This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov for the production version.
  Date of enactment: November 11, 2015
2015 Assembly Bill 74   Date of publication*: November 12, 2015
* Section 991.11, Wisconsin Statutes: Effective date of acts. "Every act and every portion of an act enacted by the legislature over the governor's partial veto which does not expressly prescribe the time when it takes effect shall take effect on the day after its date of publication."
2015 WISCONSIN ACT 70
An Act to amend 343.61 (2) (a) 3., 343.61 (2) (am), 343.61 (4) (b) and 343.62 (4) (b) of the statutes; relating to: online instruction provided by driver schools licensed by the Department of Transportation.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:
70,1 Section 1. 343.61 (2) (a) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:
343.61 (2) (a) 3. Identification of all driver school office locations and identification of all driver school classroom locations and, if instruction is to be provided by means of the Internet, a statement to this effect.
70,2 Section 2. 343.61 (2) (am) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.61 (2) (am) A driver school may provide to the department a written certification that the driver school has complied with all applicable driver school office and driver school classroom requirements imposed under this subchapter or under any rule promulgated by the department under this subchapter. For purposes of this paragraph, classroom instruction includes instruction provided by means of the Internet if the driver school provides instruction by means of the Internet.
70,3 Section 3. 343.61 (4) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.61 (4) (b) The location of each driver school office shall be identified in the license. Except as provided by the department by rule, no licensee may establish any driver school office within 1,500 feet of a department office where operator's licenses are issued, nor within 1,500 feet of any headquarters where official driving skills tests are given. Any change in address of any driver school office or driver school classroom must be reported to and approved by the department. A driver school may maintain driver school classrooms at locations other than the driver school office. A driver school may provide driver training instruction by means of the Internet in addition to providing instruction at a driver school classroom or, if the driver school also offers behind-the-wheel instruction in this state, instead of providing instruction at a driver school classroom.
70,4 Section 4. 343.62 (4) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.62 (4) (b) Notwithstanding par. (a), the department may issue an original instructor's license that is restricted to classroom instruction to an applicant who does not otherwise qualify for a license because the applicant does not meet the requirements specified in par. (a) 2., 3., or 5. The department may not issue an instructor's license that is restricted to classroom instruction under this paragraph unless the applicant satisfies standards established by the department by rule relating to the ability of the applicant to communicate clearly and concisely and to control the classroom environment and behavior and establishing any further certification required by the department. For purposes of this paragraph and par. (c), classroom instruction includes instruction provided by means of the Internet if the driver school provides instruction by means of the Internet.
70,4m Section 4m. Effective date.
(1) This act takes effect on the first day of the 7th month beginning after publication.
Loading...
Loading...