This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see for the production version.
2017 - 2018 LEGISLATURE
February 13, 2018 - Offered by Joint Committee on Finance.
AB924-ASA1,1,3 1An Act to amend 49.175 (1) (p) of the statutes; relating to: child care provider
2rates under Wisconsin Shares, funding for Wisconsin Shares child care
3subsidies, and making an appropriation.
Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
This substitute amendment increases funding for child care subsidies under
the Wisconsin Shares program and requires the Department of Children and
Families to increase maximum payment rates for licensed child care services
provided under Wisconsin Shares no later than 30 days after the substitute
amendment goes into effect.
The Wisconsin Works (W-2) program under current law, which is administered
by DCF, provides work experience and benefits for low-income custodial parents who
are at least 18 years old. Also, an individual who is the parent of a child under the
age of 13 or, if the child is disabled, under the age of 19, who needs child care services
to participate in various educational or work activities, and who satisfies other
eligibility criteria may receive a child care subsidy for child care services under the
W-2 program. This child care subsidy program is known as Wisconsin Shares.
Under current law, DCF is directed to allocate in each fiscal year specific
amounts of money, including federal moneys received under the Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families block grant program, for various public assistance
programs. Current law directs DCF to allocate $289,215,200 in fiscal year 2017-18

and $310,369,200 in fiscal year 2018-19 for direct child care services under
Wisconsin Shares. This substitute amendment increases each of those allocations
by $24,000,000 in each of those fiscal years.
Under current law, DCF establishes maximum payment rates, within specified
parameters, for child care providers that provide child care services under Wisconsin
Shares. This substitute amendment requires DCF to increase these maximum
payment rates no later than 30 days after the bill goes into effect.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:
AB924-ASA1,1 1Section 1. 49.175 (1) (p) of the statutes, as affected by 2017 Wisconsin Act 59,
2is amended to read:
AB924-ASA1,2,53 49.175 (1) (p) Direct child care services. For direct child care services under s.
449.155, $289,215,200 $313,215,200 in fiscal year 2017-18 and $310,369,200
5$334,369,200 in fiscal year 2018-19.
AB924-ASA1,2 6Section 2. Nonstatutory provisions.
AB924-ASA1,2,97 (1) The department of children and families shall increase the maximum
8payment rates for licensed child care services under section 49.155 (6) of the statutes
9no later than the 30th day beginning after the effective date of this subsection.