This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov for the production version.
  Date of enactment: April 3, 2018
2017 Assembly Bill 475   Date of publication*: April 4, 2018
* Section 991.11, Wisconsin Statutes: Effective date of acts. “Every act and every portion of an act enacted by the legislature over the governor's partial veto which does not expressly prescribe the time when it takes effect shall take effect on the day after its date of publication."
2017 WISCONSIN ACT 228
An Act to amend 347.24 (2); and to create 347.30 (3) of the statutes; relating to: lighting requirements for animal-drawn vehicles operated on highways.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:
228,1 Section 1. 347.24 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
347.24 (2) No person may operate on a highway during hours of darkness or during periods of inclement weather a vehicle drawn by an animal unless the vehicle is equipped with at least one lighted lamp or lantern exhibiting a white light visible from a distance of 500 feet ahead and 2 lighted lamps or lanterns exhibiting red light lights and 2 yellow or amber strobe lights visible from a distance of 500 feet to the rear and. The red rear lights shall be mounted in such a manner as to indicate the extreme width of the vehicle. The yellow or amber strobe lights shall be mounted not more than 6 inches from the lateral extremities of the vehicle.
228,2 Section 2. 347.30 (3) of the statutes is created to read:
347.30 (3) Notwithstanding sub. (2), on or after the effective date of this subsection .... [LRB inserts date], and before 6 months after the effective date of this subsection .... [LRB inserts date], if a person violates s. 347.24 (2) by operating on a highway during hours of darkness a vehicle that is drawn by an animal and that is not equipped with 2 yellow or amber strobe lights visible from a distance of 500 feet to the rear and mounted not more than 6 inches from the lateral extremities of the vehicle, a law enforcement officer shall issue the person a warning notice and may not issue a citation.
Loading...
Loading...