed and subject to
the approval of the commissioner, inspector or department representative.

(12) Subject to the discretion of the commissioner, inspector or department
representative, a contestant with a previous disciplinary action in another state or jurisdiction
may be required to take a drug test before being allowed to compete in any department
authorized event.

(13) The promoter shall be responsible for the costs of testing contestants for
drugs. Any requests for follow-up or additional testing shall be the financial responsibility of the
contestant.

COPIES OF RULE

Copies of this proposed rule are available upon request to Shawn Leatherwood, Department of
Regulation and Licensing, Division of Board Services, 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box
8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or by email at shawn.leatherwood@wisconsin.gov.

Chs. RL 192-196 (Mixed Martial Arts) Hearing Notice Emergency Rule & Permanent Rule 8-12-10
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