This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see for the production version.
This bill also requires a person who commercially sells or transfers a firearm
to provide the purchaser or transferee a written notice of the requirement, created
in this bill, to report a theft or loss of a firearm within 24 hours of discovering it. A
seller or transferor who violates this requirement is subject to a fine of up to $500 or
imprisonment for up to 30 days, or both.
For further information see the state and local fiscal estimate, which will be
printed as an appendix to this bill.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:
1Section 1. 165.83 (2) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
AB428,2,32 165.83 (2) (d) Obtain Except as provided in par. (dd), obtain and file
3information relating to identifiable stolen or lost property.
AB428,2 4Section 2. 165.83 (2) (dd) of the statutes is created to read:
AB428,2,105 165.83 (2) (dd) 1. If a law enforcement agency forwards a file under s. 175.36
6(2) (a) 2. to the department, enter the information into the national crime
7information center systems and put the file in a database that is created for stolen
8or lost firearms and make the database available to law enforcement agencies for the
9purpose of locating and identifying stolen or lost firearms and identifying violators
10of s. 175.36 (1).
AB428,2,1411 2. If a law enforcement agency notifies the department under s. 175.36 (2) (b)
12that a stolen or lost firearm has been recovered, enter that information into the
13national crime information center systems and add to the database a notation that
14the firearm has been recovered and the date on which it was recovered.
AB428,3 15Section 3. 175.36 of the statutes is created to read:
AB428,2,19 16175.36 Reporting stolen or lost firearm. (1) (a) A person who owns a
17firearm and who discovers that the firearm is stolen or lost shall, within 24 hours of
18the discovery, report the theft or loss to a law enforcement agency that has
19jurisdiction over the area in which the firearm was stolen or lost.
AB428,2,2220 (b) If a person who has reported a theft or loss under par. (a) recovers the
21firearm, the person shall report as soon as practicable to a law enforcement agency
22the date on which the firearm was recovered.
AB428,2,24 23(2) (a) A law enforcement agency that receives under sub. (1) (a) a report of a
24stolen or lost firearm shall do all of the following:
11. Create a file that includes, if known, the date on which the firearm was stolen
2or lost; the caliber, make, and model of the firearm; the serial number of the firearm;
3any distinguishing mark on the firearm; and the location at which the firearm was
4purchased by, or transferred to, the person making the report under sub. (1) (a).
AB428,3,65 2. As soon as practicable, forward a copy of the file created under subd. 1. to the
6department of justice for inclusion in a database under s. 165.83 (2) (dd).
AB428,3,97 (b) A law enforcement agency that receives under sub. (1) (b) a report of a
8recovered firearm shall report to the department of justice the date on which the
9firearm was recovered.
AB428,3,12 10(3) A person who reports under sub. (1) (a) a stolen or lost firearm, when he or
11she knows that the report is false, is subject to the penalty for obstructing a law
12enforcement officer under s. 946.41.
AB428,3,13 13(4) A person who violates sub. (1) (a) is guilty of one of the following:
AB428,3,1414 (a) For a first offense, a Class A misdemeanor.
AB428,3,1515 (b) For a 2nd or subsequent offense, a Class I felony.
AB428,4 16Section 4. 175.37 (title) of the statutes is amended to read:
AB428,3,17 17175.37 (title) Warning Requirements whenever transferring a firearm.
AB428,5 18Section 5. 175.37 (1m) of the statutes is created to read:
AB428,3,2119 175.37 (1m) Upon the retail commercial sale or transfer of a firearm, the seller
20or transferor shall provide to the buyer or transferee a written notice of the
21requirements under s. 175.36 (1) and of the penalties under s. 175.36 (4).
AB428,6 22Section 6. 175.37 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
AB428,3,2423 175.37 (2) Any person who violates sub. (1) or (1m) may be fined not more than
24$500 or imprisoned for not more than 30 days or both.
AB428,7 25Section 7. Initial applicability.
1(1) Lost or stolen firearms. The treatment of section 175.36 (1) (a) of the
2statutes first applies to discoveries of stolen or lost firearms made on the effective
3date of this subsection.
AB428,4,64 (2) Requirements when transferring firearm. The treatment of section 175.37
5(1m) of the statutes first applies to sales and transfers that occur on the effective date
6of this subsection.
AB428,4,77 (End)