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Clearinghouse Rule 10-102 

 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 

DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION AND LICENSING 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE 

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION AND 

DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION  : LICENSING ADOPTING RULES 

AND LICENSING    : (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 10-   ) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

PROPOSED ORDER 

 

An order of the Department of Regulation and Licensing to create chs. RL 192 to 196, 

relating to the regulation of mixed martial arts sporting events. 

 

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and Licensing. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

ANALYSIS 

 

Statutes interpreted: 

 

2009 Wisconsin Act 111. 

 

Statutory authority: 

 

Sections 227.11 (2), 440.03 (1), 440.03 (1m), 444.01, 444.02, 444.03, 444.035, 444.06, 

444.095, 444.11, 444.12, 444.13, 444.14, 444.15 and 444.18, Stats. 

 

Explanation of agency authority: 

 

The Department of Regulation and Licensing has the authority under 2009 Wisconsin Act 

111 to promulgate rules to implement the requirements under ch. 444, Stats., relating to 

the regulation of mixed martial arts sporting events. 

 

Related statute or rule: 

 

There are no other statutes or rules other than those listed above. 

 

Plain language analysis: 

 

This proposed rule-making order creates chs. RL 192 to 196 relating to the regulation of 

mixed martial arts sporting events.  The proposed rules contain definitions, application 

and permit requirements, officials’ duties at events, conducting sporting events, fouls, 
equipment, medical requirements, grounds for disciplinary action, and mandatory drug 

testing. 
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Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: None. 

 

 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

 

Illinois: 

 

Statutes and rules for conducting mixed martial arts sporting events are found in the 

Illinois Professional Boxing Act 225 ILCS 105 and the Illinois Administrative Code Title 

68 Chapter VII Subchapter b Part 1371. 

(see:http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=1322&ChapAct=225%26nbsp

%3BILCS%26nbsp%3B105%2F&ChapterID=24&ChapterName=PROFESSIONS+AN

D+OCCUPATIONS&ActName=Professional+Boxing+Act%2E )      

(see:http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/06801371sections.html ) 

 

Iowa: 

 

Iowa does not require licensure for conducting mixed martial arts sporting events.   

 

Michigan: 

 

Statutes and rules for conducting mixed martial arts sporting events are found in the 

Michigan Unarmed Combat Regulatory Act 2004 PA 403, MCL 338.3601 to MCL 

338.3633 and the Michigan Administrative Code R339.101 - R339.403.  

(see:http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(1zvgaeyksa1fhy45kmq4mour))/mileg.aspx?page=

ChapterIndex )  

(see:http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode=Single&Admin_Num=

33900101&Dpt=LG&RngHigh= ) 

 Licensure must be sought through the Department of Labor and Economic Growth, 

Bureau of Commercial Services.  The Unarmed Combat Commission assists the Director 

of the Department of Labor and Economic Growth in regulating the sport.   

 

Minnesota: 

 

Statutes and rules for conducting mixed martial arts sporting events are found in the 

Minnesota Statutes §341.21-§341.37 and the Minnesota Register at Minn. Reg. 

§.2202.0010-§2202.1200. (see: https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=341) (see: 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=2202) 

Licensure must be sought via the Combative Sports Commission, which regulates the 

manner in which mixed martial arts contests will be conducted. 

 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

 
A department-approved advisory panel met several times in 2010 to draft these proposed 

rules.  The advisory panel was comprised of Mixed Martial Arts combatants, judges, fight 

officials and promoters, and a physician familiar with the injuries incurred in mixed 

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=1322&ChapAct=225%26nbsp%3BILCS%26nbsp%3B105%2F&ChapterID=24&ChapterName=PROFESSIONS+AND+OCCUPATIONS&ActName=Professional+Boxing+Act%2E
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=1322&ChapAct=225%26nbsp%3BILCS%26nbsp%3B105%2F&ChapterID=24&ChapterName=PROFESSIONS+AND+OCCUPATIONS&ActName=Professional+Boxing+Act%2E
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=1322&ChapAct=225%26nbsp%3BILCS%26nbsp%3B105%2F&ChapterID=24&ChapterName=PROFESSIONS+AND+OCCUPATIONS&ActName=Professional+Boxing+Act%2E
http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/06801371sections.html
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(1zvgaeyksa1fhy45kmq4mour))/mileg.aspx?page=ChapterIndex
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(1zvgaeyksa1fhy45kmq4mour))/mileg.aspx?page=ChapterIndex
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode=Single&Admin_Num=33900101&Dpt=LG&RngHigh
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode=Single&Admin_Num=33900101&Dpt=LG&RngHigh
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=341
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=2202
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martial arts contests.  Several department staff persons, including the State Boxing 

Commissioner, provided support and expertise to the advisory panel.  In addition to the 

advisory panel’s discussions, which formed the basis for the public safety protections, the 

regulations of several other states were reviewed.  Provisions in force in some states were 

imported into the working draft, resulting in a set of standards that incorporates the most 

effective rules from other jurisdictions to rules that are unique to the regulation of mixed 

martial arts in Wisconsin. 

 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact report: 

 

There will be an effect on small businesses that promote mixed martial arts events in 

Wisconsin because previous to the legislation that was passed to regulate the sport, 

promoters did not need to meet certain requirements or pay certain fees that they will be 

required to pay now that the sport is regulated.  Some of those fees and/or financial 

obligations that were outlined in 2009 Wisconsin Act 111 include:  licensing fee, event 

fee, gate tax fee, bond requirements, and payment for inspectors, officials, etc.  Payment 

for inspectors and officials was something that promoters paid for prior to the legislation 

being passed; however, we may require them to have more officials than they previously 

had which could increase their cost.  The costs associated with regulating the sport are 

necessary to ensure the safety of the sport.  Our fees are also in line with other states that 

conduct mixed martial arts events. 

 

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an economic impact report 

before submitting the proposed rule-making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  

The Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an “agency” in this 

section. 

 

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector: 

 

The department finds that this rule will have an impact on the private sector as indicated 

above.  It is important to note that mixed martial arts events bring in significant revenue 

to cities that conduct these events.  The Ultimate Fighting Championship brand brings in 

millions of dollars in revenue when they come to a given state to conduct one of their 

events.  The revenue comes from the patronization of hotels, restaurants, retail and other 

businesses. 

 

Fiscal estimate: 

 

The department will have a one-time cost of $3,440 which will come from IT 

programming, form development and website updates.  The department will have total 

on-going costs of $245,440 (includes both mixed martial arts and boxing), which will 

consist of staff time for licensing activities and attending events. 
 

Effect on small business: 
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These proposed rules were reviewed by the department’s Small Business Review 

Advisory Committee to determine if the rules will have a significant economic impact on 

a substantial number of small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The rule 

may have some impact as described above in the “Analysis and supporting documents 

used to determine effect on small business” section.  The Department’s Regulatory 

Review Coordinator may be contacted by email at hector.colon@wisconsin.gov, or by 

calling 608-266-8608. 

 

Agency contact person: 

 

Shawn Leatherwood, Department of Regulation and Licensing, Division of Board 

Services, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, 

Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608-261-4438; email at shawn.leatherwood@wisconsin.gov. 

 

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

 

Comments may be submitted to Shawn Leatherwood, Department of Regulation and 

Licensing, Division of Board Services, 1400 E. Washington Ave., Room 152, P.O. Box 

8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708-8935, or by email shawn leatherwood@wisconsin.gov.  

Comments must be received on or before September 27, 2010, to be included in the 

record of rule-making proceedings. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

TEXT OF RULE 

 

 SECTION 1.  Chs. RL 192 to 196 are created to read: 

 

CHAPTER RL 192 

 

AUTHORITY AND DEFINITIONS 

MIXED MARTIAL ARTS SPORTING EVENTS 

 

 RL 192.01 Authority.  The rules in chs. RL 192 to 196 are adopted under the 

authority of ss. 227.11 (2), 444.01, 444.02, 444.03, 444.04, 444.06, 444.09, 444.095, 

444.10 to 444.15, 444.18 and 444.19, Stats. 

 

 RL 192.02 Definitions.  As used in chs. RL 192 to 196: 

 

  (1)  “Amateur” means an individual who participates in a mixed martial 

arts contest who does not receive or has competed for any purse, article, or thing that 

exceeds $50.00 in value for participating in a contest. 

 

  (2)  “Anabolic steroid” means any drug or hormonal substance as defined 

in s. 961.01 (2m) (a), Stats. 
 

mailto:hector.colon@wisconsin.gov
mailto:shawn.leatherwood@wisconsin.gov
mailto:shawn%20leatherwood@wisconsin.gov
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  (3)  “Cage” means a fenced enclosure in which some promotional 

organizations hold mixed martial arts matches that meet the Association of Boxing 

Commissions’ uniform rules of mixed martial arts. 

 

  (4)  “Choke” means a submission technique that restricts blood flow in the 

carotid arteries and results in a contestant either tapping-out or losing consciousness.  A 

“choke” includes the guillotine choke, rear-naked choke, leg triangle choke, and arm 

triangle choke. 

 

  (5)  “Commissioner” means a person as defined in by s. 15.06, Stats., 

which represents the department. 

 

  (6)  “Compression lock” means a submission technique that causes severe 

pain by pressing a muscle against a bone and results in a contestant either tapping-out or 

suffering an injury.  A “compression lock” includes the Achilles lock, bicep slicer, and 

calf slicer. 

 

  (7)  “Contest” means a group of bouts organized as a single event. 

 

  (8)  “Contestant” means a person licensed by the department who 

competes in a bout. 

 

  (9)  “Controlled substance” means a substance as defined in s. 961.01 (4), 

Stats. 

 

  (10)  “Corner” means a person licensed as a second who assists a 

contestant during a bout by taking position in their corner between rounds.  A “corner” is 

also known as a second. 

 

  (11)  “Department” means the department of regulation and licensing. 

 

  (12)  “Drug” means a controlled substance as defined in ch. 961, Stats. 

 

  (13)  “Grappling” means techniques of throwing, locking, holding, and 

wresting, as opposed to kicking and punching an opposing contestant. 

 

  (14)  “Guard” means a basic position in which one contestant lies on his or 

her back with his or her knees and legs open.  If the opposing contestant is between his or 

her legs, the opponent is in his or her “guard.”  Depending upon the leg position of the 

contestant on his or her back, the “guard” is referred to as being an open, closed, half, 

butterfly, spider, or rubber band “guard.” 

 

  (15)  “Joint lock” means a submission technique that hyper-extends or 
hyper-rotates a joint in the body and results in a contestant either tapping-out or suffering 

an injury.  A “joint lock” includes the can opener, arm bar, kimura, Omoplata, 

Americana, and ankle lock. 
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  (16)  “Mixed martial arts” means the convergence of techniques from a 

variety of combative sports disciplines including boxing, wrestling, judo, jujitsu and 

kickboxing.  “Mixed martial arts” techniques may be broken down into 2 categories:  

striking and grappling. 

 

  (17)  “Mount” means a basic position in which a contestant gains top 

position and controls his or her opponent by sitting on top of them in the full “mount” 

position, or from the side of the opponent in the side “mount.” 

 

  (18)  “Official” means a referee, judge, timekeeper, ringside physician, 

inspector or department representative involved in conducting a professional or amateur 

mixed martial arts event. 

 

  (19)  “Promoter” means any person, club, corporation, or association, and 

in the case of a corporate promoter includes any officer, director, employee, or 

stockholder, who conducts, produces, arranges, or stages any mixed martial arts contest. 

 

CHAPTER RL 193 

 

LICENSE APPLICATIONS AND PERMITS 

 

 RL 193.01 Bond required for promoter and club license .  Any promoter or 

club who wishes to conduct a professional or amateur mixed martial arts contest shall 

post a surety bond or letter of credit from a bank of not less than $25,000, as required by 

s. 444.035, Stats., with their application for a promoter or club license.  The purpose of 

the $25,000 surety bond is to insure the payment of the participants involved in 

conducting a professional or amateur mixed martial arts contest.  The participants 

include, in order of priority, but are not limited to, the department, contestants and 

officials. 

 

 RL 193.02 Promoter’s license.  (1)  APPLICATION.  Any person, club, 

corporation or association who wishes to conduct a mixed martial arts event in this state 

shall, before conducting an event, submit an application for a promoter’s license on forms 

provided by the department, together with the $500 fee, as specified in s. 444.03, Stats.  

A surety bond or letter of credit from a bank of not less than $25,000 shall be submitted 

with the application. 

 

 NOTE:  Applications are available from the Department of Regulation and 

Licensing, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. 

Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:  

http://drl.wi.gov. 

 
  (2)  ELIGIBILITY. (a)  To be eligible for a promoter’s license an 

applicant shall: 

 

http://drl.wi.gov/
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    1.  Comply with the requirements in s. 444.03, Stats. 

 

    2.  Comply with the requirements in s. 444.11, Stats.; 

submit a copy of their articles of incorporation and proof that the secretary of state has 

filed their articles pursuant to s. 180.0122, Stats.; identify all persons connected with or 

having a proprietary interest in the professional club, corporation or association and the 

percentage of proprietary interest. 

 

    3.  Possess appropriate knowledge of the proper conduct of 

competition involved in the sport of mixed martial arts. 

 

    4.  Post a $25,000 bond made payable to the department, a 

copy of the certificate verifying the approval and the filing of the bond with the 

department. 

 

   (b)  The department shall issue a promoter’s license if it finds that 

the applicant is not in default on any payments, obligations, or debts payable to the state 

of Wisconsin. 

 

   (c)  The department may deny a license to an applicant who has 

committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, subject the applicant to 

discipline under ch. RL 196. 

 

 RL 193.03 Manager’s license.  (1)  APPLICATION.  A person shall, before 

acting as a manager at any mixed martial arts event, submit an application on forms 

provided by the department, together with the $10 fee as specified in s. 444.11, Stats. 

 

 NOTE:  Applications are available from the Department of Regulation and 

Licensing, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. 

Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:  

http://drl.wi.gov. 

 

  (2)  ELIGIBILITY. (a)  To be eligible for a license as a manager an 

applicant shall be at least 21 years of age. 

 

   (b)  The department may deny a license to an applicant who has 

committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, subject the applicant to 

discipline under ch. RL 196. 

 

 RL 193.04 Matchmaker’s license.  (1)  APPLICATION.  A person shall, before 

acting as a matchmaker at any mixed martial arts event, submit an application on forms 

provided by the department together with the $10 fee as specified in s. 444.11, Stats. 

 
 NOTE:  Applications are available from the Department of Regulation and 

Licensing, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. 

http://drl.wi.gov/
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Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:  

http://drl.wi.gov. 

 

  (2)  ELIGIBIILITY. (a)  To be eligible for a license as a matchmaker an 

applicant shall be at least 21 years of age. 

 

   (b)  The department may deny a license to an applicant who has 

committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, subject the applicant to 

discipline under ch. RL 196. 

 

 RL 193.05 Contestant’s license.  (1)  APPLICATION.  A person shall, before 

acting as a professional or amateur mixed martial arts contestant at any event, submit an 

application on forms provided by the department together with the $40 fee as specified in 

s. 444.03, Stats. 

 

 NOTE:  Applications are available from the Department of Regulation and 

Licensing, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. 

Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:  

http://drl.wi.gov. 

 

  (2)  ELIGIBILITY. (a)  To be eligible for a license as a professional or 

amateur mixed martial arts contestant, an applicant shall: 

 

   (a)  Be at least 18 years of age. 

 

   (b)  Provide results of a physical examination by a physician and 

laboratory results conducted no more than 90 days before the date of the application in 

accordance with ch. 448, Stats., affirming: 

 

    1.  Negative HIV. 

 

    2.  Negative hepatitis B surface antigen.  If a contestant had 

a failing hepatitis B antigen test, the contestant shall pass a hepatitis B “PCR” 

quantitative test.  The quantitative limit shall be within permissible limits according to the 

laboratory where the test was administered.  The commissioner, department 

representative, or ringside physician may request that a contestant take an additional 

hepatitis B antigen test and provide the results within 2 weeks of a professional contest in 

which a contestant is scheduled to compete. 

 

    3.  Negative hepatitis C antibody.  If a contestant had a 

failing hepatitis C antibody test, the contestant shall pass a hepatitis C “PCR” quantitative 

test.  The quantitative limit shall be within permissible limits according to the laboratory 

where the test was administered.  The commissioner, department representative, or 
ringside physician may request that a contestant take an additional hepatitis C antibody 

test and provide the results within 2 weeks of a professional contest in which a contestant 

is scheduled to compete. 

http://drl.wi.gov/
http://drl.wi.gov/
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    4.  Eye examination by a licensed physician. 

 

    5.  The department shall not issue a license or grant a 

renewal of a license to an applicant if: 

 

     a.  The applicant is found to be blind in one eye or 

whose vision in one eye is so poor that an ophthalmologist, optometrist, or physician 

recommends that a license not be granted. 

 

     b.  The applicant has suffered any type of cerebral 

hemorrhage. 

 

    6.  An applicant 35 years of age and older is required to 

submit a cat scan (CT) with contrast or MRI examination in addition to all other required 

medical examinations. 

 

    7.  An applicant 39 years of age and older is required to 

submit in addition to all other required medical examinations: 

 

     a.  MRI/MRA brain examination. 

 

     b.  A stress echocardiogram examination with 

cardiology clearance. 

 

     c.  Metabolic blood profile. 

 

     d.  A chest x-ray that has been given within 2 years. 

 

   (c)  The department may deny a license to an applicant who has 

committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, subject the applicant to 

discipline under ch. RL 196. 

 

 RL 193.06 Judge’s license.  (1)  APPLICATION.  A person shall, before acting 

as a judge at any professional contest, submit an application on forms provided by the 

department with the $15 fee as specified in s. 444.11, Stats. 

 

 NOTE:  Applications are available from the Department of Regulation and 

Licensing, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. 

Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:  

http://drl.wi.gov. 

 

  (2)  ELIGIBILITY.  (a)  To be eligible for a license as a judge an applicant 
shall be at least 21 years of age. 

 

http://drl.wi.gov/
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   (b)  The department may deny a license to an applicant who has 

committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, subject the applicant to 

discipline under ch. RL 196. 

 

   (c)  The applicant shall obtain an annual examination with 

corrective lenses.  The results of the examination shall be on forms provided by the 

department. 

 

  (3)  QUALIFICATIONS.  In accordance with s. 444.095 (3), Stats., the 

department shall determine whether a person possesses the knowledge and experience 

necessary to hold a license as a judge by reviewing criteria from the following list: 

 

   (a)  Certificate of completion of a judge’s training program from 

another state, other regulating bodies such as the Association of Boxing Commission, and 

other organizations that have a judge’s training program certified by the Association of 

Boxing Commission. 

 

   (b)  A resume with 3 professional references that can verify the 

number of years of experience as an amateur or professional judge along with a log of 

experience. 

 

   (c)  A valid and current license as a judge from another state or 

organization that regulates the sport of mixed martial arts. 

 

   (d)  Obtain a passing grade on an examination administered by the 

department designed to test the examinee’s knowledge of mixed martial arts and 

successful completion of the trial judge program. 

 

   (e)  The trial judge program administered and supervised by the 

commissioner, inspector, or department representative shall consist of: 

 

    1.  Observing mixed martial arts events. 

 

    2.  Shadowing a licensed judge at mixed martial arts events. 

 

    3.  Officiating, on a trial basis, as a judge during a mixed 

martial arts event under the supervision of the commissioner, inspector, or department 

representative. 

 

 RL 193.07 Referee’s license.  (1)  APPLICATION.  A person shall, before acting 

as a referee at any professional event, submit an application on forms provided by the 

department together with the $15 fee as specified in s. 444.11, Stats. 

 
 NOTE:  Applications are available from the Department of Regulation and 

Licensing, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. 



  Page 11 

Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:  

http://drl.wi.gov. 

 

  (2)  ELIGIBILITY. (a)  To be eligible for a license as a referee an 

applicant shall be at least 21 years of age. 

 

   (b)  The department may deny a license to an applicant who has 

committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, subject the applicant to 

discipline under ch. RL 196. 

 

   (c)  An applicant shall provide the results of a physical 

examination conducted by a licensed physician.  The results of the examination shall be 

on forms provided by the department. 

 

 NOTE:  Forms  are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing, 

Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, 

Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:  http://drl.wi.gov. 

 

  (3)  QUALIFICATIONS.  In accordance with s. 444.095 (3), Stats., the 

department shall determine whether a person possesses the knowledge and experience 

necessary to hold a license as a referee by reviewing criteria from the following list:  

 

   (a)  Certificate of completion of a referee training program from 

another state, other regulating bodies such as the Association of Boxing Commission, and 

other organizations that have a referee training program certified by the Association of 

Boxing Commission. 

 

   (b)  A resume with 3 professional references that can verify the 

number of years of experience as an amateur or professional referee along with a log of 

experience. 

 

   (c)  A valid and current license as a referee from another state or 

another organization that regulates the sport of mixed martial arts. 

 

   (d)  Obtain a passing grade on an examination administered by the 

department designed to test the examinee’s knowledge of mixed martial arts and 

successful completion of the trial referee program. 

 

   (e)  The trial referee program administered and supervised by the 

commissioner, inspector, or department representative shall consist of: 

 

    1.  Observing mixed martial arts events. 

 
    2.  Shadowing a licensed referee at mixed martial arts 

events. 

 

http://drl.wi.gov/
http://drl.wi.gov/
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    3.  Officiating, on a trial basis, as a referee during a mixed 

martial arts event under the supervision of the commissioner, inspector, or department 

representative. 

 

 RL 193.08 Ringside physician’s license .  (1)  APPLICATION.  A person shall, 

before acting as a ringside physician at any mixed martial arts event, submit an 

application on forms provided by the department together with the $10 fee as specified in 

s. 444.11, Stats. 

 

 NOTE:  Applications are available from the Department of Regulation and 

Licensing, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. 

Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:  

http://drl.wi.gov. 

 

  (2)  ELIGIBILILITY.  (a)  To be eligible for a license as a ringside 

physician an applicant shall hold a credential to practice medicine in Wisconsin in 

accordance with ch. 448, Stats. 

 

   (b)  The department may deny a license to an applicant who has 

committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, subject the applicant to 

discipline under ch. RL 196. 

 

 RL 193.09 Second’s license.  (1)  APPLICATION.  A person shall, before acting 

as a second at any mixed martial arts event, submit an application on forms provided by 

the department together with the $40 fee as specified in s. 444.11, Stats. 

 

 NOTE:  Applications are available from the Department of Regulation and 

Licensing, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. 

Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:  

http://drl.wi.gov. 

 

  (2)  ELIGIBILITY. (a)  To be eligible for a license as a second an 

applicant shall be at least 21 years of age. 

 

   (b)  The department may deny a license to an applicant who has 

committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, subject the applicant to 

discipline under ch. RL 196. 

 

 RL 193.10 Trainer’s license.  (1)  APPLICATION.  A person shall, before 

acting as a trainer at any mixed martial arts events, submit an application on forms 

provided by the department together with the $10 fee in accordance with s. 444.11, Stats. 

 

 NOTE:  Applications are available from the Department of Regulation and 
Licensing, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. 

Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:  

http://drl.wi.gov. 

http://drl.wi.gov/
http://drl.wi.gov/
http://drl.wi.gov/
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  (2)  ELIGIBILITY.  (a)  To be eligible for a license as a trainer an 

applicant shall be at least 21 years of age. 

 

   (b)  The department may deny a license to an applicant who has 

committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, subject the applicant to 

discipline under ch. RL 196. 

 

 RL 193.11 Timekeeper’s license.  (1)  APPLICATION.  A person shall, before 

acting as a timekeeper at any mixed martial arts event, submit an application on forms 

provided by the department together with the $10 fee as specified in s. 444.11, Stats. 

 

 NOTE:  Applications are available from the Department of Regulation and 

Licensing, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. 

Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:  

http://drl.wi.gov. 

 

  (2)  ELIGIBILITY.  (a)  To be eligible for a license as a timekeeper an 

applicant shall be at least 21 years of age. 

 

   (b)  The department may deny a license to an applicant who has 

committed any which would, if committed by a licensee, subject the applicant to 

discipline under ch. RL 196. 

 

 RL 193.12 Term of license.  A license as a promoter, manager, matchmaker, 

contestant, judge, referee, ringside physician, second, trainer or timekeeper shall be valid 

for one year, unless suspended or revoked for cause, and expire 12 months after its date 

of issuance. 

 

 RL 193.13 Renewal of license.  A promoter, manager, matchmaker, contestant, 

judge, referee, ringside physician, second, trainer or timekeeper who chooses to continue 

licensure after the date of expiration of a license shall file an application for renewal.  

The criteria and conditions for an original license apply equally to applications for 

renewal. 

 

 RL 193.14 Permits. (1)  A licensed promoter or club who wishes to conduct a 

professional or amateur mixed martial arts event shall, before conducting an event, obtain 

a permit from the department.  An application for a permit to conduct an event shall be 

submitted to the department at least 30 calendar days before the proposed date of the 

event and no more an 60 calendar days before an event by a promoter or an authorized 

representative of a licensed professional club, corporation or association on forms 

provided by the department and shall include all of the following: 

 
 NOTE:  Applications for permits are available from the Department of Regulation 

and Licensing, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. 

http://drl.wi.gov/
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Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:  

http://drl.wi.gov. 

 

   (a)  The name, address, phone number and license number of the 

promoter or professional club, corporation or association. 

 

   (b)  The name and license number of the matchmaker, the 

promoter, or professional club, corporation or association’s plans to use for the event.  If 

the matchmaker is not licensed in Wisconsin, the event permit application shall include 

the proposed matchmaker’s application for licensure along with all required documents. 

 

   (c)  The proposed date, starting time, and location of the event as 

well as all of the following information regarding the venue. 

 

    1.  Name and address.. 

 

    2.  Seating capacity. 

 

    3.  A floor plan which indicates the dressing room locations 

and fire exits. 

 

    4.  Name and telephone number of the primary contact 

person of the proposed venue. 

 

    5.  Evidence satisfactory to the department that the 

promoter or professional club has entered into a valid agreement with the owner or 

manager of the venue where the proposed mixed martial arts event will be conducted. 

 

   (d)  Information regarding whether the proposed event will be all 

professional, all amateur, or combined professional and amateur, the number of rounds 

for each scheduled bout, and the proposed number of professional bouts and amateur 

bouts. 

 

   (e)  A minimum number of 24 rounds and 8 bouts shall be 

scheduled.  The commissioner, inspector, or department representative may grant a 

waiver of rounds. 

 

   (f)  All combined professional and amateur events shall start with 

the amateur bouts.  The intermixing of professional and amateur bouts is prohibited. 

 

   (g)  Conducting mixed martial arts events in combination with 

other forms of single combat sports such as kickboxing or jujitsu is prohibited, pursuant 

to s. 444.01 (1r), Stats. 
 

   (h)  The preliminary fight card for the event which shall include 

the following: 

http://drl.wi.gov/
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    1.  The name and weight class of each of the proposed 

mixed martial arts contestants in each bout. 

 

    2.  The contestant’s Wisconsin license number. 

 

    3.  The contestant’s Association of Boxing Commission’s 

mixed martial arts national identification number. 

 

    4.  The contestant’s contest history. 

 

    5.  The names and Wisconsin license numbers of the 

contestant’s seconds and manager. 

 

    6.  Proposed purse. 

 

   (i)  A detailed plan to provide medical personnel and equipment 

for the event and for evacuating a seriously injured contestant to a hospital, including the 

name of the promoter or professional club’s representative responsible for evacuating an 

injured contestant, a detailed evacuation route, method of removal from the contest area, 

the means of transportation to the hospital, and the name of the nearest hospital, pursuant 

to s. 444.095 (2) (c) and (d), Stats. 

 

   (j)  A detailed plan to furnish adequate police or private security 

forces for the protection of the spectators. 

 

   (k)  The date, time and location of the official weigh-in and 

physical examination. 

 

   (L)  Proof of having obtained the insurance required by s. 444.18, 

Stats. 

 

   (m)  Proof of having obtained the bond required in s. 444.035, 

Stats., and s. RL 193.01. 

 

   (n)  The admission fee of all tickets and the proposed number of 

tickets, including complimentary tickets. 

 

  (2)  Upon receipt of an application for a permit to conduct a professional 

mixed martial arts event, the department may deny the application if: 

 

   (a)  The applicant does not provide all the required information. 

 
   (b)  The department does not have the appropriate number of 

judges, referee, inspector, or ringside physicians available on that date. 
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   (c)  One or more mixed martial arts contestant listed on the fight 

card is not licensed or is ineligible to compete due to being under a suspension or 

revocation order issued by the department or another licensing jurisdiction for one of the 

following reasons: 

 

    1.  A recent knock-out or series of consecutive losses. 

 

    2.  An injury, a requirement for a medical procedure, or a 

physician’s denial of certification. 

 

    3.  Testing positive for a prohibited drug. 

 

    4.  The use of false aliases, falsifying, or attempting to 

falsify official identification cards or documents issued pursuant to ch. 444, Stats. 

 

    5.  Unprofessional conduct or other inappropriate behavior 

inconsistent with generally accepted methods of competition at mixed martial arts events. 

 

    6.  The department may grant a permit for the event, but 

withhold approval of one or more mixed martial arts contestants scheduled to compete in 

an event. 

 

  (3)  The department may require an applicant to provide, prior to an event, 

a bond or letter of credit from a bank in an amount equal to 5% of the estimated gross 

receipts from the event pursuant to s. 444.035, Stats. 

 

  (4)  A permit issued under this section shall allow the permit holder to 

conduct only the event named in the permit.  A permit is not transferable.  The promoter 

or representative of the professional club, corporation or association whose name appears 

on the permit shall be present at the weigh-in and at the event until the conclusion of the 

final bout unless executed by the department. 

 

  (5)  The department shall establish all rules and requirements for 

conducting mixed martial arts events, pursuant to s. 444.02 (1), Stats. 

 

  (6)  The commissioner or department representative shall determine if the 

contestants are evenly and fairly matched according to skill level, experience, and weight 

so as to produce a fair and sportsmanlike contest. 

 

 RL 193.15 Permits, issuance and effect.  (1)  All promoters and professional 

clubs who have obtained an event permit from the department shall submit no later than 4 

business days before the scheduled event, the following: 

 
   (a)  All complete and signed bout agreements. 
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   (b)  The complete and executed contract or rental agreement 

between the promoter or professional club and the venue. 

 

   (c)  Complete license applications for all contestants, managers, 

judges, referees, timekeepers and seconds. 

 

   (d)  All required physical examination forms and laboratory reports 

from contestants as stated in s. RL 193.05 (2) (b). 

 

   (e)  The final fight card for the event listing the name, license 

number, contest history, weight class, scheduled rounds and opponent of each contestant, 

and red/blue corner designations. 

 

  (2)  If the department denies an application for a permit or refuses to 

approve a contestant whose name has been submitted to the department by the applicant, 

it shall provide the applicant with an opportunity to appeal the decision to the 

commissioner or department representative.  If the department does not approve a 

contestant to fight in an event, the department shall provide the applicant with an 

opportunity to appeal the decision to the commissioner or department representative.  In 

either case, the department is not required to hold the hearing before the date of 

submission. 

 

  (3)  Issuance of a permit by the department authorizes a promoter or 

professional club to conduct a mixed martial arts event under the control of the 

commissioner, inspectors, department representatives, referees and ringside physicians 

assigned and listed in the permit. 

 

  (4)  A promoter may substitute a mixed martial arts contestant listed on 

their permit application after requesting a substitute.  The request shall be submitted to 

the department no later than one business day preceding the date of the event.  Exceptions 

may be allowed and shall be determined by the department. 

 

 RL 193.16 Canceling an event.  (1)  At any time during an event, the assigned 

inspector may cancel all or part of an event if: 

 

   (a)  The commissioner or department representative reasonably 

believes that the event is not being conducted according to chs. RL 192 to 196 and ch. 

444, Stats, or the conditions stated in the permit which authorizes the event; or 

 

   (b)  The commissioner or department representative reasonably 

believes that the event poses an unreasonable threat to the health or safety of contestants, 

spectators, or officials. 

 
  (2)  The department may cancel an event at any time for violation of chs. 

RL 192 to 196. 
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  (3)  A promoter or professional club may cancel an event by notifying the 

department and those members of the media whom the promoter or professional club 

initially notified about the event no later than 30 hours before it was scheduled to begin.  

Any cancellation by a promoter shall result in an assessment of costs by the department 

pursuant to s. 444.035, Stats. 

 

CHAPTER RL 194 

 

OFFICIALS FOR MIXED MARTIAL ARTS SPORTING EVENTS 

 

 RL 194.01 Promoter duties.   All promoters that have been issued a permit to 

conduct a mixed martial arts event by the department shall comply with the following:  

 

  (1)  Post a bond in the amount of $25,000 to ensure payment of the 

expenses incurred in conducting an event including, in order of priority, the department, 

contestants and the officials pursuant to s. 444.035, Stats. 

 

  (2)  Have a current license as a mixed martial arts promoter. 

 

  (3)  Submit to the department the bout agreement executed between a 

promoter and a contestant on a form provided by the department that includes the name 

and address of the contestant.  A bout agreement which provides that a contestant shall 

fight exclusively for one promoter or at the option of the promoter is prohibited for 

amateur contestants. 

 

 NOTE:  Forms are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing, 

Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, 

Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:  http://drl.wi.gov. 

 

  (4)  Have submitted an application for an event that complies with s. RL 

193.14 and ss. 444.02 (3), 444.035, 444.095 (2) (c) and (d), and 444.18, Stats. 

 

  (5)  Submit all contestants’ names to Mixed Martial Arts LLC and the 

commissioner or department representative for approval. 

 

  (6)  Have a separate divider between the cage or fenced area and 

spectators.  The divider shall be approved by the inspector or department representative.  

If the divider is not a solid barrier, then a uniformed officer. 

 

  (7)  Issue tickets that comply with all ticket and tax rules as defined in s. 

444.02 (3) (b) and (c), Stats., and have all of the following: 

 

   (a)  Price and date of the event. 
 

   (b)  Seat, row, and section number, if applicable. 

 

http://drl.wi.gov/
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   (c)  The word “complimentary” in a prominent manner for all 

tickets. 

 

   (d)  Provide a certified invoice from the ticket printer which 

indicates the total number of tickets printed in each price range, including the number of 

complimentary tickets. 

 

  (8)  Have obtained medical and life insurance for each contestant 

competing in the event pursuant to s. 444.18, Stats. 

 

  (9)  The amount of medical insurance shall not be less than $25,000 and 

shall be paid to or for the use of a contestant that sustains an injury during a contest. 

 

  (10)  The amount of life insurance shall not be less than $25,000 per 

contestant and shall be paid to the contestant’s estate if he or she dies as a result of 

participating in the event. 

 

  (11)  Contestants may not waive the insurance coverage and are not 

responsible for any deductible payments. 

 

  (12)  A promoter shall submit to the department verification that medical 

and life insurance have been obtained for each contestant no later than 4 days prior to the 

event. 

 

  (13)  A promoter shall provide documentation verifying that all amateur 

contestants scheduled on their fight card have obtained medical and life insurance and 

have provided the documentation to the department before an amateur contestant shall be 

allowed to compete in any contest pursuant to s. 444.095 (1), Stats. 

 

  (14)  Shall not begin conducting an event without the presence of one 

licensed referee, at least 3 licensed judges, at least 2 licensed physicians, an ambulance, 

emergency medical personnel, and security personnel present on site pursuant to s. 

444.095 (2), Stats. 

 

  (15)  Shall supply the contestant’s gloves.  The gloves shall be new and 

approved by the inspector, department representative or referee. 

 

  (16)  Have disposable garbage bags in each dressing room and at ringside. 

 

  (17)  Provide cleaning solution to be used for cleaning blood and debris in 

the cage or fenced area.  A solution of 10% bleach and 90% water is an acceptable 

solution. 

 
  (18)  Shall provide police or private security forces for the protection of 

the public, with at least one commissioned police officer on site during the event. 
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  (19)  Begin all events at the time designated on the event permit issued by 

the department.  Failure to begin an event at the designated time will result in disciplinary 

action by the department. 

 

  (20)  No promoter or contestant may exhibit any type of entrance theme 

that includes music, video, or any type of physical display that contains any profanity or 

derogatory ethic remarks.  Failure to comply will subject the promoter or contestant to 

disciplinary action by the department. 

 

  (21)  No promoter shall allow a round card girl, round card model, or any 

of the promoter’s agents to use any language, including profanity or derogatory ethnic 

remarks, or any conduct or performance that the average person, applying contemporary 

community standards, would find appeals to the prurient interest; describes or shows 

sexual conduct in a patently offensive way; or lacks serious literary, artistic, political, 

educational or scientific value, in accordance with s. 944.21 (2) (d), Stats.  Any promoter 

violating this subsection will be subject to disciplinary action up to and including being 

suspended for up to 6 months and be subject to criminal prosecution in accordance with s. 

944.21 (3) (b) and (5), Stats. 

 

  (22)  Submit a written report, verified by the promoter, to the department 

within 2 business days of conducting an event.  Failure to timely file a complete and 

accurate report shall result in disciplinary action by the department pursuant to s. 444.04, 

Stats., and may cause the department to examine the books and records of the promoter 

as described in s. 444.15., Stats.  The report shall include the following: 

 

   (a)  Number of tickets sold. 

 

   (b)  Total amount of gross proceeds. 

 

   (c)  All unsold tickets with the stubs attached. 

 

  (23)  Shall provide emergency medical personnel and equipment for the 

event and for evacuating a seriously injured contestant to a hospital, including the name 

of the promoter or designated representative responsible for evacuating an injured 

contestant, the method of removal from the contest area, the means of transportation to 

the hospital, and the name of the nearest hospital, pursuant to s. RL 193.14 (1) (i) and s. 

444.095 (2) (c) and (d), Stats. 

 

  (24)  Shall pay for pregnancy testing and drug testing of contestants. 

 

  (25)  Shall compensate all officials and contestants. 

 

  (26)  The commissioner, inspector, or department representative may 
request a promoter place at least 2 video screens which meet the approval of the 

commissioner, inspector or department representative which will allow patrons to view 

action inside the cage or fenced area. 



  Page 21 

 

  (27)  Shall pay the gross receipt taxes as defined in s. 444.02 (3), Stats.  

The tax is due and payable to the state within 2 business days of the event and shall be 

paid with a separate check upon determination by the inspector of the gross admission 

receipts. 

 

  (28)  Comply with all rules and regulations relating to promoting events. 

 

 RL 194.02 Inspectors’ duties at events.  (1)  Inspectors assigned to an event by 

the department represent the department and are delegated the department’s authority to 

conduct the event from the time of the weigh-in and pre-bout physical examination until 

24 hours after the completion of the last bout in the scheduled event or the final 

determination of all bouts pursuant to s. 444.06, Stats. 

 

  (2)  Additional inspectors may be assigned or designated by the 

department at any one venue for any one event and shall be compensated by the promoter 

in accordance with s. 444.06, Stats., including their actual and necessary travel expense. 

 

  (3)  The inspector shall obtain from the promoter a box office statement, a 

ticket manifest, or a certified invoice from the ticket printer and submit it to the 

commissioner.  The inspector shall have access to all books, records, and papers 

regarding the event. 

 

 RL 194.03 Judges’ duties at events.  (1)  A judge has the following duties and 

responsibilities once assigned to an event: 

 

   (a)  Shall render an independent decision at the end of each round 

of each bout. 

 

   (b)  Shall give their scorecard to the referee at the end of each 

round and at the end of the final round of an amateur mixed martial arts event, who shall 

transfer them to the inspector assigned to the event. 

 

   (c)  Shall use the 10-point must scoring system to determine the 

result of a bout and their decision shall be final. 

 

  (2)  The department shall assign the judges for an event.  The department 

may not assign a person to act as a judge if it has reasonable proof that the person is:  

 

   (a)  Not competent to act as a judge. 

 

   (b)  Has a conflict of interest. 

 
   (c)  Has been subject to a disciplinary action by the department or 

another jurisdiction that prohibits the person from acting as a judge. 
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  (3)  All judges are independent contractors and shall be assigned at the 

discretion of the commissioner, inspector or department representative. 

 

 RL 194.04 Referees’ duties at events.  (1)  A referee has the following duties 

and responsibilities once assigned to an event: 

 

   (a)  Represent the department for the purpose of regulating mixed 

martial arts contestants and others in the contest area, pursuant to chs. RL 192 to 196, the 

Association of Boxing Commissions’ uniform rules of mixed martial arts, and ch. 444, 

Stats. 

 

   (b)  Maintain, direct and control the bout at all stages. 

 

   (c)  Before the bout, obtain the name of the chief second 

responsible for the conduct of any assistant second. 

 

   (d)  Prevent a weakened or outclassed mixed martial arts contestant 

from receiving excessive punishment. 

 

   (e)  Interpret the rules relevant to a bout, make a determination, 

and take action upon any circumstance of a bout not covered by a rule. 

 

   (f)  Caution, warn or disqualify a mixed martial arts contestant for 

committing a foul. 

 

   (g)  Act as the sole arbiter of the bout.  The referee is the only 

official authorized to stop a bout pursuant to s. 444.12, Stats. 

 

   (h)  Conduct rule meetings with each contestant. 

 

   (i)  Consult with the ringside physician as needed during an event. 

 

   (j)  Issue cautions and deduct points for committed fouls. 

 

   (k)  Inspect the contest area before the beginning of any event. 

 

  (2)  Attire for all mixed martial arts referees shall be dark trousers or 

coaching pants with a black pull over shirt with a collar.  The referee’s shoes shall be 

black and athletic so that the referee is able to maintain good footing on the surface of the 

contest area.  Referees for title bouts may wear the assigned uniform of the championship 

body. 

 

 RL 194.05 Ringside physician’s duties at events.  A ringside physician has the 
following duties and responsibilities once assigned to an event: 

 

  (1)  Be prepared to administer medical procedures to contestants. 
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  (2)  Attend the official weigh-on. 

 

  (3)  Conduct the pre-bout physical examination, including examining each 

contestant no earlier than 30 hours and no later than 2 hours before the event and 

certifying on forms provided by the department as to the physical fitness of a contestant 

to compete in a contest. 

 

 NOTE:  Forms are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing, 

Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, 

Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:  http://drl.wi.gov. 

 

  (4)  Continuous observation at cage side of the physical condition of 

contestants during bouts including being prepared to administer emergent medical 

procedures to contestants that receive injuries during bouts. 

 

  (5)  Conduct post-bout physical examinations, including recommending 

medical suspensions when necessary. 

 

  (6)  Attending injured contestants between bouts. 

 

  (7)  Complete records and reports. 

 

 RL 194.06 Second’s duties at events.  (1)  Only 2 licensed seconds will be 

allowed to assist any one contestant or be positioned in a designated area by a cage or 

fenced area during a bout.  For championship bouts there may be 3 licensed seconds 

allowed to assist any one contestant subject to approval of the commissioner, inspector or 

department representative. 

 

  (2)  Only one second may enter the contest area to tend to a contestant 

between rounds.  In case of an open cut, the ringside physician may also enter the cage or 

fenced area.  No person other than the contestants and referee shall enter the cage or 

fenced area during a bout. 

 

  (3)  There shall be no profanity, insults or degrading language from 

anyone working the corner. 

 

  (4)  If a second leaves the designated area the contestant will be 

disqualified. 

 

  (5)  Any person violating any rule while working the corner will be 

disqualified for the remainder of the event and subject to disciplinary action. 

 
 RL 194.07 Timekeepers’ duties at events.  A timekeeper has the following 

duties and responsibilities once assigned to an event: 

 

http://drl.wi.gov/


  Page 24 

  (1)  Provide department approved sound devices. 

 

  (2)  Provide 2 stopwatches that have been examined and approved by the 

inspector or department representative. 

 

  (3)  Give a 10 second warning before the beginning of each round to 

signal all unauthorized persons to leave the contestant area before a bout begins. 

 

  (4)  Give a 10-second warning before the end of a round to indicate that 

the end of the round is approaching. 

 

  (5)  Provide notice that a round has concluded. 

 

  (6)  If a bout terminates before the scheduled limit of a round, inform the 

inspector or department representative of the exact duration of the bout. 

 

 RL 194.08 Officials’ pay schedule .  (1)  The commissioner or department 

representative shall appoint all licensed officials for all mixed martial arts events.  

Promoters shall compensate all officials appointed by the commissioner, inspector, or 

department representative in accordance with the following pay schedule:  

 

   (a)  A minimum of 3 judges at a minimum of $100 each. 

 

   (b)  A minimum of one referee at a minimum of $300 each. 

 

   (c)  Up to 2 inspectors at a minimum of $250 each.  Inspectors 

shall be reimbursed for their actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance 

of their duties pursuant to s. 444.06, Stats., including mileage fees and lodging at the state 

rate. 

 

   (d)  A minimum of 2 physicians who shall be assigned as: 

 

    1.  The primary physician at a minimum of $450 shall 

attend the official weigh-in, conduct the pre-bout physical examination, and be in 

attendance at cage side during each bout for the entire event, or 

 

    2.  The secondary physician at a minimum of $250 shall be 

in attendance during the entire event and conduct post-bout physical examinations. 

 

   (e)  A minimum of one timekeeper at a minimum of $75 each. 

 

  (2)  An individual who participates in an event as more than one type of 

official, alternating between individual professional bouts, shall be compensated at the 
rate of the highest level at which the individual who officiated the event, pursuant to s. 

444.06, Stats. 
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  (3)  The department reserves the right to require additional payments to 

assigned officials based on the following factors: 

 

   (a)  Number of professional bouts scheduled for the event. 

 

   (b)  Type of venue, including the venue’s seating capacity. 

 

   (c)  Live broadcast of the event. 

 

   (d)  Inclusion of a title bout at the event. 

 

  (4)  No later than 4 business days before the scheduled event, the 

department and the promoter or professional club shall have agreed to the amount of 

compensation for the officials assigned to the event.  Failure to reach an agreement on the 

amount of compensation for assigned officials by the deadline may result in the 

cancellation of the event. 

 

CHAPTER RL 195 

 

CONDUCTING MIXED MARTIAL ARTS SPORTING EVENTS 

 

 RL 195.01 General provisions.  (1)  Male and female contestants may not 

compete against each other in a bout. 

 

  (2)  Each contestant shall present a completed medical examination report 

form to the ringside physician at the pre-bout examination. 

 

  (3)  All professional and amateur events shall be conducted under the 

supervision of the department. 

 

  (4)  Only licensed participants shall be allowed in the contest area. 

 

  (5)  Amateur contestants may not currently or have ever been a 

professional fighter in any striking sport.  This includes mixed martial arts, boxing, karate 

or any other form of a striking sport.  Any contestant found in violation will be subject to 

disciplinary action. 

 

  (6)  Debut amateur contestants shall complete a department approved form 

detailing the contestant’s experiences and training in mixed martial arts competitions.  

The trainer of the debut contestants shall certify that the contestant is skilled enough to 

compete and has never engaged in any type of professional mixed martial arts event. 

 

 NOTE:  Forms are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing, 
Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, 

Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:  http://drl.wi.gov. 

 

http://drl.wi.gov/


  Page 26 

  (7)  Amateur mixed martial arts contestants shall be required to have a 

minimum of 5 recorded amateur bouts prior to being permitted to compete as a 

professional mixed martial arts contestant.  The commissioner or a person designated by 

the department may waive this requirement under certain circumstances. 

 

 RL 195.02 Weigh-in procedures and weight classes.  (1)  Mixed martial arts 

contestants shall weigh in no more than 30 hours prior to the event start time in which 

they will compete.  The weigh-in shall be conducted under the supervision of an 

inspector or department representative at a place designated by the promoter in an area 

with ample lighting to observe contestants and conduct the weigh-in. 

 

  (2)  All contestants shall weigh in.  Contestants may wear a shirt, a pair of 

shorts and socks at the weigh-in.  Additional apparel or jewelry is prohibited. 

 

  (3)  The scale shall be provided by the promoter and approved by the 

inspector or department representative. 

 

  (4)  The weight allowance is the difference in weight permitted between 

contestants in 2 different weight classes. 

 

  (5)  Contestants shall not be allowed to participate in a bout where the 

weigh-in weight difference of opposing contestants exceeds the weight allowance shown 

in Table A. 

 

  (6)  The commissioner shall have the sole discretion as to whether to 

cancel an event if a contestant does not make weight. 

 

  (7)  There may not be a difference of more than 3 pounds between weight 

classes from straw weight up to and including the bantamweight class. 

 

  (8)  There may not be a difference of more than 5 pounds between weight 

classes from featherweight up to and including the welterweight class. 

 

  (9)  There may not be a difference of more than 7 pounds between weight 

classes from middleweight up to and including the heavyweight class. 

 

 NOTE:  Examples of the difference between weight classes:  A fighter weighing 

134 pounds in the bantamweight class may not compete against an opponent who weighs 

more than 137 pounds in the featherweight class.  A fighter weighing 184 pounds in the 

middleweight class may not compete against an opponent who weighs more than 191 

pounds in the light heavyweight class. 

 

TABLE A 
 

Weight class  Weight Allowance Glove size 

Straw weight up to and including 115 lbs 3 lbs 4 oz to 8 oz    
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Flyweight over 115 to 125 lbs 3 lbs 4 oz to 8 oz    

Bantamweight over 125 to 135 lbs 3 lbs 4 oz to 8 oz    

Featherweight over 135 to 145 lbs 5 lbs 4 oz to 8 oz    

Lightweight over 145 to 155 lbs 5 lbs 4 oz to 8 oz    

Welterweight over 155 to 170 lbs 5 lbs 4 oz to 8 oz    

Middleweight over 170 to 185 lbs 7 lbs 4 oz to 8 oz    

Light Heavyweight over 185 to 205 lbs 7 lbs 4 oz to 8 oz    

Heavyweight over 205 to 265 lbs 7 lbs 4 oz to 8 oz     

Super Heavyweight over 265 lbs  4 oz to 8 oz    

 

  (10)  Amateur contestants shall not weigh in earlier than 11:00 a.m. on the 

day of the event in which they are scheduled to compete.  Weight allowances shall not be 

granted for amateurs.  An amateur shall compete within their weight class. 

 

  (11)  A contestant in the welterweight class and lower shall not lose more 

than 2 pounds within 2 hours.  A contestant above the welterweight class shall not lose 

more than 3 pounds within 2 hours. 

 

  (12)  Weight allowances between weight classes do not apply to 

professional mixed martial arts contestants in a title fight or amateur contest.  They shall 

compete within their weight class. 

 

  (13)  The final agreement between a contestant and a promoter shall be 

provided to the department no later than 4 business days before the official weigh-in. 

 

  (14)  Contestants that fail to arrive at their report time for weigh-in will be 

subject to disciplinary action of a suspension of up to 60 days and an assessment of costs 

and forfeitures by the department. 

 

  (15)  Contestants that fail to make their contracted weight within 2 hours 

of their official weigh-in will be subject to disciplinary action of a suspension of up to 60 

days, an assessment of costs and forfeitures by the department, and any monetary 

penalties to the opposing contestant that have been negotiated in contract. 

 

 RL 195.03 Judging and scoring.  (1)  All bouts will be scored by 3 judges. 

 

  (2)  The ten-point must scoring system will be the standard system of 

scoring a bout.  The winner of the round will be awarded 10 points and the loser of the 

round will be awarded 9 points or less, except for the rare occasion of an even round, 

which is scored 10 to 10. 

 

  (3)  Judges shall judge mixed martial art techniques, including effective 

striking, effective grappling, and control of the opponent, effective aggressiveness and 

defense. 
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  (4)  Effective striking is judged by determining the total number of legal 

heavy strikes landed. 

 

  (5)  Effective grappling is judged by considering the amount of successful 

executions of a legal takedown and reversal.  Factors to consider are takedowns from the 

standing position to a mount position, passing the guard to the mount position, and 

bottom position fighters using an active threatening guard. 

 

  (6)  Effective control is judged by determining who is dictating the pace, 

location and position of the bout.  Factors to be considered are: 

 

   (a)  Countering a grappler’s attempt at a takedown by remaining 

standing and legally striking. 

 

   (b)  Taking down an opponent to force a ground fight. 

 

   (c)  Creating threatening submission attempts. 

 

   (d)  Passing the guard to achieve a mount. 

 

   (e)  Creating striking opportunities. 

 

  (7)  Effective aggressiveness means moving forward and landing legal 

strikes. 

 

  (8)  Effective defense means avoiding being struck, take down or reversals 

while countering with offensive strikes. 

 

 RL 195.04 Fouls.  (1)  The referee shall issue a warning.  After the initial 

warning a penalty will be issued.  The penalty may be a deduction of points or 

disqualification depending on the severity of the foul.  Any points deducted for any foul 

shall be deducted in the round in which the foul occurred. 

 

  (2)  The referee, as soon as practical after the foul, shall call time and 

notify which contestant is being penalized and the total points the contestant is being 

penalized. 

 

  (3)  If a bottom contestant commits a foul and in the referee’s judgment is 

not in control, unless the top contestant is injured, the bout shall continue so as not to 

jeopardize the top contestant’s superior positioning at the time. 

 

  (4)  The referee shall verbally notify the bottom contestant of the foul. 

 
  (5)  When the round is over, the referee shall notify the judges and the 

inspector of the foul and the total point deduction. 
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  (6)  Only the referee can assess a foul and any point deductions.  Judges 

may not deduct points for what they interpret is a foul. 

 

  (7)  The referee shall check the fouled contestant’s condition to see if they 

can still participate in the contest. 

 

  (8)  Disqualification occurs when after any combination of 3 fouls or if the 

referee determines the foul to be flagrant. 

 

  (9)  If an injury results that is severe enough to terminate the bout, the 

contestant causing the injury loses by disqualification. 

 

  (10)  If an intentional foul causes an injury and the bout is allowed to 

continue, a mandatory 2 point penalty shall be assessed to the contestant committing the 

foul. 

 

  (11)  If an injury sustained by a contestant as a result of an intentional foul 

causes the contestant to be unable to continue at a subsequent point, the injured 

contestant shall win by a technical decision, if they are ahead on the score cards.  If the 

injured contestant is even or behind on the score card at the time of the stoppage, the bout 

shall be declared a technical draw. 

 

  (12)  If a bout is stopped because of an unintentional foul, the referee shall 

determine whether the contestant who has been fouled can continue or not.  If the 

contestant’s chance of winning has not been seriously jeopardized as a result of the foul, 

and if the foul did not involve concussive impact to the head of the contestant who has 

been fouled, the referee may order the bout continued after a recuperative interval of not 

more than 5 minutes.  Immediately after stopping the bout or at the end of the round, the 

referee shall immediately inform the inspector or commissioner representative of their 

determination that the foul was accidental and unintentional. 

 

  (13)  If the referee determines either from their observation or that of the 

ringside physician that the bout may not continue because of the injury from the 

unintentional foul, the bout shall be declared a no contest if the foul occurred during the 

first 2 rounds of a non-championship bout, or during the first 3 rounds of a championship 

bout. 

 

  (14)  If an unintentional foul renders the contestant unable to continue the 

bout, or an injury from an intentional foul later becomes aggravated by fair blows and the 

referee stops the bout because of the injury, after the completion of the second round in a 

non-championship bout or 3 round bout, or after the completion of the third round of a 

championship bout or 5 round bout, the outcome shall be determined by scoring the 

completed rounds and the partial round at which the referee stopped the bout. 
 

  (15)  A contestant may not be declared the winner of a bout on the basis of 

their claim that the opponent fouled them unintentionally by hitting them in the groin.  If 
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after a recuperative interval of not more than 5 minutes a contestant is unwilling to 

continue because of the claim of being hit in the groin, the bout will be declared a no 

contest if the second round has not been completed in a 3 round bout or the third round 

has not been completed in a 5 round bout. 

 

  (16)  Types of fouls in a mixed martial arts contest include: 

 

   (a)  Butting with the head. 

 

   (b)  Eye gouging of any kind. 

 

   (c)  Biting. 

 

   (d)  Hair pulling. 

 

   (e)  Fishhooking. 

 

   (f)  Groin attacks of any kind. 

 

   (g)  Putting a finger into any orifice or into any cut or laceration on 

an opponent. 

 

   (h)  Small joint manipulation. 

 

   (i)  Striking to the spine or back of head. 

 

   (j)  Striking downward using the point of the elbow.  Arcing elbow 

strikes are permitted. 

 

   (k)  Throat strikes of any kind, including grabbing the trachea. 

 

   (L)  Clawing, twisting or pinching the flesh. 

 

   (m)  Grabbing the clavicle. 

 

   (n)  Kicking the head of a grounded opponent. 

 

   (o)  Kneeing the head of a grounded opponent. 

 

   (p)  Stomping on a grounded opponent.  A contestant is considered 

grounded when their torso or 3 points of their body are touching the floor.  A downed 

opponent may kick up to all legal striking points of the body. 

 
   (q)  Kicking to the kidney with the heel. 

 

   (r)  Throwing an opponent out of the cage or fenced area. 
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   (s)  Holding the shorts or glove of an opponent. 

 

   (t)  Spitting on an opponent. 

 

   (u)  Engaging in any unsportsmanlike conduct that causes an injury 

to an opponent. 

 

   (v)  Holding the ropes or cage. 

 

   (w)  Using abusive language or illicit gestures in the cage or fenced 

area. 

 

   (x)  Attacking an opponent on or during the break. 

 

   (y)  Attacking an opponent who is under the care of the referee. 

 

   (z)  Attacking an opponent after the bell has sounded to end the 

round. 

 

   (aa)  Flagrantly disregarding the instructions of the referee. 

 

   (bb)  Timidity, including avoiding contact with an opponent, 

intentionally or consistently dropping the mouthpiece or faking an injury. 

 

   (cc)  Interference from anyone working the corner or corner men 

leaving their area. 

 

   (dd)  Any act in the judgment of the referee that is detrimental and 

places an opponent at a disadvantage. 

 

  (17)  Illegal strikes to the back of the head, resulting in a foul, include 

strikes in the nape of the neck area up until the top of the ears and strikes in the Mohawk 

area from the top of the ears to the crown of the head, or the area where the head begins 

to curve in accordance with the Association of Boxing Commission’s uniform rules of 

mixed martial arts. 

 

  (18)  The following actions are additional fouls for amateur mixed martial 

arts contestants: 

 

   (a)  No elbow or forearm strikes to the head or body at any time. 

 

   (b)  No knee strikes to the head at any time. 
 

   (c)  Neck cranks or any hold that places a contestant’s neck in 

jeopardy from a crank is illegal. 
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   (d)  No heel hooks. 

 

   (e)  No toe holds. 

 

   (f)  Throws against a joint including all strikes to or around the 

knee joint. 

 

 RL 195.05 Mouthpiece.  All contestants are required to wear a mouthpiece 

during competition.  The round may not begin without the mouthpiece.  If the mouthpiece 

is dislodged during competition, the referee will call time and have the mouthpiece 

replaced at the first opportune moment, without interfering with the immediate action.  

The referee may deduct points if it is judged the mouthpiece is being purposely spit out. 

 

 RL 195.06 Appearance and attire.  (1)  Male contestants shall wear a groin 

protector which will protect them against injury from a foul blow. 

 

  (2)  Female contestants may wear groin and breast protectors. 

 

  (3)  Each contestant shall wear mixed martial arts shorts, biking shorts, or 

kickboxing shorts.  Shorts shall be approved by the inspector or department 

representative. 

 

  (4)  No Gi are permitted.  Shirts are permitted for female contestants. 

 

  (5)  No shoes are permitted. 

 

  (6)  No grappling shin guards are permitted. 

 

  (7)  No body grease, gels, balms, oils or lotions shall be applied to the 

hair, face or body.  This includes the use of excessive amounts of water dumped on a 

contestant to make him or her slippery. 

 

  (8)  Vaseline may be applied to the facial area at cage side in the presence 

of an inspector, referee, or a person designated by the department.  Any contestant 

applying anything other than Vaseline in an approved fashion prior to this could be 

penalized a point or disqualified. 

 

  (9)  Taping of hands, wrists, and ankles is permitted. 

 

  (10)  Neoprene joint supports only.  Metal supports are prohibited. 

 

  (11)  Finger and toe nails shall be trimmed. 
 

  (12)  The inspector or department representative shall determine whether 

head or facial hair presents any hazard to the safety of the contestant or their opponent or 
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will interfere with the supervision and conduct of the event.  Facial hair may not be 

braided. 

 

  (13)  Contestants shall not wear any equipment that does not pass the 

inspector or department representative’s approval. 

 

  (14)  Amateur mixed martial arts contestants shall wear mixed martial arts 

shorts, biker shorts, boxing or kicking shorts during competition that will be subject to 

the approval of a department representative.  The shorts may not have pockets, buttons, 

zippers, grommets, exposed Velcro, or metal of any kind. 

 

  (15)  Amateur male contestants may not wear a shirt or Gi during 

competition other than a close fitting rash guard.  Any rash guard shall be approved by 

the department.  Amateur female contestants shall wear a body shirt. 

 

  (16)  Amateur mixed martial arts contestants may not wear shoes or 

padding on their feet during a contest.  Ankle guards or knee wraps are optional, and they 

shall be approved by the department. 

 

 RL 195.07 Gloves.  (1)  All mixed martial arts contestants shall wear grappling 

gloves that weigh not less than 4 ounces and not more than 8 ounces.  Amateur mixed 

martial arts contestants shall wear gloves that weigh a minimum of 6 ounces and a 

maximum of 8 ounces. 

 

  (2)  Gloves shall be new and supplied by the promoter.  Contestants are 

not permitted to supply their own gloves. 

 

  (3)  Both contestants shall wear the same size gloves. 

 

  (4)  Each contestant’s gloves shall be inspected and approved by the 

inspector, referee, or department representative prior to starting the bout. 

 

 RL 195.08 Hand wraps.  (1)  All mixed martial arts contestants shall be required 

to gauze and tape their hands prior to all contests. 

 

  (2)  In all weight classes, the bandages on each contestant’s hands shall be 

restricted to soft gauze cloth not more than 15 yards in length and 2 inches in width, held 

in place by not more than 10 feet of surgeon’s tape, one inch in width for each hand. 

 

  (3)  Surgeon’s adhesive tape shall be placed directly on each hand for 

protection near the wrist.  The tape may cross the back of the hand twice and may not 

extend to cover and protect the knuckles when the hand is clenched to make a fist. 

 
  (4)  The bandages shall be evenly distributed across the hand. 
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  (5)  Bandages and tape shall be placed on the contestant’s hands in the 

dressing room in the presence of the inspector or department representative. 

 

  (6)  The manager or chief second of the opponent may elect to be present 

when hands are being wrapped. 

 

  (7)  Under no circumstances are gloves to be placed on the hands of a 

contestant until approved by the inspector or department representative. 

 

  (8)  Substances other than tape and gauze, such as pre-wraps, are 

prohibited. 

 

 RL 195.09 Requirements for caged or fenced area.  (1)  All mixed martial arts 

contests shall take place in a cage or fenced area that has been approved by the 

department and subject to inspection prior to each event by the referee, inspector, or 

department representative. 

 

  (2)  Mixed martial arts contests shall not be conducted in a ring in the state 

of Wisconsin. 

 

  (3)  The fighting area floor shall be no smaller than 18 feet by 18 feet and 

no larger than 32 feet by 32 feet. 

 

  (4)  The fighting area floor shall be padded in a manner as approved by the 

department, with at least one inch layer of foam padding.  Padding shall extend beyond 

the fighting area and over the edge of the platform. 

 

  (5)  The fighting area floor shall not be more than 4 feet above the floor of 

the building and shall have 2 sets of suitable steps or ramp for use by the contestants. 

 

  (6)  Posts shall be made of metal not more than 6 inches in diameter, 

extending from the floor of the building to a minimum height of 58 inches above the 

fighting area floor and shall be properly padded in a manner approved by the department. 

 

  (7)  The fighting area shall be enclosed by a fence made of material that 

will not allow a contestant to fall out or break through it onto the building floor or 

spectators, including but not limited to a vinyl coated chain link fencing. 

 

  (8)  All metal parts shall be covered and padded in a manner approved by 

the department and shall not be abrasive to the contestants. 

 

  (9)  The fighting area shall provide 2 separate entries onto the fighting 

area floor. 
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 RL 195.10 Number and duration of rounds.  (1)  Professional bouts shall be 3 

rounds of 5 minutes each with a one minute rest period that includes a 10 second warning 

signal. 

 

  (2)  Championship bouts shall be 5 rounds of 5 minutes each with a one 

minute rest period that includes a 10 second warning signal. 

 

  (3)  Amateur bouts shall be 3 rounds of 3 minutes each with a 60 second 

rest period that includes a 10 second warning signal. 

 

  (4)  A minimum number of 24 rounds and 8 bouts shall be scheduled.  The 

commissioner or department representative may grant a waiver of rounds. 

 

 RL 195.11 Medical requirements, physicals and examinations.  (1)  All mixed 

martial arts contestants shall have had a complete physical examination conducted by a 

physician licensed in accordance with ch. 448, Stats., as required in s. RL 193.05 (2) (b), 

and shall produce the results of the physical examination and laboratory results affirming:  

 

   (a)  Negative HIV. 

 

   (b)  Negative hepatitis B surface antigen.  If a contestant had a 

failing hepatitis B surface antigen test, the contestant shall pass a hepatitis B “PCR” 

quantitative test.  The quantitative limit shall be within permissible limits according to the 

laboratory where the test was administered.  The commissioner, department 

representative, or ringside physician may request that a contestant take an additional 

hepatitis B surface antigen test and provide the results within 2 weeks of an event in 

which a contestant is scheduled to compete. 

 

   (c)  Negative hepatitis C antibody.  If a contestant had a failing 

hepatitis C antibody test, the contestant shall pass a hepatitis C “PCR” quantitative test.  

The quantitative limit shall be within permissible limits according to the laboratory where 

the test was administered.  The commissioner, department representative, or ringside 

physician may request that a contestant take an additional hepatitis C antibody test and 

provide the results within 2 weeks of an event in which a contestant is scheduled to 

compete. 

 

   (d)  Eye examination by a licensed physician. 

 

  (2)  The commissioner, department representative, or ringside physician 

may order a CAT scan (CT) with contrast or MRI examination when a contestant: 

 

   (a)  Has lost 3 bouts in a row by knock-out or technical knock-out. 

 
   (b)  Has lost 6 bouts in a row. 

 

   (c)  Has an extensive losing record. 
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  (3)  All contestants shall be examined at a pre-bout physical examination 

by the ringside physician within 30 hours before each bout, and if requested by a 

contestant, referee, or inspector, after a bout.  After each pre-bout and post-bout 

examination of a contestant, the ringside physician shall complete a report, on forms 

provided by the department, and submit the completed reports to the inspector. 

 

 NOTE:  Forms are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing, 

Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, 

Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:  http://drl.wi.gov. 

 

  (4)  The ringside physician shall review all documents provided by 

contestants regarding medical examinations and laboratory results and examine each 

contestant as appropriate in his or her judgment including heart rate, blood pressure, 

temperature, vision and lungs.  The ringside physician shall certify as fit those contestants 

whose physical condition appears satisfactory for completion and shall disqualify others.  

The results of the examination shall be recorded on a form provided by the department 

and submitted by the ringside physician to the inspector. 

 

 NOTE:  Forms are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing, 

Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, 

Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:  http://drl.wi.gov. 

 

  (5)  A contestant who has been knocked out or injured in a bout which was 

terminated by a referee shall undergo a thorough physical examination by a physician 

licensed in accordance with ch. 448, Stats., and be certified fit to participate in a 

competitive mixed martial arts contest.  If a contestant has been knocked out or injured 

by a head blow, a medical suspension is required under s. RL 196.92. 

 

  (6)  Female contestants shall submit to a pregnancy test conducted under 

the supervision of the inspector or ringside physician at their pre-bout physical 

examination, pursuant to s. 444.095 (3) (b) 3., Stats. 

 

 RL 195.12 Types of bout results.  A mixed martial arts contest may end under 

the following results: 

 

  (1)  Submission: 

 

   (a)  Tap out is when a contestant physically uses their hands to 

indicate that they no longer wish to continue. 

 

   (b)  Verbal tap out is when a contestant verbally announces to the 

referee that they do not wish to continue. 
 

  (2)  Knock-out (“KO”) is a failure to rise from the floor. 

 

http://drl.wi.gov/
http://drl.wi.gov/
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  (3)  Technical knock-out (“TKO”) is any of the following: 

 

   a.  The referee stops the bout because the contestant can no longer 

defend themselves. 

 

   b.  The ringside physician advises the referee to stop the bout. 

 

   c.  An injury as a result of a legal maneuver is severe enough to 

terminate the bout. 

 

  (4)  Decision via scorecards: 

 

   a.  Unanimous is when all 3 judges score the bout for the same 

contestant. 

 

   b.  Split decision is when 2 judges score the bout for one contestant 

and one judge scores for the opponent. 

 

   c.  Majority decision is when 2 judges score the bout for the same 

contestant and one judge scores the bout a draw. 

 

  (5)  Draws: 

 

   a.  Unanimous is when all 3 judges score the bout a draw. 

 

   b.  Majority is when 2 judges score the bout a draw. 

 

   c.  Split is when all 3 judges score a bout differently. 

 

  (6)  Disqualification is when an injury sustained during competition as a 

result of an intentional foul is severe enough to terminate the contest. 

 

  (7)  Forfeit is when a contestant fails to begin competition or prematurely 

ends the contest for reasons other than injury or indicating a tap out. 

 

  (8)  Technical draw is when: 

 

   a.  An injury sustained during competition as a result of an 

intentional foul causes the injured contestant unable to continue and the injured 

contestant is even or behind on the scorecards at the time of stoppage, or 

 

   b.  The sufficient number of rounds have been completed with the 

results of the scorecards being a draw. 
 

  (9)  Technical decision is when a bout is prematurely stopped due to an 

injury and a contestant is leading on the scorecards. 
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  (10)  No contest is when a contestant is prematurely stopped due to 

accidental injury and a sufficient number of rounds have not been completed to render a 

decision via the scorecards, or when a contestant tests positive for prohibited drug use 

and is disciplined under s. RL 196.03. 

 

 RL 195.13 Rule meetings.  All mixed martial arts contestants shall attend pre-

bout meetings with the referee to review rules, fouls, and regulations of the department 

pertaining to mixed martial arts. 

 

 RL 195.14 Consumables.  (1)  Only water or an approved electrolyte-

replacement drink may be consumed during the bout.  Electrolyte-replacement drinks 

include Gatorade, PowerAde, Propel, and Smart Water.  All consumables are subject to 

approval by the inspector or representative of the department. 

 

  (2)  Drinks shall be brought to cage side unopened, sealed, and only in a 

plastic container.  Unsealed drinks are not acceptable. 

 

  (3)  The inspector or department representative shall approve and sign off 

on any drink. 

 

  (4)  No stimulant drinks or drinks with caffeine, such as Red Bull and 

Rock Star, are allowed. 

 

  (5)  The department reserves the right to inspect, test, or remove any drink 

from cage side.  The department may test any contestant that an inspector or department 

representative believes is in violation of this section. 

 

  (6)  Any drink that is tested and found to have been adulterated in any 

manner will result in the contestant being subject to disqualification and disciplinary 

action. 

 

CHAPTER RL 196 

 

DISCIPLINE 

 

 RL 196.01 Grounds for discipline .  (1)  The department may reprimand, deny, 

limit, suspend, or revoke the credential of any promoter or professional club member, 

official, or representative who: 

 

   (a)  Violates any state statute or rule related to the sport of mixed 

martial arts. 

 
   (b)  Conducts an event or engages in conduct at an event in a 

manner that would pose unreasonable risk of harm to spectators or participants. 
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   (c)  Interferes with an inspector, judge, referee, or ringside 

physician while performing their official duties at an event. 

 

   (d)  Misrepresents material facts related to an event including the 

identity or record of a contestant. 

 

   (e)  Associates or consorts with bookmakers or gamblers as 

defined in ch. 945, Stats., or has engaged in similar pursuits. 

 

   (f)  Has been found guilty of any fraud or misrepresentation related 

to the sport of mixed martial arts, or any crime as defined in chs. 939 to 948, Stats. 

 

   (g)  Has violated any law related to fraud or misrepresentation 

related to the sport of mixed martial arts, or any crime as defined by chs. 939 to 948, 

Stats. 

 

   (h)  Does not meet the financial obligations required by these rules. 

 

  (2)  No person whose license has been suspended or revoked shall 

participate in any mixed martial arts event including entering the dressing rooms or 

entering the contest area at any event. 

 

  (3)  The department may reprimand, deny, limit, suspend, or revoke the 

credential of any mixed martial arts contestant if a contestant or an applicant:  

 

   (a)  Violates any state statute or rule related to the sport of mixed 

martial arts. 

 

   (b)  Fails to comply with a directive of or interferes with an 

inspector, referee, or ringside physician while performing their official duties at an event. 

 

   (c)  Engages in conduct which would cause spectators, officials or 

participants at an event an unreasonable risk of harm, including throwing a mouthpiece 

into the audience during or after an event. 

 

   (d)  Makes a materially false statement in an application or 

provides any materially false information to the department, its representatives, or 

officials. 

 

   (e)  Holds, or has held, a license to engage in the sport of mixed 

martial arts in another jurisdiction which has been revoked, suspended or limited for 

reasons which are substantially the same as the grounds for revocation, limitation, or 

suspension stated in this section. 
 

   (f)  Subject to chs. 939 to 948, Stats., has been convicted of a crime 

or subject to an adverse action.  The licensee shall send to the department within 30 days 
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of the judgment of conviction a copy of the complaint or other information which 

describes the nature of the conviction.  The applicant shall disclose the nature of any 

conviction or pending criminal allegation while their application is under review. 

 

   (g)  Is not capable of competing in a bout due to the use of alcohol 

or drugs.  The department may require a mixed martial arts contestant to submit to a drug 

test pursuant to s. RL 196.03 and s. 444.095 (3) (c), Stats. 

 

   (h)  The commissioner, inspector, or department representative 

may seek an order to hold a contestant’s purse for failing a drug test that tests positive for 

alcohol, drugs, controlled substances, anabolic steroids, or illegal enhancement 

substances in violation of these rules and s. 444.095 (3) (c), Stats. 

 

   (i)  Is not physically fit to engage in professional mixed martial arts 

competition, or fails to perform to the best of their ability based on information contained 

in a physical examination report or other reliable information. 

 

   (j)  Participates in any mixed martial arts event not sanctioned and 

approved by the department. 

 

   (k)  If licensed as a professional mixed arts contestant, in any 

jurisdiction, competes in a mixed martial arts event as an amateur. 

 

   (L)  Fails to appear or compete in a contest in which they signed a 

bout agreement to appear.  The contestant may provide a certificate from a physician, 

subject to the approval of the commissioner, inspector, or department representative, 

verifying a physical disability.  The contestant who files a certificate from a physician 

stating they are unable to fulfill a bout agreement because of physical disability, shall be 

given a medical suspension for a term deemed appropriate by the department.  The 

contestant shall submit a medical clearance from a physician, subject to the approval of 

the commissioner, inspector or department representative before having their medical 

suspension cleared and their license reinstated. 

 

   (m)  Fails to appear for their report time for their official weigh-in 

or fails to make their contracted weight within 2 hours of their official weigh-in time, and 

as a result their scheduled bout is cancelled in accordance with s. RL 193.16. 

 

   (n)  Verbally harassing or physically abusing any department 

representative or official before, during or after an event regulated by the department. 

 

  (4)  The department may deny the application, or reprimand, limit, 

suspend or revoke the credential of any contestant, manager, second, corner, or trainer for 

acts enumerated in sub. (3) (a) to (m). 
 

 RL 196.02 Medical suspensions and mandatory rest periods.  (1)  A 60 day 

suspension for a knock-out. 
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  (2)  A 30 day suspension for a technical knock-out: 

 

   (a)  Referee stoppage from submission or choke hold prior to 

verbal commitment or tap out. 

 

   (b)  Referee stoppage for strikes prior to verbal commitment or tap 

out. 

 

  (3)  The ringside physician, after conducting the post-bout examination, 

shall determine the time period for a medical suspension. 

 

  (4)  A medical suspension shall not be cleared by the department until a 

contestant complies with all post-bout examination medical requirements issued by the 

ringside physician. 

 

  (5)  Without a release from the commissioner, inspector or department 

representative, a professional mixed martial arts contestant may not compete until 7 days 

have elapsed from their last bout.  The 7 day period begins the day following the event in 

which they competed. 

 

  (6)  Without a release from the commissioner, inspector or department 

representative, an amateur mixed martial arts contestant may not compete until 45 days 

have elapsed from their last bout.  The 45 day period begins the day following the event 

in which they competed. 

 

  (7)  If a contestant is reported on “Mixed Martial Arts LLC,” “Fight fax,” 

or “FCFighter’s” suspension lists, another jurisdiction, or any other suspension list 

recognized by the department, the contestant will not be able to compete without a 

release from the commissioner, inspector or department representative. 

 

 RL 196.03 Mandatory drug testing.  (1)  All mixed martial arts contestants are 

prohibited from the personal use of drugs, including all anabolic steroids or controlled 

substances, pursuant to s. 444.095 (3) (c), Stats., while participating in a bout, except 

when prescribed, dispensed or administered by a licensed physician or dentist for a 

legitimate medical condition. 

 

  (2)  It shall be the contestant’s responsibility to provide written notice or a 

prescription to the department before participating in any event.  The written notice or 

prescription shall contain the name of the substance, the quantity and dosage or the 

substance prescribed, and the name, address and telephone number of the physician or 

dentist prescribing the substance. 

 
  (3)  All mixed martial arts contestants are prohibited from being under the 

influence of alcohol while participating in a bout. 
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  (4)  The commissioner, inspector, department representative, or ringside 

physician may require any mixed martial arts contestant to submit to a drug test including 

the testing of urine, hair, or blood specimens. 

 

  (5)  The inspector, department representative, or ringside physician may 

require a contestant to submit to testing for the presence of alcohol, drugs, controlled 

substances, or steroids at any time after the official weigh-in, on the day of the bout in 

which the contestant is participating, or within 24 hours of competing in a bout based on 

reasonable cause or random selection. 

 

  (6)  Grounds for reasonable cause include: 

 

   (a)  The commissioner, inspector, department representative, or 

ringside physician observations of the contestant or based on information that a 

contestant is under the influence of alcohol, drugs, controlled substances or steroids. 

 

   (b)  The contestant has previously tested positive for drugs, 

controlled substances or steroids. 

 

  (7)  The random selection of contestants competing in a bout shall be 

conducted by the inspector or department representative.  The random selection may be 

witnessed by the contestant or their representative.  The inspector or department 

representative shall determine the number of random samples for each event.  Both 

contestants competing in a selected bout shall submit to a drug test. 

 

  (8)  The collection of specimens from contestants for drug testing shall be 

taken in the presence of the inspector, department representative, or ringside physician in 

a manner prescribed by the official.  Specimens may include urine, hair samples, or 

blood.  Specimens shall be tested at a facility acceptable to the department.  Results of all 

drug tests shall be submitted directly to the department. 

 

  (9)  If laboratory testing of a contestant’s specimen test positive for any 

alcohol, drug, controlled substance, anabolic steroids or illegal enhancement substances, 

the contestant shall be disciplined.  A contestant who is disciplined and who was the 

winner of a contest shall be disqualified and the decision shall be changed to no contest.  

The results of a contest shall remain unchanged if a contestant who is disciplined was the 

loser of the contest. 

 

  (10)  If the laboratory test results prove to be negative or inconclusive, no 

action shall be taken and all results of the contestant’s bout shall stand. 

 

  (11)  Contestants who are prohibited, restrained, disqualified, or are 

otherwise ineligible to compete in another state or jurisdiction due to a disciplinary action 
that involves the use of drugs shall not compete in any department authorized event until 

such time as the period of prohibition, restraint, disqualification, or ineligibility is 
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completed or removed and subject to the approval of the commissioner, inspector or 

department representative. 

 

  (12)  Subject to the discretion of the commissioner, inspector or 

department representative, a contestant with a previous disciplinary action in another 

state or jurisdiction may be required to take a drug test before being allowed to compete 

in any department authorized event. 

 

  (13)  The promoter shall be responsible for the costs of testing contestants 

for drugs.  Any requests for follow-up or additional testing shall be the financial 

responsibility of the contestant. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day of the month following 

publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), 

Stats. 

 

 

 

 

Dated ___________________ Agency ___________________________________ 

       Celia M. Jackson, Secretary 

       Department of Regulation and Licensing 
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