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The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (“DATCP”) administers 

Wisconsin’s food safety program.  This program is designed to safeguard public health, and 

ensure a safe and wholesome food supply.  The program also makes it possible for Wisconsin to 

market dairy and food products in interstate and international markets. 

 

DATCP licenses food and dairy businesses, as mandated by state law.  Licensed businesses must 

pay license fees and comply with food safety standards.  DATCP may adjust most license fees 

by rule.  This rule increases current food and dairy license fees.   

 

This rule will increase food safety program revenues by approximately $994,000 beginning in 

FY 2008.  The increase is needed to address an imminent deficit in DATCP’s food safety 

program revenue account.  DATCP projects that the deficit will begin in 2007 and will grow 

steadily worse if not addressed.   

 

This rule affects the following entities licensed by DATCP: 

 

 Dairy farms. 

 Dairy plants. 

 Food processing plants. 

 Food warehouses. 

 Retail food establishments. 

 Dairy, food and water testing laboratories. 

 Milk haulers. 

 Milk distributors. 

 Butter and cheese makers. 

 Butter and cheese graders. 
 

 

 

 

 

                                                             
1  This analysis includes, but is not limited to, a small business analysis (“regulatory flexibility analysis”) under s. 
227.114, Stats.. 
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The Governor’s budget bill for FY 2007-09 proposes to transfer available funds from the 

Agricultural Chemical Cleanup Program to the Food Safety program, to help address the 

impending food safety budget deficit.  The Governor proposes to transfer $250,000 in the first 

year of the biennium and $100,000 in the second year.  That transfer, if enacted by the 

Legislature, would reduce the size of the food and dairy license fee increases that may be needed 

to address the food safety deficit.   

 

However, DATCP must begin rulemaking now to ensure that new fees will in effect for all 

affected businesses by July 1, 2008 (DATCP must adopt and publish the final draft rule before 

May 1, 2008, because the statutes provide an automatic 2-month delayed effective date for 

“small business”).  DATCP cannot yet assume that the Legislature will enact the Governor’s 

proposed fund transfer.  If the fund transfer is enacted, DATCP will modify its license fee rule 

proposal accordingly. 

 
Background 

 

Wisconsin’s food safety program is funded by a combination of general tax dollars (GPR) and 

program revenue from license fees (PR).  In 1991, license fees funded about 40% of program 

costs.  The 1995-97 biennial budget act reduced the GPR funding share, so that license fees 

funded about 50% of program costs.  Subsequent state budgets further reduced the GPR funding 

share, so that license fees now fund about 60% of the food safety budget.   

 

Recent state budgets have lapsed a substantial amount of food safety license fee revenue to the 

state general fund (to help remedy state budget deficits).  At the same time, DATCP has 

experienced a modest increase in operating costs.  DATCP proposed a license fee increase in 

2005, but was forced to withdraw a large share of that fee increase proposal.  As a result, 

DATCP projects a substantial food safety budget deficit beginning in FY 2007.  

 

DATCP is working to deliver effective food safety protection as efficiently as possible.  For 

example: 

 

 DATCP has reduced its food and dairy staff by approximately 17% since 1990 (from 118 to 
98 staff).  Staffing trends fairly reflect changes in the food and dairy industry, including a 

reduction in dairy farm numbers and increased delegation of retail food regulation to 

cooperating local governments.  While food safety inspection needs are declining in some 

traditional areas, food safety needs are growing in other areas. 

 

 DATCP works with local government to license and inspect retail food establishments.  

Thirty-four local entities license and inspect on behalf of DATCP, compared to 15 in 1997 

(local participation is voluntary).  Local entities now license and inspect 4,600 retail food 

establishments.  DATCP licenses and inspects the remaining 4,200 establishments. 
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 DATCP is working to reform national dairy regulations, which include rigid requirements 
related to Grade A inspection frequency.  DATCP is pursuing a more flexible, risk-based 

inspection system that could reduce inspection costs.  In the meantime, Wisconsin must 

comply with current inspection mandates in order to ship milk and fluid milk products in 

interstate commerce. 

 

 DATCP and the Wisconsin Department of Health and Family Services (DHFS) have 

eliminated duplicate licensing and inspection of grocery stores, restaurants, and combination 

grocery-restaurants.  DATCP and DHFS have adopted uniform rules for grocery stores and 

restaurants, based on the federal Model Food Code. 

 
Rule Content 

 

This rule increases current license and reinspection fees for dairy and food businesses, as shown 

below.  The increases first apply to license fees that are due on July 1, 2008.  

 

Entity   Current Fee(s)    Proposed Fee(s) 

 

Dairy Farm  $24 annual license fee (paid    $32  

by dairy plant operator)             

 

$24 or $48 reinspection fee    $32 or $64 

(paid by dairy plant operator  

if reinspection is required)  

  

Dairy Plant  Annual license fee (calculations include an increase in the basic license fee 

from $96 to $129):     

 

$699 or $879 for grade A     $937 or $1,178 

processing plant  (based on size)   

 

$397 for grade A receiving station  $532 

        

   $96 for grade A transfer station  $129 

 

$96 to $421 for grade B processing  $129 or $565 

   plant (based on size)      

 

     $96 for grade B receiving station  $129 

   or transfer station 

  

Grade A milk procurement fee:  

0.96 cent per 100 lbs. 1.081 cent per 100 lbs. (for 

payments due beginning July 

1, 2008)  
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   Grade B milk procurement fee:  

     0.2 cent per 100 lbs.   No change 

 

   Reinspection fee: 

 

$203 or $246 for grade A    $336 or $394 

processing plant     

 

$221 for grade B processing plant  $360 

 

$122 for grade A receiving station  $229  

    

$48 for grade B receiving station   $64 

   or transfer station  

 

Butter and cheese grading fee: 

      1.09 cents per 100 lbs.   1.5 cents per 100 lbs.  

 of product          of product 

 

Food Processing 

Plant   $78-$685 annual license fee   $105 - $918 

   (based on size and type)      

 

$261 surcharge for canning                            $350 

for food processing plants with  

annual production of $25,000 or more 

 

$49-$431 reinspection fee    $66 - $578 

(based on size and type)    

 

Food Warehouse $65-$261 annual license fee   $87-$350  

(based on size and type)      

 

  $92-$246 reinspection fee   $123 - $330  

(based on size and type) 

 

Milk Distributor $60 annual license fee    $80 

   per facility        

   

   $25 reinspection fee    $34 

   per facility 

 

Retail Food Store $37-$562 annual license fee   $50-$753  

(based on size and type)      
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 $74-$369 reinspection fee   $99 - $494  

(based on size and type) 
     

Dairy, Food or  

Water Testing Lab      $336 annual lab certification fee   $450 

for each dairy or food test (other  

than milk drug residue screening)  

 

$276 annual lab certification fee for   $370 

each water test 

 

 

$25 annual certification fee for each   $34 

dairy or food analyst (other than milk  

drug residue screening analyst) 

 

$50-$500 initial fee and $25-$50 annual $67-$670 initial fee 

renewal fee for lab performing milk   $34-$67 annual renewal fee 

drug residue screening 

 

$25 initial evaluation fee for milk drug  $34 

residue screening analysts  

(if more than 3 per lab) 

    

Bulk Milk  $36 annual bulk milk tanker license fee $48  

Tanker 

   $36 bulk milk tanker reinspection fee  $48 
 

$48 bulk milk weigher and sampler license  $64  

fee (2-year license)  

 

$48 bulk milk weigher and sampler   $64 

reinspection fee     

  
Buttermaker or $60 license fee (2-year license)  $80  

Cheesemaker             

Butter or Cheese $60 license fee (2-year license)  $80  

Grader               

 

This rule does not affect any of the following: 

 

 Fees that DATCP charges for certain services, such as review of food processing equipment 

plans, or the testing, timing and sealing of pasteurizers.  DATCP is authorized to charge fees 

for such services in order to cover its cost of providing the services.  DATCP may adjust 

these service fees by written notice, in order to keep fees consistent with service costs. 
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 License fees for milk and cream testers.  DATCP is not authorized to adjust these fees by 
rule.  Milk and cream testers currently pay a license fee of $50 (for a 2-year license) and a 

reinspection fee of $25. 

 

 License fees for meat establishments.  Meat inspection programs are funded by a 

combination of federal and matching state GPR dollars.  Under federal law, states must 

match federal dollars with state GPR dollars, not license fees. 

 
Business Impact 

 

This rule affects all milk producers, dairy plants, food processing plants, food warehouses, milk 

distributors, retail food stores, dairy and food testing laboratories, milk haulers, buttermakers, 

cheesemakers, and butter and cheese graders licensed by the department.  Many of these 

businesses are “small businesses” as defined in s. 227.114(1)(a), Stats.   

 

This rule increases annual license fees, reinspection fees and milk procurement fees, beginning 

with fees that are due in July, 2008.  This will increase overall dairy and food industry costs by a 

combined total of approximately $994,000 per year.  Costs for individual businesses will depend 

on business size and type.  Because of competitive market conditions, it may be difficult for 

affected businesses to increase prices to recover these costs. 

 

The proposed fee increases will have a significant but not dramatic impact on affected 

businesses.  In the multi-billion dollar dairy and food industries, license fees comprise a 

relatively small overall share of industry costs.  DATCP has worked to maintain a fair allocation 

of license fees between affected businesses.   

 

Fees are based on actual food safety costs related to each business sector.  Fees are also based on 

business size, food product type, and type of food handling operations.  Smaller businesses 

generally pay lower fees than large businesses, and lower-risk businesses generally pay lower 

fees than higher-risk businesses. 

 

This rule increases food safety license fees, but does not change other license requirements.  This 

rule requires no additional recordkeeping, and no added professional services to comply.   

 

Steps to Assist Small Business 

 

DATCP has tried to minimize the effect of this rule on small businesses by maintaining a fair 

allocation of license fees between small and large businesses.  Fees are based on actual food 

safety costs associated with each food business category.  Cost allocations within each business 

category are based on business volume, food types and associated food safety risks.   Small 

businesses pay lower license fees than large businesses engaged in similar activities.  

 

The Governor’s budget bill, if enacted, would further alleviate the impact on affected businesses 

(including small businesses).  The Governor proposes to transfer available funds from the 

Agricultural Chemical Cleanup Program to the Food Safety program, to help address the 

impending food safety budget deficit.   
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The Governor proposes to transfer $250,000 in the first year of the biennium and $100,000 in the 

second year.  That transfer, if enacted, would reduce the size of the food and dairy license fee 

increases that may be needed to address the food safety deficit.  If the Legislature enacts the 

transfer, DATCP will modify this rule accordingly.   

 

Conclusion 

 

This rule increases food and dairy license fees, in order to address an imminent deficit in 

Wisconsin’s food safety program.  The fee increases will have a significant, but not dramatic, 

impact on food and dairy businesses.  Enactment of the Governor’s budget bill would reduce the 

size of license fees proposed by this rule. 

 

This rule requires no additional recordkeeping or other procedures for small businesses.  Small 

businesses will need no additional professional skills or assistance in order to comply with this 

rule. 

 

 

Dated this ______ day of _________________, 2007 

 

    STATE OF WISCONSIN 

    DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, 

TRADE AND CONSUMER PROTECTION 

 

 

By _____________________ 

Steven B. Steinhoff, Administrator 

Division of Food Safety 

 
 
 


